Print

Monetary policy decisions 2007

Contents

On 18 February 2008, the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank submitted its 2006 Accountability Report to the Federal Assembly in accordance with art. 7 para. 2 of the National Bank Act. The following Accountability Report is submitted to the Federal Council and the General Meeting of Shareholders for information purposes only, and does not require their approval.

Interest rate decisions

Four times a year, in March, June, September and December, the SNB’s Governing Board conducts an assessment of the monetary policy situation. Each of these in-depth assessments results in an interest rate decision. In addition, if circumstances so require, the Governing Board also adjusts the target range for the three-month Libor in Swiss francs between regular assessment dates. In 2007, however, this was not the case.

Monetary policy challenges in 2007

In the first half of 2007, the SNB continued the policy of normalising the level of interest rates which it has been pursuing for the past three years. Consequently, it lifted the Libor target range in two steps to bring the interest rate to a level that was in line with the strength of the economy and that would ensure price stability in the medium term.

In the second half of the year, the SNB was operating in a new environment. Management of monetary conditions consisted of ensuring, on the one hand, that the healthy state of the economy did not jeopardise price stability in the medium term, and, on the other hand, that the turbulence on the financial markets did not result in a liquidity shortage. Consequently, the aim of monetary policy was to relax monetary conditions sufficiently to ensure that interbank market nervousness did not jeopardise the growth and stability of the Swiss economy, but to do so without any relaxation of vigilance in the matter of price stability.

Monetary policy in 2007 facing numerous risks…

As in previous years, monetary policy in 2007 was exposed to numerous risks in the short, medium and long term. The SNB regularly evaluates the probability of such risks, their consequences for the economy and their implications for monetary policy.

…in the short term risks…

Although the vagaries of oil prices represented a major risk to the economy and to price stability throughout 2007, the principal risk capable of dampening economic activity in the second part of the year was the crisis on the credit market, which deeply shook the financial markets and rocked the banking world. Although the volatility in energy prices did not cause the SNB to adopt any particular measures, the fear that money markets might dry up, however, encouraged it to relax monetary conditions in the second half of 2007.

…in the medium term…

Uncertainties with respect to the outlook for the global and Swiss economies remain the principal risks in the medium term. Although the European and Swiss economies grew in line with expectations in 2007, in the second half of the year there were an increasing number of indications of a considerable slowdown in the United States as a result of the substantial corrections on the real estate and financial markets. In addition, the weakness of the Swiss franc against the euro constituted an additional risk to price stability throughout the year.

…and in the long term

The outlook for inflation in the long term would have deteriorated if the SNB had not maintained the normalisation of its monetary policy. Thus, raising interest rates in 2007 was necessary if favourable perspectives for price stability were to be maintained.

Quarterly assessment of 15 March

As at each monetary policy assessment, the SNB bases its inflation forecast on the global economic scenario it regards as most likely. The economic trends that had emerged in the course of 2006 – a slowdown in the US and sustained growth in Europe – were confirmed at the first quarterly assessment of 2007. Consequently, the SNB predicted growth for 2007 of 2.8% in the US and 2.3% in Europe, and for 2008 of 3.1% in the US and 2.2% in Europe. It also expected that the decline in oil prices would continue to dampen inflation in the months following the assessment.

At the time of the assessment, the business cycle in Switzerland was solidly established. During the course of the following quarters, most components of domestic demand as well as exports would further consolidate growth. Moreover, the healthy economy would stimulate the labour market and promote a further decline in unemployment. Consequently, the National Bank continued to forecast GDP growth of approximately 2% for 2007.

At the time of the quarterly assessment, the Swiss franc had strengthened a little against the euro, following a period of weakness whose effect on inflation had not been significant.

In this context, the evaluation of the inflation outlook at the time of the assessment involved a greater level of uncertainty. Although foreign competition and the opening up of the labour market continued moderating price increases, there was a risk that, to an increasing extent, the rise in production costs would be passed on to prices due to the high level of capacity utilisation. Consequently, the Governing Board decided to lift the Libor target range by 25 basis points, with the new range being set at 1.75–2.75%.

