Print

Monetary policy report 2001

Background

The inflation forecast published by the National Bank in December 2000 predicted that, at an unchanged interest rate of 3.5%, inflation would increase somewhat in the course of 2001 and slightly exceed 2% for a limited period of time. This forecast was based on a background of robust economic growth in 2000 and the massive rise in oil prices. At the same time, the National Bank noted that the gradual tightening of Switzerland’s monetary policy from autumn 1999 until summer 2000 and the anticipated economic slowdown in the US and Europe would help prevent an inflationary overheating of the Swiss economy. For 2001 and 2002, the National Bank projected real economic growth to slow to 2.2% and 1.6% respectively.

Subsiding inflationary pressures – lowering of the interest rate target range in March

In the course of the first quarter 2001, however, it became clear that price pressures were beginning to subside. This was due to the economic downturn in Switzerland and abroad as well as the faster-than-expected decline in oil prices. On 22 March, the National Bank reacted to this development by lowering the target range for the three-month Libor rate by 0.25 percentage points to 2.75%–3.75%. This was the first adjustment of the target range since mid-2000.

Interest rate target range left unchanged at the monetary policy assessment in June

Although the economy lost momentum in the subsequent months, the decline was moderate and the overall economic capacities remained extremely stretched. The National Bank assumed, as most observers did, that the US economy would recover slightly towards the end of the year. Inflation measured by the national consumer price index, which had dropped significantly in the first quarter due to special factors, rose again in the two following months and, at 1.5%, roughly equalled the average recorded in 2000. The new inflation forecast presented at the news conference on 14 June showed that the National Bank, assuming a short-term interest rate of 3.25%, expected inflation to stabilise at around 1.5% in 2003. At its monetary policy assessment in June, the National Bank therefore decided to leave the interest rate target range unchanged.

Interest rate cuts following the terrorist attacks in the US

In the second half of the year, it became increasingly clear that the US economy would not rebound as quickly as had first been anticipated. In addition, the economic downturn in Europe and, particularly, in Germany, roved to be more pronounced than expected. This also clouded growth prospects for Switzerland. At the same time, current inflation decreased. Therefore, even before the terrorist attacks of 11 September, the ground was prepared for a further reduction in money market rates. When the Federal Reserve and the European Central Bank (ECB) cut their interest rates by half a percentage point on 17 September, the National Bank moved forward its monetary policy assessment scheduled for 20 September and also lowered the target range by 0.5 percentage points to 2.25%–3.25%. Since the other central banks reduced their key interest rates by the same margin, the interest rate differential to other countries did not change. In the subsequent days, the Swiss franc came under strong upward pressure, especially against the euro. On 21 September, the National Bank indicated to the markets that it was extremely concerned about the development on the foreign exchange markets, and on 24 September, it reduced the interest rate target range by another 0.5 percentage points to 1.75%–2.75%. With this cut the National Bank acted in response to the appreciation of the Swiss franc, which threatened to aggravate the monetary conditions in a manner that was undesirable given the flagging economy.

Further reduction in the interest rate target range in December

At the monetary policy assessment in December, the National Bank decided to lower the target range for the three-month Libor rate by another 0.5 percentage points to 1.25%–2.25%. It acted in response to the further deterioration of the economic outlook and the associated decrease in inflationary pressure. The inflation forecast published at the news conference on 7 December is based on a three-month Libor of 1.75% and anticipates an average inflation rate of 0.9% for 2002, 1.3% for 2003 and 1.5% for 2004. At the same time, the National Bank based its forecast on an increase in real GDP of 1.5% in 2001 and around 1% in 2002.

Short-term increase of repo rates within the target range

With these four rate cuts, the National Bank reduced the target range for the three-month Libor rate by a total of 1.75 percentage points in 2001. Every time it lowered its interest rate – except on 24 September – the National Bank informed the markets that the three-month Libor rate would be kept in the middle of the target range for the time being. Since the markets had been anticipating a downtrend in interest rates since the beginning of the year, this meant that the National Bank had to let short-term repo rates climb temporarily. This was particularly the case in March, September and November, when there was the growing expectation that rates would be adjusted – possibly even ahead of schedule. In these cases, however, the National Bank was willing to make use of the flexibility offered by the target range and let the three-month Libor temporarily slip considerably below the middle of the applicable target range.

No signs of a long-term rise in prices

The substantial reduction in short-term interest rates effected during 2001 was facilitated in that the growth rates of the monetary aggregates did not signal a threat to long-term price stability. The money stock M3, which – overall – had grown only marginally from 1997 to mid-1999, increased steadily during 2001, but growth remained moderate. In the fourth quarter, M3 exceeded the previous year’s level by 4.8% on average.

