Print

Financial stability

A stable financial system

Financial stability is a key prerequisite for the functioning of a national economy and for the effective implementation of monetary policy. A stable financial system can be defined as a system whose individual components – financial intermediaries and the financial market infrastructure – fulfil their respective functions and prove resistant to potential shocks.

The SNB mandate

Under the National Bank Act, the SNB has the task to contribute to the stability of the financial system. Moreover, the Act assigns the oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures to the SNB.

In the field of financial stability the SNB cooperates with the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA. A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) contains a clear division of the individual responsibilities of the two institutions and regulations on their cooperation.

How the SNB promotes financial stability

Analysis and research: The SNB analyses the developments in the financial markets and in the area of financial market infrastructure. It pays special attention to the Swiss banking industry and the financial market infrastructures.

Promotion of an appropriate framework for the financial centre: At a national level, the SNB – in conjunction with the Confederation and the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) – participates in reform projects (cf. relevant Confederation website: www.finweb.admin.ch). At an international level, it is permanently represented on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and on the Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) (cf. BIS website: www.bis.org) and participates in various international task forces that deal with financial stability issues. A well-known example is the Financial Stability Board (FSB) (www.financialstabilityboard.org).

Liquidity assistance: The SNB acts as lender of last resort (LoLR). In this function, it can – under certain conditions – provide liquidity assistance against collateral if domestic banks are no longer able to refinance their operations in the market (cf. Guidelines on Monetary Policy Instruments).

Oversight: The SNB is responsible for overseeing financial market infrastructures, focusing primarily on systems that are of importance to the stability of the Swiss financial system. The supervision of Switzerland’s banking sector is the responsibility of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) (www.finma.ch).

Imprimer

Stabilité financière

Un système financier stable

Un système financier stable est essentiel au bon fonctionnement d'une économie et à la mise en œuvre ciblée de la politique monétaire. Un système est stable lorsque ses diverses composantes – intermédiaires financiers et infrastructures des marchés financiers – remplissent leurs fonctions et sont en mesure de résister aux chocs potentiels.

Mandat de la BNS

Selon la loi sur la Banque nationale, une des tâches de la BNS consiste à contribuer à la stabilité du système financier. De plus, la loi charge la BNS de la surveillance des infrastructures des marchés financiers d'importance systémique.

Dans le domaine de la stabilité financière, la Banque nationale travaille en collaboration avec l'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers FINMA. Un Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) délimite les tâches de chacune de ces deux institutions, ainsi que leur collaboration.

Activités de la BNS en vue de promouvoir la stabilité financière

Recherche et analyse: la BNS analyse les développements observés sur les marchés financiers et ceux touchant à l'infrastructure des marchés financiers. Elle s'attache plus particulièrement au secteur bancaire suisse et aux infrastructures des marchés financiers.

Aménagement des conditions-cadres de la place financière: à l'échelle nationale, la BNS travaille en collaboration avec la Confédération et avec l'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) aux projets de réforme (voir le site Internet de la Confédération: www.finweb.admin.ch). Au niveau international, elle dispose en outre de représentants au sein de deux comités permanents de la Banque des Règlements Internationaux (BRI) (voir le site Internet de la BRI: www.bis.org), à savoir le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire et le Comité sur les systèmes de paiement et les infrastructures de marché (CPMI); dans ce cadre, elle participe à divers groupes de travail internationaux qui traitent de questions afférentes à la stabilité financière. Un exemple bien connu est le Financial Stability Board (FSB) (www.financialstabilityboard.org).

Aide sous forme de liquidités: la BNS joue le rôle de prêteur ultime (lender of last resort). Si une banque suisse ne parvient plus à se refinancer sur le marché, la BNS peut, dans le cadre de cette fonction de prêteur ultime et à certaines conditions, lui fournir une aide sous forme de liquidités en échange de titres remis en nantissement (voir les Directives générales sur les instruments de politique monétaire).

Surveillance: la Banque nationale surveille les infrastructures des marchés financiers en se concentrant sur ceux dont le fonctionnement est important pour la stabilité du système financier suisse. La surveillance du secteur bancaire suisse entre dans les attributions de l'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) (www.finma.ch).