Print

Questions and answers on asset management

In addition to monetary policy, the SNB is also mandated with the task of managing the currency reserves. What does that mean exactly?

In order to implement its monetary policy, the SNB carries out monetary policy operations which affect the size and composition of its balance sheet (Questions and answers on the SNB's balance sheet). The assets side of the SNB's balance sheet is primarily composed of currency reserves; these are mainly gold and foreign currency investments (bonds, equities and investments at other central banks and the Bank for International Settlements). Swiss franc bonds represent a small proportion of the assets. The SNB manages the currency reserves and the Swiss franc portfolio, i.e. it invests on the financial markets.

Where are the rules for the SNB's investment policy laid down?

The provisions describing the task, the permitted investment operations and the responsibilities are set down in the National Bank Act (NBA; arts. 5, 9, 42 and 46). The 'Investment policy guidelines' of the SNB detail the transactions described in the NBA which the SNB may carry out in order to perform its investment policy tasks. These guidelines set out the investment policy principles, the investment instruments as well as the investment and risk control processes, and are issued by the Governing Board.

Who monitors the SNB's investment policy?

The Bank Council is responsible for the general oversight of the investment and risk control process (Questions and answers on the SNB as a company). It assesses the underlying principles and monitors compliance with them. The Risk Committee - which is composed of three members of the Bank Council - supports the Bank Council in this task. In particular, it monitors risk management. Internal risk management reporting is addressed directly to the Governing Board and the Risk Committee in the form of quarterly risk reports.

Who conducts the SNB's investment policy?

The Governing Board decides on the composition of the currency reserves and other assets. It also defines the requirements on the security and liquidity of investments, and the pool of eligible currencies, asset classes (e.g. bonds and equities) and issuers (e.g. sovereigns or corporates that issue bonds).

How does the Governing Board draw up the investment policy?

The SNB's assets are invested in accordance with the criteria of security, liquidity and return. The weighting of individual investment criteria is derived from the functions of the currency reserves. The Governing Board sets out the investment strategy, which is based on requirements specific to central banks as well as comprehensive risk/return analyses. The investment strategy covers the diversification of investments across different currencies and asset classes, and defines the leeway for active management at the operational level. The Governing Board generally decides on the investment strategy once a year.

How is the SNB's investment strategy implemented?

At the operational level, an internal investment committee decides on the tactical allocation. In other words, over the course of the year - and within the defined parameters - it adjusts the variables such as currency allocation and share or duration of the various asset classes, to take account of changing market conditions. The management of the individual portfolios is the responsibility of Asset Management. The majority of investments are managed by internal portfolio managers. External asset managers are used firstly in cases where there is an efficiency gain in doing so, and secondly to provide a benchmark against which to assess the performance of internal portfolio managers.

How are risks addressed in asset management?

A system of reference portfolios, guidelines and limits is used to manage and mitigate risks. All relevant financial risks on investments are identified, assessed and monitored continuously. Risk analyses take account of the fact that the SNB has a long investment horizon. To assess and manage credit risk, information from major rating agencies, market indicators and in-house analyses is used. Concentration and reputational risks are also factored in when determining risk limits. Compliance with the guidelines and limits is monitored daily.

What is the return on the SNB's investments made up of, and how is it recorded in the accounts?

It consists of interest income and dividends, as well as valuation adjustments resulting from exchange rate movements and market price changes. The resulting profit or loss is recorded in the statutory income statement of the SNB. The profit distribution is based on the provisions of the NBA and the applicable profit distribution agreement with the Confederation (Questions and answers on equity capital and profit appropriation).

Is the SNB's asset management aimed at achieving the highest possible return?

No. It is not the SNB's objective to achieve the highest possible return on its investments. Monetary policy has priority, so the security and liquidity of investments are more important. The criterion of security is taken into account by structuring investments so that at least the real value is preserved over the long term. A high degree of liquidity is ensured by investing the bulk of the foreign exchange reserves on the world's most liquid government bond markets. Nevertheless, in order for the Swiss franc investments to retain their value in the long term, sufficient income must be earned. Therefore government bonds in foreign currency investments are supplemented by other investment categories. When selecting assets, however, care is taken to avoid potential conflicts with the conduct of monetary policy.

