Print

The euro and Swiss monetary policy

Europa Forum, Lucerne, 02.05.2016

  • Complete text
    (437 KB)

The EU countries, and especially those belonging to the euro area, are by far Switzerland's most important foreign trade partners. Consequently, the monetary policy of the European Central Bank (ECB) is particularly relevant for our country. In recent years, the ECB's expansionary monetary policy has encouraged the economic recovery in the euro area, which in turn has bolstered demand for Swiss products. However, the weakening of the euro has put Swiss producers in a bind versus their European competitors and presented problems for Switzerland's monetary policymakers.

Despite our country's close economic ties to the euro area, introducing the euro was never seriously contemplated in Switzerland. When the monetary system established in Bretton Woods collapsed, Switzerland decided to adopt a system of floating exchange rates - a decision which has, over the long term, proved its worth. At times, however, flexible exchange rates can be subject to considerable fluctuations. Over the last 40 years, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) has therefore twice introduced a temporary exchange rate floor in order to cap substantial Swiss franc appreciation: first in October 1978 against the German mark, and latterly in September 2011 against the euro. A minimum exchange rate is not a long-term instrument. It can, however, give guidance to the markets in a period of extreme uncertainty - when one's own currency is significantly overvalued against all other currencies - and thus contribute to ensuring adequate monetary conditions.

The SNB discontinued the minimum exchange rate against the euro in January 2015. At the same time, it moved interest rates on sight deposits at the SNB deeper into negative territory, and reaffirmed its willingness to intervene in the foreign exchange market as necessary. The SNB's monetary policy thus helps to stabilise price developments and support economic activity. The SNB will continue to make the most of the latitude afforded by monetary sovereignty to respond pragmatically to the challenges ahead. However, monetary policy cannot remedy all economic ills, especially those of a structural nature. It is therefore important for companies to continue operating with a high degree of flexibility and for policymakers to ensure favourable economic conditions.

Imprimer

L'euro et la politique monétaire suisse

Europa Forum, Lucerne, 02.05.2016

  • Texte intégral
    (441 KB)

L'Union européenne et plus précisément les pays de la zone euro sont de loin les principaux partenaires commerciaux de la Suisse. De ce fait, la politique monétaire de la Banque centrale européenne revêt un intérêt particulier pour le pays. Ces dernières années, sa politique monétaire expansionniste a favorisé la reprise économique dans la zone euro, stimulant ainsi la demande de produits helvétiques. Cependant, l'affaiblissement de l'euro a placé les producteurs suisses dans une situation difficile face à leurs concurrents européens et confronté la politique monétaire suisse à divers problèmes.

Malgré les relations économiques étroites qui l'unissent à la zone euro, la Suisse n'a jamais envisagé d'adopter la monnaie européenne. Après l'effondrement du système monétaire de Bretton Woods, elle a opté pour un régime de cours de change flottants, une décision qui s'est révélée être la bonne à long terme. Les cours de change flottants peuvent toutefois connaître des fluctuations marquées. Aussi, durant les quarante dernières années, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a-t-elle introduit à deux reprises un seuil de change minimal temporaire en vue d'enrayer la forte appréciation du franc: la première fois en octobre 1978, pour le mark allemand, et la seconde en septembre 2011, pour l'euro. Un cours plancher ne constitue pas un instrument adéquat sur la durée. Néanmoins, lors d'une phase d'extrême incertitude pendant laquelle la monnaie d'un pays est nettement surévaluée par rapport à toutes les autres monnaies, il peut donner un point de repère aux marchés et contribuer au maintien d'un cadre monétaire approprié.

La Banque nationale a aboli le cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour un euro en janvier 2015. Parallèlement, elle a adapté une nouvelle fois vers le bas, dans la zone négative, le taux d'intérêt appliqué aux avoirs à vue détenus à la BNS et réaffirmé sa disposition à intervenir au besoin sur le marché des changes. Elle contribue ainsi à stabiliser l'évolution des prix et à soutenir l'activité économique. La Banque nationale continuera, à l'avenir également, de mettre à profit la marge de manœuvre que lui confère la souveraineté monétaire pour faire face, avec pragmatisme, aux défis qui se présenteront à elle. La politique monétaire n'est pas toute-puissante. En particulier, elle ne permet pas de résoudre des problèmes structurels. Aussi est-il essentiel que les entreprises continuent de faire preuve de flexibilité, et que la politique économique générale garantisse de bonnes conditions.