Print

Further information about payment transactions in Switzerland

Cashless payment systems have become an important alternative to cash. Increasing cost pressure, competition and technological change are constantly resulting in new services, processes and infrastructures and ensure that the Swiss payment transaction landscape remains dynamic and up-to-date.

In this environment the tasks of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) include facilitating and securing the functioning of cashless payment systems in Switzerland in accordance with the National Bank Act (NBA) (art. 5 para. 2). The SNB performs this duty principally by acting as system manager for the Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) system. The SIC system, which is operated by SIX Interbank Clearing Ltd on behalf of the SNB, processes both large-value payments and retail transfers. Together with other financial market infrastructures, the SIC system makes up what is known as the «Swiss Value Chain» (cf. report «Behind the scenes of financial markets (...)»).

The National Bank Act also allows the Confederation to avail itself of the banking services provided by the SNB (NBA art. 5 para. 4). In this regard the SNB provides payment transaction services for the Confederation and federal bodies, acting on their instructions.

Further information about the SIC system may be found in the SIC disclosure report. This report provides information on the Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) payment system, in accordance with the provisions of the National Bank Ordinance (NBO) and the CPMI–IOSCO ‘Principles for financial market infrastructures’. It is the result of collaboration between the SNB (Department III) in its capacity as SIC system manager, and SIX Interbank Clearing as SIC system operator.

Wissenswertes über den Zahlungsverkehr in der Schweiz

Bargeldlose Zahlungsmittel sind eine bedeutende Alternative zu Bargeld geworden. Vermehrter Kostendruck, Wettbewerb sowie technologischer Wandel führen zu immer neuen Dienstleistungen, Prozessen und Infrastrukturen und sorgen dafür, dass die Schweizer Zahlungsverkehrslandschaft stets à jour und in Bewegung bleibt.

In diesem Umfeld hat die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) gemäss dem Nationalbankgesetz (NBG) den Auftrag, das Funktionieren bargeldloser Zahlungssysteme in der Schweiz zu erleichtern und zu sichern (Art. 5 Abs. 2). Diesen Auftrag nimmt die SNB hauptsächlich wahr, indem sie als Systemmanagerin des Schweizer Interbanken-Zahlungssystems, des Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC), fungiert. Über das SIC-System, welches durch die SIX Interbank Clearing AG im Auftrag der SNB betrieben wird, werden sowohl Grossbetragszahlungen als auch Massenzahlungen (Retail-Zahlungen) abgewickelt. Das SIC-System bildet zusammen mit weiteren Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen die sogenannte «Swiss Value Chain» (siehe Bericht «Was sich hinter den Kulissen der Finanzmärkte abspielt (...)»).

Des Weiteren sieht das NBG vor, dass der Bund Bankdienstleistungen der SNB in Anspruch nehmen kann (NBG Art. 5 Abs. 4). In diesem Zusammenhang erbringt die SNB Zahlungsverkehrsdienstleistungen für den Bund und bundesnahe Betriebe und handelt dabei in deren Auftrag.

Weitere Informationen zum SIC-System sind im SIC Disclosure-Bericht aufgeführt. Dieser Bericht legt Informationen zum Zahlungssystem Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) gemäss den Anforderungen der Nationalbankverordnung (NBV) und den «Principles for Financial Market Infrastructures» von CPMI-IOSCO offen. Der Bericht ist in Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (III. Departement) als SIC-Systemmanagerin und der SIX Interbank Clearing AG als SIC-Systembetreiberin entstanden.