What kinds of conflict can arise between monetary policy and investment policy?

In order to fulfil its monetary policy mandate, the SNB needs to be able to adjust its balance sheet at any time without limitation, and without having to take investment policy into account. For example, from an investment policy perspective it might seem appropriate to convert assets from one currency into another currency. However, this might bring the SNB into conflict with its monetary policy goals. In such cases, priority is always given to monetary policy.

As a central bank, the SNB has special knowledge about the Swiss economy and foreign exchange developments. How does the SNB ensure that this knowledge is not used improperly for asset management purposes?

The investment and risk control process is structured so as to avoid conflicts of interest between monetary policy and investment policy. For this reason, there is the greatest possible separation of responsibilities between monetary policy actions and investment policy operations. First, no insider knowledge acquired by virtue of the SNB's central bank status must be used in its investment activities. Second, investment activities must not send any unintentional monetary policy signals. For this reason, the SNB does not invest in Swiss equities or in bonds of Swiss companies.

Does the SNB's asset management distort the financial markets?

The SNB takes care to avoid its investments having any impact on the markets and currency developments in other countries. It therefore always acts in a prudent and market-neutral manner. The short-term absorption capacity of individual markets is an important criterion for the SNB. In summer 2012, for example, the SNB found itself facing very high inflows of foreign currency as a result of the foreign exchange market interventions related to the enforcement of the minimum exchange rate. It was able to place part of these funds on deposit at other central banks. In this way, it prevented market distortions or any impact on currency developments in other countries.

Which currencies and assets make up the SNB's foreign currency investments?

The majority of the SNB's foreign currency investments are in government bonds, bonds issued by foreign local authorities (e.g. provinces and municipalities) and supranational organisations, as well as corporate bonds, or are placed at other central banks. At the end of the first quarter of 2016, the proportion of equities was 20%. Just over 40% of the foreign currency investments are denominated in euros, and about 30% in US dollars. Other important investment currencies are the pound sterling, yen and Canadian dollar. In addition, the SNB holds smaller investments in the Australian dollar, Singapore dollar, Swedish krona, Danish krone and South Korean won and Chinese renminbi. The equity portfolio also contains stocks in other currencies. The SNB publishes the structure of its foreign currency investments on a quarterly basis.

Why are the foreign currency investments structured like this?

Since security and liquidity are the main priority for investments, the majority of foreign currency investments are held in government bonds. However, the SNB aims to achieve the broadest possible diversification of its foreign currency investments as regards currencies, issuers and instruments. This allows it to achieve higher returns over the long term, without having to take large fluctuations in earnings into consideration. Thus, for some time now, the SNB has also invested in corporate bonds and foreign-issued equities, and has recently expanded the pool of investment currencies.

Where can I find information on the current size and composition of the SNB's currency investments?

The SNB's balance sheet items, including the figures for foreign currency investments, are published on a monthly basis at the end of the following month on the SNB's data portal. Figures for the currency reserves are published shortly after the end of each month, as part of the data issued under the IMF Special Data Dissemination Standard. These figures are, however, provisional. Moreover, the foreign currency investments recorded in the SNB balance sheet may vary slightly from those reported according to the IMF standard, owing to differences in definitions. On a quarterly basis and at the end of each following month, the SNB publishes the breakdown of its foreign currency investments according to currency, asset class and rating (for interest-bearing investments) in conjunction with its interim results (currency investments and Swiss franc bonds). More information on the currency investments can be found in the SNB's Annual Report.

Does the SNB manage all of its investments from Switzerland?

No. Given the sharp expansion in foreign exchange reserves and the growing importance of the Asian financial markets, in 2013 the SNB opened a branch office in Singapore. This ensures a more efficient management of the SNB's Asian investments by internal portfolio managers in situ.

