Print

Investment risk profile

Risk factors

The risk profile of assets is determined by the currency reserves. The main risk to the currency reserves is market risk, in particular risks related to exchange rates, the gold price, share prices and interest rates. In addition, there is liquidity risk as well as credit and country risks, although these are smaller than market risk. The contribution of Swiss franc bonds to total risk is negligible.

Market risk of currency reserves

Exchange rates are the most important risk factor for the currency reserves. As currency risk is not hedged against Swiss francs, even minor changes in the Swiss franc exchange rates lead to substantial fluctuations in investment income, and thus in the SNB’s capital. In addition to currency risk, fluctuations in the gold price and stock prices as well as interest rate risk are relevant as well. Currency risk, share price risk and interest rate risk are limited through the specification of benchmarks and management guidelines. Various means, including the use of derivative financial instruments such as interest rate swaps, stock index futures and interest rate futures, are used to control these risks. To manage currency exposure within foreign currency investments, foreign exchange derivatives can also be used.

As a matter of principle, the SNB does not hedge currency risk against the Swiss franc, as hedging would have an undesirable impact on monetary policy. Hedging operations, for example selling foreign exchange forwards against Swiss francs, would create additional demand and increase upward pressure on the Swiss franc. Therefore, hedging would de facto have the same effect as a foreign exchange market intervention to strengthen the Swiss franc. For these reasons, currency risk must be accepted as an inherent component of currency reserves.

Credit risk of currency reserves

Credit risk stems from the possibility that counterparties or issuers of securities do not meet their obligations. Such risks are present in the case of bonds issued by all borrower categories. The SNB holds bonds issued by public and supranational borrowers, covered bonds and similar instruments as well as corporate bonds as part of its currency reserves. For issuers of bonds, the SNB requires a minimum rating of investment grade. Exposure to individual issuers is limited by means of concentration limits. Credit risk arising from non-tradable instruments with respect to banks was very low. Replacement values of derivatives were collateralised, in accordance with the ISDA (International Swaps and Derivatives Association) agreements with counterparties. Since May 2014, the SNB has been executing most of its interest rate swaps via a central counterparty. On the one hand, this facilitates netting of offsetting positions. On the other, efficiency gains are made in the daily management of collateral.

Most of the bonds held were government bonds, which, in turn, mainly comprised highly liquid bonds issued by European countries and by the US. In all, over 85% of bonds were rated AA or higher.

Liquidity risk of currency reserves

The SNB’s liquidity risk arises from the possibility that, should investments in foreign currencies need to be sold, such sales could be effected only partially or after considerable price concessions, or may not be possible at all. The SNB ensures a high level of liquidity in its foreign currency reserves by holding a large number of the most liquid government bonds in the major currencies, namely euros and US dollars.  Liquidity risk is reassessed periodically.

Country risk of currency reserves

Country risk arises from the possibility that a country may hinder payments by borrowers domiciled in its sovereign territory or block the right to dispose of assets held there. In order to avoid entering into any unbalanced country risk, the SNB endeavours to distribute assets among a number of different depositories and countries. Gold holdings are stored according to this principle as well. In choosing a location, attention is paid to both appropriate regional diversification and easy market access. Of the 1,040 tonnes of gold, approximately 70% is held in Switzerland, some 20% at the Bank of England, and roughly 10% at the Bank of Canada. Decentralised storage of gold holdings in Switzerland and abroad ensures that the SNB has access to its gold reserves even in the event of a crisis.

Imprimer

Profil de risques des placements

Risques

Les réserves monétaires déterminent le profil de risque des actifs. Elles sont principalement exposées aux risques de marché, en particulier aux risques découlant de l’évolution des cours de change, du prix de l’or, des cours des actions et des taux d’intérêt, mais aussi, dans une moindre mesure, à des risques de liquidité, de crédit et de pays. Les obligations en francs ne contribuent que faiblement au risque global.

