Print

Monetary policy report 2002

Background

In December 2001, the National Bank lowered the interest rate target range for the three-month Libor to 1.25%–2.25% and published an inflation forecast assuming a constant interest rate of 1.75%. The forecast projected that inflation in Switzerland would temporarily drop to around 0.5% in the course of the year and would thereafter rise gradually to 1.5% by the end of the three-year forecasting horizon. As regards economic growth in Switzerland, the National Bank forecast a decline from an estimated 1.5% to approximately 1.0% in 2002. Initially, the National Bank therefore continued to implement its expansionary monetary policy; this was reflected, among other things, in the strong growth of the money stock M3.

Reassessment in view of unexpectedly weak economic growth and strong Swiss franc

During the year, two specific factors necessitated several reassessments of the situation. First, it became increasingly clear that there would be a delay in the expected recovery and that the original economic growth forecast of 1.0% would not be achieved. The second factor was the appreciation of the Swiss franc. The Swiss franc had already firmed markedly, both in nominal and real terms, in the wake of the terror attacks in the US of September 11. After the pressure had eased temporarily, the Swiss franc again appreciated slightly in April and July. The appreciation of the Swiss franc in conjunction with an unchanged interest rate would have had the same effect as a more restrictive monetary policy. This was undesirable against a background of unexpectedly weak economic growth and low inflation.

Lowering of the target range in May and July

The National Bank responded to these developments by lowering the interest rate target range in two steps. On 2 May, it lowered the target range by half a percentage point to 0.75%–1.75%. On 26 July, it made a further reduction by another half a percentage point to 0.25%–1.25%. Declining economic growth and a low inflation rate of less than 1% provided leeway for this marked overall interest rate cut.

No change in the target range at the scheduled assessments of the situation

At the quarterly assessments of the situation, the National Bank left the interest rate target range unchanged. In March there was no reason as yet to change monetary policy. Favourable data on economic activity in the US had even improved sentiment somewhat, which had also caused share prices to move up. In June and September account had to be taken of the fact that the interest rate target range had already been lowered twice, on 2 May and 26 July. At these two quarterly assessments of the economic situation, therefore, no need for additional measures emerged. In December, the National Bank again left the target range unchanged. It continued to implement its expansionary monetary policy in support of the expected upswing.

Signals for a medium-term increase in interest rates

The inflation forecast published in June 2002 indicated that, with an unchanged three-month Libor rate of 1.25%, inflation would rise rapidly and distinctly near the end of the forecasting horizon. Moreover, the inflation forecast published in December 2002, which is based on a constant three-month Libor rate of 0.75%, showed a similar development. Both forecasts thus signalled that the low interest rate level is appropriate for the time being but cannot be maintained in the long term without jeopardising price stability.

Graphs

g_zkurz_intr_e

g_gm_intr_e

g_gmkap_intr_e

Drucken

Berichterstattung über die Geldpolitik 2002

Ausgangslage

Im Dezember 2001 hatte die Nationalbank ihr Zinszielband für den Dreimonats-Libor auf 1,25%-2,25% gesenkt und eine Inflationsprognose mit der Annahme eines konstanten Zinssatzes von 1,75% veröffentlicht. Die Prognose deutete darauf hin, dass die Inflation in der Schweiz im Verlaufe des Jahres 2002 vorübergehend auf rund 0,5% fallen und anschliessend bis zum Ende des dreijährigen Prognosehorizonts schrittweise bis auf 1,5% steigen werde. Für das schweizerische Wirtschaftswachstum prognostizierte die Nationalbank eine Abschwächung von geschätzten 1,5% auf rund 1,0% im Jahre 2002. Die Nationalbank führte daher ihre expansive Geldpolitik vorerst fort, was unter anderem im starken Wachstum der Geldmenge M3 zum Ausdruck kam.

Neubeurteilung infolge unerwartet schwachen Wirtschaftswachstums und starken Frankens

Im Laufe des Jahres machten vor allem zwei Faktoren mehrmals eine Neubeurteilung der Lage notwendig. Erstens zeigte sich immer deutlicher, dass sich der erwartete Aufschwung verzögern und das ursprünglich prognostizierte Wirtschaftswachstum von 1,0% nicht zu erreichen sein würde. Der zweite Faktor war die Höherbewertung des Frankens. Der Franken hatte sich bereits nach den Terroranschlägen in den USA vom 11. September 2001 nominal und real deutlich aufgewertet. Nachdem der Druck vorübergehend nachgelassen hatte, gewann der Franken im April sowie im Juli erneut leicht an Wert. Die Höherbewertung des Frankens hätte bei unverändertem Zinssatz wie eine restriktivere Geldpolitik gewirkt. Dies war vor dem Hintergrund des unerwartet schwachen Wirtschaftswachstums und der tiefen Teuerung unerwünscht.

Senkung des Zielbandes im Mai und im Juli

Die Nationalbank reagierte auf diese Entwicklungen mit einer Senkung des Zinszielbandes in zwei Schritten. Am 2. Mai senkte sie das Zielband um einen halben Prozentpunkt auf 0,75%-1,75%. Am 26. Juli nahm sie eine nochmalige Senkung um erneut einen halben Prozentpunkt auf 0,25%-1,25% vor. Das nachlassende Wirtschaftswachstum und die tiefe Teuerung von unter 1% boten Spielraum für diese insgesamt deutliche Zinsreduktion.

Keine Veränderung des Zielbandes an den planmässigen Lagebeurteilungen

An den vierteljährlichen Lagebeurteilungen liess die Nationalbank das Zinszielband unverändert. Im März gab es noch keinen Grund für eine Änderung der Geldpolitik. Ausgehend von günstigen Konjunkturdaten aus den USA hatte sich die Stimmung sogar leicht verbessert, was sich auch in steigenden Aktienkursen niederschlug. Im Juni und September war zu berücksichtigen, dass das Zinszielband bereits zweimal, am 2. Mai bzw. am 26. Juli, gesenkt worden war. Es gab daher an diesen beiden vierteljährlichen Lagebeurteilungen kaum Anlass, zusätzliche Massnahmen zu treffen. Auch im Dezember liess die Nationalbank das Zielband unverändert. Sie führte ihre expansive Geldpolitik fort, um den erwarteten Aufschwung zu unterstützen.

Signale für eine mittelfristige Anhebung der Zinsen

Die im Juni 2002 publizierte Inflationsprognose deutete darauf hin, dass die Teuerung bei einem unveränderten Dreimonats-Libor von 1,25% gegen Ende des Prognosehorizonts rasch und deutlich steigen würde. Einen ähnlichen Verlauf zeigte auch die im Dezember 2002 publizierte Inflationsprognose, die auf einem konstanten Dreimonats-Libor von 0,75% basiert. Beide Prognosen signalisierten somit, dass das tiefe Zinsniveau vorerst angemessen sei, längerfristig aber ohne Gefährdung der Preisstabilität nicht aufrechterhalten werden könne.