Print

Taming the financial cycle

SUERF Colloquium, Zurich, 05.09.2012

  • Complete text
    (682 KB)

The global crisis has clearly underlined the need for a regulatory approach addressing systemic risk issues head-on. This is the aim of macroprudential instruments which are focused, first, on enhancing the resilience of the financial system to adverse shocks, and second, on trying to preventively contain the build-up of systemic risk. This macroprudential approach provides the necessary complement to sound microprudential regulation and supervision as well as to a monetary policy that focuses primarily on price stability.

The case for macroprudential policies applies strongly in Switzerland. While the Swiss economy has been less affected by the recent crisis than many others, medium-term risk to financial stability has been building up, driven by persistently strong momentum in the mortgage and real estate markets. The dismal consequences of the recent global crisis as well as our own housing market crisis experience of the early 1990s are stark reminders that we should not take any chances in this regard.

Against this background, the availability of a new macroprudential instrument, a countercyclical capital buffer (CCB), is an important step forward. It is an incentive-oriented instrument based on the principle of prudence. It can and will - if necessary - be used in a flexible way to deal with the problem of cyclical risks to financial stability.

Imprimer

Maîtriser les cycles financiers

SUERF Colloquium, Zurich, 05.09.2012

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Taming the financial cycle"
    PDF (682 KB)

La crise mondiale a clairement souligné la nécessité d'une approche réglementaire pour faire face à la problématique des risques systémiques. C'est précisément dans ce but que sont conçus les instruments macroprudentiels, qui visent à accroître la résilience du système financier face aux chocs négatifs et à prévenir la formation d'un risque systémique. Cette approche macroprudentielle est le complément nécessaire d'une réglementation et d'une supervision microprudentielles saines ainsi que d'une politique monétaire visant en priorité la stabilité des prix.

Ces instruments macroprudentiels revêtent une importance capitale notamment en Suisse. En effet, si l'économie helvétique a été moins affectée par la crise récente que nombre d'économies comparables, l'évolution marquée et durable enregistrée sur les marchés hypothécaire et de l'immobilier favorise l'accumulation de risques à moyen terme pour la stabilité financière. Les conséquences désastreuses de la récente crise mondiale et de la crise de l'immobilier résidentiel qu'a connue la Suisse au début des années 1990 sont là pour nous rappeler que nous ne devons pas prendre de risques en la matière.

L'adoption d'un nouvel instrument macroprudentiel, le volant anticyclique de fonds propres, constitue à cet égard un progrès important. Il s'agit d'un instrument incitatif qui s'appuie sur le principe de prudence. En cas de nécessité, il sera utilisé d'une manière souple pour endiguer les risques cycliques pour la stabilité financière.