Print

Revision of balance sheet statistics

Background

The SNB conducted surveys based on FINMA’s revised accounting rules for banks (ARB, FINMA-Circ. 15/01, previously FINMA-Circ. 08/02) for the first time in the reporting month of November 2015. The new accounting rules altered the breakdown and the contents of both the balance sheets and the income statements of banks. These changes are reflected in the tables published with the balance sheet statistics (data.snb.ch), which the SNB also converted to the ARB as of the reporting month of November 2015. It was the SNB’s intention to link the data under the new ARB to the previously published data wherever possible, and to make long time series available to data users. Several of these time series have breaks between October and November 2015 due to the ARB revision. Other time series, however, do not have breaks since the previously collected data can be clearly allocated within the new balance sheet structure.

Key changes in the accounting rules

Amounts due in respect of customer deposits

The ARB combine the current liability items, ‘other amounts due to customers’ and ‘amounts due to customers in the form of savings and investments’, in a new item entitled ‘amounts due in respect of customer deposits’.

Value adjustments and provisions

Banks will in future be obliged to offset value adjustments against the associated item on the assets side of the balance sheet and are no longer allowed to report them on the liabilities side. Until now, banks could either offset value adjustments directly against the affected item on the assets side of the balance sheet or carry them as a liability in the item, ‘value adjustments and provisions’. Accordingly, the old item ‘value adjustments and provisions’ on the liabilities side of the balance sheet is renamed ‘provisions’.

However, in the first two financial years following the entry into force of the new ARB (i.e. until the end of 2016), banks may also report the total or partial amount of value adjustments as a global negative item under balance sheet assets (under the transitional balance sheet item, ‘non-eligible value adjustments according to transitional provisions’), instead of offsetting them against the associated items on the assets side of the balance sheet.

Securities financing transactions

The ARB introduces the new balance sheet items, ‘amounts due from securities financing transactions’ and ‘liabilities from securities financing transactions’. These items capture the claims or liabilities arising from cash collateral in connection with securities lending business (repos and reverse repos) or securities lending and borrowing (SLB transactions). Banks previously recorded these transactions under amounts due to or from banks or customers.

Trading portfolio liabilities

The new liability item, ‘trading portfolio liabilities’, captures the short positions in the trading portfolio and liabilities resulting from short positions due to short spot sales, which are reported according to the principle of trade date accounting. Banks previously reported these positions under ‘amounts due to banks’ or ‘other amounts due to customers’.

Other financial instruments at fair value

The fair value option (FVO), which was introduced recently, enables banks – under certain conditions – to record financial instruments at fair value instead of amortised cost or nominal value. If banks choose the FVO for a given instrument, they record it at fair value under the new balance sheet item, ‘other financial instruments at fair value’ on the assets side of the balance sheet, or under ‘liabilities from other financial instruments at fair value’ on the liabilities side. The reason for introducing the FVO and the associated balance sheet items is mainly to ensure that banks can book structured products, which they have issued themselves, on the liabilities side of their balance sheets.

Derivative financial instruments

Until now, the positive or negative replacement values of all derivative instruments arising from banks trading on their own account and for customers, which are outstanding on the balance sheet date, were recorded under the balance sheet items, ‘other assets’ and ‘other liabilities’. With the introduction of the ARB, they will be reported under the new balance sheet items, ‘positive replacement values of derivative financial instruments’ or ‘negative replacement values of derivative financial instruments’.

Money market instruments

The old balance sheet items, ‘amounts due arising from money market instruments’ and ‘liabilities arising from money market instruments’, are discontinued under the new ARB. With the exception of bills of exchange and cheques, money market instruments formerly recorded under ‘amounts due arising from money market instruments’ are now recorded under the balance sheet item, ‘financial investments’. Depending on the counterparty, banks now report bills of exchange and cheques as amounts due from banks or customers. On the liabilities side – depending on the counterparty – money market instruments are now recorded under ‘amounts due to banks’, ‘amounts due in respect of customer deposits’ or, if the counterparty is unknown, under the balance sheet item, ‘bond issues and central mortgage institution loans’.

