Print

Monetary policy decisions 2007

Contents

On 18 February 2008, the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank submitted its 2006 Accountability Report to the Federal Assembly in accordance with art. 7 para. 2 of the National Bank Act. The following Accountability Report is submitted to the Federal Council and the General Meeting of Shareholders for information purposes only, and does not require their approval.

Interest rate decisions

Four times a year, in March, June, September and December, the SNB’s Governing Board conducts an assessment of the monetary policy situation. Each of these in-depth assessments results in an interest rate decision. In addition, if circumstances so require, the Governing Board also adjusts the target range for the three-month Libor in Swiss francs between regular assessment dates. In 2007, however, this was not the case.

Monetary policy challenges in 2007

In the first half of 2007, the SNB continued the policy of normalising the level of interest rates which it has been pursuing for the past three years. Consequently, it lifted the Libor target range in two steps to bring the interest rate to a level that was in line with the strength of the economy and that would ensure price stability in the medium term.

In the second half of the year, the SNB was operating in a new environment. Management of monetary conditions consisted of ensuring, on the one hand, that the healthy state of the economy did not jeopardise price stability in the medium term, and, on the other hand, that the turbulence on the financial markets did not result in a liquidity shortage. Consequently, the aim of monetary policy was to relax monetary conditions sufficiently to ensure that interbank market nervousness did not jeopardise the growth and stability of the Swiss economy, but to do so without any relaxation of vigilance in the matter of price stability.

Monetary policy in 2007 facing numerous risks…

As in previous years, monetary policy in 2007 was exposed to numerous risks in the short, medium and long term. The SNB regularly evaluates the probability of such risks, their consequences for the economy and their implications for monetary policy.

…in the short term risks…

Although the vagaries of oil prices represented a major risk to the economy and to price stability throughout 2007, the principal risk capable of dampening economic activity in the second part of the year was the crisis on the credit market, which deeply shook the financial markets and rocked the banking world. Although the volatility in energy prices did not cause the SNB to adopt any particular measures, the fear that money markets might dry up, however, encouraged it to relax monetary conditions in the second half of 2007.

…in the medium term…

Uncertainties with respect to the outlook for the global and Swiss economies remain the principal risks in the medium term. Although the European and Swiss economies grew in line with expectations in 2007, in the second half of the year there were an increasing number of indications of a considerable slowdown in the United States as a result of the substantial corrections on the real estate and financial markets. In addition, the weakness of the Swiss franc against the euro constituted an additional risk to price stability throughout the year.

…and in the long term

The outlook for inflation in the long term would have deteriorated if the SNB had not maintained the normalisation of its monetary policy. Thus, raising interest rates in 2007 was necessary if favourable perspectives for price stability were to be maintained.

Quarterly assessment of 15 March

As at each monetary policy assessment, the SNB bases its inflation forecast on the global economic scenario it regards as most likely. The economic trends that had emerged in the course of 2006 – a slowdown in the US and sustained growth in Europe – were confirmed at the first quarterly assessment of 2007. Consequently, the SNB predicted growth for 2007 of 2.8% in the US and 2.3% in Europe, and for 2008 of 3.1% in the US and 2.2% in Europe. It also expected that the decline in oil prices would continue to dampen inflation in the months following the assessment.

At the time of the assessment, the business cycle in Switzerland was solidly established. During the course of the following quarters, most components of domestic demand as well as exports would further consolidate growth. Moreover, the healthy economy would stimulate the labour market and promote a further decline in unemployment. Consequently, the National Bank continued to forecast GDP growth of approximately 2% for 2007.

At the time of the quarterly assessment, the Swiss franc had strengthened a little against the euro, following a period of weakness whose effect on inflation had not been significant.

In this context, the evaluation of the inflation outlook at the time of the assessment involved a greater level of uncertainty. Although foreign competition and the opening up of the labour market continued moderating price increases, there was a risk that, to an increasing extent, the rise in production costs would be passed on to prices due to the high level of capacity utilisation. Consequently, the Governing Board decided to lift the Libor target range by 25 basis points, with the new range being set at 1.75–2.75%.

