Print

Monetary policy report 2001

Background

The inflation forecast published by the National Bank in December 2000 predicted that, at an unchanged interest rate of 3.5%, inflation would increase somewhat in the course of 2001 and slightly exceed 2% for a limited period of time. This forecast was based on a background of robust economic growth in 2000 and the massive rise in oil prices. At the same time, the National Bank noted that the gradual tightening of Switzerland’s monetary policy from autumn 1999 until summer 2000 and the anticipated economic slowdown in the US and Europe would help prevent an inflationary overheating of the Swiss economy. For 2001 and 2002, the National Bank projected real economic growth to slow to 2.2% and 1.6% respectively.

Subsiding inflationary pressures – lowering of the interest rate target range in March

In the course of the first quarter 2001, however, it became clear that price pressures were beginning to subside. This was due to the economic downturn in Switzerland and abroad as well as the faster-than-expected decline in oil prices. On 22 March, the National Bank reacted to this development by lowering the target range for the three-month Libor rate by 0.25 percentage points to 2.75%–3.75%. This was the first adjustment of the target range since mid-2000.

Interest rate target range left unchanged at the monetary policy assessment in June

Although the economy lost momentum in the subsequent months, the decline was moderate and the overall economic capacities remained extremely stretched. The National Bank assumed, as most observers did, that the US economy would recover slightly towards the end of the year. Inflation measured by the national consumer price index, which had dropped significantly in the first quarter due to special factors, rose again in the two following months and, at 1.5%, roughly equalled the average recorded in 2000. The new inflation forecast presented at the news conference on 14 June showed that the National Bank, assuming a short-term interest rate of 3.25%, expected inflation to stabilise at around 1.5% in 2003. At its monetary policy assessment in June, the National Bank therefore decided to leave the interest rate target range unchanged.

Interest rate cuts following the terrorist attacks in the US

In the second half of the year, it became increasingly clear that the US economy would not rebound as quickly as had first been anticipated. In addition, the economic downturn in Europe and, particularly, in Germany, roved to be more pronounced than expected. This also clouded growth prospects for Switzerland. At the same time, current inflation decreased. Therefore, even before the terrorist attacks of 11 September, the ground was prepared for a further reduction in money market rates. When the Federal Reserve and the European Central Bank (ECB) cut their interest rates by half a percentage point on 17 September, the National Bank moved forward its monetary policy assessment scheduled for 20 September and also lowered the target range by 0.5 percentage points to 2.25%–3.25%. Since the other central banks reduced their key interest rates by the same margin, the interest rate differential to other countries did not change. In the subsequent days, the Swiss franc came under strong upward pressure, especially against the euro. On 21 September, the National Bank indicated to the markets that it was extremely concerned about the development on the foreign exchange markets, and on 24 September, it reduced the interest rate target range by another 0.5 percentage points to 1.75%–2.75%. With this cut the National Bank acted in response to the appreciation of the Swiss franc, which threatened to aggravate the monetary conditions in a manner that was undesirable given the flagging economy.

Further reduction in the interest rate target range in December

At the monetary policy assessment in December, the National Bank decided to lower the target range for the three-month Libor rate by another 0.5 percentage points to 1.25%–2.25%. It acted in response to the further deterioration of the economic outlook and the associated decrease in inflationary pressure. The inflation forecast published at the news conference on 7 December is based on a three-month Libor of 1.75% and anticipates an average inflation rate of 0.9% for 2002, 1.3% for 2003 and 1.5% for 2004. At the same time, the National Bank based its forecast on an increase in real GDP of 1.5% in 2001 and around 1% in 2002.

Short-term increase of repo rates within the target range

With these four rate cuts, the National Bank reduced the target range for the three-month Libor rate by a total of 1.75 percentage points in 2001. Every time it lowered its interest rate – except on 24 September – the National Bank informed the markets that the three-month Libor rate would be kept in the middle of the target range for the time being. Since the markets had been anticipating a downtrend in interest rates since the beginning of the year, this meant that the National Bank had to let short-term repo rates climb temporarily. This was particularly the case in March, September and November, when there was the growing expectation that rates would be adjusted – possibly even ahead of schedule. In these cases, however, the National Bank was willing to make use of the flexibility offered by the target range and let the three-month Libor temporarily slip considerably below the middle of the applicable target range.

