Print

Current account: change to new balance of payment standard and backcasting of current account time series

Current account: change to BPM6 and backcasting of current account time series

The switch to the new BPM6* standard for the balance of payments has led to various changes in the current account. New terms have been introduced, several components reclassified, the number of components has increased and some of the content has also changed. Particularly important is also the fact that the changes in the balance of payments go hand in hand with the revision of the current account surveys. This revision serves two purposes: first, additional international requirements are hereby met and second, more data will be available to users of the statistics from hitherto neglected areas of foreign trade.

Besides the revision of the surveys, the number of companies required to report data for the current account has also been expanded. In the case of components already reported in the past, the larger number of surveyed companies has led to a considerable increase in the level of receipts and expenses, and thus to a structural break in the data series. In order to make long time series available to users nevertheless, the data are calculated backwards (backcast) wherever possible.

In the following sections, the most important steps in this backcasting procedure are described and the impact on the time series quantified.

*Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Manual Sixth Edition.

1. Classification of components under BPM6

In a first step, various components of the balance of payments that used to be classified differently under the former BPM5 standard have been reclassified retroactively. The following summary shows the most important changes in classification:

  • Trade in precious metals as raw materials (‘bullion’), which was previously recorded in the financial account, has been reclassified as goods trade. Trade in precious metals is the largest single component of the current account and therefore significantly raises the reported turnover in goods. Because of its volatility, it also strongly influences the path of the current account balance.
  • Merchanting is now reported under goods instead of services. Besides investment income, it is merchanting that makes the largest contribution to the current account surplus.
  • Manufacturing services on physical inputs, maintenance and repairs are now all classified under services and no longer under goods.  
  • Postal and courier services have been allocated to transport in the services category.  
  • Telecommunications services are now classified together with computer and information services in a single component.
  • Intellectual property rights arising out of research and development (R&D), such as patents, have been included in the research and development services component. They were previously classified under capital transfers, where they were reported together with purchases and sales of franchises and trademarks. However, historical data on property rights arising out of R&D were not surveyed separately in the past and cannot thus be reclassified.
  • Changes in claims by households against pension funds are now reported under secondary income (formerly referred to as current transfers) and no longer under primary income (formerly labour and investment income).
  • Stamp duty is now reported under secondary income, no longer under services.

2. Backcasting of current account components

As an initial step, the backward calculation was made for the period up to the first quarter of 2000. Backcasting reaching further into the past is planned for the coming year. The degree of detail in the backward calculation – components, sub-components, etc. – was mainly dependent on the availability of the information required. Basically, a distinction was made in the backward calculation procedure between components that were available for the comparable historical time series and components that were not.

Adjustment of components to the historical path of the time series

When components for which comparable data existed in the past were backcast, the new time series was adjusted to the previous path of the time series. Deviation from this procedure occurred only in cases where better information on the past became available than was contained in the old time series. However, this only occurred in exceptional cases. The backcasting was therefore based on the assumption that the historical path of the data series is also representative for the enlarged reporting population.

Backcasting of newly surveyed components without historical data: use of indicators

In the case of both new components and former components that could no longer be compared with the newly surveyed data, the basic question was whether it made sense to backcast them. The following solution to this question was adopted: Backcasting was performed for those time series for which suitable indicators were available as proxies. This means that no backcasting was carried out in the case of components for which no suitable indicators were found. Nor was there any backward calculation performed for new components whose underlying business activity did not exist in the past, or only existed to an insignificant extent.

Selection of indicators

The current account time series that are to be backcast consist of nominal turnover figures from foreign trade in goods and services. It is therefore meaningful to use indicators that also feature the characteristics ‘nominal’, ‘turnover’ and ‘cross-border’.  This applies, in general, to nominal aggregates in the National Accounts (NA) and to the turnover figures in the value added tax statistics. Gross output and intermediate consumption were selected from the NA aggregates, as were total turnover and export turnover from the value added statistics. The advantage of these statistics is that they show nominal turnover figures which also contain the components that are to be backcast. In addition, the degree of detail by industry in these statistics is fairly high, so that the selected industry figures are consistent with the component to be backcast. As a rule, there are also detailed industry figures in the employment statistics. However, these statistics are, in general, less suitable, since employees represent ‘real’ entities, which is why the path of these variables can deviate substantially from the path of the current account turnover figures as a result of developments in productivity. Nevertheless, they were also taken into consideration due to their high degree of industry-by-industry detail.

