Print

Challenges for Switzerland as a financial centre

NZZ Capital Market Forum, Zurich, 03.09.2012

  • Complete text
    (136 KB)

The financial industry, in general, and a healthy and stable banking sector, in particular, are of vital interest for the Swiss National Bank (SNB) and Switzerland. First, the banking sector plays a crucial part in the transmission of monetary policy due to its key financial intermediary role in the economy. Second, the financial industry contributes substantially to the wealth of our country. But the banking sector can also propagate shocks to the rest of the economy, which are potentially large because of the size and the international orientation of the financial industry. Therefore, it is a major challenge for Switzerland as a financial centre to make sure the banking sector is resilient so it can cushion shocks.

 

The Swiss financial industry will itself have to cope with several challenges. First, in wealth management, revenues will continue to be depressed. Competition will intensify, and wealth management will have to adapt to changing international standards. Second, a further build-up of imbalances in the residential real estate market could be followed by a significant price correction. Furthermore, the systemically important banks have to adapt to new supervisory requirements that address "too big to fail" issues. A great deal has been achieved in strengthening the resilience of the banking system by mitigating systemic risks already. One important achievement is the countercyclical capital buffer. This flexible instrument increases the loss absorbing capacity of the banking system and helps to lean against the build-up of excesses.

 

An independent, stability-driven central bank is a necessary condition for a competitive and vibrant financial centre. This condition, however, is far from being sufficient. What are also needed are banks who are able to draw the appropriate conclusions and to change course in time - a capability Swiss bankers have demonstrated throughout history.

Imprimer

Des défis pour la Suisse en tant que centre financier

Forum NZZ Capital Market, Zurich, 03.09.2012

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Challenges for Switzerland as a financial centre"
    PDF (136 KB)

Le secteur financier en général, et en particulier un secteur bancaire sain et stable, sont d'une importance capitale pour la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) comme pour notre pays. D'une part, parce que le secteur bancaire est essentiel pour la transmission de la politique monétaire, du fait de son rôle clé d'intermédiaire financier dans l'économie. D'autre part, car le secteur financier contribue de manière substantielle à la richesse de notre pays. Mais les banques peuvent également propager des chocs aux autres secteurs de l'économie, chocs susceptibles de prendre une grande ampleur du fait de l'importance du secteur financier et de son ouverture sur le marché international. C'est pourquoi la Suisse en tant que centre financier doit s'assurer que le secteur bancaire est suffisamment résilient pour amortir de tels chocs.

 

Le secteur financier suisse doit par ailleurs faire face à de nombreux autres défis. D'abord, les revenus de la gestion de fortune resteront faibles. La concurrence s'intensifiera, et le secteur devra s'adapter à de nouveaux changements dans les normes internationales. Ensuite, si les déséquilibres continuent de s'accentuer dans l'immobilier résidentiel, une forte correction de prix pourrait s'ensuivre. Enfin, les banques d'importance systémique doivent s'adapter à de nouvelles exigences réglementaires relatives à la problématique du too big to fail. L'atténuation des risques systémiques a déjà permis d'accomplir de grands progrès en vue de renforcer la résilience du système bancaire. Parmi ces progrès, il faut mentionner l'introduction du volant anticyclique de fonds propres. Cet instrument souple augmente la capacité du système bancaire d'absorber des pertes et permet de prévenir la formation de déséquilibres.

 

Une banque centrale indépendante et œuvrant à la stabilité est une condition nécessaire à la compétitivité et au dynamisme d'un centre financier. Cette condition est toutefois loin d'être suffisante. Encore faut-il que les banques parviennent à tirer les conclusions qui s'imposent et à adapter à temps leur orientation - une aptitude que les banquiers suisses ont démontrée au fil de l'histoire.