Print

Financial markets and monetary policy implementation - an evolving relationship

Money Market Event, Geneva, 17.11.2016

  • Complete text
    (514 KB)

Since the global financial crisis in 2008, the relationship between monetary policy and the financial markets has shifted in some respects. From a central bank perspective, this shift mainly affects the transmission of monetary policy - that is, how monetary policy stimuli are passed on to the economy and prices via the financial markets. Prior to the financial crisis, central banks used a single instrument to implement their monetary policy. As a rule, this was a short-term interest rate steered more or less directly by the central bank. Thus, monetary policy transmission started with the money market and, from there, was transmitted to the economy via a number of different channels - including interest rates, credit, exchange rates and asset prices.

During the financial crisis, central banks reduced their reference rates to levels of or close to zero. The conventional interest rate instrument had thus reached its limits, according to the prevailing view at the time. In order to ensure the continuing transmission of monetary policy, central banks turned to unconventional measures, some of which no longer use the money market but instead target the capital and foreign exchange markets directly. This has increased the sphere of action of monetary policy, and the influence of central banks on the financial markets has expanded as a result.

The use of unconventional measures poses some challenges for the implementation of monetary policy. For the Swiss National Bank, whose monetary policy is based on a negative interest rate and foreign currency purchases, it was necessary to deepen its understanding of the market, refine its analytical tools and strengthen its market contacts.

If central banks exert a greater influence on financial market prices than previously, this could result in these prices becoming disconnected from the real economic environment, and only reacting to monetary policy. In fact, we observe that some traditional relationships and correlation patterns on the financial markets have changed in recent years. However, in addition to unconventional monetary policy measures, this is also due to the globalisation of financial markets and parallel economic and price developments. Moreover, the phenomenon of interpreting bad news from the economy as good news for the markets already existed before the financial crisis, especially on the equity markets. The question of just how much the greater activity of central banks on the financial markets has changed the traditional price relationships and correlation patterns is difficult to answer definitively. Ultimately, financial market prices continue to reflect investor expectations for the future development of the economy and inflation.

Imprimer

Marchés financiers et mise en oeuvre de la politique monétaire: un rapport en mutation

Apéritif "Marché monétaire", Genève, 17.11.2016

  • Texte intégral
    (524 KB)

Depuis la crise financière mondiale en 2008, les rapports entre politique monétaire et marchés financiers se sont modifiés à bien des égards. Pour les banques centrales, ces changements portent en premier lieu sur la transmission des impulsions de la politique monétaire à la conjoncture et aux prix des biens et services via les marchés financiers. Avant la crise, la mise en oeuvre de la politique monétaire reposait sur un seul instrument. En règle générale, il s'agissait d'un taux d'intérêt à court terme, géré plus ou moins directement par la banque centrale. Les impulsions de la politique monétaire étaient alors transmises à l'économie par l'intermédiaire du marché monétaire au moyen de différents canaux, tels que le taux d'intérêt, le crédit, le cours de change ou le prix des actifs.

Dans le sillage de la crise financière, les banques centrales ont ramené leurs taux directeurs à un niveau proche de zéro. Dans la perspective de l'époque, les possibilités offertes par l'instrument traditionnel des taux d'intérêt étaient par conséquent épuisées. Pour assurer malgré cela la transmission de la politique monétaire, les banques centrales ont alors recouru à des mesures non conventionnelles, dont certaines agissent non plus via le marché monétaire, mais directement sur les marchés des capitaux et des changes. Le champ d'action de la politique monétaire s'est ainsi élargi, et l'influence des banques centrales sur les marchés financiers a augmenté.

Le recours à des mesures non conventionnelles pose plusieurs défis pour la mise en oeuvre de la politique monétaire. La Banque nationale suisse, dont la politique monétaire repose, d'une part, sur le taux d'intérêt négatif et, d'autre part, sur des achats de devises, a dû approfondir sa connaissance des marchés, affiner ses instruments d'analyse et intensifier ses contacts avec les marchés.

Lorsque les banques centrales influent davantage sur les prix des actifs financiers, ceux-ci pourraient s'affranchir de l'économie réelle pour ne plus dépendre que de la politique monétaire. On observe dans les faits que certains rapports et corrélations classiques se sont modifiés ces dernières années sur les marchés financiers. Toutefois, cela s'explique non seulement par les mesures non conventionnelles de politique monétaire, mais aussi par la mondialisation des marchés financiers et par la convergence de l'évolution de la conjoncture et des prix. De plus, s'il arrive que de mauvaises nouvelles pour l'économie soient interprétées comme de bonnes nouvelles pour les marchés, ce phénomène existait déjà avant la crise, notamment sur les marchés des actions. Pour ces raisons, il n'est pas possible de déterminer avec certitude à quel degré l'activité parfois intense des banques centrales sur les marchés financiers impacte les relations de prix et les corrélations habituelles. En définitive, les cours des marchés financiers continuent néanmoins à refléter les attentes des investisseurs en ce qui concerne l'évolution future de l'économie et de l'inflation.