Network for Greening the Financial System

International response to climate and environment-related risks

The Central Banks and Supervisors Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS), launched at the 'Paris One Planet Summit' in December 2017, is committed to better understanding and managing the financial risks associated with climate change.

The NGFS's activities are organised into a number of work streams covering microeconomic factors as well as the macroeconomic channels through which climate change can affect the real economy and financial stability. The NGFS also aims, on a voluntary basis, to share best practice in order to protect consumers and guide asset managers seeking sustainable asset allocations.

SNB participation

Building on its long tradition of international cooperation, the SNB became a member of the NGFS in April 2019. The SNB's goal in joining the NGFS is to engage in dialogue and share knowledge in order to better understand - and anticipate - the potential impact of climate risks on macroeconomics and financial stability. The SNB and the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) are both represented in the NGFS Plenary.

Network for Greening the Financial System

Internationale Antwort auf klima- und umweltbezogene Risiken

Das "Central Banks and Supervisors Network for Greening the Financial System" (NGFS) ist ein Netzwerk von Zentralbanken und Aufsichtsbehörden, das am "Paris One Planet Summit" im Dezember 2017 lanciert wurde. Das NGFS hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die finanziellen Risiken des Klimawandels besser zu verstehen und zu steuern.

Die Aktivitäten des NGFS sind in verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen organisiert. Diese decken die mikroökonomischen Faktoren und die makroökonomischen Einflusskanäle ab, durch welche der Klimawandel sich auf die Realwirtschaft und die Finanzstabilität auswirken kann. Die Teilnehmer am NGFS wollen sich zudem, auf freiwilliger Basis, austauschen über die besten Methoden, um die Konsumenten zu schützen und Vermögensverwaltern, die nachhaltig investieren wollen, Rat anzubieten.

Beteiligung der SNB

Im Einklang mit ihrer langen Tradition im Bereich der internationalen Kooperation wurde die SNB im April 2019 Mitglied des NGFS. Mit ihrem Beitritt bezweckt die SNB, sich am Erfahrungsaustausch zu beteiligen, um dadurch die potenziellen Auswirkungen von Klimarisiken auf die makroökonomischen Entwicklungen und die Finanzstabilität besser zu verstehen und zu antizipieren. An der Plenarversammlung des NGFS sind sowohl die SNB als auch die FINMA vertreten.