Does the SNB hedge the currency risk on its foreign currency investments?

Currency hedging would directly influence monetary policy, since any hedging would be equivalent to a purchase of Swiss francs against foreign currency. Consequently, the SNB does not hedge the currency risk on these investments, and has to bear the risk associated with exchange rate fluctuations. For this reason, the diversification and limitation of risk concentrations in foreign currency investments are very important for the SNB.

Why does the SNB hold just over 40% of its foreign currency investments in euros, and which member states were selected for these investments?

The euro area is by far the most important currency area for Switzerland's external trade. Consequently, the euro plays a major role in the currency allocation of the SNB's foreign currency investments. The SNB does not publish information on the share of investments accounted for by individual countries.

Is the SNB planning to diversify its portfolio further?

For this purpose, the SNB is continuously evaluating new asset classes, currencies and investment opportunities in advanced economies and emerging markets. The aim is to avoid risk concentrations. For example, in 2015, the SNB enlarged its investment universe of equities to include companies from emerging economies. It also invests in government bonds equivalent to just over CHF 2 billion on the local Chinese market.

How are these equity holdings compatible with what the SNB claims to be its most important investment criterion: security?

By ensuring the broadest possible diversification of its foreign currency investments, the SNB can reduce its currency risk and achieve higher returns over the long term, without having to take account of major fluctuations in earnings. These equity holdings improve both the potential return and the risk profile of the assets overall.

What criteria does the SNB use to select the equities in its portfolio?

In the case of its equity investments, the SNB replicates a combination of broad indices. Rather than pursuing positive or negative equity selection, it represents the international equity market as a whole. The SNB considers itself a financial investor, i.e. it deliberately avoids acquiring any strategic participations in companies. The investment policy is thus shielded from political considerations and the impact on individual markets is kept to an absolute minimum.

The SNB makes certain exceptions to the principle of full coverage of individual markets. In order to avoid conflicts of interest, it does not purchase shares in mid and large-cap banks. In addition, for ethical reasons, the SNB decided to exclude from its investment universe shares of companies which produce internationally banned weapons, seriously violate fundamental human rights or systematically cause severe environmental damage.

Does the SNB exercise the voting rights from its shares?

The SNB exercised its voting rights for the first time in 2015, focusing on mid-cap and large-cap companies in the euro area. When casting its vote, the SNB confines itself to aspects of good corporate governance.

Wouldn't it be in Switzerland's interest to transfer part of the foreign currency investments into a sovereign wealth fund, in order to achieve a better risk/return ratio and reduce exchange rate risk?

The SNB is not in favour of a sovereign wealth fund. When engaging in investment activities, the SNB must take account of monetary policy needs, and retain the flexibility to define the size and composition of its balance sheet. The assets in a sovereign wealth fund would be exposed to the same exchange rate risk as the SNB's currency reserves; even a much higher proportion of 'real' investments such as equities would offer no protection against value fluctuations. By investing part of the currency reserves in a well-diversified range of equities and corporate bonds, the SNB is able to exploit the positive contribution of these asset classes to the risk/return profile. At the same time, it retains the flexibility to adjust its monetary and investment policy to changing requirements.

What is the SNB's Swiss franc bond portfolio made up of?

This portfolio is invested passively, in highly rated bonds. The bond holdings therefore more or less reflect the composition of the market. Thus, the portfolio is made up of bonds issued by the Confederation, the cantons and municipal authorities. These bonds are purchased on the secondary market and must not be bought from an issue on the primary market (Questions and answers on the SNB's independence and its relationship with the Confederation). In addition, the portfolio contains bonds from other sovereign issuers, Swiss covered bonds (Pfandbriefe), bonds issued by international organisations headquartered in Switzerland, and foreign corporate bonds denominated in Swiss francs. The entire Swiss franc portfolio represents less than 1% of the SNB's assets.

Imprimer

Questions et réponses sur la gestion des placements

La Banque nationale est chargée non seulement de mener la politique monétaire, mais aussi de gérer les réserves monétaires. Qu'entend-on par là?