According to the graph shown at the end of the assessment, the path of the inflation forecast based on an unchanged Libor of 2.25% was below that of December 2006 for a large part of 2007, due in particular to the drop in oil prices. The acceleration that followed, in which the new forecast overtook that of December, was more marked than previously, due to the weakening in the Swiss franc, which neutralised the impact of the increase in the interest rate. For 2009, the path of the forecast again fell below the December forecast, as the effects of the higher interest rate once again predominated. Expected inflation amounted to 0.5% for 2007, 1.4% for 2008 and 1.6% for 2009. Even though inflationary forces were muted overall, they picked up slightly at the end of the forecast period.

e_y2007q1_l225

Quarterly assessment of 14 June

At the time of the June assessment, the US economy, although satisfactory, was a little less strong than expected. Consequently, the SNB reduced its growth forecasts for the US, setting them at 2.2% for 2007 and 3% for 2008. By contrast, the European economy was better than previously expected. The forecast for 2007 was lifted to 2.6% while that for 2008 remained unchanged at 2.2%.

The Swiss economy was in good shape at the time of the assessment, due in particular to demand from neighbouring countries and exchange rate developments.  In addition, since the March assessment, the strength of the economy had continued to support improvements in the labour market. Consequently, unemployment numbers had declined further, with the rate slipping below 3%. As a result, the SNB forecast GDP growth close to 2.5% for 2007.

In the foreign exchange market, the Swiss franc had continued giving ground to the euro and appreciating against the US dollar. In export-weighted terms, it had depreciated by 1.7%. This relaxation in monetary conditions continued to work against the effects of Libor increases and threatened to stimulate inflationary pressures in an economy operating at a high level of capacity utilisation.

In this situation, price stability was exposed to several risks, the first of which was the high price of oil. The second risk was that global demand was growing at too rapid a pace in relation to the development in production capacity. The third risk was related to the decline in the value of the Swiss franc against the euro. To ensure that medium-term price stability was not jeopardised by the strong economy, the Governing Board decided to raise the Libor target range once again by 25 basis points, thereby taking it to 2.00–3.00%.

On the assumption of an unchanged Libor of 2.50%, the published forecast put average annual inflation at 0.8% for 2007, 1.5% for 2008 and 1.7% for 2009. The combined effect of high oil prices, strong economic developments and a weakening Swiss franc resulted in a deterioration in the inflation outlook during the course of the months following the assessment. However, from mid-2008, inflation moved up to a level slightly above that forecast three months previously, approaching 2% at the end of the forecast period.

e_y2007q2_l250

Quarterly assessment of 13 September

The international environment at the time of the September assessment was dominated by the mortgage loans crisis in the US, a major correction on the stock market and the liquidity shortfalls on the money market. For the time being, the global economy did not appear to have been affected. Growth in the US economy was only very slightly weaker than expected, but the risks of a slowdown at the end of 2007 had risen. Moreover, after having fallen back between mid-July and mid-August, oil prices were heading upwards again.

In Switzerland, GDP had grown strongly in the first half of the year and employment was still improving. Consequently, capacity utilisation would remain high. The SNB, therefore, retained its GDP growth estimate for 2007 close to 2.5%, subject to any unexpected moderating effect arising from the uncertainties related to the financial markets.

As against the previous assessment, however, the inflation outlook had worsened somewhat. Oil price developments constituted the main risk. In addition, capacity utilisation remained high and the Swiss franc was still relatively weak. Nevertheless, it was possible that certain factors, such as a possible economic slowdown attributable to the turmoil on the financial markets, might limit the inflationary risks. In the meantime, since the turmoil on the money market had lifted the Libor from 2.5% to 2.9%, the tightening in monetary conditions was considered excessive with respect to the outlook for inflation. In this situation, the Governing Board decided in favour of relaxing money market conditions by bringing the Libor back to 2.75% while simultaneously lifting the target range by 25 basis points to 2.25–3.25%. From this assessment onwards, the SNB aimed for a Libor of around 2.75%.

Despite the higher level of the Libor, the inflation forecast published in September was almost identical to that of June. On the assumption of an unchanged Libor of 2.75%, the SNB forecast average annual inflation of 0.6% for 2007, 1.5% for 2008 and 1.8% for 2009. Inflation rose to the first quarter of 2008 and then flattened slightly from the second quarter onwards. In essence, this forecast was based on recent oil price developments. From mid-2008, a slight increase in inflation was expected, with figures even reaching 2% at the end of the forecast period.

e_y2007q3_l275

Quarterly assessment of 13 December

For the final assessment of the year, the SNB assumed that US economic growth – affected simultaneously by the unfavourable developments on the real estate and credit markets and by the rise in oil prices – could weaken in 2008 (forecast: 2.4%). At the time of the assessment, Europe did not appear much affected by the rise in the euro and the turmoil on the financial markets, and its growth outlook was likely to remain good, even though the SNB adjusted it slightly downwards for 2008 (forecast: 2%).