No signs of a long-term rise in prices

The substantial reduction in short-term interest rates effected during 2001 was facilitated in that the growth rates of the monetary aggregates did not signal a threat to long-term price stability. The money stock M3, which – overall – had grown only marginally from 1997 to mid-1999, increased steadily during 2001, but growth remained moderate. In the fourth quarter, M3 exceeded the previous year’s level by 4.8% on average.

Expansion of monetary base due to rising demand for banknotes

The seasonally-adjusted monetary base, which measures the liquidity supplied directly to the economy by the National Bank, registered a much stronger expansion. This increase is mainly attributable to the massive rise in banknote circulation, which was influenced by special factors such as the forthcoming introduction of euro banknotes and coins. The second component of the monetary base, the banks’ sight deposits at the National Bank, also rose while experiencing heavy fluctuations. These fluctuations were most likely triggered by the interaction between the markets’ interest rate expectations and the National Bank’s efforts to keep the three-month Libor rate near the middle of the interest rate target range.

geldaggregate_e_2001

Imprimer

Compte rendu pour 2001

Situation initiale

Selon la prévision d’inflation publiée par la Banque nationale en décembre 2000, le renchérissement devait s’accélérer légèrement au cours de 2001 et passer ainsi temporairement à un peu plus de 2%. La prévision reposait sur un Libor à trois mois inchangé à 3,5%, mais aussi sur la vigoureuse croissance économique de l’année 2000 et la hausse massive des prix des produits pétroliers. La Banque nationale avait alors souligné que les resserrements de la politique monétaire suisse, entre l’automne de 1999 et l'été de 2000, et le refroidissement attendu de la conjoncture aux Etats-Unis et en Europe contribueraient à éviter une surchauffe inflationniste de l'économie suisse. Elle tablait sur un ralentissement de la conjoncture, puisqu'elle prévoyait une croissance économique réelle de 2,2% en 2001 et de 1,6% en 2002.

Relâchement des pressions à la hausse sur les prix – Abaissement, en mars, de la marge de fluctuation

A cours du premier trimestre de 2001, on a cependant observé que les pressions à la hausse sur les prix commençaient à faiblir. Le ralentissement de la conjoncture en Suisse et à l'étranger, mais aussi la baisse d’une rapidité inattendue des prix des produits pétroliers ont contribué à ce relâchement. Le 22 mars, la Banque nationale a réagi à cette évolution en ramenant de 3%–4% à 2,75%–3,75% la marge de fluctuation du Libor à trois mois. Celle-ci n’avait plus été modifiée depuis le milieu de 2000.

Aucune adaptation de la marge de fluctuation lors de l’examen de la situation de juin

Pendant les mois suivants, la conjoncture a perdu de sa vigueur, mais le ralentissement est resté modéré, et l’économie suisse a continué à utiliser pleinement ses capacités de production. Comme la plupart des observateurs, la Banque nationale estimait alors que la conjoncture allait marquer une légère reprise aux Etats-Unis vers la fin de l’année. Mesuré à l’indice suisse des prix à la consommation, le renchérissement, qui avait nettement faibli au premier trimestre sous l’effet de facteurs spéciaux, a de nouveau augmenté au cours des deux mois suivants pour s’établir à 1,5%, soit approximativement à son niveau moyen de l’année 2000. Selon la prévision d’inflation présentée lors de la conférence de presse du 14 juin, la Banque nationale s’attendait, compte tenu d’un taux d’intérêt à trois mois de 3,25%, à une stabilisation du renchérissement à 1,5% environ en 2003. C’est pourquoi elle a décidé, lors de l’examen de la situation de juin, de maintenir inchangée la marge de fluctuation du Libor.