According to the graph shown at the end of the assessment, the path of the inflation forecast based on an unchanged Libor of 2.25% was below that of December 2006 for a large part of 2007, due in particular to the drop in oil prices. The acceleration that followed, in which the new forecast overtook that of December, was more marked than previously, due to the weakening in the Swiss franc, which neutralised the impact of the increase in the interest rate. For 2009, the path of the forecast again fell below the December forecast, as the effects of the higher interest rate once again predominated. Expected inflation amounted to 0.5% for 2007, 1.4% for 2008 and 1.6% for 2009. Even though inflationary forces were muted overall, they picked up slightly at the end of the forecast period.

e_y2007q1_l225

Quarterly assessment of 14 June

At the time of the June assessment, the US economy, although satisfactory, was a little less strong than expected. Consequently, the SNB reduced its growth forecasts for the US, setting them at 2.2% for 2007 and 3% for 2008. By contrast, the European economy was better than previously expected. The forecast for 2007 was lifted to 2.6% while that for 2008 remained unchanged at 2.2%.

The Swiss economy was in good shape at the time of the assessment, due in particular to demand from neighbouring countries and exchange rate developments.  In addition, since the March assessment, the strength of the economy had continued to support improvements in the labour market. Consequently, unemployment numbers had declined further, with the rate slipping below 3%. As a result, the SNB forecast GDP growth close to 2.5% for 2007.

In the foreign exchange market, the Swiss franc had continued giving ground to the euro and appreciating against the US dollar. In export-weighted terms, it had depreciated by 1.7%. This relaxation in monetary conditions continued to work against the effects of Libor increases and threatened to stimulate inflationary pressures in an economy operating at a high level of capacity utilisation.

In this situation, price stability was exposed to several risks, the first of which was the high price of oil. The second risk was that global demand was growing at too rapid a pace in relation to the development in production capacity. The third risk was related to the decline in the value of the Swiss franc against the euro. To ensure that medium-term price stability was not jeopardised by the strong economy, the Governing Board decided to raise the Libor target range once again by 25 basis points, thereby taking it to 2.00–3.00%.

On the assumption of an unchanged Libor of 2.50%, the published forecast put average annual inflation at 0.8% for 2007, 1.5% for 2008 and 1.7% for 2009. The combined effect of high oil prices, strong economic developments and a weakening Swiss franc resulted in a deterioration in the inflation outlook during the course of the months following the assessment. However, from mid-2008, inflation moved up to a level slightly above that forecast three months previously, approaching 2% at the end of the forecast period.

e_y2007q2_l250

Quarterly assessment of 13 September

The international environment at the time of the September assessment was dominated by the mortgage loans crisis in the US, a major correction on the stock market and the liquidity shortfalls on the money market. For the time being, the global economy did not appear to have been affected. Growth in the US economy was only very slightly weaker than expected, but the risks of a slowdown at the end of 2007 had risen. Moreover, after having fallen back between mid-July and mid-August, oil prices were heading upwards again.

In Switzerland, GDP had grown strongly in the first half of the year and employment was still improving. Consequently, capacity utilisation would remain high. The SNB, therefore, retained its GDP growth estimate for 2007 close to 2.5%, subject to any unexpected moderating effect arising from the uncertainties related to the financial markets.

As against the previous assessment, however, the inflation outlook had worsened somewhat. Oil price developments constituted the main risk. In addition, capacity utilisation remained high and the Swiss franc was still relatively weak. Nevertheless, it was possible that certain factors, such as a possible economic slowdown attributable to the turmoil on the financial markets, might limit the inflationary risks. In the meantime, since the turmoil on the money market had lifted the Libor from 2.5% to 2.9%, the tightening in monetary conditions was considered excessive with respect to the outlook for inflation. In this situation, the Governing Board decided in favour of relaxing money market conditions by bringing the Libor back to 2.75% while simultaneously lifting the target range by 25 basis points to 2.25–3.25%. From this assessment onwards, the SNB aimed for a Libor of around 2.75%.