Swiss growth was strong in the third quarter, with GDP growing at an annualised rate of 3.3%. Simultaneously, in the months preceding the assessment, employment had continued increasing in practically all sectors. As a result of these developments, the growth outlook remained good for the quarters ahead, and therefore the SNB was forecasting GDP growth of some 2% in 2008, a lower figure than that recorded in 2007. This relaxation in the pace of economic activity should allow for some reduction in the level of capacity utilisation.

The inflation outlook remained good, even though it encompassed even more uncertainties than the previous assessment. Although price stability would be supported by the expected slowdown in the growth of the Swiss economy and the reduction in the rate of increase of the monetary aggregates, there were other elements capable of disturbing this stability. Examples of such inflationary factors were the rise in oil prices, should it persist, as well as the continued weakening in the Swiss franc. In this uncertain situation, the Governing Board decided to retain the Libor target range at 2.25–3.25%, aiming for a Libor of 2.75%.

On the assumption of an unchanged Libor of 2.75%, the inflation forecast indicated a surge in inflation in the first half of 2008. This advance, in which expected inflation temporarily rose above 2%, was mainly due to the increase in the price of oil. From mid-2008 to the end of the forecast period, however, inflation settled at around 1.5%. The sudden correction to the forecast in the middle of the year was due to a baseline effect, and the downturn of the path at the end of the forecasting period was to be seen within the context of the expected slowdown in the international economy.

y2007q4_l275_e

Drucken

Berichterstattung über die Geldpolitik 2007

Inhalt

Das Direktorium der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) übermittelte am 18. Februar 2008 seinen gemäss Artikel 7 Absatz 2 des Nationalbankgesetzes (NBG) erstellten Rechenschaftsbericht 2006 an die Bundesversammlung. Dieser im Folgenden wiedergegebene Bericht wird dem Bundesrat und der Generalversammlung der Aktionäre zur Information, nicht aber zur Beschlussfassung unterbreitet.

Zinsentscheide

Das Direktorium der Nationalbank führt viermal im Jahr – in den Monaten März, Juni, September und Dezember – eine geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung durch, die jeweils in einen Zinsentscheid mündet. Wenn es die Umstände erfordern, kann das Libor-Zielband für dreimonatige Anlagen in Schweizer Franken auch ausserhalb dieser Termine angepasst werden. Ein solcher Fall ist 2007 nicht eingetreten.

Herausforderungen der Geldpolitik 2007

Die in den letzten drei Jahren angewandte Politik der Normalisierung der Zinssätze wurde im ersten Halbjahr 2007 fortgesetzt. Die Nationalbank erhöhte demnach das Libor-Zielband zweimal, um das Zinsniveau so anzupassen, dass die Preisstabilität mittelfristig gewährleistet war und dass es mit der Konjunkturstärke übereinstimmte.

In der zweiten Jahreshälfte arbeitete die Nationalbank in einem veränderten Umfeld. Mit der Steuerung der monetären Bedingungen sollte vermieden werden, dass einerseits die gute Wirtschaftslage die mittelfristige Preisstabilität beeinträchtigt und andererseits die Turbulenzen an den Finanzmärkten zu einer Liquiditätsverknappung führen. Die Herausforderung für die Geldpolitik bestand also darin, die monetären Bedingungen genügend zu lockern, um eine Gefährdung des Wachstums und der Stabilität der Schweizer Wirtschaft durch die Spannungen am Interbankenmarkt zu verhindern, ohne dadurch die Preisstabilität aus den Augen zu verlieren.

Zahlreiche Risiken der Geldpolitik 2007

Wie in den Vorjahren war die Geldpolitik auch 2007 zahlreichen kurz-, mittel- und langfristigen Risiken ausgesetzt. Die Nationalbank beurteilt regelmässig die Wahrscheinlichkeit solcher Risiken, deren Konsequenzen für die Wirtschaft und deren Auswirkungen auf die Geldpolitik.

