Print

Monetary policy decisions 2009

Contents

On 10 March 2010, the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank submitted its accountability report for 2009 to the Federal Assembly in accordance with art. 7 para. 2 of the National Bank Act. The following accountability report is submitted to the Federal Council and the General Meeting of Shareholders for information purposes only and does not require their approval.

Schedule

The SNB’s Governing Board conducts an in-depth assessment of the monetary policy situation in March, June, September and December. Each of these assessments results in an interest rate decision. If circumstances so require, the Governing Board may adjust the target range for the three-month Swiss franc Libor between regular assessment dates. In 2009, however, this was not the case.

Monetary policy challenges in 2009

As in the previous year, monetary policy was rendered more complicated by the high level of uncertainty about how the main macroeconomic and financial variables would develop. The SNB faced major challenges concerning both its immediate goals and the implementation of its monetary policy. It was mainly motivated by the desire to dampen the effects of the economic and financial crisis on the Swiss economy and to limit deflation risks, without losing sight of the objective of maintaining price stability in the medium and long term.

Supporting the economy

In an effort to support the economy and lessen the impact of the economic and financial crisis, the SNB successively lowered the Libor target range to 0.0–1.0% during the last quarter of 2008. In March 2009, it reduced the range by 25 basis points, and retained this new target range of 0.0–0.75% for the rest of the year. The National Bank’s intention was to bring the Libor down into the lower end of the target range, at around 0.25%. The one-week repo rate, which is used to manage the Libor, had already been at 0.05% since the end of 2008.

Countering the risk of deflation

In addition to the difficult economic climate and the substantial degree of uncertainty on financial markets, the high risk of deflation was a further area of concern for the SNB. In spring, the economic crisis and the appreciation of the Swiss franc began to pose a serious threat to medium-term price stability. Any further appreciation would have amplified the deflation risk by, on the one hand, creating unfavourable conditions for exports and thereby exacerbating the recession, and, on the other, leading to a decline in import prices.

For this reason, the SNB decided in March to relax monetary conditions even further by substantially increasing the supply of liquidity. In addition to reducing the target range for the three-month Libor, it introduced exceptional instruments for this purpose, including currency swaps, repos with longer terms, purchases of Swiss franc bonds issued by domestic private sector borrowers and foreign exchange market interventions. It maintained this expansionary monetary policy course practically unchanged throughout the rest of 2009.

Guaranteeing price stability

With the risk of deflation receding somewhat as the economy recovered, monetary policy at year-end faced the challenge of how to reconcile short and long-term requirements. The long-term inflation outlook called for a gradual tightening of monetary policy, whereas the uncertainty over the way in which the economy and prices would develop in the short term suggested that tightening could be postponed.

The inflation forecast published in December 2009 gave the SNB sufficient leeway to maintain its expansionary monetary policy. The SNB also announced that it would take firm action to prevent any excessive appreciation of the Swiss franc against the euro. It noted, however, that it would not be possible to maintain such a policy indefinitely without compromising medium and long-term price stability.

Quarterly assessment of 12 March

In the months preceding the first assessment of 2009, economic activity declined sharply in the US and Europe. The crisis, which had started in the financial markets, had spilled over to the non-financial economy, and its effects were being felt throughout the global economy. Against this background, the SNB made a substantial downward revision to its growth forecasts for the major economies, in particular for the US (2009: –1.8%; 2010: 1.9%) and Europe (2009: –1.1%; 2010: 0.5%).

In Switzerland, annualised GDP had fallen by 1.2% in the fourth quarter of 2008. By the time of the assessment in March, the economy was being severely affected by the crisis, with Swiss exports particularly hard hit by the collapse in global demand. Moreover, unemployment was rising steadily, bringing the risk of a levelling-off in private consumption. Consequently, the National Bank revised its forecast downwards and projected that GDP for 2009 would be between –2.5% and –3%.

At the time of the assessment, the growth rates for the M1 and M2 monetary aggregates were relatively high, while M3 growth remained moderate. The volume of base money had doubled within the space of a year, reflecting a huge increase in the demand for liquidity from the banking sector. The rate of growth in lending volumes had been slowing since the beginning of the year. Yet mortgage loans remained unaffected – growth in this segment had gathered pace since autumn 2008, reaching 3.8% in January 2009. Overall, therefore, the situation on the Swiss lending market was better than that in the rest of the world.

