Print

Investment and risk control process

The National Bank Act (NBA) defines the SNB’s responsibilities and describes in detail its mandate with regard to asset management.

Bank Council and Risk Committee

The Bank Council is charged with the integral oversight of the investment and risk control process. It assesses the principles of the process and monitors compliance with them.  The Risk Committee – which is composed of three members of the Bank Council – supports the Bank Council in this task. It monitors risk management, in particular, and evaluates the governance of the investment process. Internal risk management reporting is addressed to the Governing Board and the Risk Committee.

Governing Board

The Governing Board defines the principles of the investment policy. This involves matters concerning the balance sheet structure, investment targets, specification of the investment universe, requirements regarding investment strategy and the associated risk tolerance, as well as the design of the risk control process. In particular, the Governing Board lays down in detail the requirements with regard to the security, liquidity and return of investments, as well as the eligible currencies, investment categories, instruments and borrower categories. The Governing Board decides on the composition of the currency reserves and other assets, and defines the foreign currency investment strategy. The investment strategy covers the allocation of foreign currency investments to different investment categories and currencies, and determines the scope for active management at operational level.

Operational level

An internal Investment Committee determines the tactical allocation on an operational level. Within the strategically prescribed range, it adjusts the currency allocation, the duration or the amount allocated to different investment categories. In this way, it adapts allocation to suit changing market conditions. The management of the individual portfolios is the responsibility of Portfolio Management. The majority of assets are managed internally. Portfolios from the Asia-Pacific region are managed by internal SNB portfolio managers in the Singapore branch office. Its activities, especially trade and portfolio management, are fully integrated into the investment and risk control process in Switzerland. External asset managers are used to benchmark internal portfolio management and obtain efficient access to new investment categories. At operational level, responsibilities for monetary policy and investment policy are organised in such a way as to avoid conflicts of interest.

Risk management

The most important element for managing absolute risk is broad diversification of investments. Risk is managed and mitigated via a system of reference portfolios (benchmarks), guidelines and limits. All relevant financial risk associated with investments is identified, assessed and monitored continuously. Risk measurement is based on standard risk indicators and procedures. In addition to these procedures, sensitivity analyses and stress tests are carried out on a regular basis.

The SNB’s comparatively long-term investment horizon is taken into account in all of these risk analyses. To assess and manage credit risk, information from major rating agencies, market indicators and in-house analyses are used. Credit limits are set on the basis of this information, and adjusted whenever the assessment of counterparty risk changes. To mitigate counterparty risk, the replacement values of derivatives are usually collateralised by securities. Concentration and reputational risks are also factored in when determining risk limits. Risk indicators are aggregated across all investments. Compliance with the guidelines and limits is monitored daily. The risk analyses and results of risk management activities are submitted to the Governing Board and the Bank Council’s Risk Committee in quarterly risk reports. In addition, the annual risk management report is submitted to the Bank Council.

Drucken

Anlage- und Risikokontrollprozess

Das Nationalbankgesetz definiert die Zuständigkeiten und konkretisiert den Auftrag der SNB für die Verwaltung der Aktiven.

Bankrat und Risikoausschuss

Die integrale Aufsicht über den Anlage- und Risikokontrollprozess obliegt dem Bankrat. Dieser beurteilt die Grundsätze des Prozesses und überwacht deren Einhaltung. Er wird dabei von dem aus drei Mitgliedern des Bankrats zusammengesetzten Risikoausschuss unterstützt. Dieser überwacht insbesondere das Risikomanagement und beurteilt die Governance des Anlageprozesses. Die interne Berichterstattung des Risikomanagements erfolgt an das Direktorium und den Risikoausschuss.

Direktorium

Das Direktorium definiert die Grundsätze der Anlagepolitik. Dabei geht es um Fragen der Bilanzstruktur, der Anlageziele, der Definition des Anlageuniversums, der Anforderungen an die Anlagestrategie und der zugehörigen Risikotoleranz sowie der Gestaltung des Anlage- und Risikokontrollprozesses. Das Direktorium konkretisiert insbesondere die Anforderungen an Sicherheit, Liquidität und Ertrag der Anlagen und legt den Kreis der zulässigen Währungen, Anlageklassen, Anlageinstrumente und Schuldnerkategorien fest. Das Direktorium bestimmt die Zusammensetzung der Währungsreserven sowie der übrigen Aktiven und befindet über die Anlagestrategie der Devisenanlagen. Die Anlagestrategie umfasst die Allokation der Devisenanlagen auf die verschiedenen Anlageklassen und Währungen sowie die Festlegung des Bewirtschaftungsspielraums auf operativer Ebene.

Operative Ebene

Auf der operativen Ebene bestimmt ein internes Anlagekomitee die taktische Allokation, indem es im Rahmen der strategisch vorgegebenen Bandbreiten Parameter wie Währungsanteile, Laufzeit oder Anteile der verschiedenen Anlageklassen an veränderte Marktbedingungen anpasst. Das Portfoliomanagement schliesslich verwaltet die einzelnen Portfolios. Der überwiegende Teil der Anlagen wird intern bewirtschaftet. Die Portfolios aus dem asiatisch-pazifischen Raum werden durch die SNB-internen Portfoliomanager der Niederlassung in Singapur bewirtschaftet. Die Tätigkeiten der Niederlassung, insbesondere der Handel und das Portfoliomanagement, sind vollständig in den Anlage- und Risikokontrollprozess in der Schweiz integriert. Externe Vermögensverwalter werden zu Vergleichszwecken mit dem internen Portfoliomanagement und zur effizienten Erschliessung neuer Anlageklassen eingesetzt. Auf operativer Ebene sind die Zuständigkeiten für geld- und anlagepolitische Geschäfte so organisiert, dass Interessenkonflikte vermieden werden.

Risikomanagement

Das wichtigste Element zur Steuerung der absoluten Risiken ist eine breite Diversifikation der Anlagen. Die Risikosteuerung und -begrenzung erfolgt über ein System von Referenzportfolios (Benchmarks), Richtlinien und Limiten. Alle massgeblichen finanziellen Risiken auf den Anlagen werden kontinuierlich erfasst, beurteilt und überwacht. Die Risikomessung beruht auf gängigen Risikokennzahlen und Verfahren. Ergänzend dazu werden regelmässig Sensitivitätsanalysen und Stresstests durchgeführt.

Bei allen Risikoanalysen wird dem tendenziell langfristigen Anlagehorizont der Nationalbank Rechnung getragen. Um die Kreditrisiken zu beurteilen und zu steuern, werden die Informationen der führenden Ratingagenturen, Marktindikatoren sowie eigene Analysen herangezogen. Die Kreditlimiten werden aufgrund dieser Informationen festgelegt und angepasst, wenn sich die Einschätzung der Gegenparteirisiken verändert. Zur Verminderung der Gegenparteirisiken werden die Wiederbeschaffungswerte von Derivaten in der Regel durch Effekten besichert. Bei den Risikolimiten werden auch Konzentrations- und Reputationsrisiken berücksichtigt. Die Risikokennzahlen werden über alle Anlagen aggregiert. Die Einhaltung der Richtlinien und der Limiten wird täglich überwacht. Die Risikoanalysen und die Ergebnisse der Risikoüberwachung werden in vierteljährlichen Risikoberichten dem Direktorium und dem Risikoausschuss des Bankrats unterbreitet. Der Jahresbericht des Risikomanagements geht zudem an den Bankrat.