Expansion of monetary base due to rising demand for banknotes

The seasonally-adjusted monetary base, which measures the liquidity supplied directly to the economy by the National Bank, registered a much stronger expansion. This increase is mainly attributable to the massive rise in banknote circulation, which was influenced by special factors such as the forthcoming introduction of euro banknotes and coins. The second component of the monetary base, the banks’ sight deposits at the National Bank, also rose while experiencing heavy fluctuations. These fluctuations were most likely triggered by the interaction between the markets’ interest rate expectations and the National Bank’s efforts to keep the three-month Libor rate near the middle of the interest rate target range.

geldaggregate_e_2001

Drucken

Berichterstattung über die Geldpolitik 2001

Ausgangslage

Die im Dezember 2000 von der Nationalbank publizierte Inflationsprognose deutete darauf hin, dass die Teuerung bei einem unveränderten Zinssatz von 3,5% im Laufe des Jahres 2001 leicht anziehen und dabei vorübergehend etwas über 2% liegen werde. Die Prognose ergab sich aufgrund des kräftigen Wirtschaftswachstums im Jahre 2000 und des massiven Anstiegs der Erdölpreise. Gleichzeitig wies die Nationalbank darauf hin, dass die sukzessive Straffung der schweizerischen Geldpolitik vom Herbst 1999 bis zum Sommer 2000 sowie die erwartete Konjunkturabkühlung in den USA und Europa dazu beitragen würden, eine inflationäre Überhitzung der schweizerischen Volkswirtschaft zu vermeiden. Für die Jahre 2001 und 2002 prognostizierte die Nationalbank eine Abschwächung des realen Wirtschaftswachstums auf 2,2% bzw. 1,6%.

Nachlassender Teuerungsdruck – Senkung des Zinszielbandes im März

Im Laufe des ersten Quartals 2001 zeigte sich indessen, dass der Preisdruck nachzulassen begann. Dazu trug neben der konjunkturellen Verlangsamung im In- und Ausland auch der unerwartet rasche Rückgang der Erdölpreise bei. Die Nationalbank reagierte auf diese Entwicklung am 22. März mit einer Senkung des Zinszielbandes für den Dreimonate-Libor um einen viertel Prozentpunkt auf 2,75%-3,75%. Dies war die erste Anpassung des Zielbandes seit Mitte 2000.

Keine Veränderung des Zinszielbandes bei der Lagebeurteilung im Juni

In den folgenden Monaten verlor die Konjunktur zwar an Schwung, doch war der Rückgang moderat und die gesamtwirtschaftlichen Kapazitäten blieben weiterhin stark ausgelastet. Die Nationalbank ging, wie die meisten Beobachter, davon aus, dass die amerikanische Konjunktur gegen Ende Jahr wieder leicht anziehen würde. Die am Konsumentenpreisindex gemessene Teuerung, die im ersten Quartal aufgrund von Sonderfaktoren deutlich gefallen war, stieg in den folgenden beiden Monaten wieder an und bewegte sich mit 1,5% ungefähr auf dem gleichen Niveau wie im Durchschnitt des Jahres 2000. Die am Mediengespräch vom 14. Juni präsentierte neue Inflationsprognose zeigte, dass die Nationalbank bei einem kurzfristigen Zinssatz von 3,25% mit einer Stabilisierung der Inflation in der Nähe von 1,5% im Jahre 2003 rechnete. Daher beschloss die Nationalbank bei der Lagebeurteilung im Juni, das Zinszielband unverändert zu belassen.

Zinssenkungen nach den Terroranschlägen in den USA

In der zweiten Jahreshälfte wurde immer deutlicher, dass sich die amerikanische Konjunktur nicht so rasch erholen würde, wie zunächst erwartet worden war. Ausserdem schwächte sich die europäische und vor allem die deutsche Konjunktur stärker ab als angenommen. Damit verschlechterten sich auch die Wachstumsaussichten für die Schweiz. Gleichzeitig ging die aktuelle Teuerung zurück. Damit war bereits vor den Terroranschlägen vom 11. September der Boden für eine weitere Senkung der Geldmarktsätze vorbereitet. Als die amerikanische Zentralbank und die EZB am 17. September ihre Zinssätze um einen halben Prozentpunkt senkten, zog die Nationalbank die auf den 20. September angesetzte geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung vor und senkte das Zielband um ebenfalls einen halben Prozentpunkt auf 2,25%-3,25%. Da die anderen Zentralbanken ihre Leitzinsen im gleichen Ausmass zurücknahmen, veränderte sich die Zinsdifferenz zum Ausland nicht. In den folgenden Tagen geriet der Franken vor allem gegenüber dem Euro unter starken Aufwertungsdruck. Am 21. September signalisierte die Nationalbank den Märkten, dass ihr die Entwicklung auf den Devisenmärkten grosse Sorge bereite, und am 24. September reduzierte sie das Zinszielband um nochmals einen halben Prozentpunkt auf 1,75%-2,75%. Die Nationalbank reagierte damit auf die Aufwertung des Frankens, welche die monetären Bedingungen in einer Weise zu verschärfen drohte, die vor dem Hintergrund des nachlassenden Wirtschaftswachstums unerwünscht war.

