Print

Monetary policy report 2000

Background

At the end of 1999, the National Bank for the first time published a medium-term inflation forecast and a target range for the three-month Libor rate. It fixed the target range at 1.25% - 2.25%. This implied a tightening of monetary policy by the National Bank so as to ensure that inflation remained below 2%. The medium-term inflation forecast showed an average inflation rate of 1.5% for 2000 and a slight increase to 1.8% by 2002. This rise in inflation reflected the anticipated economic upswing, which - so experience has shown - would normally go hand in hand with upward price trends.

Tightening of the monetary reins in the first half-year

For 2000, the National Bank forecast real economic growth of 1.8%. Very soon after the turn of the year, it became evident that the economic upswing in Switzerland would be considerably boosted by the strengthening international economy. At the same time, the continuing weak trend of the Swiss franc led to an undesirable easing of monetary conditions in Switzerland. In order to ward off the associated threat of inflation, the National Bank rapidly tightened the monetary reins. Until mid-year, the National Bank increased the target range for the 3-month Libor rate by a total of 1.75 percentage points to 3%-4%.

Two-fold increase in the interest target band in the first quarter

As a first step, the National Bank increased the target range by half a percentage point to 1.75%-2.75% on 3 February after already having moved towards the upper part of the target band in the second half of January. On 23 March, on the occasion of its quarterly assessment of the economic situation, the National Bank decided once more to tighten monetary policy considerably and increased the target range for the three-month Libor rate by 0.7 percentage points to 2.5%-3.5%. The data published after the interest rate adjustment in early February showed that the Swiss economy had gained quite drastically in momentum in the second half of 1999. Shortages in the labour market were increasingly in evidence. Additional inflation risks emanated from the further decline of the Swiss franc, notably vis-à-vis the dollar.

Further interest rate step in mid-June

On 15 June, the National Bank increased the interest rate target range by another half a percentage point to 3%-4% after having permitted the three-month Libor rate to rise to the upper part of the target band at the beginning of the month. A review of the inflation forecast issued at the end of 1999 had led to the conclusion that the tightening of monetary policy implemented so far would not suffice to maintain price stability in the medium term. At the same time, the National Bank pointed out that despite a further interest rate hike a temporary increase in inflation in 2001 to more than 2% was unavoidable.

Unchanged interest target range in the second half of the year

At the quarterly assessment of the economic situation in September, the National Bank left the interest target range unchanged. A review of monetary policy had shown that the implemented policy was sufficiently restrictive to prevent economic overheating and ensure price stability in the medium term. Important indicators led to the expectation that the broadly-based economic upswing would continue, albeit at a more leisurely pace than at the beginning of the year. In addition, the Swiss franc had appreciated even further against the euro, which was tantamount to a slight tightening of monetary policy.

No sign of a long-term price rise

The development of the monetary aggregates in 2000 did not point to a long-term threat to price stability. The broadly defined money stock M3, comprising currency circulation, sight and other transaction deposits of the nonbank public plus savings and time deposits, declined slightly in the course of the year. In the fourth quarter, M3 fell short of the corresponding previous year's level by 1.2%. The aggregate M3 was thus at the same level as three years earlier.

Small rise in the monetary base

The seasonally-adjusted monetary base rose by 1.1% in 2000, thus growing less markedly than in the previous year (2.4%). Banknote circulation, which comprises roughly 90% of the monetary base, increased by 2.4%. At the same time, the banks' sight deposits at the National Bank fell by 12%. The decline in demand for sight deposits was due largely to the introduction of intraday liquidity. The fluctuations of sight deposits, which were considerably stronger than in the previous year, reflect mainly the transition from the steering of sight deposits to the steering of interest rates.

e_grafik2_2001.gif (9002 Byte)

e_grafik1_2001.gif (16046 Byte)

Imprimer

Compte rendu pour 2000

Situation initiale

A fin 1999, la Banque nationale a pour la première fois publié une prévision d'inflation à moyen terme et assigné une marge de fluctuation au Libor à trois mois. Elle a fixé celle-ci à 1,25% - 2,25%. Une telle marge signifiait un resserrement des rênes monétaires, resserrement par lequel la Banque nationale voulait maintenir l'inflation au-dessous de 2%. Selon la prévision d'inflation de fin 1999, le renchérissement annuel moyen devait passer de 1,5% en 2000 à 1,8% en 2002. Son accélération devait découler de l'essor attendu de la conjoncture et de la tendance à la hausse des prix qui, l'expérience le montre, résulte généralement d'une telle évolution.

