Questions and answers on equity capital and profit appropriation

  • What is the SNB's equity capital made up of?

    As with any other joint-stock company, the SNB's equity capital consists of share capital and retained earnings. The share capital, which is fixed at CHF 25 million under the National Bank Act (NBA), makes up only a small part of the equity capital. The most important component is the provisions for currency reserves, to which a certain amount from the annual result is allocated each year in accordance with the NBA. These provisions function as a general reserve and a buffer against all forms of risk of loss, in particular the risk of valuation losses on currency reserves. They basically serve to maintain the currency reserves at the level required by monetary policy considerations (Questions and answers on the SNB's balance sheet). The third component of the SNB's equity capital is the distribution reserve. This is a form of profit carried forward and may, at certain times, be negative.

  • How does the SNB determine the allocation to provisions for currency reserves?

    As required by the NBA, the SNB takes into account economic developments in Switzerland when determining the amount to be allocated. The associated calculation of the percentage increase in provisions is based on the average growth of nominal GDP over the previous five years. In 2009, the SNB increased the allocation to the provisions to double the average nominal economic growth rate in view of increased balance sheet risks. In 2016, a minimum annual allocation of 8% of the provisions at the end of the previous year was introduced. The aim was to ensure that sufficient allocations are made to the provisions and that the balance sheet is strengthened even in periods of low nominal GDP growth. In 2020, the minimum annual allocation was raised to 10%. Based on risk considerations, the SNB can adjust the rules governing the allocation to the provisions.

  • How have the provisions for currency reserves developed recently?

    The increase in currency reserves for monetary policy reasons has led to a manifold increase in the SNB's balance sheet, as well as to changes in its composition. In order to take account of the consequent rise in the risk of loss and to gradually strengthen the SNB's equity capital, the SNB adjusted the rule on allocations to the provisions for currency reserve in several steps. Thus, where previously the calculation of the provisions was based on the average growth of nominal GDP over the preceding five years, in 2011 the basis was changed to twice that rate. In 2016, a minimum annual allocation was decided amounting to 8% of the provisions at the end of the previous year. The minimum allocation was raised to 10% in 2020. This minimum allocation was applied in the 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 financial years.

  • What happens with the part of the annual result that is not allocated to the provisions for currency reserves?

    The portion of the annual result remaining after the allocation to the provisions for currency reserves is the distributable profit (art. 30 para. 2 NBA). Together with the distribution reserve, this makes up the net profit/net loss (art. 31 NBA). If a net profit is achieved, this is used for distributions. The NBA specifies that a dividend not exceeding 6% of the share capital is to be paid from the net profit. The decision on this matter is taken by the General Meeting of Shareholders on the basis of a Bank Council proposal (Questions and answers on the SNB as a company). Any net profit remaining after the payment of a dividend is in principle available for distribution to the public sector. One-third of any such distribution goes to the Confederation and two-thirds to the cantons. The amount of the annual profit distribution to the Confederation and the cantons is laid down in an agreement between the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the SNB. Given the considerable fluctuations in the SNB's earnings, the NBA stipulates that profit distribution be maintained at a steady level. Consequently, a constant flow of payments over several years is provided for in the agreement and a distribution reserve carried on the balance sheet.

  • Is it possible that no dividend is paid?

    Dividends are paid on condition that a distributable profit is available. In the 2013 financial year, this was not the case. Therefore, for the first time in its history, the SNB did not pay a dividend.

  • Why are the Confederation and cantons entitled to the SNB's net profit?

    The SNB has a public mandate. This mandate includes the note-issuing privilege, due to which the SNB earns profits on average in the long run. Insofar as the profits are not needed for provisions for currency reserves, it is the public sector that is entitled to the amount remaining after the payment of a dividend. Art. 99 of the Federal Constitution specifies that at least two-thirds of this net profit is to go to the cantons. The NBA stipulates that the remaining third is to go to the Confederation.

  • How is the distribution to the Confederation and the cantons regulated in detail?

    The NBA specifies that the FDF and the SNB are to agree on the annual amount of profit distribution to the Confederation and cantons for a specified period of time. The cantons are to be informed in advance. The profit distribution agreement for the financial years 2020 to 2025 provides for a maximum annual distribution of CHF 6 billion, provided that the SNB’s financial situation permits. The rest of the distributable annual profit is allocated to the distribution reserve and remains available for distributions at a later date.

