Print

Staff portrait

Contents

Dear students

This is what an internship at the SNB could look like: Three supervisors and three interns talk about their jobs and experiences.

Alexander Flühmann, Head of Financial Account, Statistics

foto-1

In 2002, after finishing my degree in economics at the University of Zurich, I was hired as a Research Assistant at the SNB. I have been in charge of the Financial Account (Balance of Payments) team since 2010, and my team and I are responsible for processing data on the economic linkages between Switzerland and the rest of the world. We are in close contact with global corporations and international organisations. Our interns help us to react quickly to changes in this dynamic environment, as well as making sure that we can maintain the quality of the figures. Their support also allows us to carry out further developments in the methodology. I particularly appreciate the external point of view which interns bring to the job, and the innovative and unconventional solutions they propose.

Annabelle Rey, intern at Financial Account

foto-1

After completing a bilingual Bachelor of Economics in Fribourg, I wanted to make a break in my studies in order to apply what I had learnt so far. I decided to make an unsolicited application to the SNB because of its exceptionally good reputation. Moreover, as a French-speaking Swiss, it was important for me to cross the language border and take a position in German-speaking Switzerland. I did an initial internship in the Balance of Payments unit, where I worked on data collections for the financial account. Subsequently I had the opportunity of doing a second internship in the Publications and Data Banks unit. While I was there I wrote a report on market data. A year ago, I began a Master’s in Economics at the University of Zurich and am continuing to work two days a week at the SNB alongside my studies.

Nicolas Stoffels, Head of Economic Analysis (International)

foto-2

I studied economics at the University of St Gallen and completed my doctorate there. Since 2003, I have headed the unit responsible for international economic forecasts at the SNB. Interns are very important for our analysis of the global economic situation because they look after the systematic model-based processing of incoming data on an ongoing basis. This is an interesting task, but it demands a high degree of commitment, a real flair for computer programming and a solid grounding in economics.

Simon Beyeler, intern at Economic Analysis (International)

foto-2

I did a Master in International and Monetary Economics (IMIE) at the University of Bern. After completing my studies, I began an internship in the Economic Analysis unit with Nicolas Stoffels’ international team. One of my main tasks was to manage the Nowcasting models which are used to estimate the current economic situation. I was also able to support the economists in their work and became involved in various projects. I chose to do an internship at the SNB because I wanted to get some initial practical experience after completing my degree, and the macroeconomics area at the SNB seemed a particularly good way of doing this. The one-year internship was very interesting. It taught me a lot and gave me a good insight into the inner workings of a central bank.

Marco Huwiler, Head of Financial Market Analysis

foto-3

I studied economics at the University of Basel and completed my doctorate there. Since September 2012, I have headed the Financial Market Analysis unit in Department III. The interns in my unit bear great responsibility for our technical infrastructure. They manage an internal financial market information platform and are developing it further. In addition, they write daily reports and support the team’s economists in their analyses and preparation of presentations. For me, it is vital that interns – most of whom have just completed their studies – learn to bridge the gap between theory and practice. In particular, they should get to know how shares, bonds and foreign exchange markets react to new developments in the economy. Important prerequisites for an internship are a strong interest in financial markets and a real flair for information technology.

Benjamin Plattner, intern at Financial Market Analysis

foto-3

Following a commercial apprenticeship at a Swiss big bank, I studied economics at the University of Basel, concluding with a Master in Finance, Controlling and Banking. Apart from my main focus on economics, I also learnt a number of programming languages during my degree. These skills are of enormous value to me for my internship in Financial Market Analysis, where I am managing and further developing an internal graphics platform and a time series data bank. In this way, I am helping the economists with the preparation of presentations and speeches for the Head of Department III. I find the proximity to everyday events on financial markets incredibly exciting and informative. I chose this internship because of its diversity; another factor in my decision was the importance of the SNB for the Swiss economic system and its outstanding reputation.

Porträts von Mitarbeitenden

Liebe Studierende

So könnte ein Praktikum bei der SNB aussehen. Drei Vorgesetzte, eine Praktikantin und zwei Praktikanten erzählen von ihren Aufgaben. Klicken Sie auf die Namen, um mehr zu erfahren.

  • Alexander Flühmann, Leiter Kapitalverkehr, Statistik

    Annabelle Rey und Alexander Flühmann

    Mein Team erarbeitet Kennzahlen zur wirtschaftlichen Verflechtung der Schweiz mit dem Ausland. Wir stehen in engem Kontakt mit global tätigen Unternehmen und internationalen Organisationen. Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten helfen uns, in diesem dynamischen Umfeld rasch auf Änderungen reagieren und gleichzeitig die Qualität der Zahlen sicherstellen zu können. Ausserdem ermöglichen sie es uns, die Statistiken methodisch weiterzuentwickeln. Dabei schätze ich besonders den "Blick von aussen", den Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten mitbringen, sowie ihre innovativen und unkonventionellen Lösungsansätze.

