Print

Monetary policy report 1999

Announcement of an unchanged monetary policy

At the end of 1998, the National Bank had announced that it would continue implementing a basically generous monetary policy in 1999. In the wake of the problems in East Asia and the anticipated slowdown in growth in the United States it expected economic activity in Western Europe to weaken. For Switzerland, it forecast real economic growth of 1.5% and a rise in inflation to 1%. Furthermore, it indicated that with its planned monetary policy it also intended to take account of the uncertainties associated with the introduction of the euro.

Economic revival - smooth launch of the euro

Economic growth and inflation in 1999 came close to the expectations of the National Bank. Though business activity was still weak at the start of the year, this was soon followed by a marked recovery. The euro was launched without a hitch. In the first few months of the year, the National Bank strove to keep the Swiss franc exchange rate against the euro as stable as possible. In the second half of the year, however, the exchange rate still kept within a very narrow band. This was due not least to the fact that the economic situation was then similar in Switzerland and the countries of the euro area.

On average, slightly lower call money rates

The implementation of monetary policy was reflected by the course of call money rates. Their annual average was somewhat below the previous year's level. As from 9 April, the National Bank lowered the discount rate by 0.5 percentage point to 0.5%. This step went hand in hand with the lowering of interest rates by the ECB. Swiss money market rates fell in the wake of this interest rate reduction, only to rise again in the second half of September. Long-term money market rates were to some extent characterised by expectations of a liquidity bottleneck at the end of the year. The National Bank did not react to this increase in interest rates since the pickup in economic activity also tended to add to the danger of inflation. Nevertheless, it left the discount rate unchanged at 0.5%.

Declining sight deposits

The sight deposits held by the commercial banks at the National Bank declined substantially from the previous year's level. This fall is due, on the one hand, to the marked temporary expansion of sight deposits in October 1998, when the National Bank had provided the money market with additional liquidity in order to counteract an undesirable appreciation of the Swiss franc. On the other hand, it reflects the generally declining trend in the banks' demand for sight deposits. This was partly a consequence of the merger between Swiss Bank Corporation and Union Bank of Switzerland to form the UBS. Other factors that had the effect of reducing the demand for sight deposits are the introduction of intraday liquidity by the National Bank and the steady expansion of repo business which, in contrast to traditional interbank credits, does not require risk backing in the form of liquid funds.

No end-of-year problems

The year-end settlement proceeded smoothly despite the critical change of date. The National Bank had made it known at an early stage that it would fulfil any liquidity requirements in excess of the level that was usual at this time of year. It concluded several forward-forward repos and gave the banks an opportunity to temporarily raise their Lombard limits. It also increased its stocks of banknotes in order to be able to meet even a massive rise in the demand for banknotes.

Stagnating monetary base

The seasonally-adjusted monetary base barely changed at all in the course of 1999, only to rise markedly at the end of the year. In the fourth quarter, it surpassed the corresponding year-earlier level by an average of 1.5%, exceeding the medium-term target range laid down at the end of 1994 by 8.4%. Based on the shifts in the demand for banknotes observed over a number of years and the banks' changed liquidity behaviour, the National Bank assumes that the gap between the monetary base and the medium-term target path again overstated the degree of monetary expansion in 1999.

Weak growth of the money stock M3

The money stock M3, considered by the National Bank to be the most important monetary aggregate in the past few years, showed only a slight rise in 1999. In the fourth quarter, M3 exceeded the corresponding previous year's level by 0.7%.

e_grafik1_2000.gif (10100 Byte)

e_grafik2_2000.gif (9491 Byte)

e_grafik3_2000.gif (14629 Byte)

e_grafik4_2000.gif (10218 Byte)

Drucken

Berichterstattung über die Geldpolitik 1999

Ankündigung einer unveränderten Geldpolitik (neue Version)

Ende 1998 hatte die Nationalbank angekündigt, dass sie die tendenziell grosszügige Geldpolitik im Jahre 1999 fortführen werde. Als Folge der Probleme in Ostasien und der erwarteten Wachstumsverlangsamung in den USA rechnete sie mit einer Abschwächung der Konjunktur in Westeuropa. Für die Schweiz erwartete sie ein reales Wirtschaftswachstum von 1,5% und einen Anstieg der Teuerung auf 1%. Ausserdem gab sie zu erkennen, dass sie mit der beabsichtigten Geldpolitik auch den Unsicherheiten Rechnung tragen wollte, die mit Einführung des Euro verbunden waren.

