Press release

SCHWEIZERISCHE NATIONALBANK
BANQUE NATIONALE SUISSE
BANCA NAZIONALE SVIZZERA
BANCA NAZIUNALA SVIZRA
SWISS NATIONAL BANK

Communications

P.O. Box, CH-8022 Zurich Telephone +41 58 631 00 00 communications@snb.ch

Berne/Zurich, 14 September 2018

Federal Council appoints Barbara Janom Steiner as new President of SNB Bank Council

Christoph Ammann elected to Bank Council

At its meeting of 14 September 2018, the Federal Council appointed Barbara Janom Steiner as President of the Bank Council of the Swiss National Bank (SNB). Ms Steiner will succeed Jean Studer with effect from 1 May 2019. Mr Studer has been a Member of the Bank Council since 2007 and its President since 2012. He will step down at the end of April 2019 owing to the statutory limit on the maximum term of office.

Barbara Janom Steiner is a Member of the Graubünden Cantonal Government and Head of the Department of Finance and Communal Affairs. She has been a Member of the SNB's Bank Council since 2015, and in 2016 was elected by the Federal Council for the term of office ending in 2020. A lawyer and attorney-at-law, Ms Steiner brings substantial expertise in financial and economic policy gained during her extensive political career. Through her work in the Bank Council, she is also well acquainted with the challenges facing the SNB. Among the other positions she holds, she sits on the Board of the Conference of Cantonal Directors of Finance (FDK) and the Executive Committee of the Conference of Cantonal Governments (KdK).

In Jean Studer's place, the Federal Council has elected Christoph Ammann as a new Member of the Bank Council for the remainder of the 2016–2020 term of office. Mr Ammann is a Member of the Berne Cantonal Government, serving as Director of Economic Affairs, and previously spent ten years in the Cantonal Parliament. A graduate in German studies and a former rector of the Gymnasium Interlaken, he also held the position of President of the Municipality of Meiringen.

Olivier Steimer will remain Vice President of the Bank Council for the current term, and will step down at the end of April 2020 having served the maximum term of office.

Press release

The Bank Council supervises and monitors the conduct of business by the SNB, in particular as regards compliance with legislation, regulations and directives. In accordance with the National Bank Act, the Bank Council consists of eleven members, six of whom are elected by the Federal Council, and five by the SNB's General Meeting of Shareholders.