Print

Monetary policy instruments

It is the task of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) to provide the Swiss franc money market with liquidity (art. 5 para. 2 (a) National Bank Act [NBA]). The transactions that the SNB may conduct with financial market participants are listed in art. 9 NBA. Based on art. 9 para. 1 (e) NBA, the National Bank also acts as lender of last resort. The Guidelines of the Swiss National Bank on Monetary Policy Instruments dated 25 March 2004 contain more explicit information with regard to art. 9 NBA and describe the instruments and procedures used by the SNB for the implementation of its monetary policy. They also define the conditions under which these transactions are concluded and which securities can be used as collateral for monetary policy operations. Basically, all banks domiciled in Switzerland and other domestic financial market participants, as well as international banks abroad that meet the conditions stipulated by the SNB are accepted as counterparties. The guidelines are supplemented by five instruction sheets which are primarily intended to be used by the counterparties.

Open market operations and standing facilities

For monetary policy instruments, a distinction is made between open market operations and standing facilities. In the case of open market operations, the SNB takes the initiative in the transaction. In the case of standing facilities, i.e. intraday and liquidity-shortage financing facilities, the SNB merely sets the conditions at which commercial banks can obtain short-term liquidity.

Open market operations cover repo transactions, the issuance of SNB Bills, as well as the purchase and sale of SNB Bills in the secondary market. In a repo transaction, the cash taker sells securities spot to the cash provider. At the same time, the cash taker enters into an agreement to repurchase securities of the same type and amount from the cash provider at a later point in time. The cash taker pays interest (repo rate) for the term of the transaction. From an economic perspective, a repo is a secured loan. By issuing SNB Bills, the SNB can absorb liquidity.

SNB open market operations serve to provide the Swiss franc money market with liquidity. The SNB may conduct repo transactions in the form of auctions or bilaterally with individual counterparties. The auctions are conducted either by volume tender or by variable rate tender. In the case of volume tenders, the SNB’s counterparties request a certain amount of liquidity at a fixed price (repo rate). In the case of variable rate tenders, the SNB’s counterparties inform the SNB of the amount requested and the interest rate that they are willing to pay for the auctioned liquidity. The repo rate, the size of the individual operations and their maturities depend on monetary policy requirements. The maturity of repo transactions may vary from one day (overnight) to several months. The SNB can influence money market interest rates by means of the interest rate conditions and the volume of these operations. It can also influence price-formation in the money market at any time, by placing or accepting offers for repo transactions in the electronic market. In this way, it can help to stabilise short-term money market rates. SNB Bills are issued publicly by auction or through private placement. Auctions are conducted either by volume tender or by variable rate tender on an electronic trading platform. Maturities can be up to one year. The SNB can repurchase SNB Bills during their term and sell them again. Interest on SNB Bills is paid on a discount basis.

SNB standing facilities include the intraday facility, with which the SNB provides its counterparties with interest-free liquidity during the day (intraday liquidity) by means of repo transactions. This liquidity facilitates the settlement of payment transactions via Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) and foreign exchange transactions via Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS), the multilateral payment system. The funds received must be repaid by the end of the same bank working day at the latest. These funds do not qualify when evaluating compliance with minimum reserve requirements or liquidity requirements under banking law.

The other SNB standing facility is the liquidity-shortage financing facility, which is available to SNB counterparties for bridging unexpected liquidity bottlenecks. This facility can be used until the next bank working day (overnight) through special-rate repo transactions. The special rate is based on the SARON (Swiss Average Rate Overnight) plus an interest premium and is announced daily through the electronic market information services. The prerequisites for concluding special-rate repo transactions are the granting of a limit by the SNB and the provision of collateral eligible for SNB repos. Such cover must amount to at least 110 percent of the limit at all times. The limit determines the maximum amount of liquidity that a counterparty may obtain. The limit is drawn down in the form of an overnight repo transaction. The securities are held by the counterparty in a ’Custody Cover Account SNB’ at SIX SIS Ltd.