  • Can the distribution to the Confederation and the cantons be reduced, and is it possible for no distribution to be paid?

    Yes. The profit distribution agreement for 2020 to 2025 makes the amount of the distribution to the Confederation and the cantons contingent on the net profit. The maximum amount of CHF 6 billion will be distributed only if a net profit of at least CHF 40 billion is achieved. If the net profit is between CHF 30 billion and CHF 40 billion, a distribution of CHF 5 billion will be made; between CHF 20 billion and CHF 30 billion a distribution of CHF 4 billion; and between CHF 10 billion and CHF 20 billion a distribution of CHF 3 billion. If the net profit falls below CHF 10 billion, a maximum amount of CHF 2 billion will be distributed, whereby the distribution together with the dividend may not result in a negative distribution reserve. In the event of a net loss, no distribution will be made.

  • Why not distribute the entire net profit every year?

    For one thing, as mentioned above, given the considerable fluctuations in the SNB’s earnings, the NBA stipulates that profit distribution be smoothed and maintained at a steady level. A well-stocked distribution reserve acts as a buffer, thereby ensuring that the Confederation and the cantons are seldom faced with years in which the SNB cannot make a distribution. Furthermore, while the SNB can distribute a profit to the Confederation and the cantons, it cannot reclaim any money if it makes a loss. If the entire net profit were to be distributed every year, the SNB’s equity capital would fall below the targeted level in the event of a loss.

  • How is a distribution divided among the cantons and what is the money used for?

    The cantons' resident population is taken into account for the division of the funds to be distributed, with the details specified in a Federal Council ordinance. The SNB has no influence on how the distributed profits are used by the Confederation and the cantons.

  • If the SNB ends a financial year with a loss, how does this affect allocations to the provisions for currency reserves and to the distribution reserve?

    Allocations to the provisions for currency reserves are made irrespective of the annual result. In the event of a loss - or an insufficiently high profit - this allocation would have a corresponding impact on the distribution reserve. This can lead to the distribution reserve becoming negative, as was the case after the 2013 financial year.

  • Why are there such large fluctuations in the SNB's annual results?

    The SNB is obliged by the Constitution to pursue a monetary policy that serves the overall interests of the country. It is not the purpose of the SNB to achieve and distribute profits. Monetary policy operations have a direct impact on the SNB's balance sheet. The primacy of monetary policy means that the length and structure of the balance sheet are subordinate to monetary policy goals (Questions and answers on asset management). The major part of the SNB's assets consists of investments in gold and foreign currencies, which are stated at market value. This is why the SNB's results are largely dependent on developments in the gold, foreign exchange and capital markets, and are subject to strong fluctuations. With a longer balance sheet, the fluctuations stated in absolute terms naturally become larger.

  • Can the SNB's equity capital become negative?

    Consistent fulfilment of the monetary policy mandate may, under certain circumstances, mean that the SNB has to accept the risk of substantial losses, through which its equity capital could temporarily become negative. In the balance sheet, this would be reflected by a negative distribution reserve that, in absolute figures, would exceed the provisions for currency reserves and the share capital. However, such a state of affairs would, in all likelihood, be only temporary since a central bank's structural profit potential usually ensures that, sooner or later, surpluses are again achieved.

  • What does 'structural profit potential' mean?

    As with other companies, the SNB's assets generate income. Thanks to the SNB's exclusive right to issue banknotes, however, financing its assets incurs only very low costs. In this way, it differs fundamentally from other companies. Issuing banknotes costs only a fraction of their nominal value, and sight deposit accounts at the SNB are as a rule also a very cheap form of financing. This is why the SNB achieves profits from money creation - known as seigniorage - in the long run.

  • A company or commercial bank with negative equity capital would have to be restructured or liquidated. Wouldn't the SNB, too, have to be wound up in such a case?

    No. Thanks to its ability to create money, the SNB remains solvent in domestic currency at all times. Theoretically, it has unlimited amounts of legal tender at its disposal. Therefore the SNB fully retains its freedom to act even if its equity capital temporarily becomes negative. This means it can fulfil its monetary policy mandate at all times. Moreover, there are no legal requirements that would trigger a restructuring of the SNB, let alone liquidation, in the case of negative equity capital. Nor would the SNB's shareholders be under any obligation to provide additional funding.

