Print

Reform proposals for the SNB - expectations and reality

108th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 29.04.2016

  • Complete text
    (49 KB)

In Switzerland, as in other countries, the shocks suffered in the financial crisis have unleashed a broad-based debate on the role of central banks, and many ideas for reform have emerged from this. Intensive discussion about the monetary order is a good sign for a society. Exchanging opinions in this way can help bring about a better understanding of monetary policy. For Switzerland, with its direct democracy, it is particularly important, because voters are frequently called upon to decide on these sorts of matters. Consequently, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) informs the general public comprehensively about monetary policy and the currency order, and also makes statements on reform proposals. In doing so, it helps achieve solutions that are as appropriate as possible.

One of these proposals foresees an extension of the SNB's statutory mandate. Alongside the goal of price stability, the advocates believe that new goals such as full employment and exchange rate stability should be prescribed by law. However, this would only build up hopes which were impossible for the SNB to fulfil in reality. Furthermore, the SNB is already committed to conducting monetary policy in the interests of the country as a whole. In doing so, it has to make difficult trade-offs in which employment and the exchange rate are major variables. Sometimes, conflicts can arise between the goals of price stability, currency stability and full employment. At these times it is particularly important that the SNB's mandate embodies a clear and unambiguous goal - price stability.

A second proposal concerns the provision of a better basis for monetary policy decisions. The idea is to achieve this by enlarging the Governing Board. However, the foundation for monetary policy decisions is already broad-based since they include many different assessments. The small size of the Governing Board facilitates productive discussions. With an enlargement of the board, interest groups might be tempted to place their 'people' on it which could 'politicise' the body.

How can the SNB's thoughts and actions be made even more transparent? A third proposal argues that one way this can be achieved is by publishing the minutes of Governing Board meetings on monetary policy decisions. However, the Governing Board already provides the general public with detailed explanations of the analyses and considerations behind its decisions. Moreover, publishing the minutes would have a detrimental effect on free and open discussion within the body. In addition, such a publication would run counter to the culture of collegiality as it is understood and practised in many executive bodies in this country.

Monetary history shows us that there is no ideal monetary order for all times, and that adjustments can be necessary. Care must be taken in doing so, however, since a central bank must be the embodiment of stability. Therefore, reform ideas with high expectations must measure up to reality, and reality is often harsh.

Imprimer

Propositions de réforme pour la BNS - Entre exigences et réalité

108e Assemblée générale ordinaire des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse, Berne, 29.04.2016

  • Texte intégral
    (51 KB)

Les secousses déclenchées par la crise financière ont conduit, en Suisse également, à un vaste débat sur le rôle des banques centrales ainsi qu'à de nombreuses idées de réforme. Que l'ordre monétaire suscite d'intenses discussions est un signe positif pour une société. Un tel échange peut conduire à une meilleure compréhension de la politique monétaire. Cet aspect est particulièrement important dans un pays de démocratie directe comme la Suisse, où le souverain doit statuer régulièrement sur de telles questions. Aussi la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) informe-t-elle le public de manière circonstanciée au sujet de la politique et du système monétaires, et prend-elle également position sur les propositions de réforme. Elle contribue ainsi à trouver les solutions les plus pertinentes.

Une première proposition envisage d'élargir le mandat de la BNS: il conviendrait d'ancrer dans la loi des objectifs de plein emploi et de stabilité des cours de change en plus de celui de la stabilité des prix. Mais une telle réforme ferait naître des espoirs que la BNS ne serait pas en mesure de satisfaire concrètement. En outre, aujourd'hui déjà, la BNS a pour mandat de conduire une politique monétaire servant les intérêts généraux du pays. Elle doit, dans ce cadre, procéder à des pesées d'intérêts délicates, pour lesquelles l'emploi et les cours de change constituent des paramètres capitaux. De surcroît, les objectifs de stabilité des prix, de stabilité monétaire et de plein emploi peuvent parfois entrer en conflit. Il est donc particulièrement important que la BNS soit chargée de remplir un objectif clair et sans équivoque: la stabilité des prix.

Une deuxième proposition entend donner une meilleure assise aux décisions de politique monétaire: il faudrait, à cet effet, agrandir la Direction générale. Mais à l'heure actuelle, les décisions de cette dernière reposent déjà sur une large assise, puisqu'elles se fondent sur un grand nombre d'avis. La petite taille de la Direction générale permet des discussions productives. En outre, agrandir la Direction générale ferait courir le risque que des groupes d'intérêt soient tentés d'y placer leurs représentants, ce qui pourrait faire de cet organe un enjeu politique.

Comment rendre les réflexions et l'action de la BNS encore plus transparentes? Une troisième proposition suggère à cette fin de publier les procès-verbaux des séances de la Direction générale consacrées aux décisions de politique monétaire. Mais, aujourd'hui déjà, la Direction générale informe en détail le public des analyses et des réflexions qui sous-tendent ses décisions. De plus, la publication des procès-verbaux empêcherait une discussion ouverte au sein de la Direction générale. Elle serait en outre contraire à l'esprit de collégialité, tel que de nombreuses autorités le connaissent et le cultivent dans le pays.

L'histoire monétaire de la Suisse nous enseigne qu'il n'existe pas d'ordre monétaire parfait à jamais et que des adaptations peuvent s'avérer nécessaires. Toutefois, dans ce contexte, il faut faire preuve de discernement. En effet, une banque centrale doit incarner la stabilité. Des idées de réforme comportant des exigences élevées doivent par conséquent se confronter à une réalité souvent brutale.