Print

Effects on data

How will the changes affect data?

In the current account, the changes will principally affect the goods and services accounts, and in the financial account and international investment position they will principally affect direct investment and other investment.  

In the current account, goods will principally be affected by the reclassification of merchanting (previously recorded under services) and precious metals as raw materials (previously recorded in the financial account). Exports and imports will increase as a result and the balance on goods trade will also rise. In services, however, the reclassification will have a negative effect on receipts and on the surplus on the services account. Due to the revision of the current account surveys and the expansion of the reporting population, receipts and expenses in trade in services will increase, however.

In the financial account and the international investment position, the new gross (asset/liability) recording of direct investment will alter capital flows and result in higher holdings in the international investment position. Net lending/net borrowing (from financial account) and the net international investment position will not be affected by the gross recording, however. The reclassification of precious metals as raw materials from the financial account to goods will significantly affect capital movements as well as net lending/net borrowing (from financial account). It is not yet possible to predict how significant the effect of the other changes to direct investment (super-dividends, contributions to cover losses, calculation of profit) will be. Entering the allocation of Special Drawing Rights as a liability will increase capital flows at the moment of reallocation and reduce the net international investment position.

What steps will the SNB take to prevent statistical breaks in the time series?

In order to ensure that new and old data are comparable, and to ensure that data users have long data series at their disposal, the SNB will formally reclassify the old data series in line with BPM6. Furthermore, data series which change significantly due to the expansion in the reporting population – or which are to be available for the first time due to the addition of new components to the survey – will be calculated retrospectively wherever possible. In cases where statistical breaks are unavoidable, the SNB will signal this in footnotes.

Drucken

Auswirkungen auf die Daten

Welche Auswirkungen haben die Neuerungen auf die Daten?

Die Neuerungen werden in der Leistungsbilanz vor allem in den Teilbilanzen Waren und Dienste grössere Auswirkungen haben. In der Kapitalbilanz und dem Auslandvermögen sind vor allem die Direktinvestitionen und die übrigen Investitionen betroffen.

In der Leistungsbilanz wird der Warenverkehr vor allem durch die Umklassierung des Transithandels (bisher bei den Dienstleistungen) und der Edelmetalle in Rohformen (bisher in der Kapitalbilanz) stark betroffen sein. Die Exporte und Importe werden dadurch höher ausfallen und auch der Saldo des Warenverkehrs wird steigen. Bei den Dienstleistungen dagegen hat die Umklassierung einen negativen Einfluss auf die Einnahmen und den Überschuss der Dienstleistungsbilanz. Wegen der Revision der Leistungsbilanzerhebungen und der Erweiterung der Erhebungskreise werden  die Einnahmen und Ausgaben des Dienstleistungshandels jedoch zunehmen.

In der Kapitalbilanz und im Auslandvermögen wird die neue Bruttodarstellung der Direktinvestitionen gemäss dem Aktiven/Passiven-Ansatz zu einer Veränderung der Kapitalflüsse und zu höheren Beständen im Auslandvermögen führen. Der Saldo der Kapitalbilanz und das Nettovermögen im Ausland werden jedoch durch die Bruttoverbuchung nicht verändert. Die Umklassierung der Edelmetalle in Rohformen von der Kapitalbilanz zu den Waren wird sowohl die Kapitalbewegungen als auch den Saldo der Kapitalbilanz stark beeinflussen. Der Umfang der Auswirkungen der übrigen Änderungen bei den Direktinvestitionen (Superdividenden, Sanierungsbeiträge, Berechnung des Gewinns) lassen sich noch nicht abschätzen. Die Verbuchung der Zuteilung von Sonderziehungsrechten als Verpflichtung führt zum Zeitpunkt der Zuteilung zu höheren Kapitalzuflüssen und vermindert das Nettovermögen im Ausland.

Was unternimmt die Nationalbank zur Vermeidung statistischer Brüche in den Zeitreihen?

Um die Vergleichbarkeit der neuen Daten mit den alten Daten zu gewährleisten und um den Datennutzern lange Reihen zur Verfügung stellen zu können, wird die SNB eine formale Umklassierung der alten Reihen auf den neuen Zahlungsbilanzstandard vornehmen. Ausserdem werden Reihen, die durch die Erweiterung der Erhebungskreise stark ändern oder wegen der Erhebung von neuen Komponenten erstmals verfügbar sein werden, so weit wie möglich zurückgerechnet. Lassen sich statistische Brüche nicht verhindern, wird die SNB in Fussnoten darauf hinweisen.