  • What then does the SNB need equity capital for?

    If a central bank's equity capital were negative over a long period of time, it could lose credibility in the markets and, in extremis, no longer be in a position to fulfil its monetary policy mandate without restriction. Building up equity capital again after suffering losses would therefore be a prime concern of the SNB. The SNB generally strives to maintain a strong equity capital base in order to be able to fulfil its mandate in the long term.

Questions et réponses sur les fonds propres et l'affectation du bénéfice

  • De quoi se composent les fonds propres de la Banque nationale?

    Comme pour toute société anonyme, les fonds propres de la Banque nationale se composent du capital-actions et des bénéfices non distribués. Le capital-actions, qui est fixé par la loi sur la Banque nationale (LBN) à 25 millions de francs, ne représente qu'une petite partie des fonds propres. Leur principale composante est la provision pour réserves monétaires, qui, conformément à la LBN, est alimentée chaque année par des prélèvements sur le résultat de l'exercice concerné. Cette provision a la fonction d'une réserve générale et fait office de volant de sécurité pour tous les types de risques de pertes, notamment les pertes de change sur les réserves monétaires. Elle sert à maintenir lesdites réserves au niveau requis par la politique monétaire (Questions et réponses sur le bilan de la Banque nationale). La troisième composante des fonds propres est la réserve pour distributions futures. Il s'agit en quelque sorte du bénéfice reporté, ou de la perte reportée si cette réserve est négative.

  • Comment la Banque nationale fixe-t-elle l'attribution à la provision pour réserves monétaires?

    Comme le prescrit la LBN, la Banque nationale se fonde sur l'évolution de l'économie suisse pour fixer le montant à attribuer à la provision pour réserves monétaires. La croissance moyenne du produit intérieur brut (PIB) nominal des cinq dernières années sert de base pour calculer l'attribution à cette provision. En 2009, compte tenu de l'accroissement des risques au bilan, la Banque nationale a augmenté l'attribution annuelle à la provision pour réserves monétaires, celle-ci progressant désormais à un rythme double du taux de croissance moyen du PIB nominal. En 2016, un montant minimum a été introduit, égal à 8% du solde de la provision pour réserves monétaires à la fin de l’exercice précédent. Cette règle garantit une alimentation suffisante de la provision et un renforcement du bilan même dans les périodes de faible croissance du PIB nominal. Depuis 2020, l’attribution annuelle a été portée à 10% au moins du solde de la provision pour réserves monétaires. En vue de réduire les risques, la BNS peut être amenée à adapter la règle régissant le montant attribué à cette provision.

  • Comment la provision pour réserves monétaires a-t-elle évolué dernièrement?

    L’augmentation des réserves monétaires entraînée par les mesures de politique monétaire a conduit à un très fort accroissement du total du bilan et à un changement de sa composition. Afin de tenir compte de la progression des risques de pertes et de renforcer durablement ses fonds propres, la Banque nationale a ajusté en plusieurs étapes le montant attribué à la provision: depuis 2011, ce dernier est calculé sur la base, non plus du taux de croissance moyen du PIB nominal des cinq années précédentes, mais du double de celui-ci. En 2016, il a en outre été décidé que le montant attribué doit s’élever à au moins 8% du solde de la provision pour réserves monétaires à la fin de l’exercice précédent. En 2020, l’attribution annuelle a été relevé à 10%. Les exercices 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 et 2020 ont chacun donné lieu à l'application de cette règle d’attribution minimale.

  • Qu'advient-il de la part du résultat de l'exercice qui n'est pas attribuée à la provision pour réserves monétaires?

    La part du résultat de l'exercice qui subsiste après l'attribution à la provision pour réserves monétaires représente le bénéfice distribuable (art. 30, al. 2, LBN). Cumulé avec le solde de la réserve pour distributions futures, il constitue le bénéfice (ou la perte) porté(e) au bilan (art. 31 LBN). Si un bénéfice est porté au bilan, il est pris en compte pour la distribution. La LBN précise que, sur le bénéfice porté au bilan, un dividende représentant au maximum 6 % du capital-actions est versé. L'Assemblée générale décide du dividende à verser sur proposition du Conseil de banque (Questions et réponses sur l'entreprise Banque nationale). Dans la mesure où il est supérieur au dividende à verser, le bénéfice porté au bilan est disponible pour une distribution aux collectivités publiques. Le montant à verser revient pour un tiers à la Confédération et pour deux tiers aux cantons. Le montant annuel du bénéfice distribué à la Confédération et aux cantons est fixé dans une convention conclue entre le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) et la Banque nationale. Etant donné la forte fluctuation des revenus de la BNS, la LBN prévoit d'assurer une répartition constante. Aux termes de la convention, les distributions du bénéfice sont lissées sur la base de données afférentes à plusieurs années. Une réserve pour distributions futures figure à cet effet au bilan de la Banque nationale.

