Print

Staff portrait

Contents

Dear students

This is what an internship at the SNB could look like: Three supervisors and three interns talk about their jobs and experiences.

Alexander Flühmann, Head of Financial Account, Statistics

foto-1

In 2002, after finishing my degree in economics at the University of Zurich, I was hired as a Research Assistant at the SNB. I have been in charge of the Financial Account (Balance of Payments) team since 2010, and my team and I are responsible for processing data on the economic linkages between Switzerland and the rest of the world. We are in close contact with global corporations and international organisations. Our interns help us to react quickly to changes in this dynamic environment, as well as making sure that we can maintain the quality of the figures. Their support also allows us to carry out further developments in the methodology. I particularly appreciate the external point of view which interns bring to the job, and the innovative and unconventional solutions they propose.

Annabelle Rey, intern at Financial Account

foto-1

After completing a bilingual Bachelor of Economics in Fribourg, I wanted to make a break in my studies in order to apply what I had learnt so far. I decided to make an unsolicited application to the SNB because of its exceptionally good reputation. Moreover, as a French-speaking Swiss, it was important for me to cross the language border and take a position in German-speaking Switzerland. I did an initial internship in the Balance of Payments unit, where I worked on data collections for the financial account. Subsequently I had the opportunity of doing a second internship in the Publications and Data Banks unit. While I was there I wrote a report on market data. A year ago, I began a Master’s in Economics at the University of Zurich and am continuing to work two days a week at the SNB alongside my studies.

Nicolas Stoffels, Head of Economic Analysis (International)

foto-2

I studied economics at the University of St Gallen and completed my doctorate there. Since 2003, I have headed the unit responsible for international economic forecasts at the SNB. Interns are very important for our analysis of the global economic situation because they look after the systematic model-based processing of incoming data on an ongoing basis. This is an interesting task, but it demands a high degree of commitment, a real flair for computer programming and a solid grounding in economics.

Simon Beyeler, intern at Economic Analysis (International)

foto-2

I did a Master in International and Monetary Economics (IMIE) at the University of Bern. After completing my studies, I began an internship in the Economic Analysis unit with Nicolas Stoffels’ international team. One of my main tasks was to manage the Nowcasting models which are used to estimate the current economic situation. I was also able to support the economists in their work and became involved in various projects. I chose to do an internship at the SNB because I wanted to get some initial practical experience after completing my degree, and the macroeconomics area at the SNB seemed a particularly good way of doing this. The one-year internship was very interesting. It taught me a lot and gave me a good insight into the inner workings of a central bank.

Marco Huwiler, Head of Financial Market Analysis

foto-3

I studied economics at the University of Basel and completed my doctorate there. Since September 2012, I have headed the Financial Market Analysis unit in Department III. The interns in my unit bear great responsibility for our technical infrastructure. They manage an internal financial market information platform and are developing it further. In addition, they write daily reports and support the team’s economists in their analyses and preparation of presentations. For me, it is vital that interns – most of whom have just completed their studies – learn to bridge the gap between theory and practice. In particular, they should get to know how shares, bonds and foreign exchange markets react to new developments in the economy. Important prerequisites for an internship are a strong interest in financial markets and a real flair for information technology.

Benjamin Plattner, intern at Financial Market Analysis

foto-3

Following a commercial apprenticeship at a Swiss big bank, I studied economics at the University of Basel, concluding with a Master in Finance, Controlling and Banking. Apart from my main focus on economics, I also learnt a number of programming languages during my degree. These skills are of enormous value to me for my internship in Financial Market Analysis, where I am managing and further developing an internal graphics platform and a time series data bank. In this way, I am helping the economists with the preparation of presentations and speeches for the Head of Department III. I find the proximity to everyday events on financial markets incredibly exciting and informative. I chose this internship because of its diversity; another factor in my decision was the importance of the SNB for the Swiss economic system and its outstanding reputation.

Imprimer

Portraits de collaborateurs

Contenu

Chers étudiants,

Pour vous donner une idée de ce que peut être un stage à la BNS, trois chefs d'unité et trois stagiaires racontent leur expérience:

Alexander Flühmann, chef de l'unité Mouvements de capitaux, Statistique

Après des études de sciences économiques à l'université de Zurich, j'ai commencé à la BNS en 2002, en tant que collaborateur scientifique. Depuis 2010, je dirige l'équipe Mouvements de capitaux, qui travaille sur les données concernant les relations économiques de la Suisse avec l'étranger. Nous sommes en contact étroit avec les entreprises ayant une activité à l'international et avec les organisations internationales. Les stagiaires nous aident à être réactifs dans cet environnement changeant, tout en assurant la qualité des données. Ils nous permettent par ailleurs de développer méthodiquement les statistiques. J'apprécie beaucoup le "regard extérieur" des stagiaires, tout comme les solutions innovantes qu'ils proposent.

