Print

Switzerland at the heart of Europe: between independence and interdependence

Université libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, 17.02.2015

  • Complete text
    (857 KB)

Switzerland has a long history of political independence. But political autonomy does not mean economic isolation. Today, the Swiss economy is amongst the most internationally integrated in the world. As a small country lacking in natural resources, Switzerland started very early on to cultivate cross-border economic relations. Economic integration has contributed greatly to Switzerland's prosperity.

The flipside of the coin, however, is the country's broad exposure to economic and financial developments abroad, as demonstrated by the global financial crisis and its aftermath. In 2009, activity in Switzerland declined very significantly. However, the impact was softer than in the euro area. Several structural factors have played an important role in strengthening the resilience of the Swiss economy to shocks. Structural changes in the composition of exports, a flexible labour market and sound public finances have been key in allowing Swiss businesses to cope with a very difficult international environment.

The unavoidable discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate against the euro in mid-January 2015 was also a powerful example of interdependence. The decision provoked strong reactions on international financial markets and the Swiss franc appreciated sharply. The significant overvaluation of the Swiss currency means that the economy is currently facing strong headwinds and a number of challenges. The Swiss National Bank has lowered interest rates to unprecedented levels to cushion the effects of the appreciation. Moreover, it will continue to take the exchange rate situation into consideration when formulating its monetary policy. It will therefore remain active in the foreign exchange market, should this prove necessary in order to influence monetary conditions.

Nevertheless, the near future will see major challenges in Switzerland. Today more than ever, the Swiss economy has to focus on its structural strengths and flexibility, to ensure its international competitiveness and thus the country's prosperity in the future.

Imprimer

La Suisse au cœur de l'Europe: entre indépendance et interdépendance

Université libre de Bruxelles, Bruxelles, 17.02.2015

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Switzerland at the heart of Europe: between independence and interdependence"
    PDF (857 KB)

La Suisse a une longue tradition d'indépendance politique. Mais cette indépendance ne signifie pas qu'elle soit isolée sur le plan économique. En effet, notre pays compte aujourd'hui parmi les plus intégrés dans l'économie mondiale. De petite taille et dépourvu de ressources naturelles, il a commencé très tôt à nouer des relations économiques au-delà de ses frontières.

Si l'intégration économique a largement contribué à la prospérité du pays, elle entraîne aussi une forte exposition aux développements économiques et financiers à l'étranger, comme l'ont montré la crise financière et ses répercussions. En 2009, l'activité a très fortement ralenti en Suisse. Mais l'impact de la crise y a été plus faible que dans la zone euro. Plusieurs facteurs structurels ont considérablement favorisé la résilience de l'économie suisse face aux chocs. Des changements dans la composition des exportations, un marché du travail flexible et des finances publiques saines ont permis aux entreprises suisses de faire face à un environnement international très difficile.

La suppression du cours plancher de l'euro à la mi-janvier 2015, qui était inévitable, illustre parfaitement cette situation d'interdépendance. Cette décision a ainsi entraîné de vives réactions sur les marchés financiers internationaux, et le franc s'est notablement renforcé. Sa surévaluation marquée confronte l'économie à d'importantes difficultés et à nombre de défis. Afin d'atténuer les effets de l'appréciation du franc, la Banque nationale suisse a abaissé les taux d'intérêt à des niveaux inédits. De plus, elle continuera de prendre en compte la situation sur le marché des changes pour définir sa politique monétaire. Au besoin, elle restera active sur ce marché afin d'influer sur les conditions monétaires.

Il n'en reste pas moins que notre pays devra prochainement faire face à d'importants défis. Aujourd'hui plus que jamais, notre économie doit pouvoir compter sur ses forces structurelles et sa flexibilité afin de rester compétitive à l'échelle internationale et, par là même, de garantir la prospérité du pays.