Risques de marché des réserves monétaires

L’évolution des cours de change constitue le principal facteur de risques pour les réserves monétaires. Ainsi, les risques de change n’étant pas couverts, même de légères variations de la valeur extérieure du franc entraînent des fluctuations substantielles du résultat des placements et, partant, des fonds propres de la Banque nationale. Les fluctuations du prix de l’or et des cours des actions ainsi que les risques de taux d’intérêt sont eux aussi déterminants. Les risques de change, les risques sur actions et les risques de taux d’intérêt sont limités par l’adoption d’indices de référence stratégiques et par des directives de gestion; ils sont gérés notamment au moyen d’instruments financiers dérivés tels que les swaps de taux d’intérêt ou les contrats à terme (futures) sur indices boursiers et sur taux d’intérêt. Pour gérer les parts des différentes monnaies dans les placements de devises, il est possible de recourir à des produits dérivés sur devises.

La Banque nationale ne couvre pas les risques de change, afin d’éviter toute influence indésirable sur la politique monétaire. Les opérations de couverture – par exemple la vente à terme de devises contre des francs – créeraient en effet une demande supplémentaire de francs et accentueraient ainsi la pression à la hausse sur ce dernier. Elles auraient en définitive les mêmes conséquences qu’une intervention sur le marché des changes visant à renforcer le franc. C’est pourquoi il convient d’accepter les risques de change comme une composante inhérente aux réserves monétaires.

Risques de crédit des réserves monétaires

Les risques de crédit découlent de la possibilité que des contreparties ou des émetteurs de titres ne remplissent pas leurs engagements. De tels risques concernent les titres de toutes les catégories de débiteurs. Dans ses réserves de devises, la Banque nationale détient des obligations de collectivités publiques et d’organisations supranationales, des lettres de gage et des titres similaires ainsi que des obligations d’entreprises. Dans le cas des placements en obligations, la Banque nationale exige au moins la notation investment grade. Elle contient les risques qui découlent des différents émetteurs en recourant à des limites de concentration. Vis-à-vis des banques, elle n’a encouru en 2015 que peu de risques de crédit résultant d’instruments non négociables. Les valeurs de remplacement des produits dérivés ont été couvertes dans le cadre des contrats ISDA (International Swaps and Derivatives Association) conclus avec les contreparties. Depuis mai 2014, la Banque nationale passe une grande partie de ses swaps de taux d’intérêt par l’intermédiaire d’une contrepartie centrale, ce qui permet, d’une part, de compenser les positions opposées (netting) et, d’autre part, de gagner en efficacité dans la gestion quotidienne des garanties.

En 2015, la majeure partie des obligations étaient des emprunts d’Etat, dont une part substantielle consistait en obligations très liquides émises par les pays constituant le noyau dur de l’UE et par les Etats-Unis. Au total, plus de 85% des obligations étaient notées AA ou plus.

Risques de liquidité des réserves monétaires

La Banque nationale est également exposée à des risques de liquidité: en effet, il se peut qu’elle doive vendre des placements en monnaies étrangères mais ne le puisse pas, ou ne le puisse que partiellement ou uniquement au prix d’une forte décote. Un volume important d’obligations souveraines parmi les plus liquides libellées dans les principales monnaies (euro et dollar des Etats-Unis) permet de garantir le degré de liquidité élevé des réserves de devises. Les risques de liquidité sont évalués régulièrement.

Risques-pays des réserves monétaires

Le risque-pays porte sur le fait qu’un Etat peut bloquer sur son territoire les paiements de débiteurs qui y sont domiciliés ou a le pouvoir de disposer d’éléments de patrimoine qui y sont conservés. Afin de réduire la concentration des risques-pays, la Banque nationale veille à répartir ses actifs entre plusieurs dépositaires et plusieurs pays. Les réserves d’or sont elles aussi stockées selon ce principe. Dans le choix des lieux de stockage, la Banque nationale cherche à assurer une diversification géographique appropriée, mais aussi un bon accès au marché. Environ 70% des 1 040 tonnes d’or sont stockées en Suisse, quelque 20% à la Banque d’Angleterre et près de 10% à la Banque du Canada. Le stockage décentralisé des réserves d’or en Suisse et à l’étranger garantit que la Banque nationale peut recourir à ses réserves d’or même en période de crise.