The indicators based on value-added-tax turnover (total turnover and export turnover), gross output and intermediate consumption by industry, and employment statistics (full-time equivalents by industry) have been compared and selected with the use of statistical tests.  For these tests, components had to be chosen for which both historical time series and indicators were available. This was based on the assumption that an indicator which best fulfilled the requirements in terms of historically available time series would also fulfil the requirements for the backcasting of historically non-available time series. The test results suggest that nominal gross output is the most suitable indicator. It is, however, not available for all the required components, which means that other indicators also had to be used.

The four steps in backcasting

1. Reclassification of time series from BPM5 to BPM6

  • First of all, the historical current account time series are reallocated in line with BPM6 (cf. section 1). This means that certain components formerly within goods are now classified under services and some former services are classified under goods. In rare cases, the reclassification also affects components from primary and secondary income as well as items in the financial account.

2. Identification of structural break

  • The old current account surveys were carried out for the last time in 2011, the new ones with a larger reporting population were introduced in 2012. Since the survey periods do not overlap, the shift in levels between 2011 and 2012 had to be estimated. For components already surveyed in the past, it was possible to continue with the old reporting population by using only the data of companies that were already part of the former reporting population. The difference between the totals for the old and the new reporting populations for the year 2012 represents the shift from one level to the other. The total for the new reporting population was used as reference value for the backcasting. In this way, the time series have been adjusted to the historical path for 25 components.

3. Selection of indicator for new components

  • The indicators were selected based on availability and on the test results. Ranked according to the test results, gross output by industry came first, in principle. However, it was not available for all the required components. It proved applicable in the case of nine components. As far as the research and development time series are concerned, the Swiss Federal Statistical Office’s R&D survey was used both for the receipts and the expenses side. The employment statistics were applied in the case of four time series. For receipts  in construction services, the Eurostat construction index was used. Expenses were backcast using the gross construction output figures. In eight cases, use was made of the goods and services aggregates. Overall, indicators for the backcasting were applied for 25 time series. Four components (pipeline transport, space transport, electricity transmission, health services) were not backcast due to lack of business activity in the past or because turnover was very low. In addition,13 sub-positions of components were not backcast, either. Backcasting for a further 16 components was only possible in combination with one or several other components. This made a total of 29 time series for which indicators were not available to the required degree of detail.

4. Backcasting of annual and quarterly time series

  • Both annual and quarterly figures are calculated backwards using the rate of change against the previous period. First, the annual figures are calculated using the rate of change against the previous year, and subsequently the quarterly figures are calculated based on the rate of change against the previous quarter.

When quarterly figures are backcast based on the changes against the previous period, the sum of the quarterly figures backcast corresponds to its backcast annual counterpart only in exceptional cases. To avoid such inconsistencies, the backcast quarterly time series have been arithmetically adjusted to the corresponding annual figures. Thus, the annual figures remain consistent with the sum of the quarterly figures, and the path of the quarterly time series has been maintained. This means that it was possible to transmit all the information contained in the historical time series to the newly backcast time series. The Chow Lin approach was used to carry out the adjustment taking into account the above-mentioned conditions.*

*For the implementation of this procedure, the R package "tempdisagg" by Christoph Sax and Peter Steiner is applied (http://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/tempdisagg/index.html).

3. Impact on data

Current account

As a result of the changes, receipts and expenses in the current account are substantially higher than before. In 2013, for example, receipts rose by one third after the changeover, amounting to CHF 618 billion as against the previous CHF 459 billion. Expenses increased to a similar extent, from CHF 381 billion to CHF 521 billion. In most cases, the current account balance is slightly higher than it would be under BPM5. However, figures vary greatly from one year to another. For 2013, the balance comes to around CHF 18 billion, whereas the 2009 surplus is CHF 16 billion lower. For both 2009 and 2013, the current account balance changes evident in the revisions were, to a large extent, attributable to the reclassification of precious metals to goods trade.

Goods

In the goods category, turnover is considerably higher as a result of the reclassification of precious metals and merchanting. Growth in the goods surplus was particularly substantial owing to the reclassification of merchanting and the expansion of the current account surveys;   the figure rose from CHF 17 billion to CHF 52 billion in 2013.