The Swiss franc had gained markedly in value since the onset of the international financial crisis in August 2007. This trend had accelerated after the December 2008 assessment, and, by the time of the March 2009 assessment, had given rise to an unwelcome tightening of monetary conditions. Inflation, having peaked at 3.1% in July 2008, had fallen back to 0.2% by February. This was largely attributable to the slump in oil prices and the appreciation of the Swiss franc. The SNB expected that inflation would turn negative over the course of 2009.

In response, the National Bank decided to bring interest rates down further, and narrowed the target range for the three-month Libor to 0.0– 0.75%. Its aim was to bring the Libor down into the lower end of the target range, at around 0.25%. It also decided to substantially increase the supply of liquidity by entering into long-term repos, purchasing Swiss franc bonds issued by domestic private sector borrowers and buying foreign currency on the foreign exchange market, in order to prevent the Swiss franc from appreciating further against the euro, as well as to improve financing conditions.

In addition, from autumn 2008, the SNB negotiated EUR/CHF swap agreements with a number of countries to facilitate refinancing for banks that had granted loans in Swiss francs in those countries. This allowed the SNB to counter the rise in the Libor generated by additional demand for Swiss francs from abroad.

The inflation forecast published together with the interest rate decision was based on a three-month Libor of 0.25%, and showed negative inflation for 2009, partly as a result of a base effect from falling oil prices. For 2010 and 2011, inflation was expected to remain low due to the weak state of the economy, despite the low interest rate environment. At the end of the forecast horizon, inflation increased slightly, reflecting the fact that a Libor of 0.25% would not guarantee price stability in the medium and long term.

y2009q1_l025_e

Quarterly assessment of 18 June

During the first quarter of 2009, economic activity had declined more sharply than the SNB had expected, especially in Europe and Japan. By contrast, at the time of the June assessment, the financial markets, business activity and consumer confidence were all sending out positive signals. The SNB thus judged the economic risks to be slightly lower, but left its scenario for the global economy essentially unchanged. It now projected that growth rates would already turn positive in the second half of the year in the US and at the beginning of 2010 in Europe.

At the start of 2009, the Swiss economy had deteriorated further, with annualised GDP declining by 3.2% in the first quarter. Exports plummeted around the time of the assessment, and the level of capacity utilisation in manufacturing fell substantially. Against a background of rising unemployment, domestic demand stagnated. The SNB projected that this situation would persist for the next few months, and continued to forecast GDP growth of between –2.5% and –3% for 2009 as a whole.

M1 and M2, which are highly sensitive to changes in interest rates, were showing very strong growth at the time of the assessment. As hitherto, this was attributable to the public’s preference for the most liquid assets possible, which was also reflected in a decrease in time deposits. M3 was still growing at a moderate pace, suggesting that banks were hoarding liquidity, and only passing limited amounts on to other segments of the economy.

The total volume of lending was increasing at an annual rate of more than 3%, with mortgage lending growing particularly strongly as a result of the interest rate cuts. There was thus no sign of a credit crunch in Switzerland.

As regards the exchange rate, the measures introduced at the March assessment had borne fruit. Between March and June, the Swiss franc did not appreciate further against the euro and the volatility of the exchange rate was much reduced.

Inflation was close to zero in the first quarter. The SNB therefore projected that inflation would remain negative for the rest of the year, largely because of falling import prices. For domestic goods and services, however, inflation was expected to weaken over the course of the year, but to remain above 1%.

Given the ongoing risk of deflation, the SNB decided to keep the Libor target range at 0.0–0.75%, and the desired rate at 0.25%. It also announced that it would continue with the exceptional measures introduced in March.

The inflation forecast published together with the interest rate decision was thus still based on a three-month Libor of 0.25%. The forecast once again showed negative inflation for 2009 as a whole but had been revised upwards slightly as a result of the increase in the prices of commodities and energy. For the next two years, inflation was expected to be slightly positive, accelerating marginally at the end of the forecast period. This implied that the Libor could not remain at 0.25% indefinitely.

y2009q2_l025_e

Quarterly assessment of 17 September

At its September assessment, the SNB projected that economic growth outside Switzerland would be higher than had been expected in June, and that the US and European economies would return to positive rates of growth before the end of the year. The SNB therefore made a substantial upward revision to its growth forecasts for the major economies in 2010, in particular for the US (2.4%) and Europe (2.2%).