Afin de mettre en œuvre sa politique monétaire, la Banque nationale passe des opérations qui influent notamment sur le volume et la composition de son bilan (Questions et réponses sur le bilan de la Banque nationale). Les réserves monétaires forment le poste le plus important de l'actif du bilan. Elles sont constituées essentiellement d'or et de placements de devises - obligations, actions et placements auprès de banques centrales et de la Banque des Règlements Internationaux (BRI). Quant aux obligations en francs, elles représentent une petite part des actifs. La Banque nationale gère les réserves monétaires et le portefeuille en francs et, dans ce but, effectue des placements sur les marchés financiers.

Quels sont les textes régissant la politique de placement de la Banque nationale?

Le cadre délimitant la tâche, les opérations autorisées et les compétences en matière de placements sont fixés dans la loi sur la Banque nationale (art. 5, 9, 42 et 46 LBN). Les Directives générales de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) sur la politique de placement concrétisent les dispositions de la LBN concernant les opérations que la BNS peut conclure à des fins de placement. Edictées par la Direction générale, ces directives décrivent les principes de la politique de placement, les instruments ainsi que les processus de placement et de contrôle des risques.

Quels sont les organes chargés de la surveillance de la politique de placement de la Banque nationale?

Le Conseil de banque surveille l'ensemble des processus de placement et de contrôle des risques (Questions et réponses sur l'entreprise Banque nationale). Cet organe évalue les principes sur lesquels reposent ces processus et contrôle leur application. Le Comité des risques, constitué de trois membres du Conseil de banque, l'appuie dans ces tâches. Il surveille en particulier la gestion des risques. Les rapports internes qui sont établis chaque trimestre par l'unité d'organisation Gestion des risques sont adressés directement à la Direction générale et au Comité des risques.

Qui définit la politique de placement de la Banque nationale?

La Direction générale prend les décisions relatives à la composition des réserves monétaires et des autres actifs. En outre, elle fixe les exigences auxquelles les placements doivent satisfaire en matière de sécurité et de liquidité et choisit aussi les monnaies, les catégories de placements (par exemple obligations, actions) et les débiteurs autorisés (par exemple Etats ou entreprises émettant des emprunts).

Comment la Direction générale définit-elle la politique de placement?

Les actifs de la Banque nationale sont placés selon des critères de sécurité, de liquidité et de rendement. L'importance relative de ces critères découle des fonctions des réserves monétaires. La Direction générale fixe la stratégie de placement sur la base des exigences de la politique monétaire et d'analyses approfondies des risques et des rendements. La stratégie de placement porte sur la ventilation des placements par monnaies et par catégories de placements. En outre, elle fixe la marge de manœuvre à disposition sur le plan opérationnel. La Direction générale réexamine la stratégie de placement en principe une fois l'an.

Comment la stratégie de placement de la Banque nationale est-elle mise en œuvre?

Au niveau opérationnel, un Comité de placement interne arrête l'allocation tactique. Concrètement, il ajuste en cours d'année des paramètres tels que les durées des placements et les parts des monnaies et des diverses catégories de placements en fonction de l'évolution des conditions du marché. Enfin, la division Gestion des actifs gère les portefeuilles. La majorité des placements est gérée sur le plan interne. La BNS fait appel à des gestionnaires externes s'il en découle une plus grande efficacité. Ces derniers peuvent par ailleurs fournir une base de comparaison pour évaluer les résultats des gestionnaires internes de portefeuilles.

Comment les risques sont-ils gérés?

Les risques sont gérés et contenus à l'aide d'un système de portefeuilles de référence, de lignes directrices et de limites. Tous les risques financiers déterminants pour les placements sont identifiés, analysés et surveillés en permanence. L'analyse des risques tient compte du fait que l'horizon de placement de la Banque nationale est à long terme. L'évaluation et la gestion des risques de crédit s'appuient sur les notations des grandes agences spécialisées, les indicateurs de marché et les analyses internes. Les risques de concentration et de réputation sont également pris en considération pour établir les limites de risque. Le respect des lignes directrices et des limites fait l'objet de contrôles quotidiens.

