Print

Questions and answers on the SNB as a company

What is the constitutional basis for the SNB and its activities?

The constitutional basis for the SNB's activities is enshrined in art. 99 of the Federal Constitution. The article states that money and currency are a federal matter, with the Confederation having the exclusive right to issue coins and banknotes. Furthermore, the articles states that the SNB is to pursue a monetary policy that serves the overall interests of the country, that it should fulfil this mandate as an independent central bank, and that the SNB is administered with the cooperation and under the supervision of the Confederation.

Where is the constitutional basis for the SNB explained in detail?

The main legislation governing the SNB and its activities is the National Bank Act (NBA). The NBA details the SNB's constitutional mandate and independence. It describes the SNB's individual tasks and charges it with ensuring price stability, while taking due account of economic developments. The NBA also defines the SNB's duty of accountability and duty to provide information towards the Federal Council, parliament and the public, which constitutes a counterweight to its independence (Questions and answers on the SNB's independence and its relationship with the Confederation). The NBA also confers on the SNB the note-issuing privilege, in other words, the sole right to issue Swiss banknotes.

What is the SNB's legal form?

The SNB's legal form, as Switzerland's central bank, is that of a special-statute joint-stock company. Unless defined otherwise in the NBA, the provisions of the Code of Obligations relating to joint-stock companies apply. The SNB is administered with the cooperation and under the supervision of the Confederation. This mixed legal form, which unites elements from private and public law, was chosen upon the SNB's establishment in 1907 and has been retained ever since.

Who owns the SNB?

The majority of the SNB's share capital is held by the cantons and cantonal banks, with the remainder mainly in the hands of private individuals. In conducting its monetary policy, however, the SNB performs a public function. It carries out its monetary policy mandate independently of the Federal Council, parliament or other bodies. Consequently, its legal form is a combination of private and public law elements, and the rights of its shareholders are also limited accordingly. Its net profit - minus a dividend limited by legal provisions - accrues to the public sector, namely the Confederation and the cantons (Questions and answers on equity capital and profit appropriation).

What are the SNB's corporate bodies?

The SNB's corporate bodies are the General Meeting of Shareholders, the Bank Council, the Governing Board and the Audit Board. Since the SNB is a special-statute joint-stock company, the powers of the General Meeting of Shareholders and the Bank Council are limited compared to private companies.

How is the SNB's share capital distributed?

In accordance with the NBA, the SNB's share capital amounts to CHF 25 million. It is divided into 100,000 fully paid-up registered shares with a nominal value of CHF 250 each. At end-2015, 52.4% of these shares were held by cantons, cantonal banks and other public authorities and institutions. The remaining shares were in the possession of private individuals and legal entities in Switzerland and abroad. Shareholders may vote only if they are entered in the share register. However, as stipulated in the NBA, a private shareholder's registration is limited to a maximum of 100 shares. Of the registered shares, 61% were held by public sector shareholders.

What is the procedure to become an SNB shareholder?

SNB registered shares are traded in the Domestic Standard segment of SIX Swiss Exchange (the Swiss stock exchange) and can be acquired by any private individual or legal entity in Switzerland or abroad. The stock market symbol is SNBN and the ticker symbol is 131926.

Why are the SNB's shares listed on the Swiss stock exchange?

SNB registered shares have been listed on the Swiss stock exchange since the central bank's foundation in 1907, which is not surprising in view of the widely held nature of the shares. Due to its shares listing (today on SIX Swiss Exchange), the SNB is required to meet the Swiss stock exchange conditions imposed on all issuers. On the subject of the SNB's shares listing, the NBA states that the competent authorities must take into account the special nature of the SNB when applying the listing rules, particularly the provisions on the content and the frequency of financial reporting as well as on ad hoc publicity.

How is this 'special nature of the SNB' taken into account in terms of financial reporting?

The financial reporting of the SNB is not comparable with that of a joint-stock company under private law. The SNB's purpose is not to earn profits which are then distributed to its shareholders, but rather to fulfil its mandate as laid out in the Constitution. The distribution of profits is also defined in the NBA. Accordingly, the SNB's reporting duties are different. It renders account of the fulfilment of its tasks to parliament and the public in the accountability report. It provides information on organisational and operational developments, as well as its financial result, in its financial report, which includes the business report and the annual financial statements. The financial report requires the approval of the Federal Council before it can be put before the General Meeting of Shareholders.

