Print

Asset structure

Function of assets

The assets of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) fulfil important monetary policy functions. They consist largely of foreign currency assets, gold and, to a lesser extent, financial assets in Swiss francs. Their size and composition are determined by the established monetary order and the requirements of monetary policy. Under art. 5 para. 2 of the National Bank Act (NBA), the SNB is responsible for managing the currency reserves, part of which must be held in the form of gold (art. 99 para. 3 Federal Constitution). The currency reserves also include international payment instruments and the reserve position in the International Monetary Fund (IMF). The SNB requires currency reserves to ensure that it has room for manoeuvre in its monetary policy at all times. These reserves serve to build confidence, and to prevent and overcome potential crises. The level of the currency reserves is largely dictated by the implementation of monetary policy.

Breakdown of assets

The SNB's assets currently consist almost exclusively of currency reserves. In addition, a Swiss franc bond portfolio is held, amounting to CHF 4 billion. The investment structure is published on the Foreign exchange reserves and Swiss franc bond investments page.

Debtor categories and instruments

The bond portfolios in the foreign exchange reserves contain government and quasi-government bonds as well as bonds issued by supranational organisations, local authorities, financial institutions (mainly covered bonds and comparable securities) and other companies. The equity portfolios in the foreign exchange reserves comprise of shares of mid-cap and large-cap companies in advanced economies and, to a lesser extent, shares of small-cap companies, as well as shares of companies in emerging economies.The SNB does not engage in equity selection; it only invests passively. Thus, equities are managed according to a set of rules based on a strategic benchmark comprising a combination of equity indices in various markets and currencies.

Imprimer

Structure des actifs

Fonction des actifs

Les actifs de la Banque nationale remplissent d’importantes fonctions sur le plan monétaire. Ils sont formés principalement de placements en monnaies étrangères, d’or et, pour une faible part, d’actifs financiers en francs. Leur montant et leur composition dépendent du régime monétaire en vigueur et des besoins de la politique monétaire. La loi sur la Banque nationale confie à cette dernière la tâche de gérer les réserves monétaires (art. 5, al. 2), dont une part doit consister en or, conformément à l’art. 99, al. 3, de la Constitution fédérale. Les réserves monétaires englobent également la position de réserve au FMI et les moyens de paiement internationaux. Les réserves monétaires permettent à la BNS de disposer en tout temps de la marge de manœuvre nécessaire sur le plan monétaire. Elles contribuent en outre à renforcer la confiance et servent à prévenir et à surmonter d’éventuelles crises. Leur volume résulte principalement de la mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire.

Composition des actifs

Les actifs sont à ce jour constitués presque exclusivement des réserves monétaires. En outre, le portefeuille d’obligations en francs porte sur 4 milliards de francs. La structure des placements figure sur la page Internet Réserves de devises et titres en francs.

Catégories de débiteurs et instruments

Les réserves de devises incluent, dans le portefeuille d’obligations, des titres émis par des Etats, des établissements paraétatiques, des organisations supranationales, des collectivités locales, des établissements financiers (essentiellement des lettres de gage et des titres similaires) et par d’autres entreprises. Le portefeuille d’actions comprend des titres d’entreprises à moyenne et à grande capitalisation de pays industrialisés et, pour une petite part, des actions d’entreprises à faible capitalisation de pays industrialisés ainsi que des titres d’entreprises de pays émergents. La Banque nationale ne procède pas à une sélection de titres, mais investit exclusivement dans le cadre d’une gestion indicielle. Elle gère les actions de manière passive et conformément à des règles préétablies, sur la base d’un indice de référence stratégique (benchmark) qui combine différents indices boursiers sur plusieurs marchés et dans différentes monnaies.