Print

Bank and financial market regulation in Switzerland: a permanent construction site

General Meeting of the Swiss Association of Independent Securities Dealers, Berne, 29 May 2002, 29.05.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Banken- und Finanzmarktregulierung: Baustelle Schweiz"
    PDF (91 KB)

Clear supervisory rules are crucial for ensuring the integrity of Switzerland as an international financial centre; they serve to protect depositors, investors and insurance holders, and they prevent funds of criminal origin from entering the system. Moreover, such rules are essential for ensuring the smooth functioning, efficiency and stability of the financial system also in the long run, and for maintaining and strengthening international competitiveness. Regulators must therefore always act in accordance with these goals and, despite the related difficulties, systematically analyse all potential measures with regard to costs and benefits.

Regulations with a purely national focus are not suited to protect globalised financial markets from crises. The past few years have seen financial market supervision becoming even more internationalised. Minimum standards are intended to limit the notorious Ā«race to the bottomĀ» caused by regulatory arbitrage, i.e. the race towards less regulated and supervised markets. The most influential standard-setting bodies are groupings of state supervisory authorities. Switzerland participates in drawing up such regulatory standards and implements them in an exemplary manner.

A country's financial market supervision is not only shaped by international standards, but also by national developments and insights. As markets are dynamic, it is imperative to review supervisory regulations on a continuous basis: bank and financial market regulation have become a permanent construction site in Switzerland as well.

Twice in recent years, Switzerland's existing financial market supervision has been comprehensively appraised and been given good marks. For one thing, the Zufferey commission of experts identified the strengths and vulnerabilities of financial market regulation and supervision in Switzerland. For another, Switzerland participated in the Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP) of the IMF and the World Bank. Both assessments came up with similar findings, according to which regulation and supervision in Switzerland meet high requirements and essential reforms are already well under way.

The creation of a statutory basis for group supervision of financial conglomerates is especially pressing at the moment. This issue is being dealt with in the ongoing revision of the Insurance Supervision Act. Another topical subject is the reform of bank reorganisation, bank liquidation and depositor protection as well as the revision of bank audit rules. In future, the Swiss Federal Banking Commission intends to systematically monitor the statutory audit firms operating on its behalf. Also, all financial institutions will be regularly subjected to an audit conducted by a second audit firm. Finally, the total revision of the National Bank Law is designed to take account of the growing significance of the supervision of payment and securities settlement systems in order to adequately ensure the stability of the financial system.

The Swiss National Bank contributes to the robustness and efficiency of Switzerland as an international financial centre without diminishing the responsibility of the other participants.

Imprimer

Réglementation des banques et des marchés financiers: le chantier suisse

Assemblée générale de l'Association suisse des négociants en valeurs mobilières indépendants, Berne, 29 mai 2002, 29.05.2002

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Banken- und Finanzmarktregulierung: Baustelle Schweiz"
    PDF (91 KB)

Des contraintes légales claires en matière de surveillance sont importantes pour garantir l'intégrité de la place financière suisse, donc tant pour protéger les épargnants, les investisseurs et les assurés que pour bannir les fonds d'origine criminelle. Elles sont également nécessaires à assurer à long terme le bon fonctionnement, l'efficacité et la stabilité du système financier, mais aussi à maintenir et à renforcer la compétitivité sur le plan international. Les autorités de surveillance doivent par conséquent s'en tenir à ces objectifs et, en dépit des difficultés que cela entraîne, soumettre toutes les mesures potentielles à un examen systématique du rapport coût/utilité.

Des réglementations purement nationales ne permettent pas de mettre les marchés financiers, devenus mondiaux, à l'abri de crises. Ces dernières années, la surveillance des marchés financiers s'est davantage internationalisée. L'établissement de normes minimales limite les possibilités de procéder à des arbitrages, en d'autres termes de se livrer à une course légendaire vers la surveillance et la réglementation les moins exigeantes. Des autorités nationales de surveillance se sont groupées et ont constitué ainsi les «standard setting bodies» les plus influentes. La Suisse participe à l'élaboration de ces normes et applique celles-ci de manière exemplaire.

Dans un pays, la surveillance des marchés financiers n'est pas conçue uniquement en fonction des normes internationales. Des évolutions et des réalités nationales influent également sur les dispositions légales. Le dynamisme des marchés force à réexaminer constamment les règles en matière de surveillance: la réglementation des banques et des marchés financiers est un chantier permanent, en Suisse également.

En Suisse, la surveillance des marchés financiers a fait l'objet, ces dernières années, de deux examens approfondis. Le groupe d'experts Zufferey a analysé les points forts et les points faibles du système suisse de réglementation et de surveillance. En outre, la Suisse a participé au programme d'évaluation du secteur financier (PESF) du FMI et de la Banque mondiale. Ces deux examens ont abouti à des constatations semblables. Il en ressort que la réglementation et la surveillance, en Suisse, satisfont à des exigences élevées et que les réformes essentielles sont déjà bien avancées.

Actuellement, la création d'une base légale pour la surveillance des groupes et des conglomérats financiers paraît particulièrement urgente. La révision en cours de la loi sur la surveillance des assurances en tient compte. La réforme des règles relatives à l'assainissement et à la liquidation de banques ainsi qu'à la protection des déposants constitue un autre thème d'actualité. De surcroît, une adaptation de la révision bancaire est prévue. La Commission fédérale des banques veut à l'avenir surveiller systématiquement les sociétés de révision agréées. De plus, chaque établissement financier devra être soumis, à intervalles réguliers, à l'examen d'une deuxième société de révision. Enfin, après sa révision intégrale, la loi sur la Banque nationale tiendra compte de l'importance croissante de la surveillance des systèmes de paiement et de règlement des opérations sur titres, ce qui renforcera la stabilité du système financier.

La Banque nationale suisse contribue à la solidité et à la compétitivité, sur le plan international, de la place financière suisse, sans pour autant empiéter sur la responsabilité que portent les autres agents.