Print

Swiss National Bank - independent and firmly anchored

107th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 24.04.2015

  • Complete text
    (54 KB)

The policy of active crisis management on the part of the central banks has triggered a broad international debate on the mandate, independence, responsibility and accountability of these institutions. Public interest in institutional questions relating to the Swiss National Bank (SNB), too, has increased palpably - and not just since the discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate. In the interests of a reasoned debate, it is useful to remind ourselves of the advantages of the existing institutional framework: it formulates the SNB's monetary policy mandate precisely and grants it the freedom necessary for fulfilment. The independence the SNB enjoys is purely a means to an end - ensuring that it is in a position to fulfil its mandate as effectively as possible. The Governing Board's monetary policy decisions are based on a broad range of information sources. The wide-ranging duty of accountability plays an important role in ensuring that the SNB is firmly anchored in our political system.

The rules governing the calculation and distribution of SNB profits are likewise a key component of the institutional framework as they help secure the SNB's freedom to act in the long term. This explains why the legislature attaches such importance to ensuring that the SNB has sufficient equity capital, and why it gives allocations to provisions (i.e. the creation of equity capital) priority over dividend payments and distributions to the Confederation and the cantons. Although, for the first time in the SNB's history, no dividend was paid in 2013, conditions for the payment of a dividend and distributions for the 2014 financial year have been met. The Confederation and the cantons are to receive a supplementary distribution of CHF 1 billion. It should be noted that it is not possible to 'catch up' on an unpaid dividend at a later date as there is no legal basis for making such a claim.

The established institutional framework ensures that the SNB never 'loses touch' with developments in the real economy. The SNB has a duty to inform the public about its monetary policy decisions at regular intervals and to account for its actions. Independence and accountability are two sides of the same coin. In monetary policy matters, the SNB must always be guided by the long-term interests of the country as a whole. This may include making difficult trade-offs, but the SNB cannot turn a blind eye to realities. For Switzerland - an open, highly interconnected economy with strong foreign trade links - international developments are particularly important. Against this backdrop, the SNB cannot shield Switzerland's economy against all risks and crises.

Imprimer

Notre Banque nationale - indépendante et bien intégrée

107e Assemblée générale ordinaire des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse, Berne, 24.04.2015

  • Texte intégral
    (57 KB)

La politique menée par les banques centrales en vue de combattre la crise a déclenché un vaste débat sur le mandat et l'indépendance de ces institutions, ainsi que sur leur responsabilité et leur obligation de rendre compte. L'intérêt du public pour ces questions d'ordre institutionnel s'est accru également au sujet de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS), et ce déjà bien avant la suppression du cours plancher. Il est utile, dans la perspective d'une discussion objective, de rappeler les points forts du cadre réglementaire en vigueur. Tout d'abord, le mandat de politique monétaire de la BNS est défini avec précision, et la marge de manœuvre nécessaire à son accomplissement est garantie. De plus, l'indépendance de la BNS n'est qu'un moyen au service d'une fin et permet à cette dernière de remplir au mieux sa mission. Par ailleurs, les décisions de politique monétaire prises par la Direction générale reposent sur un vaste socle d'informations. Enfin, l'obligation de rendre compte contribue à l'intégration de la BNS au sein de notre Etat.

Les règles présidant à la détermination et à la distribution du bénéfice de la BNS représentent elles aussi un élément important du cadre institutionnel. Elles visent à garantir à long terme la capacité d'action de la Banque nationale. Il importe par conséquent au législateur que la BNS soit dotée de fonds propres adéquats. Aussi celui-ci a-t-il donné la priorité à la constitution de provisions, c'est-à-dire au renforcement des fonds propres, et non au versement d'un dividende en faveur des actionnaires et à la distribution d'un bénéfice à la Confédération et aux cantons. Si les actionnaires ont dû, pour la première fois dans l'histoire de la BNS, renoncer au versement d'un dividende au titre de l'exercice 2013, les conditions pour le versement d'un dividende et la distribution d'un bénéfice au titre de 2014 sont réunies. Il est prévu que la Confédération et les cantons reçoivent un montant supplémentaire de 1 milliard de francs. Par contre, faute de base légale correspondante, il est impossible, de compenser rétroactivement l'absence de dividende au titre de l'exercice précédent.

Le cadre institutionnel a fait ses preuves et garantit que la Banque nationale garde le sens des réalités. L'indépendance est indissociable du devoir incombant à la BNS d'expliquer ses décisions de politique monétaire et d'en rendre compte. Dans ce domaine, la BNS doit toujours se laisser guider par les intérêts généraux à long terme de notre pays. Amenée parfois à faire des choix difficiles, elle ne doit jamais perdre de vue la réalité. L'évolution internationale, notamment, est capitale pour notre économie ouverte et étroitement liée au reste du monde. Dans ce contexte, la Banque nationale n'est pas en mesure de préserver l'économie suisse de tous les dangers ni de tous les chocs.