What rights do SNB shareholders have?

SNB shareholder rights are laid down in art. 36 NBA, with the provisions of company law being subsidiary to those of the NBA. Since the SNB fulfils a public mandate and is administered with the cooperation and under the supervision of the Confederation, shareholder rights are restricted as compared with a joint-stock company under private law. On the one hand, voting rights of private shareholders are limited to 100 votes. On the other, dividends may not exceed 6% of share capital, i.e. CHF 15 per share. Thus the only say that shareholders have in profit distribution is with regards to the payment of a dividend up to 6% - on condition that the distribution reserve does not turn negative following the profit appropriation. Furthermore, the business report and the annual financial statements are subject to approval by the Federal Council before they can be submitted to the General Meeting of Shareholders. Finally, the General Meeting of Shareholders only elects five of the eleven members of the Bank Council.

Why does the NBA limit the dividend to 6% of share capital?

The SNB is a special-statute joint-stock company with a public mandate. This mandate includes the note-issuing privilege, due to which - averaged out over the long term - it earns profits. In line with the Constitution and public law, and provided they are not needed for the provisions for currency reserves, these profits accrue not, primarily, to the shareholders, but to the public sector. For this reason, the dividend is restricted by law to 6%, with the remainder of the net profit generally distributed to the Confederation and the cantons.

Will the cantons and cantonal banks continue to hold the majority of SNB shares in the future?

A breakdown of SNB shareholdings shows a remarkable stability over the decades. Since the SNB's foundation, almost 40% of its share capital has been held by the cantons, and almost 15% by the cantonal banks (or, formerly, the issuing banks). At end-2015, public sector shareholders accounted for 61% of registered shares. The remainder were in the hands of private shareholders, although because of the limitation on voting rights, their voting power was just 21%. The voting power of the cantons and cantonal banks, as well as other public authorities and institutions, therefore amounted to 79%. Thus, within the bounds of the legally prescribed limitations, the participatory rights of public sector shareholders in the SNB are substantial.

Could the SNB be taken over and controlled by a (foreign) private investor?

The participatory and property rights of SNB shareholders are severely constrained by law. Furthermore, voting rights of shareholders outside the Swiss public sector are limited to a maximum of 100 shares. Foreign shareholders have numbered among the private shareholders since the beginning of the 1990s. At end-2015, they accounted for 14% of registered shares, although their voting share was just 1.44%.

Why doesn't the Confederation hold SNB shares?

Since the SNB carries out a public function, it is administered - as specified in the Federal Constitution - with the cooperation of the Confederation and under its supervision. This is laid out in the NBA as follows: The Federal Council appoints the majority of the Bank Council members (six of eleven), including the President and the Vice President. The Federal Council also appoints the three members of the Governing Board, including the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson, as well as the three deputy members (all based on the Bank Council's recommendation). The SNB must also submit its financial report to the Federal Council for approval before it can be put before the General Meeting of Shareholders. These participatory and supervisory rights of the Confederation are enshrined in the Constitution and the NBA, and do not require the holding of shares in the SNB.

What is the function of the SNB's Bank Council?

The eleven members of the Bank Council constitute the SNB's supervisory body. It oversees and controls the central bank's conduct of business. Monetary policy does not form part of its remit; this falls to the Governing Board. The Bank Council lays down the fundamental elements of the SNB's organisation and approves the budget as well as the level of provisions for currency reserves. The Bank Council also assesses risk management and the basic principles of the investment process. Furthermore, it approves the agreement with the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) on profit distribution and decides on the design of banknotes. The Bank Council generally meets six times per year. Four committees are composed from within its own ranks, namely an audit, a risk, a compensation and a nomination committee.

Who appoints the Bank Council members, and what are the requirements to become a member of the Bank Council?

