Investment of assets

Nature and purpose of the SNB's assets

The assets of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) fulfil important monetary policy functions. They consist largely of foreign currency assets, gold and, to a lesser extent, financial assets in Swiss francs. Their size and composition are determined by the established monetary order and the requirements of monetary policy.

Breakdown of assets

The SNB's assets currently consist almost exclusively of currency reserves. In addition, a Swiss franc bond portfolio is held, amounting to CHF 4 billion. The investment structure is published on the Foreign exchange reserves and Swiss franc bond investments page.

Currency reserves

Under art. 5 para. 2 of the National Bank Act (NBA), the SNB is responsible for managing the currency reserves, part of which must be held in the form of gold (art. 99 para. 3 Federal Constitution).

Asset management

Asset management is governed by the primacy of monetary policy and is carried out in accordance with the criteria of security, liquidity and return. Investment policy takes into consideration all central bank requirements and is based on comprehensive risk / return analyses.

Investment principles

The SNB’s own Investment Policy Guidelines define the scope for its investments and for the investment and risk management process.

Investment performance

Returns on currency reserves and Swiss franc bonds are published under investment performance and in the Annual Report of the Swiss National Bank.

Imprimer

Placement des actifs

Nature et but des actifs de la Banque nationale

Les actifs de la Banque nationale remplissent d’importantes fonctions sur le plan monétaire. Ils sont formés principalement de placements en monnaies étrangères, d’or et, pour une faible part, d’actifs financiers en francs. Leur montant et leur composition dépendent du régime monétaire en vigueur et des besoins de la politique monétaire.

Structure des actifs

Fin 2016, les actifs de la Banque nationale s’inscrivaient à 747 milliards de francs, dépassant ainsi de 106 milliards leur niveau de fin 2015. Ils étaient constitués presque exclusivement des réserves monétaires. Le portefeuille d’obligations en francs portait sur 4 milliards de francs.

Réserves monétaires

La loi sur la Banque nationale (art. 5, al. 2) confie à la BNS la tâche de gérer les réserves monétaires, dont une part doit consister en or, conformément à l’art. 99, al. 3, de la Constitution.

Gestion des actifs

Le placement des actifs est subordonné à la conduite de la politique monétaire et obéit à des critères de sécurité, de liquidité et de rendement. La politique de placement tient compte de toutes les exigences de la politique monétaire et repose sur des analyses approfondies des risques et des rendements.

Principes en matière de politique de placement

Les directives générales que la Banque nationale a publiées sur la politique de placement décrivent la marge de manœuvre à disposition dans ce domaine et les processus à appliquer dans les placements et le contrôle des risques.

Résultat des placements

Le résultat des placements des réserves monétaires et des obligations en francs figure à la page Résultat des placements ainsi que dans le rapport de gestion de la Banque nationale.