The economic situation in Switzerland continued to be difficult. The rate of capacity utilisation was falling and unemployment was rising sharply. Nevertheless, the SNB revised its 2009 GDP forecast upwards, to between –1.5% and –2%. This was due to the fact that the global economy had returned to growth more quickly than expected, which also benefited Swiss exports. Moreover, the contraction in GDP in the second quarter had been less pronounced than anticipated.

Having grown strongly as a result of the generous supply of liquidity, base money decreased markedly in the months preceding the assessment. However, the amount of liquidity was still high at the time of the assessment, not just in the banking industry but also in the household and corporate sectors. The faster pace of M1 and M2 growth since the beginning of the year, as well as the more recent acceleration in M3 growth, were attributable to this.

The developments in lending and the monetary aggregates were a reflection of the very expansionary monetary policy. Mortgage lending, which accounts for around 80% of total lending, increased by 4.6% in July. At the time of the assessment, there was still no evidence of a credit crunch for either households or companies.

The export-weighted external value of the Swiss franc was stable just prior to the assessment, as was the exchange rate against the euro. This confirmed the effectiveness of the monetary policy measures implemented since March.

At the time of the assessment, inflation was still negative, and core inflation was trending downwards. Although the GDP forecasts had been revised upwards, inflation was still expected to be close to zero for 2010 and 2011. The risk of deflation thus persisted, despite having lessened since the June assessment.

In these circumstances, the SNB decided to leave its expansionary monetary policy unchanged. It held the Libor target range at 0.0–0.75% and continued to aim for a Libor of 0.25%. It also announced that it would continue to supply the economy with generous amounts of liquidity, and take firm action to prevent any appreciation of the Swiss franc against the euro.

The September inflation forecast was based on a three-month Libor of 0.25%. Both the negative inflation in 2009 and the acceleration of inflation projected for the beginning of 2010 were attributable to a base effect from energy prices. It was expected that, over the rest of 2010, inflation would remain persistently low, but that the output gap would close more rapidly than had previously been anticipated. Accordingly, the inflation forecast for 2011 rose, while that for 2012 exceeded 2%.

y2009q3_l025_e

Quarterly assessment of 10 December

Since the September assessment, signs of a recovery in global economic activity had been gathering strength. The normalisation of conditions on the financial markets, as well as the monetary and fiscal stimuli, had prompted a recovery in manufacturing output. However, in a number of countries capacity utilisation was still low and access to credit remained difficult. Moreover, it was likely that the subdued labour market situation would weigh further on consumption. The SNB therefore kept its 2010 growth forecast for the US unchanged, but revised it slightly downwards for Europe (1.1%).

The Swiss economy, too, was on the road to recovery at the time of the assessment, with GDP having risen in the third quarter. Exports benefited from the recovery in global demand, making an improvement in the situation of the manufacturing industry probable. In view of the under-utilisation of production capacity, by contrast, there was unlikely to be any revival of equipment investment for the time being. In addition, consumption growth was expected to be held back by weakly growing income. For 2010, the SNB projected GDP growth of between 0.5% and 1%, following a figure of approximately –1.5% for 2009.

Having risen strongly until April 2009, base money declined again, while M1 and M2 showed substantial growth up to the time of the assessment. M3 growth, which had been modest for a long time, accelerated. This was a reflection of the public’s increased preference for liquid assets and was thus no cause for concern.

Growth in mortgage lending rose to 5.1% in the months prior to the assessment. Although growth in other lending was slightly lower, there was nevertheless no credit crunch in Switzerland.

The export-weighted external value of the Swiss franc had increased slightly since the previous assessment, mainly as a result of the weaker US dollar. Against the euro, by contrast, the Swiss franc remained stable.

At the time of the assessment, inflation was still negative, largely as a result of fluctuating oil prices and the associated base effect. The economic outlook suggested, however, that inflation would turn positive from the beginning of 2010.

Against this background, the National Bank decided to leave the Libor target range unchanged at 0.0–0.75% and the Libor at 0.25%. It announced that it would still provide the economy with a generous supply of liquidity, but would discontinue its purchases of Swiss franc bonds issued by domestic private sector borrowers. It would also continue to act decisively to prevent any excessive appreciation of the Swiss franc against the euro. In addition, the SNB pointed out, both to banks and to firms and households, the risks inherent in a relaxation of discipline in real estate financing.

