Print

Monetary policy report 1998

Announcement of an unchanged monetary policy

At the end of 1997 the National Bank had announced that it would continue implementing a generous monetary policy. It expected short-term interest rates to fluctuate on a low level of less than 2%. The supply of money was to be adjusted to the increase in demand, with the National Bank expecting real economic growth at the rate of 2% and an inflation rate of 1%.

Consideration given to economic activity and the exchange rate

Despite the worsening international economic situation business activity in 1998 largely fulfilled the expectations of the National Bank. The growth of real gross domestic product corresponded closely to the anticipated rate, and the inflation rate was only marginally overestimated. In the course of the year, however, sentiment notably in the export sector deteriorated, and medium-term growth forecasts were adjusted downwards both in Switzerland and abroad. When the Swiss franc came under upward pressure in the foreign exchange markets, first in February and then in September and October, the National Bank reacted flexibly and maintained an abundant supply of money.

Strong fluctuations in sight deposits

The sight deposits held by the commercial banks at the National Bank rose markedly from the previous year's level. In the course of the year, moreover, they underwent considerable fluctuations. This reflected the sometimes marked expansion in liquidity with which the National Bank counteracted an excessive appreciation of the Swiss franc. The merger between Swiss Bank Corporation and Union Bank of Switzerland into UBS LTD and the creation of a repo market in Switzerland likewise influenced the banks' liquidity behaviour. Furthermore, the turbulences in the financial markets had an effect on the demand for sight deposits by inducing individual banks temporarily to substantially increase their liquid funds at the National Bank.

Expansion of the monetary base

The expansion of sight deposits caused the seasonally adjusted monetary base to rise more markedly than expected. Between the fourth quarter of 1997 and the fourth quarter of 1998 it grew by 5.2%, thus exceeding the medium-term target path by 7.9%. Due to the shift in the demand for banknotes ascertained in the previous years and the switch by various banks of their liquid funds from postal cheque accounts to sight deposit accounts, the National Bank continues to assume that the gap between the monetary base and the medium-term target path overstates the degree of monetary expansion.

Weak growth of the money stock M3

The money stock M3, which the National Bank had increasingly used as an indicator in the past two years, showed only a slight rise in 1998. This reflected the persistently slow growth of bank loans. In the fourth quarter, M3 exceeded the previous year's level by 0.9%.

e_grafik1_1998

e_grafik2_1998

e_grafik3_1998

e_grafik4_1998

Drucken

Berichterstattung über die Geldpolitik 1998

Ankündigung einer unveränderten Geldpolitik

Ende 1997 hatte die Nationalbank die Fortführung ihrer grosszügigen Geldpolitik angekündigt. Sie erwartete, dass sich die kurzfristigen Zinssätze auf dem tiefen Niveau von weniger als 2% bewegen würden. Das Geldangebot sollte an die Zunahme der Nachfrage angepasst werden, wobei die Nationalbank mit einem realen Wirtschaftswachstum von 2% und einer Teuerungsrate von 1% rechnete.

Berücksichtigung der Konjunktur und des Wechselkurses

Die Konjunktur im Jahre 1998 entsprach trotz der Verschlechterung der internationalen Wirtschaftslage weitgehend den Erwartungen der Nationalbank, und die Teuerung wurde nur geringfügig überschätzt. Im Laufe des Jahres verschlechterte sich allerdings die Stimmung vor allem im Exportsektor, und die mittelfristigen Wachstumsprognosen wurden im In- und Ausland nach unten korrigiert. Als der Franken an den Devisenmärkten zunächst im Februar und dann im September und Oktober unter Aufwertungsdruck geriet, reagierte die Nationalbank flexibel und hielt den Geldmarkt flüssig.

Stark schwankende Giroguthaben

Die Giroguthaben, welche die Geschäftsbanken bei der Nationalbank halten, nahmen gegenüber dem Vorjahr deutlich zu. Innerhalb des Jahres wiesen sie zudem grosse Schwankungen auf. Darin widerspiegelte sich die zeitweise starke Ausdehnung der Liquidität, mit der die Nationalbank einer übermässigen Aufwertung des Schweizer Frankens entgegenwirkte. Die Fusion von Bankverein und Bankgesellschaft zur UBS AG sowie die Schaffung des Repo-Marktes in der Schweiz beeinflussten das Liquiditätsverhalten der Banken ebenfalls. Ferner wirkten sich die Turbulenzen an den Finanzmärkten auf die Nachfrage nach Giroguthaben aus, indem vereinzelte Banken ihre liquiden Mittel bei der Nationalbank vorübergehend massiv aufstockten.

Zunahme der Notenbankgeldmenge

Die Ausdehnung der Giroguthaben führte dazu, dass die saisonbereinigte Notenbankgeldmenge stärker als erwartet zunahm. Sie wuchs zwischen dem vierten Quartal 1997 und dem vierten Quartal 1998 um 5,2%. Damit übertraf sie den mittelfristigen Zielpfad um 7,9%. Wegen der in den Vorjahren festgestellten Verschiebung der Notennachfrage sowie der von verschiedenen Banken vollzogenen Umschichtung ihrer Kassenliquidität von Post- zu Giroguthaben geht die Nationalbank weiterhin davon aus, dass der Abstand zum mittelfristigen Zielpfad den Expansionsgrad der Geldpolitik überzeichnet.

Schwaches Wachstum der Geldmenge M3

Die Geldmenge M3, welche die Nationalbank in den vergangenen beiden Jahren vermehrt als Indikator herangezogen hatte, wuchs im Jahre 1998 nur schwach. Darin widerspiegelte sich das anhaltend geringe Wachstum der Bankkredite. Im vierten Quartal übertraf M3 den entsprechenden Vorjahresstand um 0,9%.

d_grafik1_1998

d_grafik2_1998

d_grafik3_1998

d_grafik4_1998