  • Un dividende est-il toujours versé?

    Le dividende est seulement versé s'il y a un bénéfice distribuable. Cela n'était pas le cas au titre de l'exercice 2013. Ainsi, la Banque nationale a dû, pour la première fois depuis sa création, renoncer à verser un dividende aux actionnaires.

  • Pourquoi le bénéfice porté au bilan de la Banque nationale revient-il à la Confédération et aux cantons?

    La Banque nationale exerce un mandat de droit public. En vertu de ce mandat, elle assume le monopole d'émission des billets de banque, grâce auquel elle génère des bénéfices en moyenne sur le long terme. Dans la mesure où ces bénéfices ne sont pas utilisés dans le cadre de l'attribution à la provision pour réserves monétaires, ils reviennent à la Confédération et aux cantons après le versement du dividende. Conformément à l'art. 99 de la Constitution fédérale, au moins deux tiers de ce bénéfice net sont versés aux cantons. La LBN dispose que le dernier tiers revient à la Confédération.

  • Comment la distribution à la Confédération et aux cantons est-elle réglée en détail?

    La LBN prescrit que le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) et la Banque nationale conviennent, pour une période donnée, du montant annuel du bénéfice versé à la Confédération et aux cantons. Les cantons sont informés au préalable. La convention concernant la distribution du bénéfice de la BNS au titre des exercices 2021 à 2025 prévoit une distribution annuelle de 6 milliards de francs au maximum, pour autant que la situation financière de la BNS le permette. Le solde du bénéfice annuel distribuable est affecté à la réserve pour distributions futures.

  • La distribution à la Confédération et aux cantons peut-elle être suspendue ou réduite?

    Oui. Dans la convention concernant la distribution du bénéfice au titre des exercices 2020 à 2025, le montant distribué à la Confédération et aux cantons est lié au bénéfice porté au bilan. Le montant maximal de 6 milliards de francs est distribué uniquement si le bénéfice porté au bilan dépasse 40 milliards; s’il est compris entre 30 et 40 milliards, la distribution porte sur 5 milliards de francs; s’il est compris entre 20 et 30 milliards, elle porte sur 4 milliards de francs; et s’il est compris entre 10 et 20 milliards, la distribution porte sur 3 milliards de francs. Enfin, si le bénéfice porté au bilan est inférieur à 10 milliards, la distribution annuelle maximal ne peut dépasser 2 milliards de francs, le solde de la réserve pour distributions futures ne devant pas devenir négatif à la suite de cette distribution et du versement du dividende. Aucune distribution n’a lieu si une perte est portée au bilan.

  • Quels arguments s’opposent à ce que l’ensemble du bénéfice porté au bilan soit redistribué?

    D’une part la LBN prévoit d’assurer, comme indiqué précédemment, une répartition constante étant donné la forte fluctuation des revenus de la Banque nationale La constitution d’une réserve pour distributions futures fait office de filet de sécurité si bien que la Confédération et les cantons ont rarement connu d’années sans distribution. D’autre part, la Banque nationale peut certes distribuer des bénéfices à la Confédération et aux cantons, mais elle ne peut pas demander de remboursement quand elle accuse une perte. Si l'ensemble du bénéfice porté au bilan était redistribué chaque année, les fonds propres de la BNS s’établiraient, en cas de perte, inévitablement au-dessous du niveau visé.

  • Comment les cantons se répartissent-ils le montant distribué et quelle est sa destination?

    La répartition entre les cantons s'effectue en fonction de leur population résidante. Une ordonnance du Conseil fédéral en règle les modalités. La Banque nationale n'a aucune influence sur l'utilisation par les cantons et la Confédération du bénéfice distribué.

  • Qu'en est-il des attributions à la provision pour réserves monétaires et à la réserve pour distributions futures si la Banque nationale subit une perte au cours de l'exercice?