Despite the higher level of the Libor, the inflation forecast published in September was almost identical to that of June. On the assumption of an unchanged Libor of 2.75%, the SNB forecast average annual inflation of 0.6% for 2007, 1.5% for 2008 and 1.8% for 2009. Inflation rose to the first quarter of 2008 and then flattened slightly from the second quarter onwards. In essence, this forecast was based on recent oil price developments. From mid-2008, a slight increase in inflation was expected, with figures even reaching 2% at the end of the forecast period.

e_y2007q3_l275

Quarterly assessment of 13 December

For the final assessment of the year, the SNB assumed that US economic growth – affected simultaneously by the unfavourable developments on the real estate and credit markets and by the rise in oil prices – could weaken in 2008 (forecast: 2.4%). At the time of the assessment, Europe did not appear much affected by the rise in the euro and the turmoil on the financial markets, and its growth outlook was likely to remain good, even though the SNB adjusted it slightly downwards for 2008 (forecast: 2%).

Swiss growth was strong in the third quarter, with GDP growing at an annualised rate of 3.3%. Simultaneously, in the months preceding the assessment, employment had continued increasing in practically all sectors. As a result of these developments, the growth outlook remained good for the quarters ahead, and therefore the SNB was forecasting GDP growth of some 2% in 2008, a lower figure than that recorded in 2007. This relaxation in the pace of economic activity should allow for some reduction in the level of capacity utilisation.

The inflation outlook remained good, even though it encompassed even more uncertainties than the previous assessment. Although price stability would be supported by the expected slowdown in the growth of the Swiss economy and the reduction in the rate of increase of the monetary aggregates, there were other elements capable of disturbing this stability. Examples of such inflationary factors were the rise in oil prices, should it persist, as well as the continued weakening in the Swiss franc. In this uncertain situation, the Governing Board decided to retain the Libor target range at 2.25–3.25%, aiming for a Libor of 2.75%.

On the assumption of an unchanged Libor of 2.75%, the inflation forecast indicated a surge in inflation in the first half of 2008. This advance, in which expected inflation temporarily rose above 2%, was mainly due to the increase in the price of oil. From mid-2008 to the end of the forecast period, however, inflation settled at around 1.5%. The sudden correction to the forecast in the middle of the year was due to a baseline effect, and the downturn of the path at the end of the forecasting period was to be seen within the context of the expected slowdown in the international economy.

y2007q4_l275_e

Imprimer

Compte rendu pour 2007

Contenu

Le 18 février 2008, la Direction générale de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a adressé à l'Assemblée fédérale son Compte rendu d'activité pour l'année 2006, conformément à l'art. 7, al. 2, de la loi sur la Banque nationale (LBN). Ce Compte rendu d'activité, qui figure ci-après, est soumis au Conseil fédéral et à l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires pour information et non pour approbation.

Décisions en matière de taux d’intérêt

La Direction générale de la Banque nationale procède en mars, en juin, en septembre et en décembre à une appréciation de la situation économique et monétaire. L’examen approfondi conduit à une décision en matière de taux d’intérêt. Lorsque les circonstances l’exigent, la Direction générale peut adapter la marge de fluctuation du Libor à trois mois en francs suisses sans attendre la prochaine évaluation trimestrielle de la situation. Un tel cas ne s’est pas produit en 2007.

Défis de la politique monétaire en 2007

La politique de normalisation du niveau des taux d'intérêt de ces trois dernières années a été poursuivie durant la première moitié de 2007. La Banque nationale a ainsi relevé, à deux reprises, la marge de fluctuation du Libor pour porter les taux d'intérêt à un niveau garantissant la stabilité des prix à moyen terme et s'accordant avec la vigueur de la conjoncture.

En seconde partie d'année, la Banque nationale a opéré dans un nouvel environnement. La gestion des conditions monétaires a visé à éviter, d'une part, que la bonne marche de l'économie ne compromette la stabilité des prix à moyen terme et, d'autre part, que les turbulences sur les marchés financiers ne conduisent à une pénurie de liquidités. Le défi de la politique monétaire a alors été d'assouplir suffisamment les conditions monétaires pour que les tensions sur le marché interbancaire ne mettent en péril la croissance et la stabilité de l'économie suisse, sans pour autant relâcher la vigilance en matière de stabilité des prix.

