Print

Financial market infrastructures: Walking the line between stability and innovation

Sibos 2016, Geneva, 26.09.2016

  • Complete text
    (113 KB)

Financial market infrastructures are vital for various Swiss National Bank (SNB) activities, including the implementation of monetary policy. This part of the financial sector also stands to be affected by the rapid changes currently taking place in financial technology. Technological innovations are thus highly relevant for the SNB. The SNB's task is to strike the right balance between maintaining stable conditions and promoting useful innovation.

Although the financial industry's core functions - funding new investments, offering investment and asset protection strategies, and executing payments - will remain largely unchanged, the technologies and channels by which it delivers these services are changing. The challenge for regulators and central banks is to make sure they fully understand the effects - and side-effects - of these new mechanisms at an early stage. Central banks and regulators have a duty to protect the safety of financial market infrastructures, but they also have a duty to ensure that they operate efficiently.

Until recently, financial market infrastructures had been moving towards centralisation. However, technological progress could reverse this trend, making decentralisation the new paradigm. The keywords here are 'distributed ledger' and 'blockchain'. There will nevertheless continue to be a role for centralised infrastructures, which already operate at low cost and meet high safety standards. It is, however, possible that we will see conventional and new technologies co-existing or even blending in the future. Such new technology is particularly relevant for central banks in the context of the ongoing debate about central bank money potentially being issued via a distributed ledger. This issue raises a host of central bank-specific questions that will need to be examined in more detail. The SNB is following and analysing developments in this arena closely and is actively involved in discussions with market participants, regulators and other central banks.

Certain other developments are already having a tangible effect on financial market infrastructures - for instance on cashless payment systems - and, this, in turn, has ramifications for the SNB. According to its mandate, the SNB is obliged to facilitate and secure the operation of such systems. In April of this year, the latest generation of the Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) system, which operates under the strategic guidance of the SNB, was launched. Support for emerging messaging standards and plans to extend SIC's operating hours next year will set the stage for cashless payment innovations which will ultimately benefit companies as well as private customers.

For financial market infrastructure innovations to be successful, market participants, regulators and central banks must all be convinced they are both safe and efficient. It is therefore essential that these parties maintain an active dialogue.

Imprimer

Les infrastructures des marchés financiers entre stabilité et innovation

Sibos 2016, Genève, 26.09.2016

  • Texte intégral
    (117 KB)

Les infrastructures des marchés financiers jouent un rôle essentiel pour diverses tâches de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS), dont la mise en oeuvre de la politique monétaire. Les avancées fulgurantes que connaît actuellement la technologie financière toucheront aussi ce domaine de la finance. Les innovations technologiques revêtent donc aussi pour la BNS une grande importance. Dans ce contexte, il est primordial à la fois de conserver des conditions d'ensemble stables et de favoriser les innovations utiles.

Les fonctions fondamentales du secteur financier - financement des investissements, placement du patrimoine, conservation des titres et exécution des paiements - demeurent inchangées dans l'ensemble. Ce qui change est la manière dont ces prestations sont proposées. Le défi que doivent relever les instances de réglementation et les banques centrales est de comprendre correctement et suffisamment tôt les conséquences, tant positives que négatives, des nouvelles technologies. Les instances de réglementation et les banques centrales sont tenues, d'une part, de garantir la sécurité des infrastructures des marchés financiers et, d'autre part, d'en promouvoir l'efficacité.

Jusqu'à récemment, les infrastructures des marchés financiers se caractérisaient par une tendance à la centralisation. Le progrès technologique pourrait désormais entraîner une décentralisation. Dans ce contexte, on parle souvent des registres distribués (distributed ledger) et de la blockchain. Néanmoins, les infrastructures centralisées des marchés financiers, qui opèrent à bas coûts tout en assurant une grande sécurité, garderont leur légitimité. On peut toutefois imaginer qu'à l'avenir, les nouvelles technologies coexisteront avec les technologies conventionnelles, voire qu'elles soient combinées. Ces nouvelles technologies revêtent une importance particulière pour les banques centrales dans le débat actuel portant sur la possibilité d'émettre la monnaie de banque centrale à l'aide de registres distribués. Ce sujet soulève toutefois de nombreuses questions afférentes aux banques centrales et à leur politique, qui doivent être examinées plus en détail. La BNS suit et analyse avec attention les avancées de la technologie, et entretient des échanges réguliers avec les participants aux marchés, les instances de réglementation et d'autres banques centrales.

D'autres développements touchent cependant d'ores et déjà les infrastructures des marchés financiers et, partant, la BNS. Les systèmes de paiement sans numéraire, dont la Banque nationale facilite et assure le bon fonctionnement conformément à son mandat, en constituent un bon exemple. Aussi, le système de paiement Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC), dont la gestion stratégique relève de la BNS, a été remanié en profondeur, et la nouvelle génération de ce système a été mise en service en avril 2016. L'intégration d'une norme novatrice pour les échanges de données et l'adaptation des horaires d'exploitation du système SIC, prévue pour l'année prochaine, constituent des conditions importantes à l'introduction d'innovations qui bénéficieront en fin de compte aux clients particuliers et commerciaux.

Les changements adoptés par les infrastructures des marchés financiers sont en mesure de s'imposer s'ils convainquent à la fois les participants aux marchés, les instances de réglementation et les banques centrales quant à leur sécurité et à leur efficacité. C'est pourquoi le dialogue est indispensable entre ces acteurs.