Print

Monetary policy report 1998

Announcement of an unchanged monetary policy

At the end of 1997 the National Bank had announced that it would continue implementing a generous monetary policy. It expected short-term interest rates to fluctuate on a low level of less than 2%. The supply of money was to be adjusted to the increase in demand, with the National Bank expecting real economic growth at the rate of 2% and an inflation rate of 1%.

Consideration given to economic activity and the exchange rate

Despite the worsening international economic situation business activity in 1998 largely fulfilled the expectations of the National Bank. The growth of real gross domestic product corresponded closely to the anticipated rate, and the inflation rate was only marginally overestimated. In the course of the year, however, sentiment notably in the export sector deteriorated, and medium-term growth forecasts were adjusted downwards both in Switzerland and abroad. When the Swiss franc came under upward pressure in the foreign exchange markets, first in February and then in September and October, the National Bank reacted flexibly and maintained an abundant supply of money.

Strong fluctuations in sight deposits

The sight deposits held by the commercial banks at the National Bank rose markedly from the previous year's level. In the course of the year, moreover, they underwent considerable fluctuations. This reflected the sometimes marked expansion in liquidity with which the National Bank counteracted an excessive appreciation of the Swiss franc. The merger between Swiss Bank Corporation and Union Bank of Switzerland into UBS LTD and the creation of a repo market in Switzerland likewise influenced the banks' liquidity behaviour. Furthermore, the turbulences in the financial markets had an effect on the demand for sight deposits by inducing individual banks temporarily to substantially increase their liquid funds at the National Bank.

Expansion of the monetary base

The expansion of sight deposits caused the seasonally adjusted monetary base to rise more markedly than expected. Between the fourth quarter of 1997 and the fourth quarter of 1998 it grew by 5.2%, thus exceeding the medium-term target path by 7.9%. Due to the shift in the demand for banknotes ascertained in the previous years and the switch by various banks of their liquid funds from postal cheque accounts to sight deposit accounts, the National Bank continues to assume that the gap between the monetary base and the medium-term target path overstates the degree of monetary expansion.

Weak growth of the money stock M3

The money stock M3, which the National Bank had increasingly used as an indicator in the past two years, showed only a slight rise in 1998. This reflected the persistently slow growth of bank loans. In the fourth quarter, M3 exceeded the previous year's level by 0.9%.

e_grafik1_1998

e_grafik2_1998

e_grafik3_1998

e_grafik4_1998

Imprimer

Compte rendu pour 1998

Annonce d'une politique monétaire inchangée

A fin 1997, la Banque nationale avait annoncé son intention de poursuivre sa politique monétaire ample. Elle s'attendait à ce que les taux d'intérêt à court terme fluctuent à un niveau inférieur à 2%. Il fallait adapter l'offre de monnaie à l'augmentation de la demande, la Banque nationale tablant alors sur une croissance économique réelle de 2% et sur un taux de renchérissement de 1%.

Prise en compte de la conjoncture et des cours de change

En dépit d'une détérioration de la situation économique internationale, la conjoncture en 1998 a correspondu pour l'essentiel à ce qu'attendait la Banque nationale. De plus, le renchérissement n'a été que légèrement surestimé. Au cours de l'année toutefois, le climat s'est dégradé, en particulier dans l'industrie d'exportation, et les prévisions de croissance à moyen terme ont été révisées à la baisse pour la Suisse comme pour l'étranger. Quand le franc a subi des pressions à la hausse sur les marchés des changes, en février et, surtout, durant les mois de septembre et d'octobre, la Banque nationale a réagi avec souplesse et approvisionné généreusement le marché monétaire.

Fortes fluctuations des avoirs en comptes de virements

Les avoirs que les banques détiennent en comptes de virements à l'institut d'émission ont augmenté nettement d'une année à l'autre. En outre, ils ont enregistré de sensibles fluctuations au cours de l'année. Il faut y voir le reflet de l'action de la Banque nationale - expansion par moments forte des liquidités - pour contrecarrer une revalorisation excessive du franc. La fusion de la Société de Banque Suisse et de l'Union de Banques Suisses, qui a donné naissance à l'UBS SA, et la création du marché des pensions de titres en Suisse ont elles aussi influé sur le comportement des banques en matière de liquidités. De plus, les turbulences qui ont secoué les marchés financiers ont entraîné des répercussions sur la demande d'avoirs en comptes de virements, plusieurs banques ayant accru temporairement, dans de fortes proportions, leurs disponibilités à la Banque nationale.

Accroissement de la monnaie centrale

A la suite de la nette expansion des avoirs en comptes de virements, la monnaie centrale désaisonnalisée a augmenté plus fortement que prévu. Au quatrième trimestre, elle dépassait de 5,2% son niveau de la période correspondante de 1997 et de 7,9% son sentier de croissance à moyen terme. Etant donné les déplacements que la demande de billets de banque a subis les années précédentes et les transferts de disponibilités opérés par plusieurs banques des comptes postaux vers les comptes de virements, la Banque nationale continue à penser que sa politique monétaire n'a pas eu le caractère expansionniste que laisse supposer l'écart entre la monnaie centrale et son sentier de croissance à moyen terme.

Faible progression de M3

La masse monétaire M3 - la Banque nationale a utilisé davantage cet agrégat comme indicateur à partir de 1996 - n'a progressé que légèrement en 1998. Cette évolution reflète la faiblesse persistante de la croissance des crédits bancaires. L'agrégat M3 a augmenté de 0,9% entre le quatrième trimestre de 1997 et la période correspondante de 1998.

f_grafik1_1998

f_grafik2_1998

f_grafik3_1998

f_grafik4_1998