De quoi se compose le rendement tiré des placements de la Banque nationale et comment est-il comptabilisé?

Dans le calcul du rendement entrent le produit des intérêts, les dividendes et les variations de valeur dues aux fluctuations des cours de change et des prix du marché. Le bénéfice ou la perte qui en résulte est inscrit dans le compte de résultat ordinaire de la Banque nationale. La répartition du bénéfice se fait conformément aux dispositions de la LBN et de la convention passée avec la Confédération au sujet de la distribution du bénéfice de la BNS (Questions et réponses sur les fonds propres et l'affectation du bénéfice).

La Banque nationale vise-t-elle le rendement le plus élevé possible dans la gestion de ses placements?

Non. La Banque nationale n'a pas pour objectif de maximiser son bénéfice. La politique monétaire étant prioritaire, la sécurité et la liquidité des placements prennent une importance plus grande. Pour satisfaire à l'exigence de sécurité, les placements sont structurés de telle sorte que l'on puisse s'attendre au moins au maintien de la valeur réelle à long terme. Etant donné qu'une part substantielle des réserves de devises est investie sur les marchés des obligations d'Etat les plus liquides au monde, un haut niveau de liquidité est garanti. Toutefois, les rendements doivent être suffisants pour assurer la conservation à long terme de la valeur des placements en francs. C'est pourquoi les obligations d'Etat sont complétées par d'autres catégories de placements. Lors du choix de ces catégories, la BNS veille cependant à éviter tout conflit avec la politique monétaire.

Quels conflits peuvent surgir entre politique monétaire et politique de placement?

Pour remplir son mandat de politique monétaire, la Banque nationale doit pouvoir adapter en tout temps son bilan, sans restrictions et sans devoir tenir compte de considérations de politique de placement. Il pourrait par exemple s'avérer approprié, sous l'angle de la politique de placement, de convertir certains actifs dans une autre monnaie. Mais la BNS risquerait alors d'entrer en conflit avec ses objectifs en matière de politique monétaire. Lors de telles décisions, la politique monétaire a toujours la priorité.

En tant que banque centrale, la BNS dispose de connaissances particulières dans les domaines de l'économie suisse et de l'évolution monétaire. Comment peut-elle garantir qu'elles ne seront pas utilisées à tort pour la gestion des placements?

Les processus de placement et de contrôle des risques sont structurés de manière à éviter des conflits d'intérêts entre la politique monétaire et la politique de placement. Aussi les compétences relatives aux opérations de politique monétaire et à celles de placement sont-elles largement dissociées. Aucune information d'initiés au sein de la BNS en tant que banque centrale ne doit être utilisée dans les décisions de placement, et les opérations de placement ne doivent donner aucun signal, fût-ce involontairement, de politique monétaire. C'est pourquoi aucun placement n'est effectué en actions ou en obligations d'entreprises suisses.

La Banque nationale provoque-t-elle, par sa gestion des placements, des distorsions sur les marchés financiers?

Dans ses placements, la Banque nationale veille à n'influer ni sur les marchés ni sur l'évolution monétaire d'autres pays. C'est pourquoi, dans ses opérations de placement, elle agit toujours avec circonspection et de manière à ne pas perturber les marchés. Pour la Banque nationale, la capacité d'absorption à court terme des marchés est un critère important. Ainsi, durant l'été 2012, la BNS s'est vue confrontée à de très importantes entrées de devises du fait de ses interventions sur le marché des changes visant à mettre en oeuvre le cours plancher. Elle a pu détenir une partie de ces devises sous forme d'avoirs dans d'autres banques centrales, ce qui a permis d'éviter de provoquer des distorsions sur les marchés et d'influer sur l'évolution monétaire d'autres pays.

De quelles monnaies et catégories de placements les placements de devises de la Banque nationale se composent-ils?

