Print

Monetary Policy Overview

Chamber of Industry and Commerce of the Southern Upper-Rhine Region and the Basel Chamber of Commerce, Freiburg i. Breisgau, 27 March 2001, 27.03.2001

  • Complete text in German: "W√§hrungspolitischer Tour d'horizon"
    PDF (153 KB)

The Swiss economy is closely interlinked with the European economic area. As a consequence, cyclical influences and exchange rate movements between the Swiss franc and the euro have a major impact on the development in Switzerland.

Taking stock of the situation after a little over two years of co-existence with the euro, the overall picture is positive. There have been no distortions as a result of the floating exchange rate. On the contrary, it supported the monetary policy intentions by and large .

In the past months, worldwide economic risks have increased perceptibly. This is particularly true for the United States and Asia. The Swiss National Bank has reacted to this change with a moderate interest rate cut. It expects a growth development of just under 2 percent and favourable perspectives for the inflation trend.

Imprimer

Tour d'horizon de la politique monétaire

Chambre de commerce et d'industrie du Südlicher Oberrhein et Chambre de commerce des deux Bâle, Fribourg-en-Brisgau, le 27 mars 2001, 27.03.2001

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Währungspolitischer Tour d'horizon"
    PDF (153 KB)

L'économie suisse est fortement intégrée à l'Europe. C'est pourquoi les influences conjoncturelles de cette dernière et les relations de change entre le franc suisse et l'euro revêtent une importance capitale pour l'évolution de l'économie en Suisse.

Le bilan intermédiaire que l'on peut dresser après plus de deux ans de coexistence avec l'euro est globalement positif. Le flottement des cours n'a pas entraîné de distorsions, mais a même soutenu, dans l'ensemble, nos intentions en matière de politique monétaire.

Les risques conjoncturels se sont sensiblement accrus ces derniers mois dans le monde. Cela est notamment le cas aux Etats-Unis et en Asie. La Banque nationale suisse a réagi à cette nouvelle situation en réduisant modérément les taux d'intérêt. Elle table sur une croissance tendancielle de près de 2% et sur des perspectives favorables en ce qui concerne l'évolution du renchérissement.