Baisses de taux d’intérêt après les attentats terroristes aux Etats-Unis

Dans la seconde moitié de l’année, il est apparu toujours plus clairement que la reprise de la conjoncture aux Etats-Unis n’interviendrait pas aussi rapidement qu ’on l’espérait. En outre, la conjoncture en Europe, en particulier en Allemagne, a faibli plus que prévu. Ainsi, les perspectives de croissance se sont détériorées, pour l’économie suisse également. Simultanément, le renchérissement observé a diminué. Par conséquent, le terrain était déjà prêt, avant les attentats terroristes du 11 septembre, pour une nouvelle baisse des rémunérations servies sur le marché monétaire. Le 17 septembre, lorsque la Réserve fédérale des Etats-Unis et la Banque centrale européenne ont réduit d’un demi-point leurs taux d’intérêt, la Banque nationale n’a pas attendu son examen de la situation économique et monétaire, fixé au 20 septembre, pour abaisser elle aussi d’un demi-point la marge de fluctuation du Libor. Cette marge a été ainsi ramenée à 2,25%–3,25%. Comme les autres banques centrales avaient toutes réduit leurs taux directeurs d’un demi-point, les écarts entre taux d’intérêt étrangers et suisses sont restés inchangés. Dans les jours suivants, le franc a subi de fortes pressions à la hausse sur les marchés des changes, en particulier face à l’euro. La Banque nationale a informé les marchés, le 21 septembre, de la sérieuse inquiétude que lui inspirait l’évolution des cours de change et, le 24 septembre, diminué une nouvelle fois d’un demi-point la marge de fluctuation du Libor, marge qui a alors passé à 1,75%–2,75%. Ce faisant, elle a réagi à la revalorisation du franc, laquelle menaçait de durcir les conditions monétaires dans une mesure indésirable eu égard à l’affaiblissement de la croissance économique.

Nouvel abaissement de la marge de fluctuation en décembre

Lors de l’examen de la situation économique et monétaire de décembre, la Banque nationale a décidé d’abaisser une fois encore d’un demi-point la marge de fluctuation du Libor à trois mois. Elle l’a par conséquent ramenée à 1,25%–2,25%. Elle a ainsi répondu à la nouvelle détérioration des perspectives conjoncturelles et à la diminution des pressions à la hausse sur les prix qui en découlait. Selon la prévision d’inflation publiée lors de la conférence de presse du 7 décembre, prévision qui repose sur un Libor à trois mois de 1,75%, le taux de renchérissement devrait s’inscrire en moyenne à 0,9% en 2002, à 1,3% en 2003 et à 1,5% en 2004. La Banque nationale a établi sa prévision en partant d’une croissance réelle du produit intérieur brut de 1,5% en 2001 et d’environ 1% en 2002.

Hausse passagère, à l’intérieur de la marge de fluctuation, des taux appliqués aux pensions de titres

En 2001, la Banque nationale a donc abaissé la marge de fluctuation du Libor de 1,75 point au total, en quatre étapes. Lors de chacune de ces étapes, à l’exception de celle du 24 septembre, elle a précisé également aux marchés qu’elle entendait, jusqu’à nouvel avis, maintenir le Libor dans la zone médiane de la marge de fluctuation. Mais, comme les marchés s’attendaient depuis le début de l’année à des baisses de taux d’intérêt, la Banque nationale a dû par moments laisser augmenter les taux d’intérêt appliqués aux pensions de titres à court terme. Une telle situation s’est produite notamment en mars, en septembre et en novembre, soit dans des phases où les marchés tablaient toujours plus sur une réduction possible, et même anticipée, des taux. Dans ces phases, la Banque nationale a utilisé également la souplesse que lui offre la marge de fluctuation et laissé le Libor à trois mois passer nettement au-dessous du centre de la marge alors en vigueur.

Aucun signe de hausse des prix à moyen ou long terme

Du côté des agrégats monétaires, aucun indice d’une menace pesant sur la stabilité des prix à moyen ou long terme n’était perceptible, ce qui a facilité les baisses substantielles des taux d’intérêt à court terme en 2001. Après avoir peu varié entre 1997 et le milieu de 1999, la masse monétaire M3 a augmenté constamment au cours de 2001, mais sa croissance est restée modérée. A quatrième trimestre, M3 dépassait en moyenne de 4,8% son niveau de la période correspondante de 2000.

Accroissement de la monnaie centrale en raison de la demande plus forte de billets de banque

La monnaie centrale désaisonnalisée – les liquidités que la Banque nationale met directement à la disposition de l’économie – s’est accrue davantage que M3. Son accroissement est dû principalement à une vive expansion des billets en circulation, expansion qui a été stimulée par des facteurs spéciaux tels que l’introduction prochaine du numéraire en euros. La seconde composante de la monnaie centrale – les avoirs que les banques détiennent en comptes de virements à la Banque nationale – a augmenté elle aussi, tout en marquant de fortes fluctuations. Les interactions entre les anticipations des marchés en matière de taux d’intérêt et les efforts de la Banque nationale en vue de maintenir le Libor à trois mois dans la zone médiane de la marge de fluctuation ont sans doute contribué pour beaucoup à ces fluctuations.

geldaggregate_f_2001