Durcissement de la politique monétaire au premier semestre

La Banque nationale tablait sur une croissance économique de 1,8% en 2000. Peu après le tournant de l'année déjà, il est apparu que l'essor de la conjoncture en Suisse allait être nettement plus vigoureux, grâce à la croissance plus forte sur le plan international. Simultanément, la tendance persistante à la faiblesse du franc engendrait un assouplissement indésirable des conditions-cadres, sur le plan monétaire, en Suisse. Afin de prévenir le danger d'inflation découlant d'une telle situation, la Banque nationale a rapidement durci sa politique monétaire. Jusqu'au milieu de l'année, elle a relevé la marge de fluctuation du Libor à trois mois de 1,75 point au total pour la porter à 3% - 4%.

Deux relèvements de la marge de fluctuation au premier trimestre

Après avoir annoncé, dans la seconde moitié de janvier déjà, son intention d'amener le Libor dans la zone supérieure de la marge de fluctuation de 1,25% - 2,25%, la Banque nationale a relevé cette marge d'un demi-point, le 3 février. Lors de son examen trimestriel de la situation du 23 mars, elle a porté la marge de fluctuation du Libor à 2,5% - 3,5%, d'où une nouvelle hausse de 0,75 point. Les données publiées après le relèvement de début février indiquaient que l'économie suisse avait très fortement gagné en vigueur au second semestre de 1999. Sur le marché du travail, des signes de pénurie de main-d'œuvre se faisaient de plus en plus sentir. En outre, des risques de renchérissement découlaient de la faiblesse qui caractérisait encore le franc, avant tout face au dollar.

Nouvelle hausse à la mi-juin

La Banque nationale, qui avait déjà laissé le Libor à trois mois s'établir dans la zone supérieure de la marge de fluctuation au début de juin, a relevé encore cette marge d'un demi-point, le 15 juin. La marge de fluctuation du Libor a ainsi passé à 3% - 4%. Le réexamen de la prévision d'inflation faite à fin 1999 avait amené à conclure que les resserrements apportés jusqu'ici à la politique monétaire ne seraient pas suffisants pour assurer la stabilité des prix à moyen terme. La Banque nationale avait alors souligné qu'une accélération temporaire du renchérissement à plus de 2% en 2001 ne pourrait être évitée, en dépit de la nouvelle hausse du Libor.

Marge de fluctuation inchangée au second semestre

En septembre, lors de l'examen trimestriel de la situation, la Banque nationale a maintenu inchangée sa marge de fluctuation du Libor. Sa politique monétaire, a-t-elle alors constaté, est suffisamment restrictive pour éviter une surchauffe de la conjoncture et assurer la stabilité des prix à moyen terme. D'importants indicateurs laissaient présager une poursuite de l'essor de la conjoncture sur une large assise, mais sans la fougue observée au début de l'année. De plus, le franc avait continué à se raffermir face à l'euro, ce qui équivalait à un léger resserrement de la politique monétaire.

Aucun signe de hausse des prix à moyen ou long terme

Sous l'angle de l'évolution des agrégats monétaire en 2000, aucune menace n'a plané à moyen ou long terme sur la stabilité des prix. L'agrégat M3, qui est formé du numéraire en circulation, des dépôts à vue, des comptes de transactions, des dépôts d'épargne et des dépôts à terme et qui répond ainsi à la définition la plus large, s'est légèrement replié au cours de l'année. Au quatrième trimestre, il était inférieur de 1,2% à son niveau de la période correspondante de 1999.

Faible progression de la monnaie centrale

La monnaie centrale désaisonnalisée a augmenté de 1,1% en 2000, contre 2,4% l'année précédente. Le numéraire en circulation, qui constitue environ 90% de la monnaie centrale, s'est accru de 2,4%. Quant aux avoirs que les banques détiennent en comptes de virements à la Banque nationale, ils ont fléchi de 12%. La diminution de la demande d'avoirs en comptes de virements est due essentiellement à l'introduction des liquidités intrajournalières. D'une année à l'autre, les fluctuations des avoirs en comptes de virements se sont amplifiées à la suite surtout du passage de la gestion de ces avoirs à la gestion d'un taux d'intérêt.

f_grafik2_2001.gif (9451 Byte)

f_grafik1_2001.gif (16356 Byte)