NWG Milestones

1 February 2021

The NWG discusses the expected discontinuation of CHF LIBOR at end-2021, recommending that market participants switch bilateral CHF LIBOR-based derivatives to SARON-based derivatives ahead of end-2021, and that clearing houses consider doing the same for transactions cleared through them.

The NWG releases for publication a «Rate Switch Amendment Agreement», which aims at having a standardized amendment agreement for syndicated CHF single currency credit facility/-ies agreements in English language governed by Swiss law.

Furthermore, the NWG recommends a common approach for CHF hybrid bonds with reset dates beyond 2021. In addition, the NWG decides to further discuss interest rate fixings for intercompany loans and trade finance.

29 September 2020

The NWG expects the discontinuation of CHF LIBOR by the end of 2021. The Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA), based on the results of their self-assessment survey, reports that the CHF LIBOR tough legacy volume appears to be small and not an existential problem. In this regard, the NWG, together with representatives of FINMA and SNB, recommend that all market participants should ensure that robust fallback languages are used in all contracts. This includes signing up to ISDA’s IBOR Fallbacks Protocol or similar protocols (such as the Swiss Master Agreement, SMA) as soon as possible.

Furthermore, the NWG repeats the recommendations to use the “shift” methodology and to floor the compounded SARON, as long as the domestic market is in the focus. In case international consistency is important, the “lag” methodology and flooring individual SARON values are viable alternatives.

7 May 2020

The National Working Group on CHF Reference Rates (NWG) discusses the latest developments in the SARON-based cash and derivatives market. Several banks have launched SARON-based cash products since the last NWG meeting.

The NWG recommends to use the lookback option for CHF syndicated loans with an offset of five business days. Moreover, it releases a term sheet for a SARON / SOFR cross currency basis swap.

Furthermore, the NWG reviews different LIBOR end scenarios, implications for fallbacks and affirms last meeting’s recommendation to transition LIBOR exposures prior to the end of 2021 wherever possible. The Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority reiterates its expectation that market participants undertake all necessary steps to ensure LIBOR is replaced, latest until year-end 2021.

12 November 2019

The NWG gives, based on the consultation with the Secretariat of the Swiss Competition Commission, further guidance regarding options for using a compounded SARON in retail loans.

In addition, different transition scenarios are discussed. The recommendation is to transition LIBOR exposures prior to the end of 2021 wherever possible.

13 June 2019

The NWG presents a discussion paper on SARON floating rate notes and a paper on the effects of the IBOR transition on hedge accounting. Furthermore, the provision of compounded SARON indices and the progress on adapting compounded SARON are discussed.

5 February 2019

The NWG identifies and describes a set of options for using a compounded SARON in cash products. These options are also included in the «User’s Guide on Overnight Risk-Free Rates» published by the Financial Stability Board in June 2019.

31 October 2018

NWG recommends using compounded SARON wherever possible as a term rate alternative. The NWG considers it unlikely that a robust term rate based on SARON derivatives will be feasible.

Additionally, the NWG releases a checklist to help market participants become operationally ready for the Libor transition and discusses a proposal for a fallback template for retail loans.

4 June 2018

NWG releases recommended specifications for SARON Futures (term sheet).

19 December 2017

TOIS fixing is discontinued.

5 October 2017

NWG recommends SARON as the alternative to Swiss franc Libor and establishes two sub-working groups to focus on a possible transition away from Libor in loan and deposit markets (ToR Sub-NWG L&D) as well as in derivatives and capital markets (ToR Sub-NWG D&C).

15 November 2016

The administrator of the TOIS fixing, ACI Suisse, announces the discontinuation of the TOIS fixing effective December 2017.

13 January 2016

NWG decides to focus reform efforts on SARON as an alternative to the TOIS fixing. Between 2013 and 2016, multiple reform efforts with respect to the TOIS fixing were undertaken (summary). However, it became apparent that the efforts were not sufficient to reach a viable reference rate in the long run.

11 June 2013

NWG is established to reform the TOIS fixing. The NWG is co-chaired by a representative of the private sector and a representative of the SNB.

NWG Milestones

29 septembre 2020

Le NWG s’attend à un abandon du CHF LIBOR d’ici la fin 2021. Se basant sur les résultats de de son questionnaire d'auto-évaluation, l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) considère que les tough legacies liées au CHF LIBOR sont faibles et ne posent donc pas de problème existentiel. A cet égard, le NWG, conjointement avec des représentants de la FINMA et de la BNS, recommande à tous les acteurs du marché de libeller un mécanisme de remplacement (fallback) robuste dans tous les contrats. Les participants sont notamment tenus de signer le IBOR Fallbacks Protocol de l’International Securities Dealers Association (ISDA) ou des protocoles équivalents (tel que le Swiss Master Agreement, SMA) dès que possible.