    La provision pour réserves monétaires est alimentée indépendamment du résultat de l'exercice. En cas de perte, ou si le bénéfice n'est pas assez élevé, le montant attribué à la provision pour réserves monétaires est prélevé sur la réserve pour distributions futures. Cette réserve peut, de ce fait, devenir négative, comme cela a été le cas après l'exercice 2013.

  • Pourquoi le résultat de l'exercice de la Banque nationale est-il soumis à d'aussi grandes fluctuations?

    Conformément à la Constitution, la Banque nationale a pour mission de mener une politique monétaire servant les intérêts généraux du pays; elle n'a pas pour but de réaliser ni de distribuer des bénéfices. Les opérations de politique monétaire influent directement sur le bilan de la Banque nationale. La primauté de la politique monétaire signifie que la taille et la structure du bilan doivent satisfaire aux besoins de la politique monétaire (Questions et réponses sur la gestion des placements). Les actifs de la Banque nationale sont formés pour l'essentiel d'or et de placements de devises. Ils sont évalués aux prix du marché. Ainsi, le résultat de la Banque nationale dépend surtout de l'évolution sur les marchés de l'or, des changes et des capitaux, et est soumis à de grandes fluctuations. Lorsque le total du bilan augmente, ces fluctuations sont plus fortes, par nature, en valeur absolue.

  • Les fonds propres de la Banque nationale peuvent-ils être négatifs?

    Dans l'accomplissement de son mandat de politique monétaire, la Banque nationale peut être amenée, dans certaines circonstances, à prendre le risque de subir des pertes très élevées, susceptibles de se traduire par un niveau passagèrement négatif de ses fonds propres. Le cas échéant, la réserve pour distributions futures portée au bilan serait négative, son montant dépassant celui de la provision pour réserves monétaires et du capital-actions, en valeur absolue. Mais une telle situation ne serait très vraisemblablement que temporaire. En effet, en raison de son potentiel structurel de bénéfices, un institut d'émission finit en général, à terme, par enregistrer de nouveau des excédents.

  • Qu'entend-on par potentiel structurel de bénéfices?

    Comme pour toute autre entreprise, les actifs de la Banque nationale génèrent des revenus. Toutefois, le financement des actifs d'une banque centrale n'induit que des coûts très modestes pour celle-ci étant donné qu'elle a le monopole d'émission des billets de banque. C'est ce qui la distingue fondamentalement des autres entreprises. Les coûts afférents à l'émission des billets ne représentent qu'une part négligeable de leur valeur nominale. Les comptes de virement que les banques détiennent à la BNS constituent en règle générale également un mode de financement peu onéreux. La Banque nationale réalise ainsi des bénéfices à long terme à partir de la création de monnaie, lesquels sont également appelés seigneuriage.

  • Si ses fonds propres sont négatifs, une entreprise ou une banque commerciale doit faire l'objet d'un assainissement ou déposer son bilan. Dans un tel cas, la Banque nationale ne devrait-elle pas, elle aussi, être fermée?

    Non. Compte tenu de sa capacité de créer sa propre monnaie, la Banque nationale reste toujours solvable car elle dispose théoriquement de moyens de paiement officiels illimités. Ainsi, même si ses fonds propres devaient être temporairement négatifs, la Banque nationale conserverait, à tout moment, sa pleine capacité d'action. En d'autres termes, elle est à même, en tout temps, de remplir son mandat dans le domaine de la politique monétaire. Par ailleurs, si le niveau des fonds propres devenait négatif, il n'existerait pour la Banque nationale aucune contrainte juridique d'assainissement et encore moins de liquidation. Il n'y a pas non plus d'obligation pour les actionnaires d'effectuer des versements supplémentaires.

  • Pourquoi la Banque nationale a-t-elle, alors, besoin de fonds propres?

    Un institut d'émission qui affiche longtemps des fonds propres négatifs risque de perdre sa crédibilité sur les marchés. Dans un cas extrême, il ne serait donc plus en mesure d'accomplir pleinement son mandat de politique monétaire. La Banque nationale estime qu'il serait essentiel de commencer par reconstituer ses fonds propres après avoir essuyé des pertes. D'une manière générale, elle veille à renforcer ses fonds propres pour honorer son mandat, à l'avenir également.