Further monetary policy instruments

In addition to regular instruments, the SNB has a number of other instruments at its disposal, including foreign exchange spot and forward transactions, foreign exchange swaps and the purchase or sale or securities in Swiss francs. The SNB can also create, purchase or sell derivatives on receivables, securities, precious metals and currency pairs.

More detailed information can be found in the Guidelines of the Swiss National Bank on Monetary Policy Instruments and in the five related Instruction Sheets. Further information on open market operations, standing facilities and the Swiss Reference Rates is available under Information for, Financial markets.

Drucken

Das geldpolitische Instrumentarium

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) hat die Aufgabe, den Geldmarkt in Schweizer Franken mit Liquidität zu versorgen (Nationalbankgesetz (NBG), Art. 5 Abs. 2 Bst. a). Die Geschäfte, welche die SNB am Finanzmarkt tätigen darf, sind unter Art. 9 NBG aufgelistet. Die Bank wirkt gemäss Art. 9 Abs. 1 Bst. e NBG auch als Kreditgeber in letzter Instanz (Lender of Last Resort). Die «Richtlinien der Schweizerischen Nationalbank über das geldpolitische Instrumentarium» vom 25. März 2004 konkretisieren Art. 9 NBG und beschreiben die Instrumente und Verfahren, welche die SNB zur Umsetzung ihrer Geldpolitik einsetzt. Sie definieren zudem, zu welchen Bedingungen diese Geschäfte abgeschlossen werden und welche Effekten als Sicherheit für geldpolitische Operationen verwendet werden können. Grundsätzlich sind alle in der Schweiz domizilierten Banken und andere inländische Finanzmarktteilnehmer sowie die international tätigen Banken im Ausland, welche den Bedingungen der Nationalbank nachkommen, als Geschäftspartner zugelassen. Die Richtlinien werden durch fünf Merkblätter ergänzt. Diese richten sich vornehmlich an die Geschäftspartner.

Offenmarktoperationen und stehende Fazilitäten

Im geldpolitischen Instrumentarium wird zwischen den Offenmarktoperationen und den stehenden Fazilitäten unterschieden. Bei den Offenmarktoperationen geht die Initiative zum Geschäftsabschluss von der SNB aus. Bei den stehenden Fazilitäten, der Innertags- und der Engpassfinanzierungsfazilität, setzt die Nationalbank lediglich die Konditionen fest, zu denen die Geschäftsbanken kurzfristig Liquidität beziehen können.

Die Offenmarktoperationen umfassen Repo-Geschäfte, Emissionen von eigenen Schuldverschreibungen (SNB Bills) sowie deren Kauf und Verkauf am Sekundärmarkt. Bei einem Repo-Geschäft verkauft der Geldnehmer per Kasse Effekten an den Geldgeber und vereinbart mit diesem gleichzeitig den Rückkauf von Effekten gleicher Gattung und Menge auf einen späteren Zeitpunkt. Für die Dauer des Geschäfts wird vom Geldnehmer ein Zins (Repo-Satz) bezahlt. Aus ökonomischer Sicht handelt es sich beim Repo um ein gesichertes Darlehen. Durch die Emission von SNB Bills kann die SNB Liquidität binden.