Breaks in series

As a result of the revision of the accounting rules for banks, there are breaks in series in various items of the banking statistics tables between October and November 2015. The breaks are due to the amended provisions on the breakdown and contents of banks’ balance sheets. In addition, some banks took advantage of the changeover to the new accounting rules to carry out some internal changes, leading to further adjustments in the reported data.

The following observations on the main breaks in series relate mostly to total positions; the breaks continued, occasionally irregularly, through the breakdowns by bank category, currency, maturity and sector:

Amounts due from banks and amounts due from customers

Amounts due from banks declined by CHF 141.7 billion (–28%) between October and November 2015. With a drop of CHF 122.7 billion (–33%), amounts due from banks abroad were much more affected than amounts due from domestic banks (CHF –19.0 billion; –15%). The main reason for this decrease is that claims from securities lending (repos) are booked under the new balance sheet item ‘amounts due from securities financing transactions’ from November 2015.

Amounts due from customers in the aggregate figure for all banks decreased considerably less strongly than amounts due from banks (CHF –22.0 billion; –3%). This decline concentrated on cantonal banks (CHF –9.3 billion; –17%) and big banks (CHF –16.8 billion; –4%) and, in the case of amounts due from banks, is attributable in particular to the introduction of the new balance sheet item ‘amounts due from securities financing transactions’.

Amounts due to banks

The amounts due to banks also declined as a result of the introduction of the new balance sheet item ‘liabilities from securities financing transactions’, although a little less strongly than the amounts due from banks on the assets side (CHF –90.6 billion; –19%). The decrease for amounts due to banks abroad was CHF 62.1 billion (–18%); amounts due to domestic banks fell by CHF 28.5 billion (–20%).

Maturity allocation of call money

Previously, call money data were collected and published in the SNB’s balance sheet statistics under the maturity category ‘with a residual maturity of up to 1 month’. However, under both the old and the new accounting rules, they are allocated to the category ‘callable’. This discrepancy was corrected with the switch to the new ARB. This was reflected, for instance, in the first-time reporting in November 2015 of callable amounts due from banks and to banks of CHF 8.1 billion and CHF 10.8 billion respectively. Furthermore, the callable ‘amounts due in respect of customer deposits excluding pension provision’ increased by approximately CHF 40 billion (+7%), while the ‘amounts due in respect of customer deposits excluding pension provision’ with a residual maturity of 1 month decreased by CHF 35 billion (–29%). The big banks were particularly affected by this reclassification.

Cash bonds

Cash bonds decreased from October to November by CHF 8.9 billion (–39%). The decline affected the Raiffeisen banks category, which also carried out internal changes when switching over to the new accounting rules: Certain items which were previously included in the amounts due from cash bonds have now been reallocated to time deposits.

Bond issues and central mortgage institution loans

Liabilities from bond issues and central mortgage institution loans fell by CHF 112.8 billion (–22%) between October and November 2015. The main drivers of this decline are liabilities such as self-issued structured products which, with the application of the fair value option (FVO), can be booked under the new balance sheet item ‘liabilities from other financial instruments at fair value’. The FVO was applied to big banks in particular and used for their liabilities abroad.

Provisions

Total domestic and foreign provisions in November 2015 stood at CHF 4.4 billion (–18%), below the previous month’s value. Certain value adjustments were still included in this balance sheet item up to and including October 2015. The introduction of the ARB means that banks are no longer allowed to report value adjustments on the liabilities side: The banks offset value adjustments directly against the affected item on the assets side or report them as a global negative item on the assets side under the transitional balance sheet item ‘non-eligible value adjustments according to transitional provisions’.