Kurzfristige Risiken

Zwar stellten die Schwankungen der Erdölpreise während des ganzen Jahres für die Konjunktur wie für die Preisstabilität ein grosses Risiko dar; in der zweiten Jahreshälfte war das Hauptrisiko für die Wirtschaftsaktivität jedoch die Kreditmarktkrise, welche die Finanzmärkte stark erschütterte und den Bankensektor in Mitleidenschaft zog. Die Volatilität der Energiepreise bewog die Nationalbank allerdings zu keinen besonderen Massnahmen, doch die Furcht vor einer Verknappung am Geldmarkt veranlasste sie im zweiten Halbjahr 2007 zu einer Lockerung der monetären Bedingungen.

Mittelfristige Risiken

Das mittelfristig grösste Risiko ist die unsichere weltweite und schweizerische Konjunkturentwicklung. Auch wenn sich die Konjunktur in Europa und in der Schweiz 2007 erwartungsgemäss entwickelte, verstärkten sich in der zweiten Jahreshälfte doch die Anzeichen, die infolge der massiven Korrekturen am Immobilien- und an den Finanzmärkten auf eine deutliche Verlangsamung in den USA hindeuteten. Zudem bedeutete die Schwäche des Frankens gegenüber dem Euro während des ganzen Jahres ein weiteres Risiko für die Preisstabilität.

Langfristige Risiken

Die langfristigen Inflationsaussichten hätten sich verschlechtert, wenn die Nationalbank die Normalisierung ihres geldpolitischen Kurses nicht fortgeführt hätte. Die Anhebung der Zinssätze 2007 war demzufolge unabdingbar, um gute Aussichten für die Preisstabilität zu bewahren.

Geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung vom 15. März

Bei jeder geldpolitischen Lagebeurteilung stützt sich die Inflationsprognose der Nationalbank auf das globale Wirtschaftsszenario, welches als das wahrscheinlichste gilt. Die Konjunkturtrends, die sich 2006 abgezeichnet hatten – Verlangsamung in den USA und starkes Wachstum in Europa –, wurden an der ersten Lagebeurteilung 2007 bestätigt. Die Nationalbank setzte folglich für die USA auf ein Wachstum von 2,8% für 2007 und 3,1% für 2008, und für Europa auf ein solches von 2,3% für 2007 und 2,2% für 2008. Ausserdem wurde erwartet, dass die rückläufigen Erdölpreise die Teuerung in den Monaten nach der Lagebeurteilung weiterhin dämpften.

In der Schweiz war die Konjunktur zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung breit abgestützt. In den folgenden Quartalen konsolidierten die meisten Komponenten der Inlandnachfrage sowie die Exporte das Wachstum weiter. Zudem führte die gute, den Arbeitsmarkt stimulierende Konjunkturlage zu einer erneuten Abnahme der Arbeitslosigkeit. Für 2007 ging die Nationalbank somit nach wie vor von einem BIP-Wachstum von rund 2% aus.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung hatte sich der Franken gegenüber dem Euro nach einer Schwächphase, welche die Teuerung kaum tangiert hatte, etwas erholt.

In diesem Umfeld war die Einschätzung der Inflationsaussichten zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung mit einer erhöhten Unsicherheit behaftet. Während die ausländische Konkurrenz und die Öffnung des Arbeitsmarktes die Preisentwicklung weiterhin dämpften, drohte die Zunahme der Produktionskosten aufgrund der hohen Auslastung der Produktionskapazitäten vermehrt auf die Preise überwälzt zu werden. Die Nationalbank entschied sich deshalb, das Zielband für den Libor um 25 Basispunkte auf 1,75%–2,75% anzuheben.

Die auf einem Libor von 2,25% beruhende Inflationsprognose lag für 2007 auf der am Schluss der Lagebeurteilung aufgeführten Grafik weitgehend unter jener vom Dezember 2006, namentlich wegen des Rückgangs der Erdölpreise. Es folgte ein Anziehen der Inflation – die Prognose verlief über jener vom Dezember –, das stärker als in der vorherigen Voraussage war, und zwar wegen der Abschwächung des Frankens, welche die Auswirkungen der Anhebung des Zinssatzes aufhob. Für 2009 kam die Prognose wieder unter jene vom Dezember zu liegen, da die Anhebung des Zinssatzes seine Wirkung zeigte. Für 2007 wurde eine Teuerung von 0,5%, für 2008 von 1,4% und für 2009 von 1,6% erwartet. Die Inflationsdynamik liess zwar insgesamt nach, doch am Schluss des Prognosehorizonts verstärkte sie sich etwas.

d_y2007q1_l225

Geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung vom 14. Juni

Zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung im Juni war die Konjunktur in den USA zwar zufriedenstellend, aber etwas schwächer als erwartet. Folglich reduzierte die Nationalbank ihre US-Wachstumsprognose auf 2,2% für 2007 und 3% für 2008. Die europäische Konjunktur war hingegen besser als zuvor angenommen, so dass die neue Prognose für 2007 auf 2,6% angehoben und für 2008 unverändert bei 2,2% belassen wurde.

