Print

Monetary policy report 1996

A more expansionary monetary policy than announced...

The unexpected economic downturn induced the National Bank to pursue a more expansionary monetary policy in 1996 than announced at the end of 1995. We endeavoured to provide the economy with sufficient monetary leeway for a rapid cyclical recovery and to counteract deflationary pressures emanating from the strength of the Swiss franc. At the end of 1995, we had expected the seasonally-adjusted monetary base to grow by more than 1% but considered it unlikely to reach the medium-term target path by the end of the year. In actual fact, between the fourth quarter of 1995 and the fourth quarter of 1996 the monetary base rose by 5%, thereby already exceeding the target path in summer.

...necessary due to the economic situation

Our initial assumption, at the end of 1995, had been that the Swiss economy would revive and real gross domestic product would grow by 1.8% until the fourth quarter of 1996. At the same time, we had anticipated an inflation rate of approximately 1.5% during this period. Towards mid-year, however, it became increasingly evident that there would be no economic recovery. Consequently the danger of a steady decline in prices grew. We were thus led to expand the monetary base more markedly than originally planned. This enabled us to keep money market rates more or less at the low level attained at the beginning of 1996. The low interest rates acted as a corrective to the excessive rise of the Swiss franc in the foreign exchange market.

Marked decline in savings deposit rates

The vigorous expansion of the monetary base does not simply reflect the monetary policy pursued in 1996. In the wake of a distinct relaxation of monetary policy in spring 1995, savings deposit rates fell more steeply than expected at the end of 1995 and the beginning of 1996. Banknote circulation reacts to changes in monetary policy with a time lag of several months since it is influenced less markedly by money market than by savings deposit rates. The latter only adjust to changed money market rates after some delay.

Shift in demand for banks' sight deposits at the National Bank

Another reason for the strong expansion of the monetary base in 1996 is to be seen in the liquidity behaviour of various banks, which increased their sight deposit holdings at the National Bank and reduced their postal cheque account balances. Like cash and postal cheque account balances, these sight deposits help to meet statutory liquidity requirements. In contrast to sight deposits, however, postal cheque account balances do not form part of the monetary base. In order not to tighten our monetary policy course unintentionally, we adjusted the supply of base money by some Sfr 400 million on account of the higher demand for these sight deposits. Our stance was therefore not quite as expansionary as the growth of the monetary base seems to suggest.

Interest rate rise in mid-1996 not consistent with monetary policy

As a result of the expansionary monetary policy money market rates, which had already been declining steadily since spring 1995, fell to below 2% at the beginning of 1996. In the second quarter they moved up again. At first we took this as a sign of the anticipated economic recovery. Then, for the first time after a long period, the Swiss franc started to weaken in the foreign exchange market, which normally leads to a certain amount of interest rate tension. In addition, distortions in the money market as a result of the already mentioned changes in the banks' liquidity behaviour made themselves felt. We counteracted interest rate tension by providing the money market with ample liquidity. At the end of September, we decreased the discount rate from 1.5% to 1%, thus underlining our willingness to keep money market rates at a low level.

Strong growth of the broadly defined monetary aggregates

The development of the broadly defined monetary aggregates, which react promptly and vigorously to interest rate changes, confirmed the picture presented by the monetary base. Already beginning in spring 1995, the decline in money market rates had led to a massive expansion of sight and savings deposit liabilities in the banking system to the detriment of time deposits. This development was interrupted by a temporary rise in interest rates in spring 1996. Nevertheless, all the broadly defined aggregates rose vigorously: in 1996 the money stock M1 exceeded the previous year's level by 11.9% on average, the money stock M2 expanded by approximately 12.2%, while the money stock M3 increased by 7.2%.

pic_grafik1

pic_grafik2

pic_grafik3

Drucken

Berichterstattung über die Geldpolitik 1996

Expansivere Geldpolitik als angekündigt...

Die unerwartete konjunkturelle Abflachung veranlasste die Nationalbank, im Jahre 1996 eine expansivere Geldpolitik zu führen als sie Ende 1995 angekündigt hatte. Wir waren bestrebt, der Wirtschaft genügend Spielraum für eine rasche konjunkturelle Erholung zu geben und deflationären Tendenzen, die von der Frankenstärke ausgingen, entgegenzuwirken. Wir hatten Ende 1995 angenommen, die saisonbereinigte Notenbankgeldmenge werde um mehr als 1% wachsen, aber den mittelfristigen Zielpfad bis Ende Jahr kaum erreichen. Tatsächlich stieg die Notenbankgeldmenge zwischen dem vierten Quartal 1995 und dem vierten Quartal 1996 um 5% und überschritt den Zielpfad bereits im Sommer.