The Federal Council appoints six members of the Bank Council, as well as the President and Vice President. Five members are appointed by the General Meeting of Shareholders. As set out in the NBA, candidates must have Swiss citizenship, an impeccable reputation, and recognised expertise in the fields of banking and financial services, company management or economic policy, or in an academic field. The composition of the Bank Council should adequately represent the different regions and languages of the country. One term of office is four years, and the maximum tenure may not exceed twelve years. The Memorandum of Understanding on the set of principles governing membership of the SNB Bank Council concluded by the FDF and the SNB ensures that the specialised abilities and qualities that are important for the SNB are represented in the Bank Council at all times.

Is the Bank Council of the SNB comparable with the Board of Directors of a listed company?

The Bank Council is comparable with a Board of Directors inasmuch as it is also a supervisory body. However, due to the SNB's special legal form, there are substantial differences. Its executive management, the Governing Board, is appointed not by the Bank Council but by the Federal Council (upon recommendation of the Bank Council). Furthermore, only five of the eleven members of the Bank Council are elected by the General Meeting of Shareholders; the remaining six members are also appointed by the Federal Council, as are its President and Vice President. With regard to the division of tasks, it is important to note that the Bank Council has no involvement in monetary policy. This is solely the domain of the Governing Board.

What are the tasks of the Governing Board of the SNB?

The Governing Board is the supreme management and executive body of the SNB. It consists of three members. The Governing Board is responsible, in particular, for monetary policy, asset management strategy, contributing to the stability of the financial system, and international monetary cooperation. It represents the SNB in the public sphere.

Who elects the Governing Board, and what are the requirements to become a member of the Governing Board?

The members of the Governing Board are appointed by the Federal Council, based on the recommendation of the Bank Council. The term of office is six years and re-election is possible. The positions of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson are also appointed by the Federal Council. The Chairman leads the Governing Board meetings. Candidates for the Governing Board must have an impeccable reputation and a recognised expertise in monetary, banking and financial issues. They must also hold Swiss citizenship and be resident in Switzerland.

Who is responsible for the SNB's business operations?

The Enlarged Governing Board, i.e. the three Governing Board members and their deputies, is responsible for issuing the strategic guidelines for the SNB's business operations. The Board of Deputies is responsible for the planning and implementation of these strategic guidelines. It also ensures coordination in all operational matters of interdepartmental importance.

Where is the SNB's head office?

The SNB has two head offices - one in Berne and one in Zurich. Both locations have a cash office. The fact that the SNB has two head offices goes back to a compromise reached at the time of its establishment.

Is the SNB represented elsewhere in Switzerland?

The SNB maintains representative offices in Basel, Geneva, Lausanne, Lugano, Lucerne and St Gallen. These are responsible (as are both head offices) for monitoring economic developments and explaining the SNB's policy in the regions (Questions and answers on the SNB regional network). The SNB also maintains 14 agencies run by cantonal banks for the receipt and distribution of banknotes and coins.

Does the SNB have an overseas presence?

In July 2013, the SNB opened a branch office in Singapore (Questions and answers on asset management).

How is the SNB organised?

The SNB is divided into three departments. For the most part, departments I and III are located in Zurich and Department II in Berne. Each of the three departments is headed by a member of the Governing Board and their deputy. Department I, which is usually headed by the Chairperson of the Governing Board, comprises Economic Affairs, International Monetary Cooperation, Statistics, the General Secretariat, Legal Services, Compliance, Human Resources, as well as Premises and Technical Services. Department II, generally led by the Vice Chairperson of the Governing Board, is divided into Financial Stability, Cash, Central Accounting, Controlling, Risk Management, as well as Operational Risk and Security. Department III is made up of Money Market and Foreign Exchange, Asset Management, Banking Operations, Information Technology, Financial Market Analysis and the Singapore office. The Internal Audit unit reports to the Bank Council's Audit Committee.

How many staff are employed by the SNB?

A total of 884 staff (including trainees) were employed by the SNB at end-2015, the equivalent of 788 full-time positions. These positions were predominantly economists, legal, banking and IT specialists, and technical personnel. Around 600 staff work in Zurich and 200 in Berne, with the remainder spread across the regional offices and the branch office in Singapore.

Imprimer

Questions et réponses sur l'entreprise Banque nationale

Sur quelles bases constitutionnelles s'appuie l'activité de la Banque nationale?

