Print

Revision of balance sheet statistics

Background

The SNB conducted surveys based on FINMA’s revised accounting rules for banks (ARB, FINMA-Circ. 15/01, previously FINMA-Circ. 08/02) for the first time in the reporting month of November 2015. The new accounting rules altered the breakdown and the contents of both the balance sheets and the income statements of banks. These changes are reflected in the tables published with the balance sheet statistics (data.snb.ch), which the SNB also converted to the ARB as of the reporting month of November 2015. It was the SNB’s intention to link the data under the new ARB to the previously published data wherever possible, and to make long time series available to data users. Several of these time series have breaks between October and November 2015 due to the ARB revision. Other time series, however, do not have breaks since the previously collected data can be clearly allocated within the new balance sheet structure.

Key changes in the accounting rules

Amounts due in respect of customer deposits

The ARB combine the current liability items, ‘other amounts due to customers’ and ‘amounts due to customers in the form of savings and investments’, in a new item entitled ‘amounts due in respect of customer deposits’.

Value adjustments and provisions

Banks will in future be obliged to offset value adjustments against the associated item on the assets side of the balance sheet and are no longer allowed to report them on the liabilities side. Until now, banks could either offset value adjustments directly against the affected item on the assets side of the balance sheet or carry them as a liability in the item, ‘value adjustments and provisions’. Accordingly, the old item ‘value adjustments and provisions’ on the liabilities side of the balance sheet is renamed ‘provisions’.

However, in the first two financial years following the entry into force of the new ARB (i.e. until the end of 2016), banks may also report the total or partial amount of value adjustments as a global negative item under balance sheet assets (under the transitional balance sheet item, ‘non-eligible value adjustments according to transitional provisions’), instead of offsetting them against the associated items on the assets side of the balance sheet.

Securities financing transactions

The ARB introduces the new balance sheet items, ‘amounts due from securities financing transactions’ and ‘liabilities from securities financing transactions’. These items capture the claims or liabilities arising from cash collateral in connection with securities lending business (repos and reverse repos) or securities lending and borrowing (SLB transactions). Banks previously recorded these transactions under amounts due to or from banks or customers.

Trading portfolio liabilities

The new liability item, ‘trading portfolio liabilities’, captures the short positions in the trading portfolio and liabilities resulting from short positions due to short spot sales, which are reported according to the principle of trade date accounting. Banks previously reported these positions under ‘amounts due to banks’ or ‘other amounts due to customers’.

Other financial instruments at fair value

The fair value option (FVO), which was introduced recently, enables banks – under certain conditions – to record financial instruments at fair value instead of amortised cost or nominal value. If banks choose the FVO for a given instrument, they record it at fair value under the new balance sheet item, ‘other financial instruments at fair value’ on the assets side of the balance sheet, or under ‘liabilities from other financial instruments at fair value’ on the liabilities side. The reason for introducing the FVO and the associated balance sheet items is mainly to ensure that banks can book structured products, which they have issued themselves, on the liabilities side of their balance sheets.

Derivative financial instruments

Until now, the positive or negative replacement values of all derivative instruments arising from banks trading on their own account and for customers, which are outstanding on the balance sheet date, were recorded under the balance sheet items, ‘other assets’ and ‘other liabilities’. With the introduction of the ARB, they will be reported under the new balance sheet items, ‘positive replacement values of derivative financial instruments’ or ‘negative replacement values of derivative financial instruments’.

Money market instruments

The old balance sheet items, ‘amounts due arising from money market instruments’ and ‘liabilities arising from money market instruments’, are discontinued under the new ARB. With the exception of bills of exchange and cheques, money market instruments formerly recorded under ‘amounts due arising from money market instruments’ are now recorded under the balance sheet item, ‘financial investments’. Depending on the counterparty, banks now report bills of exchange and cheques as amounts due from banks or customers. On the liabilities side – depending on the counterparty – money market instruments are now recorded under ‘amounts due to banks’, ‘amounts due in respect of customer deposits’ or, if the counterparty is unknown, under the balance sheet item, ‘bond issues and central mortgage institution loans’.

Breaks in series

As a result of the revision of the accounting rules for banks, there are breaks in series in various items of the banking statistics tables between October and November 2015. The breaks are due to the amended provisions on the breakdown and contents of banks’ balance sheets. In addition, some banks took advantage of the changeover to the new accounting rules to carry out some internal changes, leading to further adjustments in the reported data.