Les placements de devises de la Banque nationale sont constitués en majeure partie d'obligations émises par des Etats, des collectivités territoriales étrangères (provinces, villes), des organisations supranationales et des entreprises ainsi que d'avoirs placés dans d'autres banques centrales. A la fin du premier trimestre 2016, la part des actions s'élevait à 20%. Plus de 40% des placements de devises de la BNS sont en euros, et environ 30% sont en dollars des Etats-Unis. La BNS effectue également des placements substantiels en livres sterling, en yens et en dollars canadiens. De plus, elle détient un faible volume de placements en dollars australiens, en dollars de Singapour, en couronnes suédoises, en couronnes danoises, en wons sud-coréens et en renminbis. S'y ajoutent d'autres monnaies dans les portefeuilles d'actions. La BNS publie chaque trimestre la structure des placements de devises.

Pourquoi une telle structure des placements de devises?

Etant donné que la sécurité et la liquidité des placements jouent un rôle déterminant, une part considérable des devises est investie dans des obligations d'Etat. En outre, la Banque nationale vise une diversification aussi large que possible de ses placements en termes de monnaies, d'émetteurs et d'instruments. Elle peut ainsi obtenir de meilleurs rendements à long terme, sans s'exposer à des fluctuations plus fortes des résultats obtenus sur les placements. C'est pourquoi, depuis longtemps, elle investit également dans des obligations d'entreprises et des actions d'émetteurs étrangers. De plus, elle a diversifié, ces dernières années, les monnaies dans lesquelles elle effectue des placements.

Où trouve-t-on des informations sur le montant et la composition des placements de devises de la Banque nationale?

La Banque nationale publie chaque mois sur son portail de données des informations sur les postes du bilan de la BNS (état à la fin du mois précédent), et notamment sur les placements de devises. Peu après la fin de chaque mois, des informations sur les réserves monétaires sont fournies dans le cadre de l'IMF Special Data Dissemination Standard (SNB Data). $il s'agit de données provisoires, et il peut y avoir, du fait de définitions différentes, de légers écarts entre les données figurant dans les postes du bilan de la Banque nationale et celles émanant de l'IMF Standard. Chaque trimestre, après le Rapport intermédiaire, la BNS publie, sous Réserves de devises et titres en francs, la répartition de ses placements de devises selon la monnaie, la catégorie de placements et la notation des placements porteurs d'intérêts (état à la fin du mois précédent). Des informations complémentaires sur les placements de devises figurent dans le Rapport de gestion, qui paraît chaque année.

La Banque nationale assure-t-elle la gestion de tous ses placements depuis la Suisse?

Non. Dans le contexte de la forte augmentation de ses réserves de devises et de l'importance croissante des marchés financiers asiatiques, la Banque nationale a ouvert une succursale à Singapour en 2013. Celle-ci permet aux gestionnaires internes de portefeuilles de gérer sur place, plus efficacement, les placements asiatiques.

La Banque nationale couvre-t-elle le risque de change sur ses placements?

Couvrir le risque de change influerait directement sur la politique monétaire, étant donné que toute couverture équivaudrait à acheter des francs contre des devises. Aussi la Banque nationale ne couvre-t-elle pas le risque de change sur ses placements de devises et doit-elle assumer les risques découlant des fluctuations des cours de change. La diversification et la limitation des gros risques revêtent par conséquent une grande importance pour les placements de devises de la Banque nationale.

Pourquoi la Banque nationale détient-elle un peu plus de 40% de ses placements de devises en euros, et quels sont les Etats membres qui ont été pris en considération pour ces placements?

La zone euro est de loin la zone monétaire la plus importante pour le commerce extérieur de la Suisse. L'euro joue par conséquent un rôle de premier plan dans la répartition des placements de devises de la Banque nationale. La BNS ne donne pas d'informations sur la part des différents pays.

La Banque nationale a-t-elle l'intention de continuer à diversifier son portefeuille?

