Print

Credit - is the sky the limit?

ICMB, Geneva, 16.04.2013

  • Complete text
    (714 KB)

Over the past few years, the growth of credit volumes has been significant, with the result that credit volumes relative to gross domestic product (GDP) have reached new historical peaks in Switzerland. Together with persistently increasing real estate prices, this spells out conditions that may lead to subsequent financial instability. How can we understand these recent developments in credit volumes? And can this understanding form a basis for predicting the likely future evolution of this variable in Switzerland?

Clearly the credit-to-GDP ratio cannot grow indefinitely because otherwise the cost of servicing of the debt would end up exhausting the whole of GDP. The recent development must therefore either be viewed as a structural adjustment to a new plateau, or as a cyclical upswing to be followed by a later correction.

Although structural factors can possibly explain a high level of credit-to-GDP in Switzerland in international comparison, they are unlikely to rationalize the most recent upward move in this ratio. By contrast, cyclical drivers appear highly plausible in the current circumstances. Specifically, the long period of ultra-low interest rates feeding into and being reinforced by rising real estate prices, combined with the potential for some behavioral biases, have a higher explanatory power.

The lessons from this analysis are crystal clear. The recent developments in the credit market translate for the Swiss economy into a state of high vulnerability requiring caution and the exercise of responsibility by all concerned. The activation of the countercyclical capital buffer and the adoption of other prudential measures have to be seen in this perspective.

Imprimer

Croissance des crédits: jusqu'où ira-t-elle?

ICMB, Genève, 16.04.2013

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Credit - is the sky the limit?"
    PDF (714 KB)

Le volume des crédits s'est fortement accru ces dernières années en Suisse, si bien que sa part dans le produit intérieur brut (PIB) a atteint de nouveaux sommets historiques. Conjuguée à la hausse constante des prix immobiliers, cette situation favorise des conditions risquant de menacer la stabilité financière. Comment pouvons-nous expliquer les développements récents au niveau du volume des crédits? Ces raisons peuvent-elle nous permettre de formuler des hypothèses sur l'évolution probable de cette variable en Suisse?

Il est évident que la part des crédits dans le PIB ne peut pas augmenter indéfiniment: le service de la dette finirait autrement par absorber l'intégralité du PIB. L'évolution récente doit donc être considérée soit comme un ajustement structurel vers un nouveau plateau, soit comme un redressement de nature cyclique qui sera suivi d'une correction.

S'il est possible que des facteurs structurels expliquent la part élevée des crédits dans le PIB suisse en comparaison internationale, il est peu probable qu'ils soient à l'origine de la progression observée récemment. Par contre, le rôle de facteurs conjoncturels semble bien plus apparent. C'est notamment le cas de la période prolongée de taux d'intérêt historiquement bas, qui alimente la hausse des prix de l'immobilier tout en étant renforcée par celle-ci, dans un contexte où existe un potentiel pour des comportements non rationnels.

Les leçons que l'on peut tirer de cette analyse sont évidentes. En Suisse, les évolutions récentes sur le marché des crédits se traduisent par une situation de grande vulnérabilité qui exige prudence et responsabilité de la part de tous les acteurs concernés. L'activation du volant anticyclique de fonds propres et l'adoption d'autres mesures prudentielles doivent être considérées dans cette perspective.