The inflation forecast published together with the interest rate decision was based on a three-month Libor of 0.25%. Inflation rose in the short term, as a result of the base effect linked to the trough in oil prices reached one year earlier. The forecast suggested that inflation would fall back again over the course of 2010, despite the fact that economic growth was expected to pick up. From the beginning of 2011, the forecast showed a clear upward trend, with inflation projected to breach the 2% mark in the first half of 2012. This indicated that the Libor would have to be raised sooner or later.

y2009q4_l025

Drucken

Berichterstattung über die Geldpolitik 2009

Inhalt

Das Direktorium der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) übermittelte am 10. März 2010 seinen gemäss Art. 7 Abs. 2 des Nationalbankgesetzes (NBG) erstellten Rechenschaftsbericht 2009 an die Bundesversammlung. Dieser im Folgenden wiedergegebene Bericht wird dem Bundesrat und der Generalversammlung der Aktionäre zur Information, nicht aber zur Beschlussfassung unterbreitet.

Zinsentscheide

Das Direktorium der Nationalbank führt in den Monaten März, Juni, September und Dezember eine vertiefte geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung durch, die jeweils in einen Zinsentscheid mündet. Wenn es die Umstände erfordern, kann das Zielband für den Dreimonats-Libor auch ausserhalb dieser Termine angepasst werden. Ein solcher Fall trat im Jahr 2009 nicht ein.

Herausforderungen der Geldpolitik im Jahr 2009

Wie schon im Jahr 2008 erschwerte die grosse Unsicherheit in Bezug auf die Entwicklung der wichtigsten makroökonomischen und finanziellen Variablen die Geldpolitik. Die Nationalbank sah sich dabei sowohl bezüglich ihrer Ziele als auch der Umsetzung der Geldpolitik grossen Herausforderungen gegenüber. Dabei liess sie sich grundsätzlich von der Absicht leiten, die Auswirkungen der Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrise auf die Schweizer Wirtschaft zu mildern und das Deflationsrisiko zu begrenzen, ohne die mittel- und langfristige Preisstabilität aus den Augen zu verlieren.

Unterstützung der Wirtschaft

Im Bestreben, die Wirtschaft zu unterstützen und die Auswirkungen der Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrise abzufedern, senkte die Nationalbank das Libor-Zielband im vierten Quartal 2008 auf zuletzt 0,0%–1,0%. Im März 2009 verschmälerte sie es um 25 Basispunkte und behielt das neue Zielband von 0,0%–0,75% bis zum Jahresende bei. Die Nationalbank steuerte dabei den unteren Bereich des Zielbands mit einem Libor um 0,25% an. Dabei lag der einwöchige Repo-Satz, mit dem der Libor gesteuert wird, bereits seit Ende 2008 bei 0,05%.

Abwendung der Deflationsgefahr

Der Nationalbank bereiteten nicht nur die schwierige Konjunkturlage und die grosse Unsicherheit an den Finanzmärkten Sorgen, sondern auch die hohe Deflationsgefahr. Ab dem Frühling wurde die mittelfristige Preisstabilität durch die Wirtschaftskrise und die Aufwertung des Frankens ernstlich gefährdet. Eine weitere Aufwertung hätte das Deflationsrisiko verstärkt, indem sie einerseits die Lage der Exportwirtschaft erschwert und damit die Rezession verschärft und andererseits zu einer Reduktion der Importpreise geführt hätte.

Aus diesem Grund beschloss die Nationalbank im März, die Liquidität massiv auszudehnen und damit die monetären Bedingungen weiter zu lockern. Neben der Reduktion der Bandbreite für den Dreimonats-Libor setzte sie zu diesem Zweck ausserordentliche Instrumente ein. Dazu gehörten Devisenswaps, Repo-Geschäfte mit langen Laufzeiten, Käufe von Frankenobligationen privater inländischer Schuldner sowie Interventionen am Devisenmarkt. Sie behielt diesen expansiven geldpolitischen Kurs bis Ende 2009 praktisch unverändert bei.

Gewährleistung der Preisstabilität

Nachdem sich das Deflationsrisiko im Zuge der konjunkturellen Erholung verringert hatte, sah sich die Nationalbank am Jahresende der Schwierigkeit gegenüber, die kurz- und langfristigen Anforderungen miteinander in Einklang zu bringen. So verlangten die langfristigen Teuerungsaussichten nach einer allmählichen Straffung der Geldpolitik, während die Unsicherheiten bezüglich der kurzfristigen Konjunktur- und Preisentwicklung eher für einen Aufschub dieser Massnahme sprachen.