La politique monétaire 2007 au cœur des risques …

A l’instar des années précédentes, la politique monétaire a été exposée en 2007 à de nombreux risques à court, moyen et long terme. La Banque nationale évalue régulièrement la probabilité, les conséquences sur l’économie et les implications pour la politique monétaire de tels risques.

… à court terme, …

Bien que les aléas du prix du pétrole aient représenté un risque important pendant toute l'année, pour la conjoncture comme pour la stabilité des prix, la crise sur le marché des crédits, qui a fortement ébranlé les marchés financiers et mis à mal le monde bancaire, a été le principal risque de la seconde partie de l'année susceptible de freiner l'activité économique. Si la volatilité du prix de l'énergie n’a pas conduit la Banque nationale à des mesures particulières, la crainte d'un assèchement du marché monétaire a, en revanche, incité celle-ci à détendre les conditions monétaires au second semestre de 2007.

… à moyen terme …

Les incertitudes quant à la conjoncture mondiale et suisse restent les principaux risques à moyen terme. Si la conjoncture en Europe et en Suisse s'est développée conformément aux attentes en 2007, les signes pouvant laisser croire à un ralentissement marqué aux Etats-Unis se sont par contre renforcés, notamment en seconde partie d'année, suite aux fortes corrections sur les marchés immobilier et financiers. En outre, la faiblesse du franc par rapport à l'euro a constitué, pendant toute l'année, un risque supplémentaire pour la stabilité des prix.

… et à long terme

Les perspectives d'inflation à long terme se seraient dégradées si la Banque nationale n'avait pas poursuivi la normalisation du cours de sa politique. Le relèvement des taux d'intérêt en 2007 a donc représenté une condition nécessaire au maintien de bonnes perspectives en matière de stabilité des prix.

Appréciation de la situation économique et monétaire du 15 mars

Comme à chaque appréciation de la situation économique et monétaire, la prévision d'inflation de la Banque nationale est établie sur la base du scénario de l'économie mondiale jugé le plus probable. Les tendances conjoncturelles amorcées en 2006 – ralentissement aux Etats-Unis et croissance soutenue en Europe – ont été confirmées lors du premier examen de 2007. Ainsi, la Banque nationale a escompté pour 2007 et 2008 une croissance de respectivement 2,8% et 3,1% outre-Atlantique, et de 2,3% et 2,2% en Europe. De plus, la baisse du prix du pétrole devait continuer de modérer le renchérissement dans les mois suivant l'appréciation de la situation.

En Suisse, la conjoncture reposait sur une base solide au moment de l'examen. Au cours des trimestres suivants, la plupart des composantes de la demande intérieure et les exportations allaient continuer de soutenir la croissance. En outre, la bonne conjoncture, stimulant le marché du travail, devait conduire à un nouveau repli du chômage. Pour 2007, la Banque nationale a ainsi continué de tabler sur une croissance du PIB d'environ 2%.

Face à l'euro, le franc s'était quelque peu raffermi au moment de l'appréciation de la situation, après une phase de faiblesse qui n'a pas eu d'impact notable sur le renchérissement.

Dans ce contexte, l'évaluation des perspectives d'inflation était entachée d'une incertitude accrue au moment de l'examen. Si la concurrence étrangère et l'ouverture du marché du travail devaient continuer de tempérer l'évolution des prix, la hausse des coûts de production risquait de se répercuter davantage sur les prix en raison du taux élevé d'utilisation des capacités de production. La Direction générale a alors décidé de relever de 25 points de base la marge de fluctuation du Libor pour la porter à 1,75%–2,75%.

