Print

Monetary policy in the financial crisis - Measures, effects, risks

Swiss Banking Global Symposium, Zurich, 16.11.2012

  • Complete text
    (151 KB)

Central banks all over the world reacted to the financial and economic crisis with expansionary monetary policies. When short-term interest rates reached the zero lower bound, they continued this through unconventional measures. These unconventional instruments include signalling the path of future short-term interest rates in order to exert pressure on medium and long-term interest rates (forward guidance), purchases of medium and long-term securities with the same aim (quantitative easing), and foreign currency purchases in order to influence the exchange rate.

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) set a minimum exchange rate against the euro on 6 September 2011. Since then, the SNB has made it perfectly clear that it is prepared to enforce this minimum rate through unlimited foreign currency purchases, if necessary. The objective is to prevent severe damage to the Swiss economy from a substantial and possibly long-lasting overvaluation of the Swiss franc.

Conventional and unconventional measures taken by central banks have helped to prevent the global economy from drifting into deflation and depression. However, the very expansionary global monetary policy is also associated with a number of risks. One danger is that central banks will be overburdened. The slow recovery of the global economy reminds us that monetary policy is not in a position to solve all problems. Fiscal consolidation and the structural reforms required for the improvement of growth potential in many countries cannot be replaced by monetary policy measures. For monetary policy, the maintenance of long-term price stability remains essential.

Drucken

Geldpolitik in der Finanzkrise: Massnahmen, Wirkungen und Risiken

Swiss Banking Global Symposium, Zürich, 16.11.2012

  • Vollständiger Text
    (146 KB)

Die Zentralbanken haben auf die Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise weltweit mit einer expansiven Geldpolitik reagiert. Sie haben diese mit unkonventionellen Massnahmen fortgesetzt, als die kurzfristigen Zinssätze an die Nullgrenze stiessen. Zu diesen unkonventionellen Instrumenten zählen Angaben zum Pfad der zukünftigen kurzfristigen Zinssätze, um Druck auf die mittel- und langfristigen Zinsen auszuüben (forward guidance), Käufe von Wertschriften mit mittleren und langen Laufzeiten, die dem gleichen Ziel dienen (quantitative easing), und Devisenkäufe zur Beeinflussung des Wechselkurses.

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) hat am 6. September 2011 einen Mindestkurs von 1.20 Franken gegenüber dem Euro festgelegt. Seither hat die SNB keinen Zweifel offengelassen, dass sie gewillt ist, den Mindestkurs wenn nötig mit unbeschränkten Devisenkäufen durchzusetzen. Die Massnahme soll verhindern, dass der Schweizer Wirtschaft durch eine massive und möglicherweise lang andauernde Überbewertung des Frankens schwerer Schaden entsteht.

Die konventionellen und unkonventionellen Massnahmen der Zentralbanken haben dazu beigetragen, die Weltwirtschaft vor einem Abgleiten in Deflation und Depression zu bewahren. Allerdings ist die weltweit sehr expansive Geldpolitik auch mit verschiedenen Risiken verbunden. Eine Gefahr besteht darin, dass die Zentralbanken überfordert werden. Die langsame Erholung der Weltwirtschaft erinnert daran, dass die Geldpolitik nicht alle Probleme zu lösen vermag. Die fiskalische Konsolidierung und die Strukturreformen, die in vielen Ländern für die Verbesserung des Potenzialwachstums notwendig sind, können nicht durch geldpolitische Massnahmen ersetzt werden. Für die Geldpolitik bleibt es zentral, langfristig die Preisstabilität zu gewährleisten.