Die im Dezember 2009 veröffentlichte Inflationsprognose gab der Nationalbank genügend Spielraum, um ihre expansive Geldpolitik beizubehalten. Die Nationalbank hielt ausserdem fest, dass sie einer exzessiven Aufwertung des Frankens gegenüber dem Euro entschieden entgegenwirken würde. Sie wies aber darauf hin, dass es nicht möglich sein würde, eine solche Geldpolitik unbegrenzt fortzuführen, ohne die mittel- und langfristige Preisstabilität zu gefährden.

Lagebeurteilung vom 12. März

In den Monaten vor der ersten Lagebeurteilung des Jahres 2009 hatte die Wirtschaftsaktivität in den USA und in Europa massiv nachgelassen. Die Krise, die von den Finanzmärkten ausgegangen war, übertrug sich auf die übrige Wirtschaft und war in der gesamten Weltwirtschaft zu spüren. Dementsprechend korrigierte die Nationalbank ihre Wachstumsprognosen für die grossen Volkswirtschaften deutlich nach unten, insbesondere diejenige für die USA (2009: –1,8%; 2010: 1,9%) und für Europa (2009: –1,1%; 2010: 0,5%).

In der Schweiz war das BIP im vierten Quartal 2008 auf annualisierter Basis um 1,2% gesunken. Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung im März stand die Wirtschaft im Banne der Krise, hatte doch der Einbruch der globalen Nachfrage die schweizerischen Exporte schwer getroffen. Darüber hinaus stieg die Arbeitslosigkeit stetig, was die Gefahr einer Abflachung beim privaten Konsum mit sich brachte. Die Nationalbank revidierte daher ihre Prognosen nach unten und rechnete für 2009 mit einem BIP-Rückgang von –2,5% bis – 3%.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung verzeichneten die Geldaggregate M1 und M2 relativ hohe Wachstumsraten, während M3 nur moderat zunahm. Die Notenbankgeldmenge ihrerseits hatte sich innerhalb eines Jahres verdoppelt. Diese Entwicklung widerspiegelte den massiven Anstieg der Nachfrage nach Liquidität seitens der Banken.

Das Kreditvolumen wuchs seit Anfang Jahr verlangsamt. Dies galt allerdings nicht für die Hypothekarkredite, deren Wachstum seit Herbst 2008 zunahm und im Januar 3,8% erreichte. Insgesamt präsentierte sich damit die Situation am schweizerischen Kreditmarkt besser als im Ausland.

Der Wert des Frankens hatte sich seit dem Ausbruch der internationalen Finanzkrise im August 2007 spürbar erhöht. Nach der Lagebeurteilung vom Dezember 2008 verstärkte sich dieser Trend, was bis zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung vom März zu einer unwillkommenen Straffung der monetären Bedingungen geführt hatte.

Die Inflation fiel bis Februar 2009 auf 0,2%, nachdem sie im Juli 2008 einen Spitzenwert von 3,1% erreicht hatte. Dieser rasche Teuerungsrückgang war vor allem auf den Zerfall des Erdölpreises und die Aufwertung des Frankens zurückzuführen. Die Nationalbank rechnete damit, dass die Inflationsrate im weiteren Verlauf des Jahres in den negativen Bereich fallen würde.

Angesichts dieser Gefahr beschloss die Nationalbank, die Zinsen weiter absinken zu lassen, und verschmälerte das Zielband für den Dreimonats-Libor auf 0,0%–0,75%. Sie strebte dabei den unteren Bereich des Zielbands an, d. h. einen Libor von etwa 0,25%. Sie entschied zudem, die Liquidität mit Hilfe langfristiger Repo-Geschäfte, des Erwerbs von Frankenobligationen privater inländischer Schuldner und des Kaufs von Fremdwährungen am Devisenmarkt massiv zu erhöhen, um eine erneute Aufwertung des Frankens gegenüber dem Euro zu verhindern und die Finanzierungsbedingungen zu verbessern.

Ab dem Herbst 2008 schloss die Nationalbank zudem mit mehreren Ländern Euro-Franken-Swapabkommen ab, um die Refinanzierung der Banken, die in den betreffenden Ländern Frankenkredite gewährt hatten, zu erleichtern. Mit dieser Massnahme konnte die Nationalbank dem Anstieg des Libors entgegenwirken, der sich aus der zusätzlichen Nachfrage nach Franken aus dem Ausland ergab.

