Print

Monetary policy in the financial crisis - Measures, effects, risks

Swiss Banking Global Symposium, Zurich, 16.11.2012

  • Complete text
    (151 KB)

Central banks all over the world reacted to the financial and economic crisis with expansionary monetary policies. When short-term interest rates reached the zero lower bound, they continued this through unconventional measures. These unconventional instruments include signalling the path of future short-term interest rates in order to exert pressure on medium and long-term interest rates (forward guidance), purchases of medium and long-term securities with the same aim (quantitative easing), and foreign currency purchases in order to influence the exchange rate.

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) set a minimum exchange rate against the euro on 6 September 2011. Since then, the SNB has made it perfectly clear that it is prepared to enforce this minimum rate through unlimited foreign currency purchases, if necessary. The objective is to prevent severe damage to the Swiss economy from a substantial and possibly long-lasting overvaluation of the Swiss franc.

Conventional and unconventional measures taken by central banks have helped to prevent the global economy from drifting into deflation and depression. However, the very expansionary global monetary policy is also associated with a number of risks. One danger is that central banks will be overburdened. The slow recovery of the global economy reminds us that monetary policy is not in a position to solve all problems. Fiscal consolidation and the structural reforms required for the improvement of growth potential in many countries cannot be replaced by monetary policy measures. For monetary policy, the maintenance of long-term price stability remains essential.

Imprimer

La politique monétaire face à la crise financière: mesures, effets et risques

Swiss Banking Global Symposium, Zurich, 16.11.2012

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Geldpolitik in der Finanzkrise: Massnahmen, Wirkungen und Risiken"
    PDF (146 KB)
  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Monetary policy in the financial crisis - Measures, effects, risks"
    PDF (151 KB)

Face à la crise financière et économique, les banques centrales du monde entier ont réagi par une politique expansionniste qu'elles ont prolongée en prenant des mesures exceptionnelles lorsque les taux d'intérêt à court terme se sont rapprochés de zéro. Ces instruments non conventionnels comprennent la forward guidance, une stratégie qui vise à exercer une pression sur les taux à moyen et long terme en indiquant la tendance future des taux courts; des acquisitions de titres à moyenne et longue durée servant le même objectif (quantitative easing); ainsi que des achats de devises destinés à influer sur les cours de change.

La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a fixé le 6 septembre 2011 un cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour un euro. Depuis, elle n'a laissé subsister aucun doute sur sa détermination à faire prévaloir le cours plancher en achetant si nécessaire des devises en quantité illimitée. Cette mesure a pour but d'empêcher que l'économie suisse ne subisse de graves dommages du fait d'une très forte surévaluation du franc sur une période prolongée.

Les mesures conventionnelles et non conventionnelles prises par les banques centrales ont permis d'éviter à l'économie mondiale d'entrer dans une phase de déflation et de dépression. Néanmoins, la politique monétaire très expansionniste menée à l'échelle internationale n'est pas exempte de risques. Les banques centrales pourraient en effet se sentir dépassées. Comme le rappelle la lenteur de la reprise de l'économie mondiale, la politique monétaire n'est pas à même de résoudre tous les problèmes. Ainsi, les mesures de politique monétaire ne sauraient remplacer la consolidation budgétaire et les réformes structurelles qui sont nécessaires dans de nombreux pays afin d'améliorer le potentiel de croissance. L'objectif premier de la politique monétaire reste d'assurer la stabilité des prix à long terme.