Konjunkturelle Belebung - reibungslose Einführung des Euro

Das Wirtschaftswachstum und die Teuerung lagen im Jahre 1999 nahe bei den Erwartungen der Nationalbank. Am Anfang des Jahres war die Konjunktur zwar noch schwach, doch trat anschliessend eine deutliche Besserung ein. Die Einführung des Euro erfolgte ohne Schwierigkeiten. In den ersten Monaten des Jahres war die Nationalbank bestrebt, den Frankenkurs des Euro möglichst stabil zu halten. Der Kurs bewegte sich aber auch in der zweiten Jahreshälfte in einer sehr engen Bandbreite. Dies war nicht zuletzt deshalb der Fall, weil die Schweiz und die Länder des Euro-Gebietes sich in einer ähnlichen konjunkturellen Lage befanden.

Im Durchschnitt leicht tiefere Tagesgeldsätze

Die Umsetzung der Geldpolitik spiegelte sich im Verlauf der Tagesgeldzinssätze. Diese lagen im Durchschnitt des Jahres leicht unter dem Vorjahresstand. Per 9. April senkte die Nationalbank den Diskontsatz um 0,5 Prozentpunkte auf 0,5%. Diese Massnahme erfolgte parallel zur Zinssenkung der EZB. Im Anschluss an die Diskontsatzsenkung gaben die schweizerischen Geldmarktzinsen nach und stiegen erst in der zweiten Hälfte des Monats September wieder. Die längerfristigen Geldmarktsätze wurden teilweise durch die Erwartung eines Liquiditätsengpasses am Jahres-Ultimo geprägt. Die Nationalbank nahm diese Zinserhöhung hin, da sich mit der anziehenden Konjunktur auch die Teuerungsgefahr tendenziell verstärkt hatte. Sie liess den Diskontsatz jedoch unverändert bei 0,5%.

Rückläufige Giroguthaben

Die Giroguthaben, welche die Geschäftsbanken bei der Nationalbank halten, nahmen gegenüber dem Vorjahr deutlich ab. Dieser Rückgang erklärt sich einerseits mit der starken vorübergehenden Ausdehnung der Giroguthaben im Oktober 1998, als die Nationalbank dem Geldmarkt zusätzliche Liquidität zur Verfügung gestellt hatte, um einer unerwünschten Aufwertung des Frankens entgegenzutreten. Andererseits widerspiegelt er eine generell abnehmende Nachfrage der Banken nach Giroguthaben. Diese war teilweise die Folge der Fusion des Schweizerischen Bankvereins und der Schweizerischen Bankgesellschaft zur UBS. Weitere Faktoren, die tendenziell die Nachfrage nach Giroguthaben verringerten, sind die Einführung der Intraday-Liquidität durch die Nationalbank und die wachsende Verbreitung der Repo-Geschäfte, die im Unterschied zu den traditionellen Interbankkrediten nicht mit liquiden Mitteln unterlegt werden müssen.

Problemloser Jahres-Ultimo

Der Jahres-Ultimo verlief trotz des kritischen Datumwechsels reibungslos. Die Nationalbank hatte frühzeitig zu erkennen gegeben, dass sie den über das saisonübliche Mass hinausgehenden Liquiditätsbedarf decken werde. Sie schloss mehrere Repo-Geschäfte auf Termin ab (Forward-Forward-Repo) und gab den Banken Gelegenheit, ihre Lombardlimiten vorübergehend zu erhöhen. Ausserdem stockte sie ihre Notenvorräte auf, um auch einen massiven Anstieg der Notennachfrage decken zu können.

Stagnierende Notenbankgeldmenge

Die saisonbereinigte Notenbankgeldmenge veränderte sich bis im November 1999 nur geringfügig und stieg erst am Jahresende deutlich an. Im Durchschnitt des vierten Quartals lag sie um 1,5% über dem entsprechenden Vorjahresstand und übertraf den Ende 1994 festgelegten mittelfristigen Zielpfad um 8,4%. Aufgrund der über mehrere Jahre zu beobachtenden Verschiebungen der Notennachfrage und des veränderten Liquiditätsverhaltens der Banken geht die Nationalbank davon aus, dass der Abstand zum mittelfristigen Zielpfad den Expansionsgrad der Geldpolitik auch im Jahre 1999 überzeichnete.

Schwaches Wachstum von M3

Die Geldmenge M3, welcher die Nationalbank in den vergangenen Jahren unter den Geldaggregaten das stärkste Gewicht zumass, stieg im Jahre 1999 nur geringfügig. Im vierten Quartal lag M3 um 0,7% über dem entsprechenden Vorjahresniveau.

d_grafik1_2000.gif (10074 Byte)

d_grafik2_2000.gif (9467 Byte)

d_grafik3_2000.gif (14468 Byte)

d_grafik4_2000.gif (9338 Byte)