Die Schweizer Konjunktur war zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung vor allem dank der Nachfrage aus den benachbarten Ländern und der Wechselkursentwicklung recht robust. Zudem begünstigte die rege Wirtschaftstätigkeit seit der Lagebeurteilung vom März die Erholung am Arbeitsmarkt. Als Folge davon nahm die Zahl der Arbeitslosen nochmals ab und die Arbeitslosenquote fiel unter 3%. Für 2007 ging die Nationalbank somit von einem BIP-Wachstum von knapp 2,5% aus.

Bei den Wechselkursen hatte sich seit der letzten Lagebeurteilung der Franken gegenüber dem Euro weiter abgeschwächt und seine Aufwertung gegenüber dem Dollar fortgesetzt. Exportgewichtet hatte der Franken 1,7% verloren. Diese Lockerung der monetären Bedingungen federte weiterhin die Auswirkungen der Zinserhöhungen ab und drohte, die Inflation in einem Wirtschaftsumfeld anzuheizen, das sich durch eine hohe Auslastung der Produktionskapazitäten auszeichnete.

Vor diesem Hintergrund war die Preisstabilität verschiedenen Risiken ausgesetzt. Eines dieser Risiken ging von den hohen Erdölpreisen aus. Ein weiteres Risiko ergab sich daraus, dass sich die globale Nachfrage stärker entwickelte als die Produktionskapazitäten. Dazu kam ein Risiko, das aus der Schwäche des Frankens gegenüber dem Euro resultierte. Um mittelfristig eine Beeinträchtigung der Preisstabilität durch die gute Konjunkturlage zu verhindern, entschied sich die Nationalbank, das Zielband für den Libor erneut um 25 Basispunkte auf 2%–3% anzuheben.

Unter der Annahme eines unveränderten Libors von 2,5% lag die mittlere Jahresteuerung gemäss publizierter Inflationsprognose für 2007 bei 0,8%, für 2008 bei 1,5% und für 2009 bei 1,7%. Das Zusammenwirken der hohen Erdölpreise, der kräftigen Konjunkturentwicklung und der Frankenschwäche führte zu einer Verschlechterung der Inflationsaussichten in den Monaten nach der Lagebeurteilung. Ab Mitte 2008 bewegte sich die Teuerung auf ein leicht höheres Niveau zu, als im März vorhergesagt worden war, und erreichte am Ende des Prognosehorizonts knapp 2%.

d_y2007q2_l250

Geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung vom 13. September

Die US-Hypothekenkrise, eine scharfe Korrektur am Aktienmarkt und der Mangel an Liquidität am Geldmarkt prägten das internationale Umfeld zum Zeitpunkt der Lagebeurteilung im September. Diese Situation schien die Weltkonjunktur nicht unmittelbar zu beeinträchtigen. Die US-Wirtschaft verzeichnete ein nur leicht schwächeres Wachstum als erwartet, doch die Risiken einer Verlangsamung gegen Ende 2007 mehrten sich. Zudem begannen die Erdölpreise nach einem Rückgang zwischen Mitte Juli und Mitte August wieder anzuziehen.

In der Schweiz war das BIP in der ersten Jahreshälfte kräftig angestiegen und die Beschäftigung hatte sich weiter erholt. Die Produktionskapazitäten blieben somit gut ausgelastet. Die Nationalbank ging unter diesen Umständen weiterhin von einem BIP-Wachstum von knapp 2,5% für das Jahr 2007 aus, dies vorausgesetzt, dass die Unsicherheiten hinsichtlich der Finanzmärkte zu keiner unerwarteten Verlangsamung führen.