The following observations on the main breaks in series relate mostly to total positions; the breaks continued, occasionally irregularly, through the breakdowns by bank category, currency, maturity and sector:

Amounts due from banks and amounts due from customers

Amounts due from banks declined by CHF 141.7 billion (–28%) between October and November 2015. With a drop of CHF 122.7 billion (–33%), amounts due from banks abroad were much more affected than amounts due from domestic banks (CHF –19.0 billion; –15%). The main reason for this decrease is that claims from securities lending (repos) are booked under the new balance sheet item ‘amounts due from securities financing transactions’ from November 2015.

Amounts due from customers in the aggregate figure for all banks decreased considerably less strongly than amounts due from banks (CHF –22.0 billion; –3%). This decline concentrated on cantonal banks (CHF –9.3 billion; –17%) and big banks (CHF –16.8 billion; –4%) and, in the case of amounts due from banks, is attributable in particular to the introduction of the new balance sheet item ‘amounts due from securities financing transactions’.

Amounts due to banks

The amounts due to banks also declined as a result of the introduction of the new balance sheet item ‘liabilities from securities financing transactions’, although a little less strongly than the amounts due from banks on the assets side (CHF –90.6 billion; –19%). The decrease for amounts due to banks abroad was CHF 62.1 billion (–18%); amounts due to domestic banks fell by CHF 28.5 billion (–20%).

Maturity allocation of call money

Previously, call money data were collected and published in the SNB’s balance sheet statistics under the maturity category ‘with a residual maturity of up to 1 month’. However, under both the old and the new accounting rules, they are allocated to the category ‘callable’. This discrepancy was corrected with the switch to the new ARB. This was reflected, for instance, in the first-time reporting in November 2015 of callable amounts due from banks and to banks of CHF 8.1 billion and CHF 10.8 billion respectively. Furthermore, the callable ‘amounts due in respect of customer deposits excluding pension provision’ increased by approximately CHF 40 billion (+7%), while the ‘amounts due in respect of customer deposits excluding pension provision’ with a residual maturity of 1 month decreased by CHF 35 billion (–29%). The big banks were particularly affected by this reclassification.

Cash bonds

Cash bonds decreased from October to November by CHF 8.9 billion (–39%). The decline affected the Raiffeisen banks category, which also carried out internal changes when switching over to the new accounting rules: Certain items which were previously included in the amounts due from cash bonds have now been reallocated to time deposits.

Bond issues and central mortgage institution loans

Liabilities from bond issues and central mortgage institution loans fell by CHF 112.8 billion (–22%) between October and November 2015. The main drivers of this decline are liabilities such as self-issued structured products which, with the application of the fair value option (FVO), can be booked under the new balance sheet item ‘liabilities from other financial instruments at fair value’. The FVO was applied to big banks in particular and used for their liabilities abroad.

Provisions

Total domestic and foreign provisions in November 2015 stood at CHF 4.4 billion (–18%), below the previous month’s value. Certain value adjustments were still included in this balance sheet item up to and including October 2015. The introduction of the ARB means that banks are no longer allowed to report value adjustments on the liabilities side: The banks offset value adjustments directly against the affected item on the assets side or report them as a global negative item on the assets side under the transitional balance sheet item ‘non-eligible value adjustments according to transitional provisions’.

Imprimer

Révision des statistiques portant sur les bilans bancaires

Contexte

La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a mené, pour la première fois pour les données de novembre 2015, des enquêtes conformes aux nouvelles Prescriptions comptables pour les banques (PCB, Circ.-FINMA 15/01, qui remplace la Circ.-FINMA 08/02) édictées par l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA). Ces dernières entraînent, tant dans la structure que dans le contenu des bilans et des comptes de résultat des banques, des changements qui se répercutent à partir des relevés de novembre 2015 dans les tableaux des statistiques portant sur les bilans (data.snb.ch). Dans le cadre de la mise en conformité de ses enquêtes avec les nouvelles PCB, la BNS souhaite, dans la mesure du possible, maintenir une continuité entre les données publiées antérieurement et celles qui sont postérieures à octobre 2015, afin de fournir des séries chronologiques longues. Or la révision des PCB provoque une rupture entre octobre et novembre 2015 dans plusieurs séries, mais non dans toutes, car les données collectées jusque-là pour certaines d’entre elles étaient déjà conformes aux nouvelles normes comptables.

