Print

Reconciling Switzerland's minimum exchange rate and current account surplus

Peterson Institute for International Economics, Washington D.C., 08.10.2013

  • Complete text
    (466 KB)

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) established a minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 against the euro two years ago. In so doing, it took action against an excessive strengthening of the Swiss franc that was threatening price stability and the Swiss economy. This measure was thus essential, irrelevant of Switzerland's large current account surplus. With interest rates close to zero, the minimum exchange rate helped avoid a dangerous tightening of monetary conditions.

The Swiss current account surplus is due to very specific factors. The goods trade account, for instance, makes only a modest contribution. The three most important elements with regard to the current account surplus are investment income from Switzerland's substantial net international investment position; financial sector earnings from business with customers abroad, which is traditionally a significant source of revenue for Switzerland; and earnings from merchanting, which have risen sharply over the past decade.

These three elements are dependent on developments abroad, international financial markets, and global demand for commodities. The Swiss franc exchange rate, by comparison, does not play a decisive role. Thus, Switzerland's current account surplus gives no indication about the strength of the Swiss franc. Nor is the surplus a suitable measure for assessing Switzerland's share in global imbalances. It is much more the case that Switzerland and its extensive level of direct investment abroad contribute significantly to balanced global economic growth.

SNB monetary policy is focused on ensuring price stability, while taking due account of economic developments. To fulfil this mandate, the SNB must secure appropriate monetary conditions. The current account surplus does not play a role in monetary policy. In an open economy like Switzerland, however, sizeable exchange rate fluctuations have a strong impact on production and prices. In the current environment, and with interest rates close to zero, the minimum exchange rate remains essential. The EUR/CHF exchange rate has settled at slightly above the 1.20 mark since September 2012. However, the risks in the world economy are still to the downside and the Swiss franc is still high. Therefore, the minimum exchange rate can prevent an undesirable tightening of monetary conditions in the event that the upward pressure on the Swiss franc should intensify once again.

Imprimer

Le cours plancher et l'excédent de la balance des transactions courantes sont conciliables

Peterson Institute for International Economics, Washington D.C., 08.10.2013

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Reconciling Switzerland's minimum exchange rate and current account surplus "
    PDF (466 KB)

La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a fixé il y a deux ans un cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro. Par cette intervention, elle s'opposait à une appréciation excessive du franc, qui menaçait la stabilité des prix et l'économie suisse. Cette mesure était capitale, indépendamment du fort excédent de la balance suisse des transactions courantes. Les taux d'intérêt étant par ailleurs proches de zéro, le cours plancher a contribué à éviter un dangereux durcissement des conditions monétaires.

L'excédent de la balance suisse des transactions courantes - qui n'est que peu influencé par la balance commerciale - est attribuable à trois principaux facteurs: premièrement, les revenus de capitaux découlant de la forte position extérieure nette de la Suisse; deuxièmement, les recettes que le secteur financier, traditionnellement important, tire des opérations passées avec la clientèle étrangère; troisièmement, les revenus du commerce de transit, qui ont considérablement augmenté au cours des dix dernières années.

Ces trois éléments dépendent de l'évolution de la situation à l'étranger, des marchés financiers internationaux et de la demande mondiale de matières premières. En revanche, le cours du franc ne joue pas un rôle décisif. L'excédent de la balance suisse des transactions courantes ne fournit donc aucune indication sur la force du franc. Il n'est pas non plus un critère approprié pour évaluer la contribution de la Suisse aux déséquilibres mondiaux. Au contraire, notre pays participe largement à une croissance économique mondiale équilibrée, de par son fort volume d'investissements directs à l'étranger.

La politique monétaire de la BNS vise à assurer la stabilité des prix en tenant compte de l'évolution de la conjoncture. Pour accomplir ce mandat, la Banque nationale doit garantir un cadre monétaire approprié. L'excédent de la balance des transactions courantes ne joue aucun rôle pour la politique monétaire. Mais dans une économie ouverte comme la Suisse, les fortes fluctuations des cours de change se répercutent largement sur la production et les prix. Le cours plancher demeure indispensable dans l'environnement actuel, caractérisé notamment par des taux d'intérêt proches de zéro. Depuis septembre 2012, le cours est légèrement supérieur à 1,20 franc pour 1 euro. Toutefois, les risques qui pèsent sur l'économie mondiale demeurent orientés à la baisse, et le franc reste élevé. Dans ce contexte, le cours plancher permet de prévenir un durcissement inopportun des conditions monétaires, si la pression à la hausse sur notre monnaie devait s'intensifier.