Services

Changes in the services category were due to the reclassification of merchanting from services to goods, on the one hand, and to the expansion of the current account surveys on the other. Expenses in particular increased by around 60% as a result of the latter factor. In 2013, expenses came to CHF 79 billion after the changeover, having previously amounted to CHF 49 billion. The increase in receipts due to the changeover was distinctly lower. They advanced by 18% to CHF 104 billion in 2013. The main reason for the comparatively low increase was the reclassification of ‘net receipts from merchanting’ to the goods category. This partly offset the survey-related increase. Since the impact of the changeover was twice as high on the expenses as it was on the receipts, the services surplus declined significantly, decreasing from CHF 40 billion to CHF 25 billion in 2013.

Table: Impact of changes on current account, with breakdown for goods and services

Current account net
BPM6
BPM5
Difference
Of which reclassification
Of which extension of survey
BPM6 in percent of GDP
BPM5 in percent of GDP
2010
82
84
-2
-8
5
14
15
2011
39
52
-13
-19
6
7
9
2012
66
57
9
-10
19
11
10
2013
96
78
18
9
9
16
13

Goods receipts
BPM6
BPM5
Difference
Of which reclassification
Of which extension of survey
BPM6 in percent of GDP
BPM5 in percent of GDP
2010
287
204
83
83
0
50
36
2011
306
209
97
96
1
52
36
2012
311
212
98
97
1
53
36
2013
346
213
133
136
-4
57
35

Goods expenses
BPM6
BPM5
Difference
Of which reclassification
Of which extension of survey
BPM6 in percent of GDP
BPM5 in percent of GDP
2010
252
191
61
69
-8
44
33
2011
281
194
86
95
-8
48
33
2012
274
197
77
86
-8
46
33
2013
294
196
98
107
-9
49
33

Goods net
BPM6
BPM5
Difference
Of which reclassification
Of which extension of survey
BPM6 in percent of GDP
BPM5 in percent of GDP
2010
35
13
22
13
8
8
2
2011
25
14
11
2
9
8
2
2012
37
16
21
11
10
8
3
2013
52
17
35
30
6
8
3

Services receipts
BPM6
BPM5
Difference
Of which reclassification
Of which extension of survey
BPM6 in percent of GDP
BPM5 in percent of GDP
2010
98
87
11
-21
32
17
15
2011
95
84
11
-21
32
16
14
2012
99
85
14
-21
35
17
14
2013
104
88
15
-20
36
17
15

Services expenses
BPM6
BPM5
Difference
Of which reclassification
Of which extension of survey
BPM6 in percent of GDP
BPM5 in percent of GDP
2010
68
38
30
1
30
12
7
2011
70
40
30
1
29
12
7
2012
74
44
30
1
29
12
7
2013
79
49
30
1
29
13
8

Services net
BPM6
BPM5
Difference
Of which reclassification
Of which extension of survey
BPM6 in percent of GDP
BPM5 in percent of GDP
2010
30
49
-19
-22
2
5
9
2011
25
44
-19
-22
3
4
8
2012
26
41
-15
-22
6
4
7
2013
25
40
-15
-21
6
4
7

Drucken

Leistungsbilanz: Umstellung auf den neuen Zahlungsbilanzstandard und Retropolation der Leistungsbilanzreihen

Umstellung der Leistungsbilanz auf den neuen Standard BPM6

Die Umstellung der Zahlungsbilanz auf den neuen Standard BPM6* führt zu verschiedenen Änderungen in der Leistungsbilanz**: Neue Bezeichnungen werden eingeführt, mehrere Komponenten werden anders klassiert, die Zahl der Komponenten nimmt zu und teilweise ändert sich auch ihr Inhalt. Von besonderer Bedeutung ist zudem, dass die Umstellung der Zahlungsbilanz mit der Revision der Leistungsbilanzerhebungen einhergeht. Die Revision der Erhebungen verfolgte zwei Zwecke: einerseits werden damit zusätzliche internationale Anforderungen erfüllt, anderseits können den Statistikbenutzern mehr Daten für bisher vernachlässigte Bereiche des Aussenhandels bereit gestellt werden.

Die Revision der Erhebungen ging auch mit einer Ausdehnung des Erhebungskreises einher, d.h. mehr Unternehmen melden neu Daten für die Leistungsbilanz. Bei bereits in der Vergangenheit erhobenen Komponenten führt die grössere Zahl der Befragten zu einem erheblichen Anstieg des Niveaus von Einnahmen und Ausgaben und als Folge davon zu einem Strukturbruch in den Datenreihen. Um den Datennutzern trotzdem lange Zeitreihen zur Verfügung zu stellen, werden – überall, wo dies möglich ist – die Daten zurückgerechnet.