Principaux changements découlant des prescriptions comptables pour les banques

Engagements résultant des dépôts de la clientèle

Conformément aux PCB, les anciens postes du passif Autres engagements envers la clientèle et Engagements envers la clientèle sous forme d’épargne et de placements sont rassemblés dans le nouveau poste Engagements résultant des dépôts de la clientèle.

Corrections de valeur et provisions

Les banques sont dorénavant tenues de porter les corrections de valeur en déduction du poste correspondant à l’actif du bilan et ne peuvent plus les inscrire au passif. Jusqu’ici, elles pouvaient soit déduire les corrections de valeur directement du poste correspondant à l’actif du bilan, soit les enregistrer dans le poste Corrections de valeur et provisions au passif du bilan. Ce poste a par ailleurs été renommé en conséquence et s’intitule à présent Provisions.

Il y a lieu de préciser que, durant les deux premiers exercices qui suivent l’entrée en vigueur des nouvelles PCB (c’est-à-dire jusqu’à fin 2016), les banques sont autorisées à faire figurer les corrections de valeur, pour leur montant total ou partiel, dans une position négative globale à l’actif du bilan (poste transitoire du bilan Corrections de valeur non compensables selon les dispositions transitoires), au lieu de les déduire directement du poste de l’actif correspondant.

Opérations de financement de titres

Les PCB introduisent dans le bilan les nouveaux postes Créances résultant d’opérations de financement de titres et Engagements résultant d’opérations de financement de titres. Ces postes regroupent les créances et les engagements résultant de dépôts de fonds consécutifs à des pensions de titres (repos et reverse repos) ou à des opérations de prêts et d’emprunts de titres (securities lending and borrowing). Jusqu’ici, les banques inscrivaient ces opérations dans les créances sur les banques et sur la clientèle et dans les engagements envers les banques et envers la clientèle.

Engagements résultant d’opérations de négoce

Le nouveau poste Engagements résultant d’opérations de négoce, qui figure au passif du bilan, englobe les positions courtes (short) en lien avec l’activité de négoce et les engagements relatifs aux positions courtes consécutives à des ventes au comptant à découvert. Ces engagements sont comptabilisés selon le principe de la date de conclusion. Jusqu’ici, les banques les indiquaient sous les postes Engagements envers les banques et Autres engagements envers la clientèle.

Autres instruments financiers évalués à la juste valeur

L’option de la juste valeur, introduite dans le cadre des nouvelles PCB, permet aux banques, sous certaines conditions, d’évaluer les instruments financiers à la juste valeur et non pas, comme jusqu’à présent, au coût d’acquisition adapté ou à la valeur nominale. Les banques qui choisissent l’option de la juste valeur pour un certain instrument financier enregistrent ce dernier – à sa juste valeur – sous le poste Autres instruments financiers évalués à la juste valeur à l’actif du bilan ou sous Engagements résultant des autres instruments financiers évalués à la juste valeur au passif du bilan. Ces derniers postes ont notamment été créés en lien avec l’option de la juste valeur afin de régler la comptabilisation par les banques des produits structurés qu’elles ont émis.

Instruments financiers dérivés

Les valeurs de remplacement positives et négatives de tous les instruments financiers dérivés ouverts à la date du bilan résultant d’opérations pour propre compte et pour le compte de clients étaient comptabilisées jusqu’ici sous Autres actifs et Autres passifs. Elles sont dorénavant inscrites sous Valeurs de remplacement positives d’instruments financiers dérivés et sous Valeurs de remplacement négatives d’instruments financiers dérivés, conformément aux PCB.

Papiers monétaires

Les anciens postes Créances résultant de papiers monétaires et Engagements résultant de papiers monétaires n’apparaissent plus dans les nouvelles PCB. Les papiers monétaires (hors effets de change et chèques) sont dorénavant inscrits sous Immobilisations financières, et les effets de change et les chèques, sous Créances sur les banques ou Créances sur la clientèle, selon la contrepartie. Du côté des passifs, les papiers monétaires sont comptabilisés, selon la contrepartie, dans les Engagements envers les banques ou dans les Engagements résultant des dépôts de la clientèle, ou, si la contrepartie n’est pas connue, sous le poste Emprunts et prêts des centrales d’émission de lettres de gage.

Ruptures dans les séries

La révision des prescriptions comptables entraîne des changements dans la structure et dans le contenu des bilans bancaires, et par là même des ruptures dans les séries entre octobre et novembre 2015. En outre, les banques ont parfois profité du passage aux nouvelles normes comptables pour procéder à des changements internes, ce qui a eu des répercussions supplémentaires sur les relevés transmis.