Die zum Zeitpunkt des geldpolitischen Entscheids veröffentlichte Inflationsprognose beruhte auf einem Dreimonats-Libor von 0,25%. Für das Jahr 2009 wurde eine negative Inflation erwartet, teilweise als Folge des durch die sinkenden Erdölpreise verursachten Basiseffekts. Die für 2010 und 2011 prognostizierte Teuerung blieb aufgrund der schwachen Konjunkturentwicklung tief, obwohl die Zinssätze niedrig waren. Am Ende des Prognosehorizonts erhöhte sich die Inflation leicht. Dies deutete darauf hin, dass mit einem Libor von 0,25% die mittel- und langfristige Preisstabilität nicht gewährleistet sein würde.

y2009q1_l025_d

Lagebeurteilung vom 18. Juni

Im ersten Quartal ging die Wirtschaftsaktivität insbesondere in Europa und in Japan stärker zurück, als die Nationalbank erwartet hatte. Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung vom Juni gingen demgegenüber von den Finanzmärkten sowie von der Entwicklung des Geschäftsgangs und der Konsumentenstimmung ermutigende Signale aus. Die Nationalbank schätzte deshalb die konjunkturellen Risiken etwas geringer ein, ohne indessen das internationale Konjunkturszenario grundlegend zu revidieren. Sie rechnete nun damit, dass die USA bereits in der zweiten Jahreshälfte und Europa schon Anfang 2010 wieder positive Wachstumsraten aufweisen würden.

In der Schweiz hatte sich die Konjunktur zu Beginn des Jahres weiter verschlechtert und das BIP war im ersten Quartal auf annualisierter Basis um 3,2% gesunken. Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung bildeten sich die Exporte stark zurück und die Kapazitätsauslastung in der verarbeitenden Industrie sank beträchtlich. Vor dem Hintergrund der steigenden Arbeitslosigkeit stagnierte die Inlandnachfrage. Die Nationalbank ging davon aus, dass diese Situation in den folgenden Monaten andauern würde, und rechnete für das Jahr 2009 weiterhin mit einem BIP-Rückgang von 2,5% bis 3%.

Die Geldaggregate M1 und M2, die sehr stark auf die Zinsentwicklung reagieren, expandierten zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung überaus kräftig. Dies widerspiegelte weiterhin die Präferenz des Publikums für liquide Vermögensanlagen und zeigte sich im Rückgang der Termineinlagen. Das Aggregat M3 setzte sein moderates Wachstum fort, was darauf hindeutete, dass die Liquidität von den Banken gehortet und nur in geringem Mass an die übrige Wirtschaft weitergegeben wurde.

Das Kreditvolumen wuchs mit einer jährlichen Wachstumsrate von mehr als 3%. Infolge der Zinssenkungen nahmen insbesondere die Hypothekarkredite verstärkt zu. Es gab damit in der Schweiz keinerlei Anzeichen für eine Kreditklemme.

Was den Wechselkurs anbelangt, hatten die an der Lagebeurteilung vom März getroffenen Massnahmen ihre Wirkung nicht verfehlt. Von März bis Juni wertete sich der Franken gegenüber dem Euro nicht mehr weiter auf und der Wechselkurs zeichnete sich durch eine deutlich geringere Volatilität aus.

Die Inflationsrate lag im ersten Quartal nahe bei null. Die Nationalbank rechnete damit, dass sie für den Rest des Jahres negativ sein würde, vor allem wegen der sinkenden Importpreise. Bei den inländischen Waren und Dienstleistungen hingegen ging sie davon aus, dass die Teuerung im Laufe des Jahres nachlassen, jedoch über 1% bleiben würde.

Angesichts der weiter bestehenden Deflationsgefahr beschloss die Nationalbank, das Zielband und den angestrebten Satz bei 0,0%–0,75% bzw. 0,25% zu belassen. Zudem sprach sie sich dafür aus, die im März getroffenen ausserordentlichen Massnahmen weiterzuführen.

