SCHWEIZERISCHE NATIONALBANK BANQUE NATIONALE SUISSE BANCA NAZIONALE SVIZZERA **BANCA NAZIUNALA SVIZRA** SWISS NATIONAL BANK ♧

Communications

P.O. Box, CH-8022 Zurich Telephone +41 44 631 31 11 communications@snb.ch

Berne/Zurich, 18 April 2012

New SNB Governing Board: Thomas Jordan becomes Chairman, Jean-Pierre Danthine becomes Vice Chairman and Fritz Zurbrügg joins Board

New heads of department at SNB

At its meeting of 18 April 2012, the Swiss Federal Council appointed Thomas Jordan to be the new Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank (SNB). Thomas Jordan will take office effective immediately and will take over management of Department I. He has, until now, been Vice Chairman of the Governing Board and responsible for Department II. He had been acting as interim Chairman of the Governing Board since the resignation of Philipp Hildebrand at the beginning of 2012.

Also with immediate effect, the Federal Council appointed Jean-Pierre Danthine as Vice Chairman of the Governing Board. Currently Member of the Governing Board and Head of Department III, he will take over management of Department II.

Following the proposal of the Bank Council, the Federal Council appointed Fritz Zurbrügg, currently Director of the Federal Finance Administration, to the Governing Board. Fritz Zurbrügg will take over management of Department III from 1 August 2012. Until then, Dewet Moser, Alternate Member of the Governing Board, will act as interim Head of Department III.

Thomas Jordan (born 1963) joined the Swiss National Bank in 1997. With effect from mid-2004, the Federal Council appointed him as Alternate Member of the Governing Board, from the beginning of May 2007, as Member of the Governing Board, and from the beginning of 2010, as Vice Chairman. Thomas Jordan is Chairman of the Board of Directors of StabFund, the stabilisation fund, and represents Switzerland on the Financial Stability Board's Steering Committee and on the Committee on the Global Financial System at the Bank for International Settlements (BIS). Thomas Jordan is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Bern, Chairman of the SNB's Study Center Gerzensee Foundation and Chairman of the International Center for Monetary and Banking Studies (ICMB) in Geneva. He is married and the father of two children.

The Federal Council appointed Jean-Pierre Danthine (born 1950) as Member of the Governing Board as of the beginning of 2010 and he has since headed the SNB's 18 April 2012

Department III. Prior to his appointment, he was Professor of Macroeconomics and Finance at the University of Lausanne, and had been Managing Director of the Swiss Finance Institute since the year of its foundation. Jean-Pierre Danthine is also a member of the Markets Committee at the BIS, Fellow of the European Economic Association, and member of the Academia Europaea. In addition, he sits on the KOF Executive Committee of ETH Zurich. Jean-Pierre Danthine is married and the father of two children.

Fritz Zurbrügg (born 1960) has been Director of the Federal Finance Administration since 2010, where he had been Vice President since 2006. From 2002 to 2006, he held the position of Executive Director of the Swiss-led constituency of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in Washington, after having been a Senior Advisor there since 1998. Fritz Zurbrügg has broad experience in international monetary matters. He was Head of Section for international monetary matters in the Federal Finance Administration from 1994 to 1998. From 1992 to 1994, he was an economist at the IMF's Africa Department. Fritz Zurbrügg received his doctorate at the Faculty of Law and Economics at the University of Bern in 1989. From 1985 to 1989, he was assistant at the Institute of Economics at the University of Bern. Fritz Zurbrügg is married and the father of three children.

Located in Zurich, Department I of the SNB is responsible for economic affairs, international affairs, monetary cooperation, legal and property services, as well as support functions. Largely based in Berne, Department II is responsible for the areas of financial stability, cash, as well as finance and risk, while Department III, primarily in Zurich, is responsible for financial markets, banking operations and information technology.

2