Les éléments ci-après portent sur les principales ruptures dans les séries. Ils concernent majoritairement des postes totaux; les ruptures se retrouvent, parfois de manière irrégulière, dans les données présentées par catégories de banques, par monnaies, par échéances et par secteurs.

Créances sur les banques et créances sur la clientèle

D’octobre à novembre 2015, le poste Créances sur les banques a affiché un recul de 141,7 milliards de francs (–28%), dont l’essentiel (122,7 milliards) concerne des créances sur des banques établies à l’étranger (–33%), les créances sur des établissements situés en Suisse ayant diminuée de 19 milliards seulement (–15%). Ce repli tient principalement au fait que, depuis novembre 2015, les créances résultant de dépôts de fonds consécutifs à des pensions de titres sont comptabilisées sous le nouveau poste Créances résultant d’opérations de financement de titres.

En valeur agrégée pour l’ensemble des banques, le recul des créances sur la clientèle (–22 milliards de francs, soit –3%) a été bien inférieur à celui des créances sur les banques. Il a concerné surtout les banques cantonales (–9,3 milliards de francs, soit –17%) et les grandes banques (–16,8 milliards, soit –4%). Comme pour les créances sur les banques, il est essentiellement dû à l’introduction du poste Créances résultant d’opérations de financement de titres.

Engagements envers les banques

Même si leur recul est moins prononcé que celui des créances sur les banques, les engagements envers les banques se sont également repliés à la suite de l’introduction du poste Créances résultant d’opérations de financement de titres (–90,6 milliards de francs, soit –19%). Cette diminution est principalement due à la baisse des engagements envers les banques établies à l’étranger (–62,1 milliards de francs, soit –18%), ceux envers les banques situées en Suisse n’ayant reculé que de 28,5 milliards (–20%).

Echéance attribuée aux avoirs au jour le jour

Dans les enquêtes de la BNS portant sur les bilans bancaires, les avoirs au jour le jour figuraient jusque-là sous avec échéance jusqu’à 1 mois. Or d’après les prescriptions comptables pour les banques (Circulaires FINMA 2008/02 et 2015/01), ils doivent être annoncés sous la catégorie Dénonçable. La mise en conformité des enquêtes avec les nouvelles PCB permet de lever cette différence. Cela se répercute à deux niveaux sur les données de novembre 2015. D’abord, des créances et engagements dénonçables vis-à-vis des banques apparaissent pour la première fois (respectivement 8,1 milliards de francs et 10,8 milliards). Ensuite, les dépôts de la clientèle dénonçables hors fonds déposés dans le cadre de la prévoyance s’accroissent d’environ 40 milliards de francs (+7%), tandis que les dépôts de la clientèle hors fonds déposés dans le cadre de la prévoyance avec échéance jusqu’à un mois reculent de 35 milliards (–29%). Ce changement a concerné principalement les grandes banques.

Obligations de caisse

Entre octobre et novembre 2015, les obligations de caisse ont reculé de 8,9 milliards de francs (–39%). Ce repli était dû aux banques Raiffeisen. Lors de la mise en conformité de leurs comptes aux PCB, celles-ci ont modifié la comptabilisation d’opérations jusque-là portées au bilan sous les engagements résultant d’obligations de caisse, les enregistrant désormais sous les dépôts à terme.

Emprunts et prêts des centrales d’émission de lettres de gage

Entre octobre et novembre 2015, les engagements résultant des emprunts et des prêts des centrales d’émission de lettres de gage ont reculé de 112,8 milliards de francs (–22%). Ce repli est notamment dû à des engagements résultant par exemple de produits structurés émis en propre, qui, en application de l’option de la juste valeur, peuvent désormais être comptabilisés sous le nouveau poste Engagements résultant des autres instruments financiers évalués à la juste valeur. L’option de la juste valeur a été notamment utilisée par les grandes banques, et tout spécialement pour les engagements envers l’étranger.

Provisions

En novembre 2015, le total des provisions (Suisse et étranger) a reculé de 4,4 milliards de francs (–18%) par rapport à octobre. Jusqu’à octobre 2015 inclus, ce poste comprenait certaines corrections de valeur. Avec l’introduction des PCB, les banques ne sont plus autorisées à inscrire au passif les corrections de valeur: elles doivent désormais les déduire directement du poste de l’actif correspondant ou les annoncer en tant que poste négatif global à l’actif, sous le poste transitoire du bilan Corrections de valeur non compensables selon les dispositions transitoires.