Print

Swiss monetary policy in the public eye

Money Market Event of the Swiss National Bank, Zurich, 24.03.2011

  • Complete text
    (283 KB)

The "Great Recession" has been one of the most severe economic as well as financial downturns in the past 80 years. Central banks played a key role in containing the impact of the crisis by preventing a global economic and financial meltdown. This speech focuses on two elements of the contribution of the SNB in the recent crisis: one deals with a particular feature of the Swiss money market, while the second focuses on the SNB's interventions in foreign exchange markets.

A key element of the Swiss financial market structure that has shown particular resilience and has contributed to providing appropriate financial conditions throughout the crisis is the Swiss franc repo market. This is the most important monetary policy instrument in the SNB's open market operations. The good performance of this market is closely related to the SNB's collateral policy.

The purchase of foreign currency was one of the extra-ordinary tools used by the SNB to combat the financial crisis. These interventions in the foreign exchange market have to be considered in the light of the SNB's mandate. The primary goal is to ensure price stability, while taking due account of the overall economic situation. To achieve its goal, the SNB strives to provide the most appropriate monetary conditions, not to achieve an exchange rate target. The primary indicator of the success of interventions is the inflation rate.

Imprimer

La politique monétaire de la Banque nationale face à l'opinion publique

Apéritif "Marché monétaire" de la Banque nationale suisse, Zurich, 24.03.2011

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Swiss monetary policy in the public eye"
    PDF (283 KB)

La «Grande Récession» est l'une des crises économiques et financières les plus importantes de ces 80 dernières années. Les banques centrales ont joué un rôle primordial en limitant les effets de ce marasme et en empêchant les secteurs économique et financier de s'effondrer à l'échelle mondiale. Le présent exposé est axé sur deux aspects de la contribution de la BNS à la gestion de la crise récente: l'un concerne une particularité du marché monétaire suisse, et l'autre se rapporte aux interventions de la BNS sur les marchés des changes.

L'un des éléments essentiels de la structure du marché financier suisse est le marché en francs des pensions de titres. Il s'est révélé particulièrement résistant et a contribué au maintien de conditions financières appropriées pendant toute la crise. Il constitue l'instrument de politique monétaire le plus important pour ce qui est des opérations d'open market de la BNS. La bonne performance du marché des pensions de titres est largement imputable à la politique de la BNS en matière de garanties.

L'achat de devises est l'une des mesures extraordinaires auxquelles la BNS a eu recours pour combattre la crise financière. Les interventions sur les marchés des changes doivent être considérées en relation avec le mandat de la BNS. L'objectif principal est d'assurer la stabilité des prix en tenant compte de l'évolution de la conjoncture. Afin d'atteindre son objectif, la BNS s'emploie à créer des conditions monétaires adéquates et non pas à réaliser un objectif en matière de taux de change. L'indicateur premier du succès des interventions est le taux d'inflation.