Les fondements de l'activité de la Banque nationale sont présentés à l'art. 99 de la Constitution fédérale. Celui-ci établit que la monnaie relève de la compétence de la Confédération et que le droit de battre monnaie et celui d'émettre des billets de banque appartiennent exclusivement à cette dernière. Il dispose par ailleurs que la Banque nationale mène une politique monétaire servant les intérêts généraux du pays, qu'elle doit accomplir cette tâche en qualité de banque centrale indépendante, et qu'elle est administrée avec le concours et sous la surveillance de la Confédération.

Dans quels textes les bases constitutionnelles de l'activité de la Banque nationale sont-elles concrétisées?

Le cadre légal dans lequel la Banque nationale exerce son activité est d'abord fixé par la loi sur la Banque nationale (LBN). Celle-ci concrétise le mandat constitutionnel et précise en quoi consiste l'indépendance de la Banque nationale. Elle détaille les tâches de la BNS et dispose que celle-ci doit assurer la stabilité des prix en tenant compte de l'évolution de la conjoncture. En contrepartie de l'indépendance de la Banque nationale, la LBN définit son obligation de rendre compte de son activité au Conseil fédéral, au Parlement et au public (Questions et réponses sur l'indépendance de la Banque nationale et ses relations avec la Confédération). Dans la LBN, la Confédération délègue par ailleurs à la Banque nationale le monopole d'émission des billets de banque.

Quelle est la forme juridique de la Banque nationale?

Banque centrale de la Suisse, la Banque nationale est une société anonyme régie par une loi spéciale. Les dispositions du code des obligations relatives à la société anonyme sont applicables, à moins que la LBN en dispose différemment. La Banque nationale est administrée avec le concours et sous la surveillance de la Confédération. Cette forme juridique associant des éléments de droit public et de droit privé a été choisie lors de la création de la Banque nationale en 1907.

A qui appartient la Banque nationale?

La plus grande partie du capital-actions de la Banque nationale est détenue par les cantons et les banques cantonales, le reste étant majoritairement en mains de particuliers. En conduisant la politique monétaire du pays, la Banque nationale remplit une tâche publique. Elle accomplit son mandat indépendamment du Conseil fédéral, du Parlement et de toute autre autorité. Comme il découle de ce qui précède, la forme juridique de la Banque nationale comprend des éléments de droit public et de droit privé, de sorte que les droits de ses actionnaires sont limités par la loi. Son bénéfice net, déduction faite d'un dividende limité par la loi, revient aux autorités publiques, c'est-à-dire en l'espèce à la Confédération et aux cantons (Questions et réponses sur les fonds propres et l'affectation du bénéfice).

Quels sont les organes de la Banque nationale?

Les organes de la Banque nationale sont l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires, le Conseil de banque, la Direction générale et l'organe de révision. La Banque nationale étant une société anonyme régie par une loi spéciale, les attributions de l'Assemblée générale et du Conseil de banque sont réduites par rapport à celles des organes équivalents dans une société anonyme de droit privé.

Comment le capital-actions de la Banque nationale est-il réparti?

Le capital-actions de la Banque nationale est de 25 millions de francs, conformément à la LBN. Il est divisé en 100 000 actions nominatives d'une valeur nominale de 250 francs. Fin 2015, 52,4% des actions étaient en mains des cantons, des banques cantonales et d'autres collectivités et établissements de droit public. Les actions restantes étaient détenues par des personnes physiques et morales domiciliées en Suisse et à l'étranger. Les actionnaires n'ont le droit de vote que s'ils sont inscrits au registre des actions. L'inscription d'un actionnaire de droit privé est toutefois limitée à cent actions avec droit de vote. Une part de 61% des actions inscrites au registre était en mains d'actionnaires de droit public.

Comment peut-on devenir actionnaire de la Banque nationale?

Les actions nominatives de la Banque nationale suisse sont négociées au Domestic Standard de SIX Swiss Exchange (Bourse suisse) et peuvent être acquises par toute personne physique ou morale domiciliée en Suisse ou à l'étranger. Leur symbole boursier est SNBN, et leur numéro de valeur 131 926.