La Banque nationale examine régulièrement de nouvelles monnaies, catégories et possibilités de placements sur les marchés développés ou en développement. L'objectif est d'éviter une concentration des risques. En 2015, la Banque nationale a par exemple étendu ses placements en actions aux entreprises des marchés émergents. En outre, elle investit dans des obligations d'Etat sur le marché chinois..

La détention d'actions est-elle compatible avec la sécurité, qui est, selon la Banque nationale, le critère de placement le plus important?

Grâce à une diversification aussi large que possible de ses placements de devises, la Banque nationale peut réduire son risque de change et viser des rendements plus élevés à long terme sans s'exposer à des fluctuations plus fortes des résultats tirés des placements. La gestion des actions permet d'améliorer tant le potentiel de rendement que le profil de risque des actifs.

Selon quels critères la Banque nationale constitue-t-elle son portefeuille d'actions?

Dans son portefeuille d'actions, la Banque nationale reproduit la composition de larges indices. Autrement dit, elle ne procède pas à une sélection positive ou négative des actions, mais son portefeuille est la reproduction de l'intégralité du marché boursier international. La Banque nationale se considère comme un investisseur purement financier, c'est-à-dire qu'elle ne prend délibérément aucune participation stratégique dans des entreprises. La politique de placement est de la sorte à l'abri des considérations d'ordre politique, et son influence sur les différents marchés est réduite au minimum.

La Banque nationale déroge parfois au principe de couverture totale de certains marchés. D'une part, elle exclut généralement de son portefeuille les banques à moyenne ou à grande capitalisation, afin d'éviter tout conflit d'intérêts. D’autre part, elle a décidé, pour des raisons d'ordre éthique, d'exclure aussi les actions d’entreprises qui produisent des armes prohibées par la communauté internationale, qui violent massivement les droits humains fondamentaux ou qui causent de manière systématique de graves dommages à l'environnement.

Ne serait-il pas dans l'intérêt de la Suisse de transférer une partie des placements de devises dans un fonds souverain afin d'obtenir un meilleur rapport risque/rendement et de réduire le risque de change?

La Banque nationale est opposée à l'idée d'un fonds souverain. Elle doit tenir compte, dans ses placements, des besoins de la politique monétaire et rester libre de déterminer le volume et la composition de son bilan. En outre, dans un fonds souverain, les actifs seraient exposés aux mêmes risques de change que les réserves monétaires de la BNS. Même en augmentant sensiblement la part de placements réels (actions, etc.), il ne serait pas possible de se protéger contre les fluctuations de valeur. En plaçant de manière très diversifiée une partie de ses réserves monétaires en actions et en obligations d'entreprises, la Banque nationale peut tirer profit de la contribution positive du rapport risque/rendement qu'offrent ces catégories de placements. Elle garde également la marge de manœuvre nécessaire pour ajuster sa politique monétaire et sa politique de placement en fonction de l'évolution des besoins.

La Banque nationale exerce-t-elle les droits de vote attachés aux actions qu’elle détient?

En 2015, la Banque nationale a exercé pour la première fois ses droits de vote. Elle s'est concentrée sur des entreprises à moyenne ou à grande capitalisation de la zone euro. Dans l'exercice de ses droits de vote, elle s'est restreinte à des aspects relatifs à la bonne gestion de l'entreprise.

Quelle est la composition du portefeuille d'obligations en francs de la Banque nationale?

Constitué d'obligations de très bonne qualité, ce portefeuille fait l'objet d'une gestion indicielle. Il correspond par conséquent dans l'ensemble à la structure du marché. Il englobe des obligations de la Confédération, des cantons et des communes. Ces obligations sont acquises sur le marché secondaire et ne peuvent provenir d'une émission sur le marché primaire (Questions et réponses sur l'indépendance de la Banque nationale et sur ses relations avec la Confédération). En outre, le portefeuille contient des obligations d'autres Etats, des lettres de gage suisses, des obligations d'organisations internationales dont le siège est en Suisse et des obligations en francs d'entreprises étrangères. Au total, le portefeuille en francs s'élève à moins de 1% des actifs de la Banque nationale.