...aufgrund der Wirtschaftslage notwendig

Wir waren Ende 1995 davon ausgegangen, dass sich die schweizerische Konjunktur beleben und das reale Bruttoinlandprodukt bis zum vierten Quartal 1996 um 1,8% wachsen werde. Gleichzeitig hatten wir für denselben Zeitraum eine Teuerung von rund 1,5% erwartet. Gegen die Jahresmitte zeichnete sich indessen immer deutlicher ab, dass die konjunkturelle Erholung ausbleiben würde. Damit erhöhte sich auch die Gefahr eines anhaltenden Rückgangs der Preise. Dies veranlasste uns, die Notenbankgeldmenge stärker auszuweiten als ursprünglich vorgesehen. Wir konnten damit die Geldmarktzinsen etwa auf dem Anfang 1996 erreichten, niedrigen Niveau halten. Die tiefen Zinsen trugen dazu bei, den übermässigen Anstieg des Frankens am Devisenmarkt zu korrigieren.

Deutlicher Rückgang der Sparzinsen

Das kräftige Wachstum der Notenbankgeldmenge widerspiegelt nicht allein die im Jahre 1996 verfolgte Geldpolitik. Die deutliche Lockerung der Geldpolitik im Frühjahr 1995 liess die Sparzinsen Ende 1995 und Anfang 1996 stärker als erwartet sinken. Der Notenumlauf reagiert auf Änderungen der Geldpolitik mit einer Verzögerung von mehreren Monaten, da er weniger stark durch die Geldmarkt- als durch die Sparzinsen beeinflusst wird. Diese passen sich erst nach einiger Zeit den Bewegungen der Geldmarktsätze an.

Verschiebung der Nachfrage nach Giroguthaben

Ein weiterer Grund für das starke Wachstum der Notenbankgeldmenge im Jahre 1996 lag im Liquiditätsverhalten verschiedener Banken, welche ihre bei der Nationalbank gehaltenen Giroguthaben zulasten ihrer Postcheckguthaben aufstockten. Die Giroguthaben können von den Banken gleich wie Bargeld und Postcheckguthaben zur Erfüllung des gesetzlichen Liquiditätserfordernisses herangezogen werden. Die Postcheckguthaben sind jedoch im Unterschied zu den Giroguthaben nicht Teil der Notenbank-Geldmenge. Wir passten das Angebot an Notenbankgeld an die um rund 400 Mio. Franken erhöhte Nachfrage nach Giroguthaben an. Sonst hätten wir unseren geldpolitischen Kurs unbeabsichtigt verschärft. Unser Kurs war somit nicht ganz so expansiv, wie der starke Anstieg der Notenbankgeldmenge vermuten lässt.

Zinsanstieg Mitte 1996 nicht im Einklang mit Geldpolitik

Als Folge der expansiven Geldpolitik fielen die Geldmarktsätze, die bereits seit dem Frühjahr 1995 kontinuierlich gesunken waren, Anfang 1996 unter 2%. Im zweiten Quartal stiegen sie wieder an. Wir sahen darin zunächst einen Vorboten der erwarteten Konjunkturerholung. Ausserdem schwächte sich der Franken am Devisenmarkt erstmals seit längerem wieder ab, was erfahrungsgemäss zu gewissen Zinsanspannungen führt. Hinzu kamen Verwerfungen im Geldmarkt infolge der erwähnten Änderungen im Liquiditätsverhalten der Banken. Wir wirkten der Zinsanspannung entgegen, indem wir den Geldmarkt grosszügig mit Liquidität versorgten. Ende September unterstrichen wir mit der Senkung des Diskontsatzes von 1,5% auf 1% unsere Bereitschaft, die Geldmarktsätze auf tiefem Niveau zu halten.

Starkes Wachstum der breit definierten Geldaggregate

Die Entwicklung der breit definierten Geldaggregate, die rasch und stark auf Änderungen der Zinssätze reagieren, bestätigte das von der Notenbankgeldmenge gezeichnete Bild. Der Rückgang der Geldmarktsätze hatte bereits seit dem Frühjahr 1995 zu einem massiven Anstieg der Sicht- und Spareinlagen zulasten der Termineinlagen geführt. Diese Entwicklung wurde durch den vorübergehenden Anstieg der Zinssätze im Frühjahr 1996 unterbrochen. Dennoch stiegen alle breit definierten Aggregate kräftig: Die Geldmenge M1 lag im Jahre 1996 um durchschnittlich 11,9% über dem Vorjahresstand, die Geldmenge M2 erhöhte sich um 12,2%, während die Geldmenge M3 um 7,2% stieg.

pic_grafik1

pic_grafik2

pic_grafik3