Print

The Swiss National Bank and the financial crisis

Club of Rome Forum, Zurich, 20.01.2011

  • Complete text in German: "Die Schweizerische Nationalbank und die Finanzkrise"
    PDF (100 KB)

Since August 2007, central banks have been continually at work, fighting the crisis. They have had to stabilise the financial system and limit the extent of the economic downturn.

In many countries, the repercussions of the financial crisis are reflected in both government finances and central bank balance sheets. In Switzerland, these repercussions – i.e. the costs of the financial crisis – have had relatively little impact on the budgets of either the Confederation or the cantons. The costs are mainly to be found in the SNB’s balance sheet, at the moment largely in the form of risks.

The SNB balance sheet has significantly lengthened, particularly as a result of foreign currency purchases. Inevitably, the large holdings of currency investments means greater risk. As the SNB announced on 14 January 2011, it is expecting a substantial loss for the year 2010. This is mainly attributable to exchange rate losses on foreign currency investments.

In view of these losses, it is very tempting to argue that the SNB should not have purchased any foreign exchange. However, the purpose of the SNB is not to make a profit. The decision on whether monetary policy measures in the form of foreign currency purchases are necessary is based on an evaluation of the threat of deflation and the  monetary policy expansion needed in order to counter this. Monetary policy inaction during the dramatic phases of 2009 and 2010 was not an option.

The primacy of monetary policy applies, and the top priority of monetary policy is to ensure price stability. The SNB’s legal mandate is explicit in this regard. This is the contribution which the SNB can and must make to economic prosperity in this country.

Imprimer

La Banque nationale suisse et la crise financière

Club of Rome Forum, Zurich, 20.01.2011

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Die Schweizerische Nationalbank und die Finanzkrise"
    PDF (100 KB)

Depuis le mois d’août 2007, les banques centrales n’ont cessé d’intervenir pour lutter contre la crise. Il s’agissait en effet de stabiliser le système financier et de contenir l’effondrement de l’économie.

Dans de nombreux pays, la crise financière a eu des répercussions sur les finances publiques et les bilans des banques centrales. En Suisse, les budgets de la Confédération et des cantons ont relativement peu souffert des retombées de la crise, les coûts qui en ont résulté se reflètent en premier lieu dans le bilan de la Banque nationale, pour l’instant principalement sous forme de risques.

La somme du bilan de la Banque nationale a fortement progressé, notamment en raison des achats de devises. Le montant élevé des placements de devises induit immanquablement un accroissement des risques. Comme l’a annoncé la Banque nationale le 14 janvier 2011, elle s’attend à enregistrer une perte importante en 2010, due surtout aux pertes de change sur les placements de devises.

Face à ce résultat, il est tentant d’objecter que la Banque nationale n’aurait pas dû procéder à de tels achats. Mais celle-ci n’a pas pour mission de réaliser un bénéfice. Pour déterminer s’il convient de prendre des mesures de politique monétaire et d’acheter des devises, elle se base sur une appréciation du risque de déflation et du degré d’expansionnisme nécessaire, au niveau de la politique monétaire, pour le contrer. Il était hors de question pour la Banque nationale de rester inactive durant les périodes dramatiques de 2009 et de 2010.

La politique monétaire a la priorité absolue. Son objectif premier est de garantir la stabilité des prix, conformément au mandat que le législateur a explicitement confié à la Banque nationale. Telle est la contribution que la Banque nationale peut et doit fournir en vue d’assurer à la Suisse sa prospérité.