Die Offenmarktoperationen der SNB dienen der Versorgung des Schweizer Franken Geldmarktes mit Liquidität. Die SNB kann Repo-Geschäfte im Rahmen von Auktionen oder bilateral mit einzelnen Geschäftspartnern durchführen. Die Auktionen werden in Form eines Mengen- oder Zinstenders durchgeführt. Bei einem Mengentender fragen die Geschäftspartner der Nationalbank bei einem vorgegebenen Preis (Repo-Satz) einen bestimmten Liquiditätsbetrag nach. Bei einem Zinstender kommunizieren die Geschäftspartner der SNB den nachgesuchten Betrag sowie den Zinssatz, den sie bereit sind, für die auktionierte Liquidität zu bezahlen. Die Höhe des Repo-Satzes, der Umfang der einzelnen Geschäfte sowie die Laufzeiten richten sich nach den geldpolitischen Erfordernissen. Die Laufzeit der Repo-Geschäfte kann zwischen einem Tag (Overnight) und mehreren Monaten betragen. Mittels der Zinskonditionen und dem Umfang dieser Operationen kann die SNB Einfluss auf die Geldmarktzinsen nehmen. Die SNB kann ausserdem jederzeit auf die Preisbildung im Geldmarkt Einfluss nehmen, indem sie auf dem elektronischen Marktplatz für Repo-Geschäfte Angebote platziert oder Offerten akzeptiert. Damit kann sie zur Stabilisierung der kurzfristigen Geldmarktzinsen beitragen. Die Emission der SNB Bills erfolgt öffentlich im Auktionsverfahren oder mittels Privatplatzierung. Die Auktionen werden entweder in Form eines Mengen- oder eines Zinstenders auf einer elektronischen Handelsplattform durchgeführt. Die Laufzeit kann bis zu einem Jahr betragen. Die Nationalbank kann SNB Bills während der Laufzeit zurückkaufen und wieder verkaufen. Die Verzinsung der SNB Bills erfolgt auf Diskontbasis.

Bei den stehenden Fazilitäten stellt die Nationalbank über die Innertagsfazilität den Geschäftspartnern während des Tages über Repo-Geschäfte zinslos Liquidität (Intraday) zur Verfügung. Diese Liquidität erleichtert die Abwicklung des Zahlungsverkehrs im Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) und der Devisentransaktionen im multilateralen Zahlungssystem Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS). Der bezogene Geldbetrag muss spätestens am Ende desselben Bankwerktages zurückbezahlt werden. Zur Erfüllung der Mindestreservevorschriften und der bankengesetzlichen Liquiditätsvorschriften wird er nicht angerechnet.

Zur Überbrückung von unerwarteten Liquiditätsengpässen bietet die Nationalbank eine Engpassfinanzierungsfazilität an. Diese Fazilität kann mittels Repo-Geschäft zum Sondersatz bis zum nächsten Bankwerktag (Overnight) in Anspruch genommen werden. Der Sondersatz berechnet sich aus dem SARON (Swiss Average Rate Overnight) zuzüglich eines Zinsaufschlags. Der Sondersatz wird täglich über die elektronischen Marktinformationsdienste bekannt gegeben. Die Voraussetzung für den Abschluss eines Repo-Geschäfts zum Sondersatz bildet die Einräumung einer Limite durch die SNB sowie die dauernde Deckung dieser Limite mit mindestens 110 Prozent SNB-repofähigen Effekten. Die Limite bestimmt den maximal möglichen Bezug von Liquidität durch einen Geschäftspartner. Die Beanspruchung der Limite erfolgt in Form eines Overnight-Repo-Geschäfts. Die Effekten werden in einem auf den Geschäftspartner lautenden «Deckungsdepot SNB» bei der SIX SIS AG aufbewahrt.

Weitere geldpolitische Instrumente

Neben den ordentlichen Instrumenten stehen der Nationalbank als weitere Instrumente Devisenkassa- und Termingeschäfte, Devisenswaps sowie An- und Verkauf von Effekten in Franken zur Verfügung. Zudem kann sie Derivate auf Forderungen, Effekten, Edelmetalle und Währungspaare schaffen, kaufen oder verkaufen.

Ausführlichere Informationen finden sich in den «Richtlinien der Schweizerischen Nationalbank über das geldpolitische Instrumentarium» sowie in den dazugehörigen fünf Merkblättern. Weitere Informationen zu den Offenmarktoperationen, stehenden Fazilitäten sowie den Swiss Reference Rates sind unter der Rubrik «Informationen für Finanzmärkte» verfügbar.