Drucken

Revision der Bilanzstatistiken

Hintergrund

Per Berichtsmonat November 2015 führte die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) erstmals Erhebungen durch, die auf den revidierten Rechnungslegungsvorschriften für Banken der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA (RVB, FINMA-RS 15/01, vormals FINMA-RS 08/02) beruhen. Mit den RVB änderten sich Gliederung und Inhalt der Bilanzen und der Erfolgsrechnungen der Banken. Diese Änderungen widerspiegeln sich in den publizierten Tabellen zu den Bilanzstatistiken (data.snb.ch), welche die SNB ebenfalls ab Berichtsmonat November 2015 auf das RVB-Schema umstellte. Ziel der SNB war es, die Daten der neuen RVB – wenn immer möglich – mit den bisher publizierten Daten zu verknüpfen und den Datennutzern so lange Zeitreihen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Verschiedene dieser Reihen weisen aufgrund der RVB-Revision einen Bruch zwischen Oktober und November 2015 auf. In anderen Reihen wiederum blieben Reihenbrüche aus, da sich die bis anhin erhobenen Daten klar dem neuen Bilanzschema zuordnen liessen.

Wichtigste Änderungen der Rechnungslegungsvorschriften

Verpflichtungen aus Kundeneinlagen

Die RVB fassen die bisherigen Passivpositionen «Übrige Verpflichtungen gegenüber Kunden» und Verpflichtungen gegenüber Kunden in Spar- und Anlageform neu in den Verpflichtungen aus Kundeneinlagen zusammen.

Wertberichtigungen und Rückstellungen

Neu müssen Banken Wertberichtigungen zwingend mit der dazugehörigen Aktivposition verrechnen und dürfen sie nicht länger unter den Passiven ausweisen. Bisher konnten die Banken die Wertberichtigungen entweder direkt von den betroffenen Aktivpositionen abziehen oder sie in der Position Wertberichtigungen und Rückstellungen passivieren. Die alte Passivposition Rückstellungen und Wertberichtigungen wird dementsprechend in Rückstellungen umbenannt.

Allerdings dürfen Banken in den ersten beiden Geschäftsjahren nach Inkrafttreten der neuen RVB (d.h. bis Ende 2016) die Wertberichtigungen auch in einem Gesamt- oder Teilbetrag als globale Minusposition der Aktiven (in der Übergangs-Bilanzposition «Nicht verrechenbare Wertberichtigungen gemäss Übergangsbestimmungen») ausweisen, anstatt sie direkt mit den zugehörigen Aktivpositionen zu verrechnen.

Wertpapierfinanzierungsgeschäfte

Die RVB führen die neuen Bilanzpositionen Forderungen aus Wertpapierfinanzierungsgeschäften und Verpflichtungen aus Wertpapierfinanzierungsgeschäften ein. Sie erfassen die Forderungen resp. Verpflichtungen aus Barhinterlagen, die im Zusammenhang mit Wertpapierdarlehensgeschäften (sog. Repos und Reverse-Repos) oder Wertpapierpensionsgeschäften (sog. SLB-Geschäfte) stehen. Banken verbuchten diese bis anhin unter den Forderungen oder Verpflichtungen gegenüber Banken resp. Kunden.

Verpflichtungen aus Handelsgeschäften

Die neue Passivposition Verpflichtungen aus Handelsgeschäften erfasst die Shortbestände im Handelsgeschäft und Verpflichtungen aus Shortpositionen aufgrund von Kassenleerverkäufen, die nach dem Abschlusstagprinzip verbucht werden. Bis anhin verbuchten die Banken diese unter Verpflichtungen gegenüber Banken bzw. «Übrige Verpflichtungen gegenüber Kunden».