Weitere Senkung des Zinszielbandes im Dezember

An der geldpolitischen Lagebeurteilung im Dezember beschloss die Nationalbank, das Zielband für den Dreimonate-Libor nochmals um einen halben Prozentpunkt auf 1,25%-2,25% zurückzunehmen. Sie reagierte damit auf die weitere Verschlechterung der Konjunkturaussichten und die damit verbundene Abnahme des Inflationsdrucks. Die am Mediengespräch vom 7. Dezember veröffentlichte Inflationsprognose, die auf einem Dreimonate-Libor von 1,75% basiert, rechnet mit einer Inflationsrate von durchschnittlich 0,9% für 2002, 1,3% für 2003 und 1,5% für 2004. Gleichzeitig legte die Nationalbank der Prognose einen Anstieg des realen Bruttoinlandproduktes von 1,5% im Jahre 2001 und von rund 1% im Jahre 2002 zu Grunde.

Kurzfristiger Anstieg der Repo-Sätze innerhalb des Zinszielbandes

Mit diesen vier Zinsschritten nahm die Nationalbank das Zielband für den Dreimonate-Libor im Jahre 2001 um insgesamt 1,75 Prozentpunkte zurück. Bei jeder Änderung – ausser beim Zinsschritt vom 24. September – teilte sie den Märkten überdies mit, dass der Dreimonate-Libor bis auf weiteres im mittleren Bereich des Zielbandes gehalten würde. Da die Märkte seit Jahresbeginn jedoch immer mit tendenziell sinkenden Zinssätzen rechneten, hatte dies zur Folge, dass die Nationalbank die kurzfristigen Repo-Zinssätze zeitweise ansteigen lassen musste. Dies war insbesondere im März, September und November der Fall, als immer stärker mit einer möglicherweise sogar vorgezogenen Satzanpassung gerechnet wurde. In diesen Fällen war die Nationalbank allerdings auch bereit, die durch das Zielband gebotene Flexibilität auszunutzen und den Dreimonate-Libor vorübergehend deutlich unter die Mitte des jeweils gültigen Zielbandes fallen zu lassen.

Keine Anzeichen eines längerfristigen Preisanstiegs

Die im Laufe des Jahres 2001 vorgenommene substanzielle Senkung der kurzfristigen Zinssätze wurde dadurch erleichtert, dass die Entwicklung der Geldaggregate keine Gefährdung der längerfristigen Preisstabilität anzeigte. Die Geldmenge M3, die sich zwischen 1997 und Mitte 1999 insgesamt nur wenig verändert hatte, stieg im Laufe des Jahres 2001 zwar kontinuierlich an, doch blieb das Wachstum moderat. Im vierten Quartal lag M3 um durchschnittlich 4,8% über dem Stand des Vorjahres.

Anstieg der Notenbankgeldmenge aufgrund steigender Notennachfrage

Deutlich stärker erhöhte sich die saisonbereinigte Notenbankgeldmenge, welche die Liquidität misst, die der Wirtschaft von der Nationalbank direkt zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Dieser Anstieg ist hauptsächlich auf einen kräftigen Zuwachs des Notenumlaufs zurückzuführen, der durch Sonderfaktoren wie die bevorstehende Einführung des Euro-Bargeldes beeinflusst wurde. Die zweite Komponente der Notenbankgeldmenge, die Giroguthaben der Banken bei der Nationalbank, nahm bei grossen Schwankungen ebenfalls zu. Zu diesen Schwankungen dürfte vor allem das Zusammenspiel zwischen den Zinserwartungen der Märkte und dem Bestreben der Nationalbank, den Dreimonate-Libor nahe der Mitte des Zinszielbandes zu halten, beigetragen haben.

geldaggregate_d_2001