Nachfolgend werden die wichtigsten Schritte der Rückrechnung beschrieben und die Auswirkungen auf die Zeitreihen quantifiziert.

*Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Manual Sixth Edition
**Neu wird anstelle des Begriffs „Ertragsbilanz“ der im deutschsprachigen Raum gebräuchliche Begriff „Leistungsbilanz“ verwendet.

1. Klassierung der Komponenten gemäss BPM6

In einem ersten Schritt mussten verschiedene Komponenten der Zahlungsbilanz, die gemäss dem bisherigen Standard BPM5 anders klassiert wurden als gemäss BPM6, rückwirkend umklassiert werden. Die nachstehende Übersicht zeigt die wichtigsten Änderungen in der Klassierung:

  • Der Handel mit Edelmetallen in Rohformen („Barrengold“), der bislang im Kapitalverkehr ausgewiesen wurde, wird neu den Waren zugerechnet. Der Handel mit Edelmetallen ist die grösste einzelne Komponente der Leistungsbilanz und erhöht damit die ausgewiesenen Umsätze der Waren markant. Er beeinflusst wegen seiner Volatilität zudem den Verlauf des Leistungsbilanzsaldos stark.
  • Der Transithandel wird neu bei den Waren und nicht mehr bei den Diensten ausgewiesen. Der Transithandel trägt neben den Kapitaleinkommen den grössten Beitrag zum Überschuss der Leistungsbilanz bei.
  • Die Fertigungsdienste (bisherige Bezeichnung Lohnveredelung) sowie Wartung und Reparaturen werden neu bei den Diensten und nicht mehr bei den Waren ausgewiesen.
  • Die Post- und Kurierdienste werden innerhalb der Dienste den Transporten zugeordnet und nicht mehr wie bisher der Position Post-, Kurier und Fernmeldedienste.
  • Die Telekommunikationsdienste werden neu in einer Komponente mit den Computer- und Informationsdiensten zusammen gefasst.
  • Die Eigentumsrechte aus Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) wie z.B. Patente gehören neu zur Komponente Forschung- und Entwicklungsdienste. Sie gehörten bisher zu den Vermögensübertragungen, wo sie zusammen mit dem Kauf und Verkauf von Rechten an Marken und Lizenzen ausgewiesen wurden. Die historischen Daten der Eigentumsrechte aus F&E wurden in der Vergangenheit allerding nicht separat erhoben und können nicht umklassiert werden.
  • Änderungen von Ansprüchen der privaten Haushalte an Pensionskassen werden neu bei den Sekundäreinkommen (bisherige Bezeichnung laufende Übertragungen) und nicht mehr bei den Primäreinkommen (Arbeits- und Kapitaleinkommen) ausgewiesen.
  • Die Stempelsteuern werden neu in den Sekundäreinkommen und nicht mehr bei den Diensten ausgewiesen.

2. Retropolation der Leistungsbilanzkomponenten

Die Rückrechnung erfolgte zunächst bis zum 1. Quartal 2000. Eine Retropolation, die weiter in die Vergangenheit zurückreicht, ist für das nächste Jahr vorgesehen. Der Detaillierungsgrad der Rückrechnung – Komponente, Unterkomponente usw. – war in erster Linie abhängig von der Verfügbarkeit der für die Retropolation benötigten Informationen. Grundsätzlich wurde beim Rückrechnungsverfahren unterschieden zwischen Komponenten, für die vergleichbare historische Reihen vorhanden waren und Komponenten, für welche dies nicht der Fall war.

Anpassung der Komponenten an den historischen Verlauf der Zeitreihen

Bei der Retropolation von Komponenten, für die in der Vergangenheit vergleichbare Daten existieren, wurde die neue Reihe an den bisherigen Verlauf der Reihe angepasst. Davon wurde nur abgewichen, wenn über die Vergangenheit bessere Informationen vorhanden waren, als in der alten Reihe bereits enthalten waren. Dies war jedoch nur ausnahmsweise der Fall. Für die Retropolation galt damit die Annahme, dass der historische Verlauf der Datenreihe auch repräsentativ für den grösseren Erhebungskreis ist.

