Print

Banking sector

Structure

Banks in Switzerland differ significantly with regard to their size, business focus, geographical scope of activities and legal form. For its assessment of the stability of the Swiss banking sector, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) mainly focuses on the big banks (Credit Suisse and UBS) and the domestically focused commercial banks. The latter comprise banks whose share of domestic loans to total assets exceeds 50%. For more details about the number and categories of banks active in Switzerland, see the SNB statistical yearbook (Banks in Switzerland).

The SNB's assessment of the Swiss banking sector's stability is presented in the Financial Stability Report. 

Regulation and oversight

Banks operating in Switzerland are subject to the Federal Act on Banks and Savings Banks (Banking Act) (www.admin.ch, in German and French).

Detailed regulations - e.g. on capital, liquidity and risk diversification - are contained in the Ordinance on Banks and Savings Banks (Banking Ordinance) (www.admin.ch, in German and French). The banking legislation also takes account of international agreements and recommendations, e.g. the Basel Capital Adequacy Framework. The statutory provisions are supplemented by codes of conduct and recommendations that the banks themselves have adopted as a self-regulatory measure (www.swissbanking.org).

Within this regulatory framework, the SNB is assigned explicit responsibilities in two important areas: The regulatory framework stipulates that banks that are systemically important for Switzerland are subject to special capital, liquidity and organisational requirements (cf. Chapter 5 Banking Act). The SNB is responsible for the determination of systemically important banks and their systemically important functions (cf. Chapter 5 art. 8 Banking Act; Decrees issued by the Swiss National Bank concerning systemic importance).

Furthermore, the regulatory framework stipulates that capital requirements may be raised temporarily should imbalances on the Swiss lending market - and corresponding risks to financial stability - develop. The decisions on the activation, deactivation and level of this countercyclical capital buffer will be made by the Federal Council, upon the proposal of the SNB. The SNB consults FINMA before submitting its proposal to the Federal Council (Publications relating to the CCB).

The Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA, www.finma.ch) grants banking licences and is responsible for supervising banks.

Cooperation between FINMA and the SNB is governed by a memorandum of understanding (MoU).

Data and analysis

The financial intermediaries that are subject to the Federal Act on Banks and Saving Banks (Banking Ordinance) (www.admin.ch, in German and French) are obliged to report data on their balance sheet, income statement, capital and liquidity to the SNB. The SNB publishes the data in aggregated form - i.e. for the bank categories - in its statistical yearbook Banks in Switzerland and in the Publication set Monthly banking statistics (data.snb.ch). The analysis of the state and stability of Switzerland's banking sector is contained in the SNB's annual Financial Stability Report.

Drucken

Bankensektor

Struktur

Die Banken in der Schweiz unterscheiden sich wesentlich bezüglich Grösse, Geschäftsfeld, geographischem Tätigkeitsgebiet oder Rechtsform. Bei ihrer Beurteilung der Stabilität des Bankensektors konzentriert sich die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) insbesondere auf die Grossbanken (Credit Suisse und UBS) sowie die inlandorientierten Kreditbanken. Letztere Kategorie umfasst Banken, bei denen der Anteil der Inlandkredite 50% der Bilanzsumme übersteigt. Weitere Informationen zu Anzahl und Kategorien der in der Schweiz tätigen Banken finden sich in der Publikation Die Banken in der Schweiz.

Die Beurteilung der Stabilität des schweizerischen Bankensektors durch die SNB wird im Bericht zur Finanzstabilität dargelegt.

Regulierung und Aufsicht

Die in der Schweiz tätigen Banken unterstehen dem Bundesgesetz über die Banken und Sparkassen (Bankengesetz, BankG, www.admin.ch).

Detaillierte Regelungen - u.a. zu den Eigenmitteln, zur Liquidität sowie zur Risikodiversifikation - finden sich in der Verordnung über die Banken und Sparkassen (BankV, www.admin.ch). In diese Bankengesetzgebung fliessen auch internationale Abkommen und Empfehlungen ein, bspw. die Basler Eigenkapitalvereinbarung. Ergänzt wird die gesetzliche Regelung durch Standesregeln und Empfehlungen, die sich die Banken im Rahmen der Selbstregulierung geben (www.swissbanking.org).

Innerhalb dieses regulatorischen Rahmens sind der SNB in zwei wichtigen Bereichen explizit Aufgaben zugewiesen: Der regulatorische Rahmen auferlegt den für die Schweiz systemrelevanten Banken spezielle Anforderungen in den Bereichen Eigenmittel, Liquidität und Organisationsstruktur (BankG, Fünfter Abschnitt). Die SNB ist verantwortlich für die Bezeichnung der systemrelevanten Banken und deren systemrelevanter Funktionen (BankG, Fünfter Abschnitt, Art. 8; Verfügungen der Schweizerischen Nationalbank betreffend Systemrelevanz).

Ausserdem legt der regulatorische Rahmen fest, dass die Eigenmittelanforderungen vorübergehend verschärft werden können, sollten sich Ungleichgewichte auf dem schweizerischen Kreditmarkt - und damit entsprechende Risiken für die Finanzstabilität - heranbilden. Entscheide über die Aktivierung, Deaktivierung und Höhe des antizyklischen Kapitalpuffers werden vom Bundesrat auf Antrag der SNB getroffen. Die SNB berät sich mit der FINMA, bevor sie ihren Antrag an den Bundesrat stellt (Publikationen zum antizyklischen Kapitalpuffer).

Die Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA, www.finma.ch) erteilt Banken die Bewilligung zum Geschäftsbetrieb und ist für die Aufsicht der Banken zuständig.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen FINMA und SNB ist in einem Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) geregelt.

Daten und Analyse

Die dem Bundesgesetz über die Banken und Sparkassen (Bankengesetz, BankG, www.admin.ch) unterstehenden Finanzintermediäre sind verpflichtet, der SNB Angaben zur Bilanz, Gewinn- und Verlustrechnung, zu den eigenen Mitteln sowie zur Liquidität zu liefern. Die SNB veröffentlicht die Daten in aggregierter Form - d.h. auf Bankengruppen-Ebene - in der Publikation Die Banken in der Schweiz und im Publikationsset Monatliche Bankenstatistik (data.snb.ch). Die Analyse der Lage bzw. der Stabilität des schweizerischen Bankensektors fliesst in den jährlich von der SNB publizierten Bericht zur Finanzstabilität ein.