Die zum Zeitpunkt des geldpolitischen Entscheids veröffentlichte Inflationsprognose beruhte damit erneut auf einem Dreimonats-Libor von 0,25%. Sie ergab für das Jahr 2009 wiederum eine negative Inflation, die infolge der inzwischen wieder anziehenden Preise für Rohstoffe und Energie aber leicht nach oben korrigiert wurde. Für die folgenden zwei Jahre wurde mit einer leicht positiven Teuerung gerechnet, die am Ende des Prognosezeitraums geringfügig anzog. Dies deutete darauf hin, dass es nicht möglich sein würde, den Libor permanent auf einem Stand von 0,25% zu belassen.

y2009q2_l025_d

Lagebeurteilung vom 17. September

Bei der Lagebeurteilung vom September ging die Nationalbank davon aus, dass das Wirtschaftswachstum im Ausland etwas höher ausfallen würde, als im Juni erwartet worden war, und die amerikanische und europäische Wirtschaft noch vor Ende Jahr wieder positive Wachstumsraten aufweisen würden. Sie korrigierte dementsprechend ihre Prognosen für die grossen Volkswirtschaften deutlich nach oben, insbesondere diejenige für die USA (2010: 2,4%) und für Europa (2010: 2,2%).

Die schweizerische Wirtschaft befand sich weiterhin in einer schwierigen Lage. Die Auslastung der Produktionskapazitäten sank und die Arbeitslosigkeit stieg deutlich. Dennoch erhöhte die Nationalbank ihre BIP-Prognose für 2009 auf –1,5% bis –2%. Damit trug sie der Tatsache Rechnung, dass die Weltwirtschaft rascher als erwartet auf den Wachstumspfad zurückgefunden hatte, was auch der schweizerischen Exportwirtschaft zugute kam. Auch war das BIP im zweiten Quartal weniger stark geschrumpft, als befürchtet worden war.

Die Notenbankgeldmenge sank in den Monaten vor der Lagebeurteilung deutlich, nachdem sie zuvor infolge der grosszügigen Liquiditätsversorgung kräftig zugenommen hatte. Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung war die Liquidität indessen immer noch hoch, nicht nur bei den Banken, sondern auch bei den privaten Haushalten und den Unternehmen. Dies zeigte sich seit Anfang Jahr im hohen Wachstum der Geldaggregate M1 und M2 und seit einiger Zeit auch in einer erhöhten Zunahme von M3.

Die Entwicklung der Kredite und der Geldaggregate war Ausdruck der sehr expansiven Geldpolitik. Die Hypothekarkredite, die rund 80% des gesamten Kreditvolumens ausmachen, erhöhten sich im Juli um 4,6%. Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung gab es immer noch keine Anzeichen einer Kreditklemme, weder bei den Krediten an private Haushalte noch bei denjenigen an Unternehmen.

Der exportgewichtete Aussenwert des Frankens war im Vorfeld der Lagebeurteilung stabil, ebenso das Kursverhältnis des Frankens gegenüber dem Euro. Dies bestätigte die Wirksamkeit der seit März ergriffenen geldpolitischen Massnahmen.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung war die Inflation immer noch negativ und die Kerninflation tendierte nach unten. Obwohl die BIP-Prognosen nach oben korrigiert worden waren, ergab sich für 2010 und 2011 eine Teuerung nahe bei null. Es bestand damit weiterhin ein Deflationsrisiko, auch wenn es sich seit der Lagebeurteilung vom Juni verringert hatte.

Unter diesen Umständen beschloss die Nationalbank, ihre expansive Geldpolitik weiterzuführen. Sie liess das Zielband für den Dreimonats-Libor bei 0,0%–0,75% und steuerte weiterhin einen Libor von 0,25% an. Auch kündigte sie an, die Wirtschaft weiterhin grosszügig mit Liquidität zu versorgen und eine Aufwertung des Frankens gegenüber dem Euro entschieden zu bekämpfen.

Die im September veröffentlichte Inflationsprognose beruhte dementsprechend auf einem Dreimonats-Libor von 0,25%. Sowohl die negative Inflation im Jahr 2009 als auch der für Anfang 2010 erwartete Teuerungsschub waren auf einen Basiseffekt bei den Energiepreisen zurückzuführen. Es wurde erwartet, dass die Inflation im weiteren Verlauf von 2010 auf einem tiefen Niveau verharren würde, sich die Produktionslücke aber rascher schliessen würde, als zuvor erwartet worden war. Als Folge stieg die für 2011 prognostizierte Inflation; diejenige für 2012 übertraf die 2%-Marke.

y2009q3_l025_d

Geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung vom 10. Dezember

Seit der Lagebeurteilung vom September hatten sich die Anzeichen einer Erholung der globalen Wirtschaftsaktivität verstärkt. Die Normalisierung der Bedingungen an den Finanzmärkten und die monetären und finanzpolitischen Impulse hatten die Produktion in der verarbeitenden Industrie angekurbelt. In zahlreichen Ländern verharrte indessen die Kapazitätsauslastung auf einem tiefen Niveau und der Zugang zu Krediten blieb schwierig. Auch musste angenommen werden, dass die gedrückte Lage auf dem Arbeitsmarkt den Konsum weiterhin belasten würde. Die Nationalbank hielt deshalb an ihrer Wachstumsprognose für die USA fest, während sie diejenige für Europa leicht nach unten korrigierte (2010: 1,1%).