Retropolation von Komponenten ohne historische Daten: Verwendung von Indikatoren

Bei neuen Komponenten und bisherigen Komponenten, die mit den neu erhobenen Daten nicht mehr vergleichbar waren, stellte sich die grundsätzlich Frage, ob es sinnvoll ist, sie zu retropolieren. Diese Frage wurde so gelöst, dass diejenigen Reihen zurückgerechnet wurden, für welche geeignete Indikatoren als Proxy zur Verfügung standen. Nicht zurückgerechnet wurden damit Komponenten, für welche keine geeigneten Indikatoren gefunden wurden. Neue Komponenten, bei denen die zugrundeliegende Geschäftstätigkeit in der Vergangenheit nicht oder nur in unbedeutendem Umfang existierte, wurden ebenfalls nicht zurückgerechnet.

Auswahl der Indikatoren

Bei den zu retropolierenden Leistungsbilanzreihen handelt es sich um nominelle Umsatzgrössen aus dem Handel mit Waren und Diensten mit dem Ausland. Folglich ist die Verwendung von Indikatoren sinnvoll, die ebenfalls die Eigenschaften „nominell, Umsatz und grenzüberschreitend“ aufweisen. Dies gilt im Grossen und Ganzen für nominelle Aggregate der Volkswirtschaftliche Gesamtrechnung (VGR) und für die Umsätze der Mehrwertsteuerstatistik (MwSt-Statistik). Von den Aggregaten der VGR wurden die Buttoproduktionswerte (BPW) und Vorleistungen ausgewählt, aus der Mehrwertsteuerstatistik die Gesamt- und Exportumsätze. Der Vorteil dieser Statistiken liegt darin, dass es sich dabei um nominelle Umsätze handelt, in denen die zu retropolierenden Komponenten ebenfalls enthalten sind. Zudem ist der branchenmässige Detaillierungsgrad dieser Statistiken relativ gross, so dass die gewählte Branche mit der zu retropolierenden Komponente konsistent ist. Detaillierte Branchendaten gibt es grundsätzlich auch in der Beschäftigungsstatistik. Diese ist allerdings eher weniger gut geeignet, da es sich bei den Beschäftigten um „reale“ Grössen handelt, deren Verlauf aufgrund der Produktivitätsentwicklung stark von der Entwicklung der Leistungsbilanzumsätze abweichen kann. Trotzdem wurden sie aufgrund ihres branchenmässigen Detaillierungsgrades ebenfalls in Betracht gezogen.

Die Indikatoren gemäss Mehrwertsteuerumsätze (Gesamt- und Exportumsätze), VGR (BPW und Vorleistungen nach Branchen) und Beschäftigungsstatistik (Vollzeitäquivalente nach Branchen) wurden anhand statistischer Tests verglichen und selektiert. Für die Tests mussten Komponenten ausgewählt werden, für die sowohl historische Reihen als auch Indikatoren zur Verfügung standen. Dabei wurde die Annahme getroffen, dass ein Indikator, der die Anforderungen in Bezug auf historisch verfügbare Reihen am besten erfüllt, die Anforderungen auch für die Retropolation von historisch nicht verfügbaren Reihen erfüllt. Gemäss den Testergebnissen schnitt der nominelle BPW als Indikator am besten ab. Er ist jedoch nicht für alle benötigten Komponenten verfügbar, so dass auch andere Indikatoren verwendet werden mussten.

Die 4 Schritte der Retropolation

1. Umklassierung der Reihen von BPM5 auf BPM6

  • Zunächst werden die historischen Leistungsbilanzreihen gemäss BPM6 gegliedert (siehe dazu Abschnitt 1). Dies bedeutet, dass gewisse Komponenten der Waren neu bei den Diensten, und bisherige Dienste bei den Waren klassiert werden. In Einzelfällen betrifft die Umklassierung auch Komponenten der Primär- und Sekundäreinkommen sowie des Kapitalverkehrs.

2. Ermittlung des Strukturbruches

  • Die alten Ertragsbilanzerhebungen wurden im Jahr 2011 letztmals durchgeführt, die neuen Erhebungen mit dem grösseren Erhebungskreis wurden 2012 eingeführt . Da sich die Erhebungsperioden nicht überschneiden, musste die Niveauverschiebung zwischen 2011 und 2012 geschätzt werden. Bei bereits in der Vergangenheit erhobenen Komponenten war es möglich, den alten Erhebungskreis fortzuschrieben, indem nur die Angaben der Unternehmen verwendet wurden, die auch zum alten Erhebungskreis gehörten. Die Differenz zwischen dem Total gemäss altem und neuem Erhebungskreis für das Jahr 2012 entspricht der Höhe der Niveauverschiebung, das Total gemäss neuem Erhebungskreis bildete den Referenzwert für die Retropolation. Bei insgesamt 25 Komponenten wurden die Reihen so an den historischen Verlauf angepasst.