Übrige Finanzinstrumente mit Fair-Value-Bewertung

Die neu eingeführte Fair-Value-Option (FVO) ermöglicht es den Banken, Finanzinstrumente unter bestimmten Bedingungen zum Fair-Value zu bewerten, anstatt wie bisher zu fortgeführten Anschaffungskosten oder zum Nominalwert. Wählen Banken die FVO für ein bestimmtes Instrument, buchen sie dieses – zum Fair-Value – unter der neuen Bilanzposition «Übrige Finanzinstrumente mit Fair-Value-Bewertung» auf der Aktivseite bzw. unter den «Verpflichtungen aus übrigen Finanzinstrumente mit Fair-Value-Bewertung» auf der Passivseite. Die Einführung der FVO und der zugehörigen Bilanzpositionen zielt insbesondere auf die Verbuchung von selbst emittierten strukturierten Produkten auf der Passivseite.

Derivative Finanzinstrumente

Bis anhin wurden die positiven resp. negativen Wiederbeschaffungswerte aller am Bilanzstichtag offenen derivativen Finanzinstrumente aus Eigen- und Kundengeschäften unter den Bilanzpositionen «Sonstige Aktiven» und «Sonstige Passiven» verbucht. Mit den RVB werden diese in den neuen Bilanzpositionen «Positive Wiederbeschaffungswerte derivativer Finanzinstrumente» bzw. «Negative Wiederbeschaffungswerte derivativer Finanzinstrumente» ausgewiesen.

Geldmarktpapiere

Die alten Bilanzpositionen Forderungen aus Geldmarktpapieren und Verpflichtungen aus Geldmarktpapieren entfallen unter den RVB. Die bisher in den Forderungen aus Geldmarktpapieren verbuchten Geldmarktpapiere fliessen – mit Ausnahme von Wechseln und Checks – neu in die Bilanzposition Finanzanlagen ein. Wechsel und Checks verbuchen die Banken neu je nach Gegenpartei als Forderungen gegenüber Banken bzw. Kunden. Auf der Passivseite fliessen Geldmarktpapiere neu je nach Gegenpartei in die Verpflichtungen gegenüber Banken, Verpflichtungen aus Kundeneinlagen oder bei unbekannter Gegenpartei in die Bilanzposition Anleihen und Pfandbriefdarlehen ein.

Reihenbrüche

Aufgrund der Revision der Rechnungslegungsvorschriften weisen verschiedene Positionen in den bankenstatistischen Tabellen Reihenbrüche zwischen Oktober und November 2015 auf. Die Brüche resultieren aus den geänderten Vorschriften zur Gliederung und zum Inhalt der Bilanz der Banken. Weiter nutzten die Banken den Umstieg auf die neuen Rechnungslegungsvorschriften teilweise auch, um weitere interne Umstellungen vorzunehmen, woraus sich zusätzliche Veränderungen in den gemeldeten Daten ergaben.

Die nachfolgenden Ausführungen zu den wichtigsten Reihenbrüchen beziehen sich grösstenteils auf Totalpositionen; die Brüche setzten sich – mitunter ungleichmässig – in den Gliederungen nach Bankengruppen, Währungen, Fälligkeiten und Sektoren fort:

Forderungen gegenüber Banken und Forderungen gegenüber Kunden

Die Forderungen gegenüber Banken gingen von Oktober auf November 2015 um 141,7 Mrd. Franken (–28%) zurück. Mit einem Rückgang um 122,7 Mrd. Franken (–33%) waren die Forderungen gegenüber Banken im Ausland weitaus stärker betroffen als die Forderungen gegenüber inländischen Banken (–19,0 Mrd. Franken; –15%). Hauptverantwortlich für diese Abnahme ist, dass die Forderungen aus Wertpapierdarlehensgeschäften (Repos) ab November 2015 unter der neuen Bilanzposition Forderungen aus Wertpapierfinanzierungsgeschäften bilanziert werden.