  • Annabelle Rey, Praktikantin Kapitalverkehr

    Annabelle Rey und Alexander Flühmann

    Nach dem Abschluss eines zweisprachigen Bachelor in Volkswirtschaft in Freiburg wollte ich mein Studium unterbrechen, um mein erlerntes Wissen anzuwenden. Der sehr gute Ruf der Nationalbank hat mich dazu bewegt, mich spontan zu bewerben. Zudem war es für mich als Westschweizerin wichtig, den Röstigraben zu überspringen. Ich habe ein erstes Praktikum in der Abteilung Zahlungsbilanz absolviert, wo ich mich mit den Erhebungen zum Kapitalverkehr befasst habe. Danach habe ich die Möglichkeit erhalten, ein zweites Praktikum in der Abteilung Publikationen und Datenbank zu machen. Dort habe ich einen Bericht über Marktdaten verfasst. Vor einem Jahr habe ich den Master in VWL an der Universität Zürich begonnen. Parallel dazu arbeite ich weiterhin zwei Tage in der Woche bei der SNB.

  • Nicolas Stoffels, Leiter Konjunktur International

    Nicolas Stoffels und Simon Beyeler

    Ich habe an der Universität St. Gallen Volkswirtschaft studiert und dort doktoriert. Seit 2003 leite ich die Einheit, die für die internationalen Konjunkturprognosen an der SNB zuständig ist. Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten sind für unsere Analyse der globalen Konjunkturlage sehr wichtig, da sie die systematische, Modell-basierte Verarbeitung der laufend eingehenden Daten betreuen. Die Tätigkeit ist spannend, fordert aber ein hohes Mass an Engagement, ein ausgeprägtes Flair für Computerprogrammierung sowie solide Kenntnisse in Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

  • Simon Beyeler, Praktikant Konjunktur International

    Nicolas Stoffels und Simon Beyeler

    Ich habe den Master in International and Monetary Economics (MIME) an der Universität Bern absolviert. Nach dem Studium habe ich mein Praktikum bei der OE Konjunktur im Team International bei Nicolas Stoffels begonnen. Zu meinen Hauptaufgaben gehörte die Betreuung der Nowcasting-Modelle, welche zur Einschätzung der aktuellen konjunkturellen Lage verwendet werden. Daneben hatte ich die Möglichkeit, die Ökonomen bei ihrer Arbeit zu unterstützen und an verschiedenen Projekten mitzuarbeiten. Ich habe mich für ein Praktikum bei der SNB entschieden, da ich nach dem Studium erste Praxiserfahrungen sammeln wollte und mir die SNB im Bereich Makroökonomie dafür besonders geeignet schien. Das einjährige Praktikum war sehr interessant und lehrreich und hat mir einen guten Einblick in das Innenleben einer Zentralbank vermittelt.

  • Marco Huwiler, Leiter Finanzmarktanalyse

    Marco Huwiler und Benjamin Plattner

    Ich habe an der Universität Basel Wirtschaftswissenschaften studiert und dort promoviert. Seit September 2012 leite ich im III. Departement die OE Finanzmarktanalyse. Die Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten in meiner OE tragen eine grosse Verantwortung für die technische Infrastruktur. So betreuen sie eine interne Finanzmarkt-Informationsplattform und entwickeln diese weiter. Zudem erstellen sie tägliche Reports und unterstützen die Ökonomen des Teams bei ihren Analysen und der Vorbereitung von Präsentationen. Mir ist stets wichtig, dass die Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten, die in aller Regel gerade das Studium abgeschlossen haben, lernen, wie man den Bogen von der Theorie zur Praxis schlägt. Insbesondere sollten sie mit der Zeit verstehen, wie Aktien-, Anleihen- und Devisenmärkte auf Neuigkeiten aus der Wirtschaft reagieren. Wichtige Voraussetzungen für ein Praktikum sind ein ausgeprägtes Interesse für das Geschehen an den Finanzmärkten sowie ein grosses Flair für Informatik.

  • Benjamin Plattner, Praktikant Finanzmarktanalyse

    Marco Huwiler und Benjamin Plattner

    Nach einer kaufmännischen Lehre auf einer Schweizer Grossbank habe ich das Wirtschaftsstudium an der Universität Basel mit einem Master in Finance, Controlling und Banking abgeschlossen. Neben dem wirtschaftlichen Schwerpunkt habe ich mir während des Studiums verschiedene Programmiersprachen angeeignet. Diese Fähigkeiten kann ich im Praktikum in der Finanzmarktanalyse, wo ich eine interne Grafikplattform und eine Zeitreihendatenbank betreue und weiterentwickle, optimal einsetzen. Damit unterstütze ich die Ökonomen bei der Erstellung von Präsentationen und Reden für den Leiter des III. Departements. Die Nähe zu aktuellen Geschehnissen an den Finanzmärkten ist äusserst spannend und lehrreich. Dieses Praktikum habe ich aufgrund seiner Vielfältigkeit gewählt, wobei die Wichtigkeit der SNB für das Schweizer Wirtschaftssystem und ihr hervorragender Ruf auch eine Rolle beim Entscheid gespielt haben.