Auch die schweizerische Wirtschaft befand sich zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung auf dem Weg der Besserung, nachdem das BIP im dritten Quartal gestiegen war. Die Exporte profitierten von der Erholung der globalen Nachfrage, so dass man davon ausgehen konnte, dass sich auch die Lage in der verarbeitenden Industrie verbessern würde. Angesichts der Unterauslastung der Produktionskapazitäten konnte dagegen vorderhand nicht mit einer Belebung der Ausrüstungsinvestitionen gerechnet werden. Ausserdem war davon auszugehen, dass die nur schwach steigenden Einkommen das Konsumwachstum bremsen würden. Für das Jahr 2010 rechnete die Nationalbank mit einer Zunahme des BIP in der Höhe von 0,5% bis 1%, nach einem Rückgang von schätzungsweise 1,5% im Jahr 2009.

Die Notenbankgeldmenge, die bis im April 2009 kräftig gewachsen war, bildete sich weiter zurück, während die Geldmengen M1 und M2 bis zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung stark wuchsen. Auch das Wachstum von M3 zog an, nachdem es lange Zeit moderat geblieben war. Diese Entwicklung liess sich mit der gestiegenen Präferenz des Publikums für liquide Vermögensanlagen erklären und stellte damit keinen Grund zur Besorgnis dar.

Das Wachstum der Hypothekarkredite stieg in den Monaten vor der Lagebeurteilung bis auf 5,1%. Auch wenn der Zuwachs bei den anderen Krediten etwas schwächer ausfiel, konnte von einer Kreditverknappung in der Schweiz nach wie vor keine Rede sein.

Der exportgewichtete Aussenwert des Frankens war seit der letzten Lagebeurteilung leicht gestiegen, hauptsächlich als Folge des schwächeren US-Dollars. Gegenüber dem Euro hingegen blieb der Franken weiterhin stabil.

Die Inflation war zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung immer noch negativ. Sie wurde in starkem Mass durch die Schwankungen der Erdölpreise und den damit verbundenen Basiseffekt bestimmt. Die Konjunkturaussichten deuteten indessen auf eine positive Inflation ab Anfang 2010 hin.

Vor diesem Hintergrund beschloss die Nationalbank, das Zielband für den Dreimonats-Libor unverändert bei 0,0%–0,75% zu belassen und den Libor bei 0,25% zu halten. Die Wirtschaft sollte weiterhin grosszügig mit Liquidität versorgt werden, doch gab die Nationalbank bekannt, den Kauf von Frankenobligationen privater inländischer Schuldner einzustellen. Zudem würde sie einer übermässigen Aufwertung des Frankens gegenüber dem Euro weiterhin entschieden entgegenwirken. Die Nationalbank warnte überdies sowohl die Banken als auch die Unternehmen und privaten Haushalte vor den Risiken, die eine nachlassende Disziplin bei der Immobilienfinanzierung mit sich bringen würde.

Die zum Zeitpunkt des geldpolitischen Entscheids veröffentlichte Inflationsprognose beruhte auf einem Dreimonats-Libor von 0,25%. Die Inflation nahm kurzfristig zu. Dies war auf den Basiseffekt zurückzuführen, der sich daraus ergab, dass der Erdölpreis vor Jahresfrist einen Tiefststand erreicht hatte. Die Prognose deutete darauf hin, dass die Teuerung im weiteren Verlauf von 2010 wieder nachlassen würde, obschon mit einem steigenden Wirtschaftswachstum gerechnet wurde. Ab Anfang 2011 wies die prognostizierte Teuerung indessen klar nach oben und übertraf in der ersten Jahreshälfte 2012 die Marke von 2%. Dies deutete darauf hin, dass eine Anhebung des Libors früher oder später nötig werden würde.

y2009q4_l025