3. Auswahl des Indikators für neue Komponenten

  • Die Indikatoren wurden aufgrund der Verfügbarkeit und der Ergebnisse der Tests ausgewählt. Aufgrund der Testergebnisse stand der Bruttoproduktionswert nach Branchen grundsätzlich an erster Stelle. Er war jedoch nicht für alle benötigten Komponenten vorhanden und konnte bei 9 Komponenten eingesetzt werden. Für die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsreihen wurde sowohl für die Einnahmen- als auch für die Ausgabenseite die BFS-Erhebung F&E verwendet. Die Beschäftigungsstatistik kam bei 4 Reihen zum Einsatz. Bei den Baudiensten wurde für die Einnahmen der Bauindex von Eurostat verwendet. Die Ausgaben wurden mit dem BPW Bau retropoliert. In 8 Fällen wurde auf die Aggregate Waren, Dienste bzw. Waren und Dienste zurückgegriffen. Insgesamt wurden für 25 Reihen Indikatoren für die Rückrechnung verwendet. 4 Komponenten (Pipeline, Raumfahrt, Stromübertragung, Gesundheitsdienste) wurden mangels Geschäftstätigkeit in der Vergangenheit oder weil die Umsätze sehr gering sind nicht retropoliert. Ausserdem wurden 13 Unterpositionen von Komponenten nicht retropoliert. Weitere 16 Komponenten konnten nur zusammen mit einer oder mehrerer anderer Komponenten zurückgerechnet werden. Bei diesen insgesamt 29 Reihen waren die Indikatoren nicht im benötigten Detaillierungsgrad vorhanden.

4. Retropolation der Jahres- und Quartalsreihen

  • Sowohl Jahres- als auch Quartalswerte werden mit der Veränderungsrate zur Vorperiode zurückgerechnet. Dabei wurden zunächst die Jahreswerte mit der Veränderungsrate zum Vorjahr und danach die Quartalswerte mit der Veränderungsrate zum Vorquartal berechnet.

Bei der Retropolation der Quartalswerte aufgrund der Veränderung zur Vorperiode entspricht die Summe der retropolierten Quartalswerte nur ausnahmsweise ihrem retropolierten Jahreswert. Um diese Inkonsistenz zu vermeiden, wurden die retropolierten Quartalsreihen rechnerisch an die jeweiligen Jahresdaten angepasst. Damit blieben die Jahreswerte mit den Summen der Quartalsdaten konsistent, und der Verlauf der Quartalsreihen wurde beibehalten.. Dadurch konnten alle Informationen der historischen Reihe auf die neue retropolierte Reihe übertragen werden. Um diese Anpassung unter Berücksichtigung der vorher genannten Bedingungen vorzunehmen, wurde der Chow-Lin Ansatz verwendet.*

*Bei der Implementierung dieses Verfahrens wird das R Packet „tempdisagg“ von Christoph Sax und Peter Steiner verwendet (http://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/tempdisagg/index.html).

3. Auswirkungen auf die Daten

Leistungsbilanz

Die Einnahmen und Ausgaben der Leistungsbilanz liegen aufgrund der Änderungen massiv höher als bisher. Im Jahr 2013 beispielsweise sind die Einnahmen nach der Umstellung einen Drittel höher und betragen 618 Mrd. gegenüber 459 Mrd. Franken; die Ausgaben steigen im gleichen Verhältnis von 381 auf 521 Mrd. Franken. Der Saldo der Leistungsbilanz fällt mehrheitlich leicht höher aus als gemäss BPM5. Dabei variiert die Entwicklung von Jahr zu Jahr stark. Im Jahr 2013 liegt der Saldo um 18 Mrd. Franken, während der Überschuss 2009 16 Mrd. Franken tiefer ausfällt. Sowohl 2009 als auch 2013 bestimmte die Umklassierung der Edelmetalle zum Warenverkehr die Veränderung der Leistungsbilanz massgeblich.

