Print

Systemic risk and regulation: managing the challenges

5th Annual Meeting of the Swiss Finance Institute, Zurich , 03.11.2010

  • Complete text
    (138 KB)

The accumulation of systemic risk represents a serious threat to the stability of financial systems. It is therefore important, on the one hand, to recognise this risk at an early stage and, on the other, to develop measures capable of containing it. Four fundamental criteria for evaluating measures of this kind are introduced. These measures must, first, be conducive to maintaining market order, second, aim to tackle the structural causes of systemic crises wherever possible, third, contribute to the robustness of the regulatory setup and fourth, be consistent with international regulatory principles while, at the same time, not fail to take account of national circumstances. Observing these criteria can make a significant contribution to better managing the challenges that arise in connection with systemic risk in the financial system.

To a large extent, ongoing international regulatory reform fulfils these criteria. For instance, the narrower definition of capital and the adjustment of risk weighting under Basel III removes a number of key weaknesses in the Basel II standard. The individual regulatory efforts undertaken in Switzerland are also in line with these criteria, in particular the TBTF package and the leverage ratio. However, the reforms have not yet been fully carried through. For example, work to contain the TBTF problem at international level has only just begun. It is important that the measures that are still pending also fulfil the criteria mentioned before.

The definition of suitable measures by experts and the authorities represents no more than a first step. What ultimately makes the difference is that steps are taken to ensure they are actually implemented. The democratic legitimation is an essential prerequisite for this. Consequently, an important function of supervisory authorities and central banks is to provide clear justification for the considerations upon which the proposed measures and instruments are based, so that they are comprehensible for the political decision-makers.

Imprimer

Risques systémiques et réglementation: gérer les défis

5th Annual Meeting of the Swiss Finance Institute, Zurich , 03.11.2010

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Systemic risk and regulation: managing the challenges"
    PDF (138 KB)

L’accumulation de risques systémiques représente un grand danger pour la stabilité des systèmes financiers. Aussi importe-t-il d’identifier ces risques à un stade précoce et d’élaborer des mesures appropriées dans le but de les endiguer. Le présent exposé met en exergue quatre critères fondamentaux qui permettent d’évaluer de telles mesures. En bref, ces mesures doivent: premièrement, garantir l’ordre du marché, deuxièmement, cibler autant que possible les causes structurelles des crises systémiques, troisièmement, résister face aux insuffisances de la réglementation, et, quatrièmement, être conformes aux principes réglementaires internationaux, sans toutefois négliger les spécificités nationales. Observer ces critères peut largement aider à mieux gérer les défis liés aux risques systémiques dans le système financier.

Les réformes actuelles de la réglementation au niveau international remplissent en grande partie ces critères. Ainsi, la définition plus stricte des fonds propres et la nouvelle pondération des risques prévues par Bâle III remédient à quelques carences cruciales des normes de Bâle II. De la même manière, les efforts réglementaires spécifiques mis en œuvre en Suisse sont en phase avec ces critères, notamment le train de mesures approuvé en vue de lutter contre le problème du too big to fail ou l’introduction du leverage ratio. Les réformes ne sont cependant pas encore achevées. Par exemple, les travaux visant à atténuer l’acuité du problème du too big to fail viennent à peine de commencer au niveau international. Il est essentiel que les futures mesures satisfassent également aux critères précités.

La définition de mesures appropriées par les experts et les autorités ne constitue qu’une première étape. Ce qui importe, en définitive, est leur mise en œuvre concrète. La légitimité démocratique est à ce titre une condition indispensable. L’une des principales tâches des régulateurs et des autorités de surveillance est donc de justifier avec précision les arguments qui sous-tendent le choix des mesures et des instruments proposés, de façon à les rendre compréhensibles pour les responsables politiques.