La prévision d'inflation établie sur la base d'un Libor maintenu à 2,25%, selon le graphique présenté au terme de l'examen, était inférieure à celle de décembre 2006 pour une bonne partie de 2007, notamment à cause de la baisse du prix du pétrole. L'accélération qui suivait, la prévision passant au-dessus de l'ancienne, était plus marquée que précédemment du fait de l'affaiblissement du franc, qui neutralisait les effets du relèvement du taux d'intérêt. Pour 2009, la prévision repassait en dessous de celle de décembre, la hausse de taux se faisant alors sentir. Le renchérissement attendu se montait à 0,5% pour 2007, à 1,4% pour 2008 et à 1,6% pour 2009. Bien que la dynamique de l'inflation ait dans l'ensemble faibli, elle se renforçait légèrement à la fin de la période de prévision.

f_y2007q1_l225

Appréciation de la situation économique et monétaire du 14 juin

Au moment de l'examen de juin, la conjoncture aux Etats-Unis, quoique satisfaisante, était un peu moins forte qu'attendue. La Banque nationale a donc abaissé ses prévisions de croissance américaine, les fixant à 2,2% pour 2007 et à 3% pour 2008. En revanche, la conjoncture européenne étant meilleure que prévue précédemment, la nouvelle prévision pour 2007 a été relevée à 2,6% et celle pour 2008 est restée inchangée à 2,2%.

La conjoncture suisse faisait preuve d'une belle vigueur au moment de l'appréciation de la situation, grâce notamment à la demande des pays voisins et à l'évolution des cours de change. De plus, depuis l'examen de mars, le dynamisme de l'activité continuait de favoriser le redressement du marché du travail. Ainsi, le nombre de chômeurs avait encore diminué, le taux de chômage glissant en dessous de 3%. Pour 2007, la Banque nationale a alors tablé sur une croissance du PIB proche de 2,5%.

Sur le front des changes, depuis l'examen précédent, le franc avait continué de fléchir par rapport à l'euro et de s'apprécier par rapport au dollar. Pondéré par les exportations, le franc s'était déprécié de 1,7%. Ce relâchement des conditions monétaires continuait d'atténuer les effets des relèvements de taux et menaçait de stimuler les pressions inflationnistes dans une économie opérant à un fort taux d'utilisation des capacités de production.

Dans ce contexte, la stabilité des prix était sujette à plusieurs risques. Un premier risque était lié au prix élevé du pétrole. Un deuxième risque découlait d'une évolution plus dynamique de la demande globale par rapport à celle des capacités de production. Un troisième risque était lié à la baisse du franc face à l'euro. Afin que la bonne conjoncture ne compromette la stabilité des prix à moyen terme, la Direction générale a alors décidé de relever, une nouvelle fois, de 25 points de base la marge du Libor pour la porter à 2%–3%.

Dans l'hypothèse d'un Libor maintenu à 2,5%, selon la prévision d'inflation publiée, le renchérissement annuel moyen se montait à 0,8% pour 2007, à 1,5% pour l'année suivante et à 1,7% pour 2009. L’effet combiné du prix du pétrole élevé, d’une forte évolution conjoncturelle et d’un affaiblissement du franc conduisait à une détérioration des perspectives d'inflation au cours des mois suivant l'examen. A partir du milieu de 2008, le renchérissement tendait vers un niveau légèrement supérieur à celui établi trois mois auparavant pour approcher 2% à la fin de la période de prévision.

f_y2007q2_l250

Appréciation de la situation économique et monétaire du 13 septembre

La crise des crédits hypothécaires aux Etats-Unis, une forte correction sur le marché des actions et l'insuffisance de liquidités sur le marché monétaire caractérisaient l'environnement international lors de l'examen de septembre. La conjoncture mondiale ne semblait pas en être affectée dans l'immédiat. L'économie américaine connaissait une croissance à peine plus faible que prévue, mais les risques d'un ralentissement pour la fin de 2007 augmentaient. De plus, après avoir reculé entre la mi-juillet et la mi-août, le prix du pétrole était reparti à la hausse.

En Suisse, le PIB avait fortement augmenté durant la première moitié de l'année et l'emploi poursuivi sa progression. Le taux d'utilisation des capacités de production allait ainsi rester élevé. La Banque nationale a alors maintenu son estimation de croissance du PIB pour 2007 proche de 2,5%, pour autant que les incertitudes quant aux marchés financiers n'exercent pas d'effets modérateurs inattendus.