Pourquoi les actions de la Banque nationale sont-elles cotées à la Bourse suisse?

Les actions nominatives de la Banque nationale étaient déjà cotées dans des Bourses suisses depuis la naissance de la BNS en 1907, ce qui se comprend aisément compte tenu de la large diffusion de ces titres. Du fait de la cotation de ses actions - aujourd'hui à la SIX Swiss Exchange -, la Banque nationale doit se conformer aux obligations applicables aux émetteurs de titres cotés. Selon la LBN, si les actions de la Banque nationale sont cotées en Bourse, les organes compétents doivent tenir compte de la nature particulière de la Banque nationale dans l'application des dispositions régissant la cotation, notamment de celles qui concernent le contenu et la fréquence des informations financières publiées, ainsi que la publicité ad hoc.

Comment la nature particulière de la Banque nationale est-elle prise en compte dans les informations financières publiées?

Les informations financières publiées par la Banque nationale ne sont pas comparables à celles publiées par une société anonyme de droit privé. En effet, la Banque nationale n'a pas pour but de réaliser des bénéfices en vue de les distribuer à ses actionnaires, mais d'accomplir son mandat constitutionnel. De plus, la répartition du bénéfice est régie par la LBN. Il en va de même des obligations de la Banque nationale en matière d'information. La BNS rend compte de l'exécution de son mandat dans un rapport (Compte rendu d'activité) remis au Parlement, rapport qui est ensuite publié. En outre, elle présente son évolution sur le plan organisationnel et opérationnel, ainsi que son résultat financier, dans son Rapport financier, qui comprend le Rapport annuel et les Comptes annuels. Le Rapport financier est soumis à l'approbation du Conseil fédéral avant d'être présenté à l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires.

Quels sont les droits des actionnaires de la Banque nationale?

Les droits des actionnaires de la Banque nationale sont définis à l'art. 36 LBN. Le droit de la société anonyme ne s'applique qu'à titre subsidiaire. Etant donné que la Banque nationale assume un mandat public et qu'elle est administrée avec le concours et sous la surveillance de la Confédération, les droits des actionnaires sont moins étendus que dans une société anonyme de droit privé. D'une part, le droit de vote des actionnaires privés est limité à cent voix. D'autre part, le dividende représente au maximum 6 % du capital-actions, c'est-à-dire qu'il ne peut dépasser 15 francs par action. Les possibilités d'intervention des actionnaires sont donc très restreintes en matière de répartition du bénéfice: ils peuvent seulement décider du versement d'un dividende représentant jusqu'à 6% du capital-action, pour autant que les conditions nécessaires soient réunies, à savoir que la réserve pour distributions futures n'affiche pas un niveau négatif après la répartition du bénéfice. Le Rapport annuel et les Comptes annuels sont par ailleurs soumis à l'approbation du Conseil fédéral avant d'être présentés à l'Assemblée générale, et celle-ci n'élit que cinq des onze membres du Conseil de banque.

Pourquoi la LBN limite-t-elle le dividende à 6% du capital-actions?

La Banque nationale est une société anonyme régie par une loi spéciale et chargée d'un mandat public. En vertu de ce mandat, elle détient le monopole d'émission des billets de banque, qui lui permet de générer des bénéfices sur le long terme. Conformément aux dispositions légales et constitutionnelles, si ces bénéfices ne sont pas utilisés pour constituer des provisions pour réserves monétaires, ils sont en priorité distribués à des entités de droit public, et non pas aux actionnaires. C'est pourquoi la loi limite le dividende à 6%. La part du bénéfice porté au bilan qui dépasse le dividende est normalement versée à la Confédération et aux cantons.

Les cantons et les banques cantonales conserveront-ils à l'avenir la majorité des actions de la Banque nationale?

La composition de l'actionnariat de la Banque nationale est restée remarquablement stable au cours des décennies. Depuis la création de la Banque nationale, les cantons détiennent près de 40% de son capital-actions, et les banques cantonales (anciens instituts d'émission), un peu moins de 15%. Fin 2015, les actionnaires publics détenaient 61% des actions enregistrées. Du fait de la limite applicable, les actionnaires privés ne disposaient toutefois que de 21% des droits de vote. Les cantons, les banques cantonales, et les autres collectivités et établissements de droit public détenaient donc 79% des droits de vote, et disposaient par là même un moyen substantiel d'influencer, dans le cadre des limites définies par la loi, l'activité de la Banque nationale.