Die Inflationsaussichten hatten sich jedoch gegenüber der Juniprognose etwas verschlechtert. Die Entwicklung der Erdölpreise stellte das Hauptrisiko dar. Ausserdem blieb die Auslastung der Produktionskapazitäten hoch und der Franken relativ schwach. Allerdings bestand die Möglichkeit, dass bestimmte Faktoren wie eine allfällige Verlangsamung infolge der Turbulenzen an den Finanzmärkten die Inflationsrisiken einschränkten. Derweil hatten die Wirbel am Geldmarkt den Libor von 2,5% auf 2,9% ansteigen lassen. Unter diesen Umständen und mit Blick auf die Inflationsprognose wurde diese Straffung der monetären Bedingungen als übertrieben angesehen. Somit entschied die Nationalbank, eine Entspannung am Geldmarkt zu fördern. Dazu setzte sie den Libor auf 2,75% zurück und hob gleichzeitig das Zielband um 25 Basispunkte auf 2,25%–3,25% an. Seit dieser Lagebeurteilung strebte die Nationalbank folglich einen Libor von etwa 2,75% an.

Trotz des angehobenen Libors verlief die im September publizierte Inflationsprognose fast gleich wie jene vom Juni. Unter der Annahme eines unveränderten Libors von 2,75% rechnete die Nationalbank mit einer durchschnittlichen Jahresteuerung von 0,6% für 2007, von 1,5% für 2008 und von 1,8% für 2009. Die Inflation zeigte bis zum ersten Quartal 2008 eine steigende Tendenz und ab dem zweiten Quartal eine geringfügige Abflachung. Diese Prognose beruhte hauptsächlich auf der neusten Entwicklung der Erdölpreise. Ab Mitte 2008 wurden ein leichtes Anziehen der Teuerung und sogar ein Anstieg bis auf 2% am Ende des Prognosehorizonts erwartet.

d_y2007q3_l275

Geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung vom 13. Dezember

An der letzten Lagebeurteilung 2007 ging die Nationalbank davon aus, dass sich das Wachstum der US-Wirtschaft, die sowohl unter dem ungünstigen Verlauf am Immobilien- und Kreditmarkt als auch unter dem Anstieg der Erdölpreise litt, im Jahr 2008 abschwächen könnte (Prognose: 2,4%). Europa schien noch kaum von der Euroaufwertung und den Finanzmarktturbulenzen betroffen, so dass die Wachstumsaussichten gut blieben, auch wenn sie die Nationalbank für 2008 etwas nach unten korrigierte (Prognose: 2%).

In der Schweiz blieb das Wachstum im dritten Quartal robust und das BIP nahm auf Jahresbasis um 3,3% zu. So setzte sich der positive Trend bei der Beschäftigung in den Monaten vor der Lagebeurteilung in fast allen Sektoren fort. Aufgrund dieser Entwicklung blieben die Wachstumsaussichten für die kommenden Quartale gut und die Nationalbank rechnete für 2008 mit einem BIP-Wachstum von rund 2%, also mit einer Abschwächung im Vergleich zum Vorjahr. Dank dieser Beruhigung konnte eine geringere Auslastung der Produktionskapazitäten erwartet werden.

Die Inflationsaussichten waren weiterhin gut, doch mit grösseren Unsicherheiten behaftet als bei der letzten Lagebeurteilung. Während die erwartete Verlangsamung des Wachstums in der Schweiz und die mässige Expansion der Geldaggregate die Preisstabilität unterstützten, gab es andere Faktoren, die sie gefährdeten. Dazu zählten der Anstieg der Erdölpreise, sollte er sich als dauerhaft erweisen, sowie die weitere Abwertung des Frankens. Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Unsicherheiten sprach sich das Direktorium dafür aus, das Zielband für den Libor unverändert bei 2,25%–3,25% zu belassen und ein Niveau von 2,75% anzustreben.

Unter der Annahme eines unveränderten Libors von 2,75% zeigte die Inflationsprognose für das erste Halbjahr 2008 einen deutlichen Anstieg und lag zeitweise über 2%. Diese Entwicklung war vorwiegend auf den Anstieg der Erdölpreise zurückzuführen. Ab Mitte 2008 und bis zum Ende des Prognosehorizonts lag die Inflation jedoch bei etwa 1,5%. Die plötzliche Veränderung der Aussichten Mitte Jahr ging aus einem Basiseffekt hervor, und der entsprechende Verlauf der Kurve auf einem tieferen Niveau bis zum Ende des Prognosehorizonts war auf die erwartete Verlangsamung der internationalen Konjunktur zurückzuführen.

y2007q4_l275_d