Print

Goals and responsibilities of the Swiss National Bank (overview)

Mandate

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) conducts the country’s monetary policy as an independent central bank. It is obliged by Constitution and statute to act in accordance with the interests of the country as a whole. Its primary goal is to ensure price stability, while taking due account of economic developments. In so doing, it creates an appropriate environment for economic growth.

Price stability

Price stability is an important condition for growth and prosperity. Inflation and deflation, by contrast, impair economic activity. They hinder the role of prices in allocating labour and capital to their most efficient use, and result in a redistribution of income and wealth. The SNB equates price stability with a rise in consumer prices of less than 2% per annum. Deflation – i.e. a sustained decrease in the price level – also breaches the objective of price stability. A medium-term inflation forecast serves as the main indicator for monetary policy decisions.

Implementation of monetary policy

The SNB implements its monetary policy by steering the interest rate level on the money market. The three-month Swiss franc Libor serves as its reference interest rate. The SNB can influence money market rates by means of its open market operations or adjust the interest rate on sight deposits held by banks and other financial market participants at the SNB. In order to influence monetary policy conditions, the SNB also intervenes in the foreign exchange market, as necessary.

Cash supply and distribution

The SNB is entrusted with the note-issuing privilege. It supplies the Swiss economy with banknotes commensurate with demand for payment purposes. These banknotes meet high standards with respect to quality and security. It is also charged by the Confederation with the task of coin distribution.

Cashless payment transactions

Regarding cashless payment transactions, the SNB is involved in the Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) payment system. The payments are settled in SIC via sight deposit accounts held with the SNB.

Asset management

The SNB manages the currency reserves, the most important component of its assets. It requires currency reserves to ensure that it has room for manoeuvre in its monetary policy at all times. The level of the currency reserves is largely dictated by the implementation of monetary policy.

Financial system stability

The SNB contributes to the stability of the financial system. It fulfils this mandate by analysing sources of risk to the financial system and identifying areas where action is needed. In addition, it helps to create and implement a regulatory framework for the financial sector, and oversees systemically important financial market infrastructures.

International monetary cooperation

The SNB participates in international monetary cooperation. To this end, it works in conjunction with the federal authorities. It participates in multilateral institutions, cooperates with the Confederation in providing international monetary assistance, and works on a bilateral level with other central banks and authorities.

Banker to the Confederation

The SNB acts as banker to the Confederation. It processes payments on behalf of the Confederation, issues money market debt register claims and bonds, handles the custody of securities and carries out foreign exchange transactions.

Statistics

The SNB compiles statistical data on banks and financial markets, the balance of payments, direct investment, the international investment position and the Swiss financial accounts.

Imprimer

Objectifs et tâches de la Banque nationale suisse (aperçu)

Mandat

En sa qualité de banque centrale indépendante, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) conduit la politique monétaire du pays. Conformément à la Constitution et à la loi, elle doit se laisser guider par l’intérêt général du pays et donner la priorité à la stabilité des prix en tenant compte de l’évolution de la conjoncture. Elle établit ainsi une condition fondamentale pour l’évolution de l’économie.

Stabilité des prix

La stabilité des prix est une condition importante de la croissance et de la prospérité. L’inflation et la déflation entravent par contre le développement de l’économie: elles compromettent le rôle des prix, lequel consiste à allouer la main-d'œuvre et le capital en vue de maximiser la productivité, et provoquent une redistribution des revenus et des richesses. La BNS assimile la stabilité des prix à une hausse annuelle inférieure à 2% des prix à la consommation. La déflation, c’est-à-dire une baisse durable du niveau des prix, est elle aussi contraire à cette définition. Une prévision d’inflation à moyen terme sert de principal indicateur pour les décisions de politique monétaire.

Mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire

La BNS met en œuvre sa politique monétaire en influant sur le niveau des taux d’intérêt du marché monétaire. Son taux de référence est le Libor à trois mois pour le franc. La Banque nationale peut agir sur les taux du marché monétaire par ses opérations d’open market ou adapter le taux appliqué aux avoirs à vue que les banques et d’autres intervenants sur les marchés financiers détiennent à la BNS. Elle peut également intervenir, au besoin, sur le marché des changes afin d’influer sur les conditions monétaires.

Approvisionnement en numéraire

La BNS exerce le monopole d’émission des billets de banque. En fonction des besoins du trafic des paiements, elle approvisionne l’économie suisse en billets répondant à des exigences élevées tant sous l’angle de la qualité que de la sécurité. A la demande de la Confédération, elle met également les pièces en circulation.

Paiements sans numéraire

Dans le domaine des paiements sans numéraire, la BNS met l’accent sur le système de paiement Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC). Ces paiements sont exécutés dans le système SIC au moyen des comptes de virement à la BNS.

Gestion des actifs

La BNS gère les réserves monétaires, qui constituent la majeure partie de ses actifs. Ces réserves lui permettent de disposer en tout temps de la marge de manœuvre nécessaire sur le plan monétaire. Leur volume résulte en grande partie de la mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire.

Stabilité du système financier

La BNS contribue à la stabilité du système financier. Afin de remplir ce mandat, elle analyse les sources de risques pour le système financier et signale tout éventuel besoin d’agir. En outre, elle collabore à la conception et à la mise en œuvre du cadre réglementaire applicable à la place financière et surveille les infrastructures des marchés financiers reconnues d’importance systémique.

Coopération monétaire internationale

La Banque nationale participe à la coopération monétaire internationale. Dans l’accomplissement de cette tâche, elle collabore avec les autorités fédérales. Elle s’associe aux travaux d’institutions multilatérales, prend part à l’aide monétaire internationale de la Confédération et travaille avec d’autres banques centrales et autorités sur une base bilatérale.

Services bancaires en faveur de la Confédération

La BNS fournit également des services bancaires à la Confédération. Pour le compte de cette dernière, elle exécute et reçoit des paiements, émet des créances comptables à court terme et des emprunts, assure la conservation de titres et passe des opérations sur le marché des changes.

Statistique

La BNS dresse des statistiques sur les banques, les marchés financiers, la balance des paiements, les investissements directs, la position extérieure nette et les comptes financiers de la Suisse.