Par ailleurs, le NWG réitère sa recommandation d’utiliser la méthodologie shift et d’appliquer une valeur plancher au SARON composé, tant que l’attention se concentre sur le marché domestique. Dans le cas où la cohérence internationale importe, la méthodologie lag et l’application d’une valeur plancher aux fixings journaliers du SARON sont des alternatives viables.

7 mai 2020

Le Groupe de travail national sur les taux d’intérêt de référence (National Working Group on Swiss Franc Reference Rates, NWG) discute des derniers développements des marché de prêts et des produits dérivés liés au SARON. Plusieurs banques ont lancé des emprunts basés sur le SARON depuis la dernière réunion du NWG.

Le NWG recommande d'utiliser l'option «lookback» pour les prêts syndiqués en CHF avec une période d’observation décalée de cinq jours ouvrables. De plus, le NWG publie un modèle de confirmation pour un swap de base USDCHF entre SARON et SOFR.

Par ailleurs, le NWG examine différents scénarios de fin de LIBOR, ainsi que ses implications pour les clauses de repli et confirme la recommandation de la dernière réunion de transitionner les expositions au LIBOR avant la fin de 2021 dans la mesure du possible. L'Autorité suisse de surveillance des marchés financiers informe qu'elle s'attend à ce que les acteurs du marché prennent toutes les mesures nécessaires pour assurer le remplacement du LIBOR, au plus tard jusqu'à la fin de l'année 2021.

12 novembre 2019

Basé sur la consultation de la Commission de la concurrence suisse, le NWG donne des directives supplémentaires concernant les options d’utilisation d’un SARON composé pour les prêts de détail.

En outre, différents scénarios de transition sont abordés. Il est recommandé d’effectuer la transition des expositions du LIBOR avant la fin de l’année 2021 dans la mesure du possible.

13 juin 2019

Le NWG présente une synthèse sur les obligations à taux variables indexées sur le SARON et un rapport sur les effets de la transition des IBOR sur la comptabilité de couverture. Il a en outre discuté de la mise à disposition d’indices calculés à partir du SARON composite et de l’avancement de l’adaptation du SARON composite.

5 février 2019

Le NWG identifie et décrit différentes options d’utilisation d’un SARON composite pour les produits de crédit. Ces options sont également regroupées dans un «User's Guide on Overnight Risk-Free Rates» par le Financial Stability Board en juin 2019.

31 octobre 2018

Le NWG recommande d’utiliser dans la mesure du possible le SARON composé comme taux à terme de substitution. Selon le NWG, il ne serait guère possible de proposer un taux à terme solide basé sur des produits dérivés adossés au SARON.

Par ailleurs, le NWG publie une check-list en vue d’aider les opérateurs sur les marchés à se préparer sur le plan opérationnel au remplacement du Libor et examine une proposition concernant un modèle de clause subsidiaire pour les prêts à la clientèle privée basés sur le Libor.

4 juin 2018

Le NWG publie des recommandations concernant les spécifications des contrats à terme (futures) sur SARON.

19 décembre 2017

Le TOIS fixing est suspendu.

5 octobre 2017

Le NWG recommande le SARON comme solution de substitution au Libor pour le franc. Il constitue, en son sein, deux sous-groupes, dont l'un se penche sur le remplacement du Libor sur les marchés des crédits et des dépôts (ToR Sub-NWG L&D), et l'autre, sur les marchés des capitaux et des produits dérivés (ToR Sub-NWG D&C).

15 novembre 2016

L'administrateur du TOIS fixing, ACI Suisse, annonce la fin du TOIS fixing à compter de décembre 2017.

13 janvier 2016

Le NWG décide de concentrer ses efforts sur le SARON, plutôt que sur le TOIS fixing. Entre 2013 et 2016, de nombreux efforts ont été déployés pour réformer le TOIS fixing (résumé de ces efforts). Toutefois, il est devenu manifeste que ces efforts ne suffiraient pas à rendre ce taux de référence viable à long terme.

11 juin 2013

Le NWG est créé pour réformer le TOIS fixing. La présidence est exercée conjointement par un représentant du secteur privé et par un représentant de la BNS.