Serait-il possible que la Banque nationale soit rachetée par un investisseur privé (étranger) qui pourrait alors la contrôler?

Les droits sociaux et patrimoniaux des actionnaires de la Banque nationale sont fortement limités par la loi. De plus, pour les actionnaires qui ne sont pas des collectivités ou des établissements suisses de droit public, le droit de vote est limité à cent voix par actionnaire. Depuis le début des années 1990, il y a également des actionnaires étrangers parmi les actionnaires privés de la Banque nationale. Fin 2015, leur part dans le capital-actions enregistré s'élevait à 14%, mais leur part dans les droits de vote était de 1,44% seulement.

Pourquoi la Confédération ne détient-elle pas d'actions de la Banque nationale?

La Banque nationale assumant une tâche publique, elle est administrée, conformément à la Constitution, avec le concours et sous la surveillance de la Confédération. La LBN précise les modalités: le Conseil fédéral nomme la majorité des membres du Conseil de banque (six sur onze), dont le président et le vice-président; il nomme, sur proposition du Conseil de banque, les trois membres de la Direction générale et leurs suppléants, et désigne le président et le vice-président. De plus, la Banque nationale doit soumettre le Rapport financier au Conseil fédéral pour approbation, avant de le présenter à l'Assemblée générale. La Constitution et la LBN confèrent ces droits de participation et de surveillance à la Confédération sans que celle-ci ait besoin de détenir des actions de la Banque nationale.

Quelle est la fonction du Conseil de banque de la Banque nationale?

Composé de onze membres, le Conseil de banque est l'organe de surveillance de la Banque nationale: il surveille et contrôle la gestion opérationnelle de celle-ci. Il ne possède pas de compétence dans le domaine de la politique monétaire, qui est du seul ressort de la Direction générale. Il fixe les principes d'organisation de la Banque nationale, et approuve le budget ainsi que le montant des provisions pour réserves monétaires. Il évalue la gestion des risques et les principes de placement des actifs. Il approuve en outre la convention conclue avec le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) concernant la distribution des bénéfices et choisit le graphisme des billets de banque. Le Conseil de banque se réunit généralement six fois par an. Il constitue en son sein un Comité d'audit, un Comité des risques, un Comité de rémunération et un Comité de nomination.

Qui élit le Conseil de banque et qui peut y siéger?

Le Conseil fédéral nomme six membres, et désigne le président et le vice-président. Les cinq autres membres sont élus par l'Assemblée générale. Les membres du Conseil de banque doivent être de nationalité suisse, bénéficier d'une réputation irréprochable et avoir des compétences reconnues dans les domaines des services bancaires et financiers, de la gestion d'entreprises, de la politique économique ou des sciences. Les différentes régions géographiques et linguistiques du pays doivent être représentées équitablement. La durée du mandat est de quatre ans. Un membre peut rester en fonction douze ans au maximum. Le Memorandum of Understanding concernant les principes régissant la composition du Conseil de banque, conclu entre le DFF et la Banque nationale, garantit que les qualités et compétences spécialisées importantes pour la Banque nationale sont toujours présentes au sein du Conseil de banque.

Le Conseil de banque de la Banque nationale est-il comparable au conseil d'administration d'une entreprise cotée en bourse?

Dans sa fonction d'organe de surveillance de la Banque nationale, le Conseil de banque est comparable à un conseil d'administration. Toutefois, il s'en distingue par de nombreux aspects, du fait de la forme juridique spécifique de la Banque nationale. Par exemple, ce n'est pas le Conseil de banque qui nomme les membres de la Direction générale de la Banque nationale, mais le Conseil fédéral (sur proposition du Conseil de banque). De même, seuls cinq des onze membres du Conseil de banque sont élus par l'Assemblée générale, les six autres étant nommés par le Conseil fédéral, lequel désigne par ailleurs le président et le vice-président. Pour ce qui concerne la répartition des tâches, il faut notamment préciser que le Conseil de banque ne participe pas à l'élaboration de la politique monétaire, qui est du ressort exclusif de la Direction générale.