Waren

Bei den Waren fallen die Umsätze wegen der Umklassierung der Edelmetalle und des Transithandels beträchtlich höher aus. Der Überschuss bei den Waren nahm aufgrund der Umklassierung des Transithandels und der Erweiterung der Leistungsbilanzerhebungen besonders stark zu: Im Jahr 2013 stieg er von 17 Mrd. auf 52 Mrd. Franken.

Dienste

Die Änderungen bei den Diensten sind einerseits auf die Umklassierung des Transithandels von den Diensten zu den Waren und andererseits auf die Erweiterung der Leistungsbilanzerhebungen zurückzuführen. Dabei stiegen vor allem die Ausgaben wegen der Erweiterung der Leistungsbilanzerhebungen um rund 60%. Im Jahr 2013 betrugen sie nach der Umstellung 79 Mrd. Franken, nachdem sie bisher mit 49 Mrd. Franken ausgewiesen worden waren. Bei den Einnahmen war die Erhöhung aufgrund der Umstellung deutlich geringer: Sie nahmen um 2013 um 18% auf 104 Mrd. Franken zu. Ausschlaggebend für die verhältnismässig geringe Zunahme war die Umklassierung der Nettoeinnahmen aus dem Transithandel zu den Waren. Dadurch wurde die erhebungsbedingte Zunahme teilweise kompensiert. Da die Auswirkungen der Umstellung auf die Ausgaben doppelt so stark waren wie auf die Einnahmen ging der Überschuss der Dienstleistungen deutlich zurück: Im Jahr 2013 sank er von 40 Mrd. auf 25 Mrd. Franken.

Tabelle: Auswirkung der Neuerungen auf Leistungsbilanz, Waren und Dienste

Leistungsbilanz
Saldo
BPM6
BPM5
Differenz
davon Umklassierung
davon Ausweitung Erhebung
BPM6 in Prozent des BIP
BPM5 in Prozent des BIP
2010
82
84
-2
-8
5
14
15
2011
39
52
-13
-19
6
7
9
2012
66
57
9
-10
19
11
10
2013
96
78
18
9
9
16
13

Waren
Einnahmen
BPM6
BPM5
Differenz
davon Umklassierung
davon Ausweitung Erhebung
BPM6 in Prozent des BIP
BPM5 in Prozent des BIP
2010
287
204
83
83
0
50
36
2011
306
209
97
96
1
52
36
2012
311
212
98
97
1
53
36
2013
346
213
133
136
-4
57
35

Waren
Ausgaben
BPM6
BPM5
Differenz
davon Umklassierung
davon Ausweitung Erhebung
BPM6 in Prozent des BIP
BPM5 in Prozent des BIP
2010
252
191
61
69
-8
44
33
2011
281
194
86
95
-8
48
33
2012
274
197
77
86
-8
46
33
2013
294
196
98
107
-9
49
33

Waren
Saldo
BPM6
BPM5
Differenz
davon Umklassierung
davon Ausweitung Erhebung
BPM6 in Prozent des BIP
BPM5 in Prozent des BIP
2010
35
13
22
13
8
8
2
2011
25
14
11
2
9
8
2
2012
37
16
21
11
10
8
3
2013
52
17
35
30
6
8
3

Dienste Einnahmen
BPM6
BPM5
Differenz
davon Umklassierung
davon Ausweitung Erhebung
BPM6 in Prozent des BIP
BPM5 in Prozent des BIP
2010
98
87
11
-21
32
17
15
2011
95
84
11
-21
32
16
14
2012
99
85
14
-21
35
17
14
2013
104
88
15
-20
36
17
15

Dienste
Ausgaben
BPM6
BPM5
Differenz
davon Umklassierung
davon Ausweitung Erhebung
BPM6 in Prozent des BIP
BPM5 in Prozent des BIP
2010
68
38
30
1
30
12
7
2011
70
40
30
1
29
12
7
2012
74
44
30
1
29
12
7
2013
79
49
30
1
29
13
8

Dienste
Saldo
BPM6
BPM5
Differenz
davon Umklassierung
davon Ausweitung Erhebung
BPM6 in Prozent des BIP
BPM5 in Prozent des BIP
2010
30
49
-19
-22
2
5
9
2011
25
44
-19
-22
3
4
8
2012
26
41
-15
-22
6
4
7
2013
25
40
-15
-21
6
4
7