Im Vergleich zu den Forderungen gegenüber Banken nahmen die Forderungen gegenüber Kunden im Aggregat über alle Banken deutlich schwächer ab (–22,0 Mrd. Franken; –3%). Dieser Rückgang konzentrierte sich auf die Kantonalbanken (–9,3 Mrd. Franken; –17%) sowie die Grossbanken (–16,8 Mrd. Franken; –4%) und ist wie bei den Forderungen gegenüber Banken insbesondere auf die Einführung der neuen Bilanzposition Forderungen aus Wertpapierfinanzierungsgeschäften zurückzuführen.

Verpflichtungen gegenüber Banken

Auch die Verpflichtungen gegenüber Banken sanken durch die Einführung der neuen Bilanzposition Verpflichtungen aus Wertpapierfinanzierungsgeschäften, wenn auch weniger stark als die Forderungen gegenüber Banken auf der Aktivseite (–90,6 Mrd. Franken; –19%). Der Rückgang gegenüber Banken im Ausland betrug dabei 62,1 Mrd. Franken (–18%); die Verpflichtungen gegenüber inländischen Banken sanken um 28,5 Mrd. Franken (–20%).

Fälligkeitszuordnung von Callgeldern

Callgelder wurden in den bilanzstatistischen Erhebungen der SNB bislang unter der Fälligkeitskategorie «mit Restlaufzeit bis 1 Monat» erhoben und publiziert. Nach den alten wie auch den neuen Rechnungslegungsvorschriften sind sie hingegen der Kategorie «kündbar» zuzuordnen. Mit der Umstellung der Erhebungen auf das neue RVB-Schema wurde diese Abweichung bereinigt. Per November 2015 zeigt sich dies zum einen im erstmaligen Ausweis von kündbaren Forderungen und Verpflichtungen gegenüber Banken in Höhe von 8,1 resp. 10,8 Mrd. Franken. Zum anderen stiegen die kündbaren «Kundeneinlagen ohne Vorsorgegelder» um rund 40 Mrd. Franken (+7%), während die «Kundeneinlagen ohne Vorsorgegelder» mit der Restlaufzeit bis 1 Monat um 35,0 Mrd. Franken (–29%) abnahmen. Von dieser Umklassierung waren insbesondere die die Grossbanken betroffen.

Kassenobligationen

Die Kassenobligation sanken von Oktober auf November um 8,9 Mrd. Franken (–39%). Der Rückgang betraf die Bankengruppe der Raiffeisenbanken, welche mit der Umstellung auf die RVB auch interne Umstellungen vornahmen: Bestimmte bis anhin in den Verpflichtungen aus Kassenobligationen enthaltene Positionen wurden neu den Termineinlagen zugeordnet.

Anleihen und Pfandbriefdarlehen

Die Verpflichtungen aus Anleihen und Pfandbriefdarlehen nahmen von Oktober auf November 2015 um 112,8 Mrd. Franken ab (–22%). Hinter diesem Rückgang stehen insbesondere Verbindlichkeiten wie z.B. selbstemittierte strukturierte Produkte, die bei Anwendung der sogenannten Fair-Value-Option unter der neuen Bilanzposition Verpflichtungen aus übrigen Finanzinstrumenten mit Fair-Value-Bewertung verbucht werden können. Die Fair-Value-Option wurde insbesondere von den Grossbanken und dort für Verpflichtungen gegenüber dem Ausland verwendet.

Rückstellungen

Die Rückstellungen lagen im November 2015 für das Total Inland und Ausland 4,4 Mrd. Franken (–18%) unter dem Wert des Vormonats. Bis und mit Oktober 2015 waren noch bestimmte Wertberichtigungen in dieser Bilanzposition enthalten. Mit der Einführung der RVB dürfen die Banken Wertberichtigungen nicht länger passivieren: Die Banken ziehen die Wertberichtigungen direkt bei der zugehörigen Aktivposition ab oder melden sie als globale Minusposition der Aktiven in der Übergangsbilanzposition «Nicht verrechenbare Wertberichtigungen gemäss Übergangsbestimmungen».