Par rapport à l'examen précédent, les perspectives d'inflation s'étaient néanmoins quelque peu détériorées. L'évolution du prix du pétrole constituait le principal risque. En outre, le taux d'utilisation des capacités de production restait élevé. Enfin, le franc se maintenait à un niveau relativement bas. Cependant, certains facteurs, comme un éventuel ralentissement conjoncturel suite aux turbulences sur les marchés financiers, pouvaient limiter les risques inflationnistes. Dans l'intervalle, les remous sur le marché monétaire ayant entraîné une hausse du Libor de 2,5% à 2,9%, le resserrement des conditions monétaires était jugé excessif au regard de la prévision d'inflation. Dans ce contexte, la Direction générale a décidé de favoriser une détente sur le marché monétaire en ramenant le Libor à 2,75% tout en relevant de 25 points de base la marge de fluctuation, la portant à 2,25%–3,25%. A partir de cet examen, la Banque nationale a visé un Libor aux alentours de 2,75%.

Malgré le niveau supérieur du Libor, la prévision d'inflation publiée en septembre donnait une image presque identique à celle de juin. Dans l'hypothèse d'un Libor maintenu à 2,75%, la Banque nationale s'attendait à un renchérissement annuel moyen de 0,6% pour 2007, de 1,5% pour 2008 et de 1,8% pour 2009. L'inflation croissait jusqu'au premier trimestre de 2008, puis baissait légèrement à compter du deuxième trimestre. Cette prévision s'expliquait essentiellement par la récente évolution du prix du pétrole. A partir du milieu de 2008, une légère hausse de l'inflation était attendue, cette dernière atteignant même 2% à la fin de la période de prévision.

f_y2007q3_l275

Appréciation de la situation économique et monétaire du 13 décembre

Lors du dernier examen de l'année, la Banque nationale s'attendait à ce que l'économie américaine, touchée à la fois par l'évolution défavorable des marchés immobilier et des crédits et par la hausse de prix du pétrole, enregistre une croissance affaiblie en 2008 (prévision: 2,4%). Quant à l'Europe, apparemment encore peu affectée par la hausse de l'euro et les turbulences sur les marchés financiers, ses perspectives de croissance devaient demeurer bonnes, même si la Banque nationale les a révisées quelque peu à la baisse pour 2008 (prévision: 2%).

La croissance de la Suisse était vigoureuse au troisième trimestre, le PIB s'étant accru de 3,3% en taux annualisé. Durant les mois qui précédaient l'examen, l'emploi avait ainsi continué de progresser dans quasiment tous les secteurs. Grâce à cette évolution, les perspectives de croissance devaient rester bonnes pour les trimestres à venir. Par conséquent, la Banque nationale a tablé sur un rythme de progression du PIB aux alentours de 2% pour 2008, soit une prévision en retrait par rapport à la croissance en 2007. Cette accalmie devait permettre une réduction du taux d'utilisation des capacités de production.

Les perspectives d'inflation restaient bonnes, mais étaient grevées d'incertitudes supérieures à celles de l'examen précédent. Bien que le ralentissement attendu de la croissance en Suisse et la modération du rythme de progression des agrégats monétaires aient constitué des facteurs favorables au maintien de la stabilité des prix, d'autres éléments pouvaient au contraire la perturber. La hausse du prix du pétrole, si elle devait persister, de même qu'un franc qui continuait de s’affaiblir en étaient des exemples. Dans ce contexte d'incertitude, la Direction générale a décidé de maintenir la marge du Libor à 2,25%–3,25% et de viser un Libor à 2,75%.

Dans l'hypothèse d'un Libor maintenu à 2,75%, la prévision d'inflation indiquait une hausse marquée au premier semestre de 2008. Cette montée, l'inflation attendue passant temporairement en dessus de 2%, était due essentiellement à la hausse du prix du pétrole. Dès le milieu de 2008 et jusqu'à la fin de la période de prévision, par contre, l'inflation se situait aux alentours de 1,5%. La brusque correction de la prévision en milieu d'année était due à un effet de base et la révision de la courbe à la baisse pour la fin de la prévision s'inscrivait dans le ralentissement anticipé de la conjoncture internationale.

y2007q4_l275_f