Quelles sont les tâches de la Direction générale de la Banque nationale?

Organe exécutif suprême de la Banque nationale, la Direction générale est composée de trois membres. Elle prend notamment les décisions de politique monétaire et fixe la stratégie pour le placement des actifs; elle est responsable de la contribution de la BNS à la stabilité du système financier et de la coopération monétaire internationale. Elle représente la BNS auprès du public.

Qui nomme les membres de la Direction générale et qui peut être nommé?

Les membres de la Direction générale sont nommés par le Conseil fédéral, sur proposition du Conseil de banque, pour une période renouvelable de six ans. Le Conseil fédéral désigne le président et le vice-président. Le président dirige les séances de la Direction générale. Les membres de la Direction générale doivent bénéficier d'une réputation irréprochable et avoir une expérience reconnue dans les domaines monétaire, bancaire et financier. Ils doivent être de nationalité suisse et avoir leur domicile en Suisse.

Qui est responsable de la gestion opérationnelle de la Banque nationale?

La Direction générale élargie, qui regroupe les trois membres de la Direction générale et leurs suppléants respectifs, arrête les principes stratégiques afférents à la gestion opérationnelle de la Banque nationale. Le Collège des suppléants est responsable, quant à lui, de la planification et de la mise en œuvre qui en découlent. Il assure la coordination dans toutes les affaires relatives à l'exploitation qui concernent les trois départements de la BNS.

Où se trouve le siège de la Banque nationale?

La Banque nationale a deux sièges, l'un à Berne et l'autre à Zurich. Chacun des sièges est doté d'un service de caisse. Cette particularité est le fruit d'un compromis qui a été conclu lors de sa création.

La Banque nationale est-elle également représentée dans les différentes régions de Suisse?

La BNS dispose de représentations dans les villes de Bâle, de Genève, de Lausanne, de Lugano, de Lucerne et de Saint-Gall. Ces représentations sont chargées, comme du reste les deux sièges, d'observer l'évolution économique sur le plan régional et d'expliquer la politique de la Banque nationale (Questions et réponses sur les relations avec l'économie régionale). Pour la mise en circulation et la reprise de billets et de pièces, la Banque nationale dispose en outre de quatorze agences gérées par des banques cantonales.

La Banque nationale est-elle présente à l'étranger?

Depuis juillet 2013, la Banque nationale possède une succursale à Singapour (Questions et réponses sur la gestion des placements).

Comment la Banque nationale est-elle organisée?

La Banque nationale compte trois départements. Les divisions et les unités d'organisation des 1er et 3e départements sont pour la plupart à Zurich, alors que celles du 2e département sont en majorité à Berne. Chacun des trois départements est dirigé par un membre de la Direction générale et son suppléant. La sphère d'activité du 1er département, qui est généralement dirigé par le président de la Direction générale, englobe les divisions Affaires économiques, Coopération monétaire internationale, Statistique et Secrétariat général ainsi que les unités d'organisation Affaires juridiques, Compliance, Human Resources, et Immeubles et services. Le 2e département, qui est normalement conduit par le vice-président de la Direction générale, est responsable des divisions Stabilité financière et Billets et monnaies ainsi que des unités d'organisation Comptabilité, Controlling, Gestion des risques et Risques opérationnels et sécurité. Le 3e département comprend les divisions Marchés monétaire et des changes, Gestion des actifs, Opérations bancaires et Informatique ainsi que les unités d'organisation Analyse des marchés financiers et Singapour. La Révision interne est subordonnée au Comité d'audit du Conseil de banque.

Quels sont les effectifs de la Banque nationale?

Fin 2015, les effectifs de la Banque nationale s'élevaient à 884 personnes (y compris les apprentis), qui représentaient 788 équivalents plein temps. Il s'agit principalement d'économistes, de juristes, d'employés de banque, d'informaticiens et de techniciens. Environ 600 personnes travaillent à Zurich et 200 à Berne. Le reste se répartit entre les représentations régionales et la succursale de Singapour.