Annabelle Rey, stagiaire à l'unité Mouvements de capitaux, Statistique

Après avoir obtenu un bachelor bilingue en économie à l'université de Fribourg, j'ai décidé de mettre en pratique mes connaissances. La très bonne réputation de la Banque nationale m'a incitée à envoyer une candidature spontanée. De plus, il était important pour moi, en tant que romande, de franchir la barrière de rösti. J'ai effectué un premier stage au service Balance des paiements, où je me suis occupée des enquêtes sur les mouvements de capitaux. J'ai ensuite eu la possibilité d'en faire un deuxième, au service Publications et banques de données. J'y ai rédigé un rapport sur des données financières. Il y a une année, j'ai commencé le master en économie à l'université de Zurich. Je continue à travailler parallèlement deux journées par semaine à la BNS.

Nicolas Stoffels, chef de l'unité Conjoncture internationale

J'ai fait des études de sciences économiques à l'université de Saint-Gall, où j'ai obtenu mon doctorat. Depuis 2003, je dirige à la BNS l'unité chargée des prévisions conjoncturelles internationales. Les stagiaires jouent un rôle essentiel pour nous:  ils sont chargés de la modélisation systématique des données que nous recevons régulièrement. C'est un travail passionnant, mais qui exige une importante motivation, de très bonnes capacités en programmation et de solides connaissances en sciences économiques.

Simon Beyeler, stagiaire à l'unité Conjoncture internationale

J'ai passé le Master in International and Monetary Economics (MIME) à l'université de Berne. J'ai ensuite commencé un stage à l'UO Conjoncture, dans l'équipe Conjoncture internationale de Nicolas Stoffels. Je me suis principalement occupé des modèles de prévision à court terme (nowcasting) utilisés pour déterminer la situation conjoncturelle actuelle. J'ai par ailleurs eu la possibilité d'aider les économistes dans leur travail et de participer à différents projets. Après mes études, je voulais avoir une première expérience pratique et j'ai donc décidé d'effectuer un stage. Mon choix s'est porté sur la BNS, qui me paraissait particulièrement appropriée pour une expérience dans la macroéconomie. Ce stage d'un an a été très intéressant et enrichissant. J'ai eu l'occasion de voir un peu de l'intérieur comment fonctionne une banque centrale.

Marco Huwiler, chef de l'unité Analyse des marchés financiers

J'ai fait des études de sciences économiques à l'université de Bâle, où j'ai obtenu mon doctorat. Depuis septembre 2012, je dirige l'unité d'organisation Analyse des marchés financiers, au 3e département de la Banque. Les stagiaires de mon unité assument une grande responsabilité pour ce qui concerne l'infrastructure technique: ils gèrent et développent une plate-forme interne d'information sur les marchés financiers, établissent des rapports quotidiens et assistent les économistes de l'équipe dans leurs analyses et dans la préparation de présentations. Généralement, nos stagiaires viennent juste de terminer leurs études. C'est pourquoi j'attache une importance particulière à ce qu'ils apprennent comment passer de la théorie à la pratique. Il faut notamment qu'ils comprennent avec le temps comment les marchés des actions, des obligations et des changes réagissent à l'apparition de phénomènes nouveaux dans l'économie. Il est enfin impératif qu'ils s'intéressent à l'actualité sur les marchés financiers et qu'ils aient d'excellentes connaissances en informatique.

Benjamin Plattner, stagiaire à l'unité Analyse des marchés financiers

Après un apprentissage commercial dans une grande banque suisse, j'ai suivi un cursus de sciences économiques à l'université de Bâle, que j'ai achevé  avec un master en finance, controlling et banking. Pendant mes études, en plus des connaissances économiques que j'ai acquises, j'ai appris plusieurs langages de programmation. Dans mon stage à l'unité Analyse des marchés financiers, j'aide les économistes à préparer des présentations et des discours pour le chef du 3e département. A cette fin, je gère et développe une plate-forme graphique et une banque de données de séries chronologiques. C'est l'environnement idéal pour mettre en pratique toutes les connaissances que j'ai acquises. Le fait de se trouver aux premières loges de l'actualité des marchés financiers est extrêmement passionnant et enrichissant. J'ai choisi ce stage en raison de son contenu très diversifié. Je dois dire aussi que l'excellente réputation de la BNS et son importance pour le système économique suisse ont également été déterminantes dans ma décision.